Claim Objections
Claims 26, 28 and 35 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 26, “of” should be in between “plurality” and “tactile” in “the plurality tactile displays”.
Regarding claim 28, “an” should replace “a” in “a activation duration”.
Regarding claim 35, “subject” in “the subject skin in a spatio-temporal fashion” should be “subject’s”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26, 27, 28, and 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 26, it recites the limitations “the plurality of tactile displays” and “a plurality of cells”, in “wherein the plurality of tactile displays are flexible for adaptation to the distal portion, and includes a plurality of cells”, however it is unclear whether or not they are the same thing, as it is mentioned in the specification as “the flexible display is composed of an array of cells named tactile displays or cells”, on page 12, lines 23 and 24. The Examiner will interpret the plurality of tactile displays as the plurality of cells that make up the flexible display. Claim 27 is also rejected due to its dependency on claim 26.
Regarding claim 28, it recites the limitation "said audio file". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 31, it recites the limitation “the thermo-tactile stimuli”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cruz-Hernandez (EP 2846227 A2) in view of Toth et al. (US 20150335288 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Cruz-Hernandez teaches a system comprising:
A haptic device comprising a plurality of tactile displays configured to provide thermo-tactile stimuli to a user (“haptic output devices…actuators are used to provide haptic effects”, paragraph [0009], “haptic effects associated with…temperature signals”, paragraph [0038]);
At least one audio/video device configured to reproduce an audio file (“audio output device configured to receive the signal and output an audible effect”, paragraph [0004]), with or without a video file (“haptic effect may be associated with an Audio-Visual track, for example, the audio portion of a video file”, paragraph [0010]); and
A data processing apparatus operatively connected with said haptic device (“haptic output device in communication with the processor”, paragraph [0004]), and said audio/video device (“processor receives an audio signal…signal associated with a video playing on computing device”, paragraph [0039]), the data processing apparatus having a processor comprising instructions configured to operate the system to:
Reproduce the audio file, with or without a video file, via the audio/video device (“haptic track to be developed based on an audio track in advance of distribution of the audio track”, paragraph [0073]); and
Provide the thermo-tactile stimuli to the subject, wherein the thermo-tactile stimuli are provided through the haptic device according to a haptic profile obtained by said audio file (“haptic effect may comprise a haptic effect associated with an audio track”, paragraph [0010]).
Cruz-Hernandez does not teach the system to improve sleep quality in a subject.
However, Toth et al. teaches a system that accelerates sleep onset and/or improves sleep quality in a subject (“to enhance the sleep state of a subject”, paragraph [0180]),
Providing thermo-tactile stimuli to a distal portion of the subject (“patch interface may include a stimulating device selected from an electrical stimulator, a thermoregulating device…a thermoelectric device…a tactile stimulating component”, paragraph [0079) to increase the degree of dilation of blood vessels in the skin of said distal portion (“patches or modules may be used to determine blood flow dynamics throughout one or more regions of the body”, paragraph [0305]), thereby inducing a relaxation state together with thermal regulation in said subject to accelerate sleep onset and/or to improve sleep quality (“a Peltier device may be incorporated into the device so as to heat and/or cool the adjacent tissues as part of a stress test”, paragraph [0415]). Applying heat to the skin would increase blood flow, and by doing so, dilates blood vessels which allows the body to be in a state of relaxation, inducing sleep.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Cruz-Hernandez with the system of Toth et al. and create a system that helps accelerate sleep and improve the quality of sleep, by applying thermo-tactile stimulation to the skin, alongside an audio stimulus.
Regarding claim 25, Cruz-Hernandez in view of Toth et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 24.
Furthermore, Toth et al. teaches sensors configured to measure the temperature of the distal portion of the subject (“patch including at least one temperature sensor”, paragraph [0217]), including at least one of a hand, a foot, an ankle, a wrist, head and neck, or variations thereof (“patch/module pair may be adapted for placement almost anywhere on the body of a subject”, paragraph [0432]; Fig. 1a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Cruz-Hernandez in view of Toth et al. and place temperature sensors on the body to apply thermo-tactile stimulation as well as monitoring and measuring the temperature.
