DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 14 and 27 are amended. Claims 18, 19 and 55 are cancelled. 1, 5, 7, 9, 12, 14, 27-28, 31, 33, 44, 46-48, and 62 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14, 27, 44 and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE; Won Seok et al US 20230127054 A1, in view of Kim; Taehun et al US 20220232659 A1, hereinafter KIM, and further in view of LIU; Huichun et al US 20220272767 A1, hereinafter LIU.
Regarding claims 1, 27, 44 and 62, LEE teaches, a data transmission method, performed by a terminal, comprising:
receiving, in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Inactive state, configuration information sent by a network side (LEE [0200] “As another example, “SmalldataConfig” may be indicated to the UE 2110 through system information without being transmitted through the RRC release message. For example, “SmalldataConfig” may be included in the system information received from the base station 2120 and the UE 2110 may receive the system information and then enable the small data configuration in the RRC inactive state.”); and
performing a data sending and/or a data receiving in the RRC Inactive state, according to the configuration information, in case that the terminal performs a preconfigured uplink data transmission or an early data transmission (LEE [200] “the UE in the RRC inactive state may perform the small data transmission”, [0037] “FIG. 20 illustrates early data transmission (EDT) to which the present disclosure may apply.”),
LEE does not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, KIM teaches, wherein the configuration information comprises physical downlink control channel configuration information, the physical downlink control channel configuration information is configured to receive scheduling information for scheduling uplink or downlink data of the terminal wherein the configuration information comprises physical downlink control channel configuration information, the physical downlink control channel configuration information is configured to receive scheduling information for scheduling uplink or downlink data of the terminal (KIM [0457] “The PUR configuration parameters may comprise at least one of: … ; [0466] “physical configuration parameters for PUR”; [0467] “The physical configuration parameters for PUR may comprises at least one of: … “; [0469] “PDCCH configuration parameters for PUR;”; [0101] “a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for carrying downlink control information (DCI), which may include downlink scheduling commands, uplink scheduling grants, and uplink power control commands;”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of LEE to expressly include the features as taught by KIM above to provide a method for enhanced small data transmission.
LEE, KIM and LIU do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, LIU teaches, configuration information of a preconfigured uplink data (PUR) transmission or an early data (EDT) transmission is carried in an RRC release message to UE in RRC Inactive state, as recited in the limitation, wherein the configuration information is carried in an RRC release message (LIU Fig. 5, 120 UE (Inactive), 514 “Receive release message including information related to dedicated preconfigured uplink resource (DPUR) configuration”; [0083] “As shown in FIG. 5, example call flow 500 may include communication between various components of a wireless network (e.g., wireless network 100), such as a UE 120 and a serving base station 110. In some aspects, as shown in FIG. 5, the UE 120 may be operating in an inactive mode.”; [0085] As further shown in FIG. 5, and by reference number 514, the UE 120 may receive a release message from the serving base station 110 that includes information related to a DPUR configuration for the UE 120… Accordingly, as further shown in FIG. 5, and by reference number 516, the UE 120 may transmit subsequent mobile-originated uplink data based at least in part on the DPUR configuration indicated in the message releasing the UE 120 to the inactive mode.”; [0086] “In this way, the UE 120 may receive the mobile-terminated downlink data responsive to the mobile-originated uplink data while in the inactive mode, and without transitioning from the inactive mode to a connected mode.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of LEE and KIM to expressly include the features as taught by LIU above to provide techniques and apparatuses for mobile-terminated downlink data transmission and subsequent mobile-originated uplink data transmission without entering connected mode (LIU [0001]).
With respect to claim 27, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a method of interworking network side. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
With respect to claim 44, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding terminal. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
With respect to claim 62, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a device of the interworking network side. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
Regarding claim 14, LEE, in view of KIM and LIU, teaches the method, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
LEE further teaches, wherein an effective time condition of the configuration information comprises one or more of: the terminal enters the RRC IDLE state or RRC Inactive state (LEE [176] “For example, referring to FIG. 20, a UE 2010 may perform user plane early data transmission (UP-EDT) … Here, in response to generation of MO data in the UE 2010 that shifts to at least one of the idle state and the inactive state, the UE may start a random access procedure.”, teaches an effective time condition when the terminal enters Idle or inactive state. Satisfies “one or more of” and “or” criteria in the claim); a second time offset elapses after receiving the configuration information, wherein the second time offset is carried in the configuration information; a first absolute time elapses after receiving the configuration information, wherein the first absolute time is carried in the configuration information; or a third time offset and a second absolute time elapse after receiving the configuration information, wherein the second absolute time and the third time offset are carried in the configuration information; and/or, wherein an expiration time condition of the configuration information comprises one or more of: a first timer expires, wherein the first timer is started after the terminal receives the configuration information, and when the first timer is started, the terminal listens to a physical downlink control channel to obtain a retransmission scheduling of configured grant by the network side; a first count value is greater than or equal to a preset value, and the first count value indicates that after the terminal receives an RRC release message, when there is no uplink data sent by a configured grant resource, the first count value is increased by one; a timing advance is out-of-sync; a channel quality of a synchronization signal block resource is lower than a first threshold value; or a channel quality of a serving cell is lower than a second threshold value.
