DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3,5-11, 13-16 and 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al (U.S. PGPub No. 20220295334 ), hereinafter referred to as Sun.
Regarding claim 1, Sun discloses a logic channel multiplexing method, performed by user equipment (UE), and comprising:
determining a logic channel multiplexing operation based on a logic channel multiplexing restriction related to computational power (A network device sends first information to a terminal device, and correspondingly, the terminal device receives the first information from the network device, where the first information is used to indicate an uplink maximum bit rate of each of at least one logical channel, wherein the maximum bit rate is interpreted as the computational power. If the to-be-transmitted data on the logical channel does not exceed the UMBR of the logical channel, and the uplink resource is sufficient, the terminal device may directly multiplex the data that is on the logical channel into the PDU, and then continue to process a logical channel with a next priority; See [0174] and [0203]).
Regarding claim 2, Sun further discloses the logic channel multiplexing method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving uplink authorization signaling, wherein the uplink authorization signaling is used to schedule resources for multiplexing of a logic channel (A network device sends first information to a terminal device, and correspondingly, the terminal device receives the first information from the network device, where the first information is used to indicate an uplink maximum bit rate of each of at least one logical channel. The terminal device allocates an uplink resource to all or a part of logical channels in the at least one logical channel based on the uplink maximum bit rate; See [0174] and [0178]).
Regarding claim 3, Sun further discloses the logic channel multiplexing method according to claim 2, wherein the uplink authorization signaling carries indication information of computational power resources (the signaling includes the maximum bit rate; See [0174]).
Regarding claim 5, Sun further discloses the logic channel multiplexing method according to claim 3, wherein the indication information comprises: a computational power indication, used to indicate computational power resources of a network (the signaling includes the maximum bit rate; See [0174]).
Regarding claim 6, Sun further discloses the logic channel multiplexing method according to claim 5, wherein the computational power indication comprises at least one of the following:
a computing quantity indication, used to indicate a computing quantity (wherein the maximum bit rate is interpreted as the computing quantity; See [0174]);
a computing bit length indication, used to indicate a computing bit length; or
a memory consumption indication, used to indicate memory consumption during computing.
Regarding claim 7, Sun further discloses the logic channel multiplexing method according to claim 1, wherein determining the logic channel multiplexing operation based on the logic channel multiplexing restriction related to the computational power, comprises:
determining, in response to that computational power resources corresponding to uplink authorization signaling are larger than or equal to computational power resources needed by a logic channel, that a to-be-multiplexed logic channel is multiplexed to resources corresponding to the uplink authorization signaling (If the to-be-transmitted data on the logical channel does not exceed the UMBR of the logical channel, and the uplink resource is sufficient, the terminal device may directly multiplex the data that is on the logical channel into the PDU, and then continue to process a logical channel with a next priority; See [0203]); or
determining, in response to that computational power resources corresponding to uplink authorization signaling are less than or equal to the computational power resources needed by a logic channel, that the to-be-multiplexed logic channel is not multiplexed to resources corresponding to the uplink authorization signaling.
Regarding claim 8, Sun further discloses the logic channel multiplexing method according to claim 7, wherein the computational power resources needed by the logic channel are determined:
determined by the UE,
configured by a network (the network device determines the maximum bit rate; See [0174] and [0176]), or
determined based on a communication protocol.
Regarding claim 9, Sun further discloses the logic channel multiplexing method according to claim 1, wherein the logic channel multiplexing restriction related to the computational power comprises one of the following:
a mandatory attribute, indicating that consideration of the logic channel multiplexing restriction related to the computational power is requisite when determining the logic channel multiplexing operation (If the to-be-transmitted data on the logical channel does not exceed the UMBR of the logical channel, and the uplink resource is sufficient, the terminal device may directly multiplex the data that is on the logical channel into the PDU, and then continue to process a logical channel with a next priority, wherein the mandatory attribute is the condition of needing to consider both the UMBR and resources; See [0203]); or
an optional attribute, indicating that the consideration of the logic channel multiplexing restriction related to the computational power is not requisite when determining the logic channel multiplexing operation.