Regarding claim 26, Cruz-Hernandez in view of Toth et al. teaches the plurality of tactile displays being flexible for adaptation to the distal portion (“a texture may be simulated or output using a flexible surface layer configured to vary its texture based upon contact from a surface reconfigurable haptic substrate”, paragraph [0022]), and includes a plurality of cells separately controlled in pressure and/or temperature and/or activation time, and/or duration time, via a pressure and/or a temperature of a medium in the plurality of cells (“detection module configures processor to monitor touch surface via sensor to determine a position of a touch…track one or more of the location, path, velocity, acceleration, pressure, and/or other characteristics of the touch over time”, paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 27, Cruz-Hernandez in view of Toth et al. teaches the plurality of cells being arranged on the distal portion to define a cell pattern (“a haptic effect may be output to simulate the presence of a texture on the surface of the device…as the user’s finger moves across the surface, a vibration, electric field, or other effect may be output to simulate the feeling of a texture on the surface of the device…the perceived coefficient of friction of the screen can be varied”, paragraph [0009], “the user may sense a texture of prickliness, graininess, bumpiness, roughness, stickiness, or some other texture”, paragraph [0023]). The variation of haptic effects can define different cell patterns for the user to feel.
Regarding claim 28, Cruz-Hernandez in view of Toth et al. teaches the system being further configured to:
Determine a wave profile of frequencies and/or amplitudes of an audio signal of said audio file, including peaks and valleys (“Figure 6 shows a flowchart showing an illustrative method for identifying transitions in an audio signal, which may be used for determining haptic effects associated with the audio signal”, paragraph [0049]; audio signals shown in Fig. 6 and Fig. 7);
Identify a plurality of wave parameters in the wave profile, the plurality of wave parameters at least including a rise time and a fall time of the wave profile, a rise duration and a fall duration of the wave profile, a wave slope and/or a wave amplitude of the wave profile (“at step 604, the processor 102 determines a mean value per time window for the transformed signal determined in step 602. In some embodiments, this mean value signal may be stored in a vector”, paragraph [0051], “generation module 128 may access stored waveforms or commands to send to haptic-output device 118”, paragraph [0027]), and transform the wave parameters into haptic profile parameters, including an activation time, an activation duration, a pressure and/or a temperature of the cells (“the method may be used to determine haptic effects associated with other types of signals, e.g., pressure, acceleration, velocity, or temperature signals”, paragraph [0049]); and
Transmit pluralities of signals to the plurality of cells, each plurality of signals being associated to said haptic profile parameters and being directed to one of said plurality of cells (“haptic effect generation module 128 represents programming that causes processor 102 to generate and transmit a haptic signal to haptic output device 118 to generate the selected haptic effect”, paragraph [0027]),
Wherein the system is configured to transmit the signals activating a first cell, which is arranged in the cell pattern before a second cell, before transmission of the signals for activating the second cell in the pattern (“the haptic effects may be output in a coordinated or synchronized form along with the audio file”, paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 29, Cruz-Hernandez in view of Toth et al. teaches beginning transmission of the plurality of signals directed to one cell before an end of transmission of other signals to another cell (“surface of touch surface may be smooth, but the capacitive coupling may produce an attractive force between an object near the surface of touch surface…varying the levels of attraction between the object and the conducting layer can vary the simulated texture on an object moving across the surface of touch surface or vary the coefficient of friction felt as the object moves across the surface of touch surface”, paragraph [0021]). Signals are transmitted to one cell before another cell, which could create one area being raised and one area lowered, resembling a wave-like texture. Regarding claim 30, Cruz-Hernandez in view of Toth et al. teaches transmitting signals directed to one cell at the same time when signals directed to another cell are transmitted (“electrostatic actuator may be used in conjunction with traditional actuators to vary the simulated texture on the surface of touch surface…actuators may vibrate to simulate a change in the texture of the surface of touch surface, while at the same time; and electrostatic actuator may simulate a different texture, or other effects, on the surface of touch surface”, paragraph [0021]). Signals are transmitted to multiple cells at the same time to simulate varying textures on the touch surface.
