DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20160261000 A1, “Zhang”) in view of Chae et al. (KR 20190030987 A, “Chae”). The machine translation is used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a rechargeable lithium battery, comprising: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; and an electrolyte (see abstract “anode-free rechargeable battery” & “cathode” & “electrolyte” & see [0021] “anode”), wherein the negative electrode consists of a current collector, and the current collector is a copper foil (see [0044] “anode-free Li rechargeable battery was assembled using copper (Cu) foil as the anode current collector”).
Regarding the limitation and an electrolyte comprising a smoothing additive, Zhang does not explicitly disclose.
Chae teaches a leveling agent (see [0156] “the first leveling agent (component C) is at least one compound selected from the group consisting of thiourea (TU)”) & describes “the first leveling agent (component C) improves the strength of the copper foil (200) in addition to the function of flattening the copper layer (110)” in [0153].
Zhang and Chae are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely secondary battery (see Chae Title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “leveling agent” as suggested by Chae (see [0156]) into the battery of Zhang because doing so flattens the copper layer and improves the strength of the copper foil, as suggested by Chae (see [0153]).
Regarding the limitation having a reduction potential between -0.5 V and less than 0.9 V, Zhang does not explicitly disclose, however, reduction potential is a property of the electrolyte material as evidenced by the specification of the instant application on P4 par 1 lines 4-5 “the smoothing additive has a reduction potential of -0.5 V or more and less than 0.9 V”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the battery of Zhang would exhibit the same properties as the claimed invention including a smoothing additive exhibiting the same properties of reduction potential between -0.5 and less than 0.9 V as evidenced by the instant specification (see P4 par 1 lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the rechargeable lithium battery of claim 1. Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the smoothing additive is thiourea.
Chae teaches leveling agent is thiourea (see [0156]) & describes “the first leveling agent (component C) improves the strength of the copper foil (200) in addition to the function of flattening the copper layer (110)” in [0153].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “leveling agent” as suggested by Chae (see [0156]) into the battery of Zhang because doing so flattens the copper layer and improves the strength of the copper foil, as suggested by Chae (see [0153]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the rechargeable lithium battery of claim 1. Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein an amount of the smoothing additive is 5 wt% or less based on the total, 100 wt% of the electrolyte.
Chae teaches leveling agent concentration (see [0154] “first leveling agent (compound C) has a concentration of 1 to 10 ppm”).
Chae teaches a range of 1 to 10 ppm, which overlaps with the claimed range of 5 wt% or less based on the total, 100 wt% of the electrolyte. MPEP 2144.05 I states that 'In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)'.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate 1 to 10 ppm leveling agent as suggested by Chae (see [0154]) into the battery of Zhang because doing so improves the strength of the copper foil as suggested by Chae ([0159] & [0153]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the rechargeable lithium battery of claim 1. Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein an amount of the smoothing additive is 0.01 wt% to 5 wt% based on the total, 100 wt%, of the electrolyte.
Chae teaches leveling agent concentration (see [0154] “first leveling agent (compound C) has a concentration of 1 to 10 ppm”).
Chae teaches a range of 1 to 10 ppm, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01 wt% to 5 wt% based on the total, 100 wt% of the electrolyte. MPEP 2144.05 I states that 'In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)'.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Chae teaches a range of 10 ppm which overlaps the claimed range 0.01/100 = 0.0001 and a skilled artisan would find it obvious that 1 ppm is equivalent to 0.0001 wt%.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the rechargeable lithium battery of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the electrolyte further comprises a lithium salt and a non-aqueous organic solvent (see [0014] “lithium salt of the electrolyte” & “DME” & see [0013] “non-aqueous solvent” & “1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME)”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses a rechargeable lithium battery, comprising: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; and an electrolyte (see abstract “anode-free rechargeable battery” & “cathode” & “electrolyte” & see [0021] “anode”), wherein the negative electrode consists of a current collector, and the current collector is a copper foil (see [0044] “anode-free Li rechargeable battery was assembled using copper (Cu) foil as the anode current collector”). Regarding the limitation wherein the negative electrode comprises a coating layer including a current collector and a polymer positioned on the current collector and between the current collector and the electrolyte, Zhang discloses (see [0041] “selected electrolyte can form a stable SEI layer” & see FIG. 1 & [0037] “anode 150 is formed in situ on the surface of the anode current collector 140 facing the separator 130” & see [0038] “polymer electrolyte”).
Regarding the limitation and an electrolyte comprising a smoothing additive, Zhang does not explicitly disclose.
Chae teaches a leveling agent (see [0156] “the first leveling agent (component C) is at least one compound selected from the group consisting of thiourea (TU)”) & describes “the first leveling agent (component C) improves the strength of the copper foil (200) in addition to the function of flattening the copper layer (110)” in [0153].
Zhang and Chae are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely secondary battery (see Chae Title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “leveling agent” as suggested by Chae (see [0156]) into the battery of Zhang because doing so flattens the copper layer and improves the strength of the copper foil, as suggested by Chae (see [0153]).