Regarding claim 10, Sun discloses a logic channel multiplexing method, performed by a network side device, and comprising:
transmitting uplink authorization signaling, wherein resources scheduled by the uplink authorization signaling are able to be used for logic channel multiplexing according to a logic channel multiplexing restriction related to computational power (A network device sends first information to a terminal device, and correspondingly, the terminal device receives the first information from the network device, where the first information is used to indicate an uplink maximum bit rate of each of at least one logical channel, wherein the maximum bit rate is interpreted as the computational power. If the to-be-transmitted data on the logical channel does not exceed the UMBR of the logical channel, and the uplink resource is sufficient, the terminal device may directly multiplex the data that is on the logical channel into the PDU, and then continue to process a logical channel with a next priority; See [0174] and [0203]).
Regarding claim 11, Sun further discloses the logic channel multiplexing method according to claim 10, wherein indication information that indicates computational power resources is provided in the uplink authorization signaling (the signaling includes the maximum bit rate; See [0174]).
Regarding claim 13, Sun further discloses the logic channel multiplexing method according to claim 12, wherein the indication information comprises:
a computational power indication, used to indicate computational power resources of a network (the signaling includes the maximum bit rate; See [0174]).
Regarding claim 14, Sun further discloses the logic channel multiplexing method according to claim 13, wherein the computational power indication comprises at least one of the following:
a computing quantity indication, used to indicate a computing quantity (wherein the maximum bit rate is interpreted as the computing quantity; See [0174]);
a computing bit length indication, used to indicate a computing bit length; or
a memory consumption indication, used to indicate memory consumption during computing.
Regarding claim 15, Sun further discloses the logic channel multiplexing method according to claim 10, further comprising:
transmitting configuration information of a logic channel to UE, wherein the configuration information is at least used to determine the computational power resources needed by the logic channel (A network device may configure the following parameters for each logical channel by sending configuration information (for example, a LogicalChannelConfig information element) to a terminal device including a prioritized bit rate; See [0133]).
Regarding claim 16, Sun further discloses the logic channel multiplexing method according to claim 10, wherein the logic channel multiplexing restriction related to the computational power comprises one of the following:
a mandatory attribute, indicating that consideration of the logic channel multiplexing restriction related to the computational power is requisite when determining a logic channel multiplexing operation (If the to-be-transmitted data on the logical channel does not exceed the UMBR of the logical channel, and the uplink resource is sufficient, the terminal device may directly multiplex the data that is on the logical channel into the PDU, and then continue to process a logical channel with a next priority, wherein the mandatory attribute is the condition of needing to consider both the UMBR and resources; See [0203]); or
an optional attribute, indicating that the consideration of the logic channel multiplexing restriction related to the computational power is not requisite when determining a logic channel multiplexing operation.
Regarding claim 33, Sun discloses a communication device (terminal device; See Fig. 5) comprising a processor (See Fig. 13, #1310), a transceiver (See Fig. 13, #1320), a memory (See Fig. 13, #1330) and an executable program stored on the memory and capable of being run by the processor, wherein the processor, when running the executable program, executes the logic channel multiplexing method provided by claim 1 (A network device sends first information to a terminal device, and correspondingly, the terminal device receives the first information from the network device, where the first information is used to indicate an uplink maximum bit rate of each of at least one logical channel, wherein the maximum bit rate is interpreted as the computational power. If the to-be-transmitted data on the logical channel does not exceed the UMBR of the logical channel, and the uplink resource is sufficient, the terminal device may directly multiplex the data that is on the logical channel into the PDU, and then continue to process a logical channel with a next priority; See [0174] and [0203]).