Regarding claim 31, Cruz-Hernandez in view of Toth et al. teaches the duration of the thermo-tactile stimuli being set to correspond to duration of the signals (“haptic effects may be output for a certain period of time (e.g., 50 ms) when a certain event occurs”, paragraph [0009]), wherein duration of signals directed to one cell is different or equal to duration of other signals to another cell of the plurality of cells (“the perceived coefficient of friction of the screen can be varied (e.g., increased or decreased) based on…the length of time”, paragraph [0009]).
Furthermore, Toth et al. teaches wherein a pressure and/or temperature of the thermo-tactile stimuli is set based on body parameters measured in a body portion different from the distal portion (“energy signal may be emitted into the body of the subject by a first patch and simultaneously monitored by one or more patches to determine a physiologic parameter of the subject”, paragraph [0304]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Cruz-Hernandez with the system of Toth et al. and make the duration of signals and thermo-tactile stimuli being based off detected body parameters to determine the current state of a user and send out haptic effects to accelerate sleep in the user.
Regarding claim 32, Cruz-Hernandez in view of Toth et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 24.
Furthermore, Toth et al. teaches the system being configured to monitor over time the temperature (“the processor configured to receive the temperature signal and to assess a thermal state of the subject therefrom”) and/or the degree of dilation of blood vessels in the skin of the distal portion of the subject, or variations thereof (“patch/module pairs in accordance with the present disclosure configured to measure local blood flow in adjacent tissues”, paragraph [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Cruz-Hernandez with the system of Toth et al. and monitor the temperature, blood flow, and other vitals of a user to test the effects of the haptic effects and determine what is best at accelerating sleep and improving sleep quality in a user.
Regarding claim 33, Cruz-Hernandez in view of Toth et al. teaches the audio file comprising at least an audio track encoding a voice and an audio track encoding sound (“a transition may comprise change from audio output by an orchestra to audio output by people speaking…transition may comprise a more subtle change, such as a change in the tone of voice of a speaker”, paragraph [0011]).
Regarding claim 34, Cruz-Hernandez in view of Toth et al. teaches the system being configured to obtain a haptic profile by:
Processing an audio signal derived from the audio file, thereby obtaining at least one profile of frequencies and/or amplitudes of said audio signal (“Figure 5 is a flowchart showing an illustrative method 500 for determining haptic effects associated with transitions in audio signals…processor 102 identifies transitions in an audio signal…transitions may be associated with changes…such as changes in the amplitude or frequency”, paragraph [0046]); and
Converting said frequencies and/or amplitudes profiles into the haptic profile (“an algorithm may output data for use in generating a drive signal based on amplitude and frequency parameters. As another example, a haptic signal may comprise data sent to an actuator to be decoded by the actuator”, paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 35, Cruz-Hernandez in view of Toth et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 24.
Furthermore, Toth et al. teaches the thermo-tactile stimuli comprising thermal (“one or more of the sensors may include…a thermal gradient sensor”, paragraph [0042]) and pressure gradients (“one or more patches…may include…an interfacial pressure sensing element”, paragraph [0234]) provided on the subject’s skin in a spatio-temporal fashion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Cruz-Hernandez with the system of Toth et al. and include thermal and pressure gradients on the skin to detect the haptic effect on the user by measuring the temperature and pressure.
Regarding claim 36, Cruz-Hernandez in view of Toth et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 24.
Furthermore, Toth et al. teaches the thermo-tactile stimuli duration being based on physiological, movement and/or psychological parameters of the subject (“monitoring one or more physiologic and/or physical signals from a subject including one or more patches…may be configured to convey and/or store one or more physiologic and/or physical signals, a signal derived therefrom, and/or a metric derived therefrom”, paragraph [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Cruz-Hernandez with the system of Toth et al. and configure the thermo-tactile stimuli duration to be based off the physiological and psychological parameters of the subject, as those parameters are used to determine the best haptic effects to accelerate sleep and improve sleep quality in a user.