Claims 5, 31 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE, in view of KIM and LIU, as applied to the rejection of claims 1, 27 and 44 above, and further in view of Park; Kyungmin et al US 20200351818 A1, hereinafter Park.
Regarding claims 5, 31 and 46, LEE, in view of KIM and LIU, teaches the methods/terminal, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1, 27 and 44.
LEE and KIM and LIU do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches, wherein the physical downlink control channel configuration information comprises one or more of: time domain information; frequency domain information; control resource set information; or search space information (These PDCCH parameters are well-known in the art of 3GPP wireless system. For the sake of prosecution, a prior art is presented. Park [251] “The PDCCH configuration parameters may comprise information of a common ControlResourceSet (CORESET), a common search space, and/or necessary PDCCH parameters.”; [226] “The communication may comprise signals associated with at least one of: … small data transmission (e.g., early data transmission, EDT), a random access process, data or small data reception (e.g., early data transmission, EDT), and/or the like.”. Satisfies “one or more of” criteria).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of LEE and KIM and LIU to expressly include PDCCH parameters as taught by Park above in order to achieve 3GPP compliance wireless communication.
Claims 7, 33 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE, in view of KIM and LIU and Park, and further in view of IDS Reference, NPL ZTE R2-1903485, 3GPP TSG-RAN2 meeting#105bis, Xi'an, China, 8th - 12th April 2019, hereinafter NPL-Z.
Regarding claims 7, 33 and 47, LEE, in view of KIM and LIU and Park, teaches the methods/terminal, as outlined in the rejection of claims 5, 31, and 46.
LEE, KIM, LIU and Park do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, NPL-Z teaches, wherein the frequency domain information comprises one or more of: a frequency domain start position of a physical downlink control channel, a frequency domain length of a physical downlink control channel, or frequency hopping information; and/or the search space information comprises one or more of: a period of a search space, a position of a start symbol of a physical downlink control channel in a time slot, a downlink control information format, or a control channel element aggregation level (NPL-Z, chapter 1: "In idle mode, the PUR search space configuration includes at least the following:
- NPDCCH repetitions and aggregation levels
- NPDCCH starting subframe periodicity (variable G)
- Starting subframe position (alpha_offset) ". Satisfies “or” criteria in the claim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of LEE, KIM, LIU and Park to include the features as taught by NPL-Z above in order to achieve improvement on UL aspects of D-PUR in IDLE (NPL-Z Title and Introduction).
Claims 9, 28 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of KIM and LIU, as applied to the rejection of claims 1, 27 and 44 above, and further in view of IDS Reference, WU; Min et al US 20210298108 A1, hereinafter Wu.
Regarding claims 9, 28 and 48, LEE, in view of KIM and LIU, teaches the methods/terminal, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1, 27 and 44.
LEE and KIM and LIU do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches, wherein the configuration information comprises Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process identification (ID) information, the HARQ process ID information comprises a HARQ process number and/or a HARQ process ID; the method further comprises: calculating or selecting the HARQ process ID, according to the HARQ process ID information, and/or sending an uplink data, on a configured grant resource, according to the calculated or selected HARQ process ID (see Wu [323]: " Optionally, the UE is configured with pre-configured uplink resources with a period of T_Period milliseconds, and the number of HARQ processes for the pre-configured uplink transmission is Num_proces. The UE determines the HARQ process number to be used according to the transmitting time of the pre-configured uplink transmission, for example, according to the following equation: HARQ Process ID=[floor(CURRENT_TTI/T_Period)] Num_process, where CURRENT_TTI=[(SFN*10)+subframe number]. ", teaching information about HARQ process with HARQ Process ID determination).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of LEE and KIM and LIU to include the features as taught by Wu above in order to achieve UL transmission when the terminal is not in connected mode with the network (Wu [0007]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of KIM and LIU, and further in view of Shi; Jie et al US 20200037298 A1, hereinafter Shi.
Regarding claim 12, LEE, in view of KIM and LIU, teaches the method, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
LEE and KIM and LIU do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, Shi teaches, wherein the configuration information comprises physical uplink control channel configuration information included in the configuration information, wherein the physical uplink control channel configuration information comprises a first time offset; the method further comprises: performing an uplink feedback of downlink data, according to the physical uplink control channel configuration information; and/or the terminal performs a feedback on a physical uplink control channel after the first time offset elapses, after receiving a physical downlink control channel or a physical downlink shared channel (Shi [73] teaches, resource configuration information includes time offset for uplink control channel, which is used to send feedback for data received on downlink data channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of LEE and KIM and LIU to include the features as taught by Shi above in order to provide an uplink control channel resource mapping method to avoid a collision in occupancy of an uplink control channel resource and improve accuracy of transmitting uplink control information (Shi [0005]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks p.8-9 under “Claim Rejections under 35 USC 112”, filed on 09/23/2026, with respect to claims 1 and 27 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims under USC 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MAHBUBUL BAR CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475