Regarding claim 34, Sun discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (computer-readable storage medium is provided; See [0089]), storing an executable program, wherein the executable program can implement the logic channel multiplexing method provided by claim 1 after being executed by a processor (A network device sends first information to a terminal device, and correspondingly, the terminal device receives the first information from the network device, where the first information is used to indicate an uplink maximum bit rate of each of at least one logical channel, wherein the maximum bit rate is interpreted as the computational power. If the to-be-transmitted data on the logical channel does not exceed the UMBR of the logical channel, and the uplink resource is sufficient, the terminal device may directly multiplex the data that is on the logical channel into the PDU, and then continue to process a logical channel with a next priority; See [0174] and [0203]).
Regarding claim 35, Sun discloses a communication device (terminal device; See Fig. 5) comprising a processor (See Fig. 13, #1310), a transceiver (See Fig. 13, #1320), a memory (See Fig. 13, #1330) and an executable program stored on the memory and capable of being run by the processor, wherein the processor, when running the executable program, executes:
determining a logic channel multiplexing operation based on a logic channel multiplexing restriction related to computational power (A network device sends first information to a terminal device, and correspondingly, the terminal device receives the first information from the network device, where the first information is used to indicate an uplink maximum bit rate of each of at least one logical channel, wherein the maximum bit rate is interpreted as the computational power. If the to-be-transmitted data on the logical channel does not exceed the UMBR of the logical channel, and the uplink resource is sufficient, the terminal device may directly multiplex the data that is on the logical channel into the PDU, and then continue to process a logical channel with a next priority; See [0174] and [0203]).
Regarding claim 36, Sun discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (computer-readable storage medium is provided; See [0089]) storing an executable program. wherein the executable program can implement the logic channel multiplexing method provided by claim 10 after being executed by a processor (A network device sends first information to a terminal device, and correspondingly, the terminal device receives the first information from the network device, where the first information is used to indicate an uplink maximum bit rate of each of at least one logical channel, wherein the maximum bit rate is interpreted as the computational power. If the to-be-transmitted data on the logical channel does not exceed the UMBR of the logical channel, and the uplink resource is sufficient, the terminal device may directly multiplex the data that is on the logical channel into the PDU, and then continue to process a logical channel with a next priority; See [0174] and [0203]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sun as applied to claim 3 and 11 above, and further in view of Chen (U.S. PGPub 2021/0194819), hereinafter referred to as Chen.
Regarding claim 4, while Sun teaches having sufficient or insufficient resources (See [0203]-[0204]), fails to teach there being a flag bit with the value. Therefore, Sun fails to teach the logic channel multiplexing method according to claim 3, wherein the indication information comprises: a flag bit, having one of the following values: a first value, indicating having sufficient computational power resources; or a second value, indicating not having sufficient computational power resources.
Chen teaches wherein the indication information comprises: a flag bit, having one of the following values: a first value, indicating having sufficient computational power resources (a success flag indicating sufficient resources; See [0065]); or a second value, indicating not having sufficient computational power resources (failure flag indicating insufficient resources; See [0065]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Sun to include wherein the indication information comprises: a flag bit, having one of the following values: a first value, indicating having sufficient computational power resources; or a second value, indicating not having sufficient computational power resources taught by Chen in order to optimize resource utilization.
Regarding claim 12, while Sun teaches having sufficient or insufficient resources (See [0203]-[0204]), fails to teach there being a flag bit with the value. Therefore, Sun fails to teach the logic channel multiplexing method according to claim 11, wherein the indication information comprises: a flag bit, having one of the following values: a first value, indicating having sufficient computational power resources; or a second value, indicating not having sufficient computational power resources.
Chen teaches wherein the indication information comprises: a flag bit, having one of the following values: a first value, indicating having sufficient computational power resources (a success flag indicating sufficient resources; See [0065]); or a second value, indicating not having sufficient computational power resources (failure flag indicating insufficient resources; See [0065]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Sun to include wherein the indication information comprises: a flag bit, having one of the following values: a first value, indicating having sufficient computational power resources; or a second value, indicating not having sufficient computational power resources taught by Chen in order to optimize resource utilization.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/ASHLEY SHIVERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 1/22/2026