Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 2, line 3, it should be clarified that surface is on the seat portion because as written it could be interoperated that the surface is on the leg portion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wollar (US 4,405,272). Wollar discloses a clip structure (5) comprising: a grommet member (6) having an insertion hole (10) which surrounds leg portions (16) configured to face a mounting member (11) and inserted into a hole; a pin (7) including a shaft portion inserted into the insertion hole (Fig. 4); the grommet includes a continuous ring shaped projecting portion (8) projecting from a seat portion (15) opposite the leg portions; the pin member includes a ring shaped support portion with an even circumferential surface on the shaft adjacent with the projecting portion; and a flange (12) is connected to the support portion forming a recessed groove (13) receiving the projection portion (Fig. 4). The seat portion has a surface (read as the outer peripheral surface) which faces a surface of the mounting member (at 11h).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wollar as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Koscik (US 4,085,651). Wollar does not disclose the leg portions having a rib to come into contact the hole. Koscik discloses a clip structure including a grommet (22) with leg portions (24) wherein the leg portions include ribs (82) for coming into contact with a mounting hole (48). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the leg portion of Wollar with ribs as disclosed Koscik in order to improve the engagement with the hole.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 is allowable.
Response to Remarks
The amendments have overcome the 112 rejection(s).
Applicant argues that the amendments to claim 1 defines over Wollar. Applicant argues that Wollar does not disclose the seat portion having a surface facing a surface of the mounting member. In response the examiner disagree because as explained above, Wollar discloses the seat portion (15) has an outer peripheral surface which reads on the claimed “surface” and that surface is facing an inner peripheral surface of the hole (11b) in the mounting member.
The examiner agrees that the structure of the seat portion of Wollar is different than the instant invention. However, the claims require further clarification.
Conclusion
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675