Regarding the limitation having a reduction potential between -0.5 V and less than 0.9 V, Zhang does not explicitly disclose, however, reduction potential is a property of the electrolyte material as evidenced by the specification of the instant application on P4 par 1 lines 4-5 “the smoothing additive has a reduction potential of -0.5 V or more and less than 0.9 V”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the battery of Zhang would exhibit the same properties as the claimed invention including a smoothing additive exhibiting the same properties of reduction potential between -0.5 and less than 0.9 V as evidenced by the instant specification (see P4 par 1 lines 4-5).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20160261000 A1, “Zhang”) in view of Chae et al. (KR 20190030987 A, “Chae”) as applied to claims 1-6 above, and further in view of Bae et al. (US 20110177388 A1, “Bae”). The machine translation is used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses a rechargeable lithium battery, comprising: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; and an electrolyte (see abstract “anode-free rechargeable battery” & “cathode” & “electrolyte” & see [0021] “anode”), wherein the negative electrode consists of a current collector, and the current collector is a copper foil (see [0044] “anode-free Li rechargeable battery was assembled using copper (Cu) foil as the anode current collector”). Regarding the limitation wherein the negative electrode comprises a coating layer including a current collector and a polymer positioned on the current collector and between the current collector and the electrolyte, Zhang discloses (see [0041] “selected electrolyte can form a stable SEI layer” & see FIG. 1 & [0037] “anode 150 is formed in situ on the surface of the anode current collector 140 facing the separator 130” & see [0038] “polymer electrolyte”).
Regarding the limitation and an electrolyte comprising a smoothing additive, Zhang does not explicitly disclose.
Chae teaches a leveling agent (see [0156] “the first leveling agent (component C) is at least one compound selected from the group consisting of thiourea (TU)”) & describes “the first leveling agent (component C) improves the strength of the copper foil (200) in addition to the function of flattening the copper layer (110)” in [0153].
Zhang and Chae are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely secondary battery (see Chae Title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “leveling agent” as suggested by Chae (see [0156]) into the battery of Zhang because doing so flattens the copper layer and improves the strength of the copper foil, as suggested by Chae (see [0153]).
Regarding the limitation having a reduction potential between -0.5 V and less than 0.9 V, Zhang does not explicitly disclose, however, reduction potential is a property of the electrolyte material as evidenced by the specification of the instant application on P4 par 1 lines 4-5 “the smoothing additive has a reduction potential of -0.5 V or more and less than 0.9 V”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the battery of Zhang would exhibit the same properties as the claimed invention including a smoothing additive exhibiting the same properties of reduction potential between -0.5 and less than 0.9 V as evidenced by the instant specification (see P4 par 1 lines 4-5).
Regarding the limitation and wherein the coating layer is distinct from the electrolyte and has a thickness of 1 to 10 µm, Zhang does not explicitly disclose.
Bae teaches coating layer thickness (see [0020] “an anode active material layer on a current collector using an anode active material composition including an anode active material, a binder, a conductive material and a solvent.” &
see abstract “LiF-based coating layer has a thickness of 0.05 to 1 µm”).
Bae teaches a range of 0.05 to 1 µm, which overlaps with the claimed range of 1 to 10 µm. MPEP 2144.05 I states that 'In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)'.
Zhang and Bae are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely lithium secondary batteries (see Bae abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate coating layer has a thickness of 0.05 to 1 µm as suggested by Bae (see [0020]) into the battery of Zhang because doing so elongates the life cycle of the battery as suggested by Bae (see abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 7. Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the polymer is a polyvinylidene fluoride-based polymer.
Bae teaches PVDF (see [0023] “polyvinylidenefluoride”) & “elongating the life cycle of a lithium ion secondary battery” (see abstract).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate PVDF (see [0023]) into the battery of Zhang because doing so improves the life cycle of the battery as suggested by Bae (see abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the rechargeable lithium battery of claim 7. Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the polymer is a copolymer of polyvinylidene fluoride and hexafluoropropylene (PVdf-HFP).
Bae teaches PVDF-HFP (see [0023] “vinylidenefluoride-hexafluoropropylene-copolymer (PVDF-co-HFP)”) & “elongating the life cycle of a lithium ion secondary battery” (see abstract).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate PVDF-co-HFP (see [0023]) into the battery of Zhang because doing so improves the life cycle of the battery as suggested by Bae (see abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the rechargeable lithium battery of claim 7 and further discloses LiF (see [0042]). Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the coating layer further comprises LiF.
Bae teaches “a coating layer made of LiF-based particles is formed on the anode surface” (see [0029]) “elongating the life cycle of a lithium ion secondary battery” (see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the coating layer further comprises LiF as suggested by Bae (see [0029]) into the battery of Zhang because doing so elongates the life cycle of the battery as suggested by Bae (see abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/S.A.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 03/25/2026