Regarding claim 37, Cruz-Hernandez in view of Toth et al. teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium (“a memory 104, which can comprise any suitable tangible (and non-transitory) computer-readable medium”, paragraph [0015]) containing a set of instructions that, when executed by a data processing apparatus comprised in the system of claim 24, cause the data processing apparatus to operate said system to:
Reproduce an audio file, with or without a video file, via the audio/video device (“haptic track to be developed based on an audio track in advance of distribution of the audio track”, paragraph [0073]); and
Provide a thermo-tactile stimuli to a distal portion of the subject, wherein the thermo-tactile stimuli are provided through the haptic device according to a haptic profile obtained by said audio file (“haptic effect may comprise a haptic effect associated with an audio track”, paragraph [0010]).
Furthermore, Toth et al. teaches the system to provide a thermo-tactile stimuli to a distal portion of the subject (“patch interface may include a stimulating device selected from an electrical stimulator, a thermoregulating device…a thermoelectric device…a tactile stimulating component”, paragraph [0079) to increase the degree of dilation of blood vessels in the skin of said distal portion (“patches or modules may be used to determine blood flow dynamics throughout one or more regions of the body”, paragraph [0305]), wherein the thermo-tactile stimuli are provided through the haptic device according to a haptic profile obtained by said audio file, thereby inducing a relaxation state together with thermal regulation in said subject to accelerate sleep onset and/or to improve sleep quality (“a Peltier device may be incorporated into the device so as to heat and/or cool the adjacent tissues as part of a stress test”, paragraph [0415]). Applying heat to the skin would increase blood flow, and by doing so, dilates blood vessels which allows the body to be in a state of relaxation, inducing sleep.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Cruz-Hernandez with the system of Toth et al. and produce the steps within a non-transitory computer readable medium.
Regarding claim 38, Cruz-Hernandez in view of Toth et al. teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 37, wherein said instructions comprise:
Receiving and/or processing data regarding the temperature of at least one distal portion of the subject, or variations thereof (“determine haptic effects associated with other types of signals…temperature signals”, paragraph [0014]);
Operating the audio/video device to reproduce the audio file (“audio output device configured to receive the signal and output an audible effect”, paragraph [0004]), with or without the video file (“haptic effect may be associated with an Audio-Visual track, for example, the audio portion of a video file”, paragraph [0010]);
Receiving and/or processing data regarding the haptic profile obtained by said audio file (“processor 102 determines a haptic effect based on the audio signal 404”, paragraph [0040]); and
Operating the haptic device to provide thermo-tactile stimuli to the distal portion of the subject (“processor 102 may control an electrostatic actuator to simulate a texture on the surface of touch surface 116 and processor 102 may further control other haptic output devices 118 to simulate other features”, paragraph [0044]).
Claims 24, 25, 31, and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toth et al. (US 20150335288 A1) in view of Cruz-Hernandez (EP 2846227 A2).
Regarding claim 24, Toth et al. teaches a system to accelerate sleep onset and/or to improve sleep quality in a subject (“to enhance the sleep state of a subject”, paragraph [0180]),
Wherein it provides thermo-tactile stimuli to a distal portion of the subject (“patch interface may include a stimulating device selected from an electrical stimulator, a thermoregulating device…a thermoelectric device…a tactile stimulating component”, paragraph [0079) to increase the degree of dilation of blood vessels in the skin of said distal portion (“patches or modules may be used to determine blood flow dynamics throughout one or more regions of the body”, paragraph [0305]), wherein the thermo-tactile stimuli are provided through the haptic device according to a haptic profile obtained by said audio file, thereby inducing a relaxation state together with thermal regulation in said subject to accelerate sleep onset and/or to improve sleep quality (“a Peltier device may be incorporated into the device so as to heat and/or cool the adjacent tissues as part of a stress test”, paragraph [0415]). Applying heat to the skin would increase blood flow, and by doing so, dilates blood vessels which allows the body to be in a state of relaxation, inducing sleep controlled by a data processing device (par [0056]).
Toth does not teach the system comprising a haptic device comprising a plurality of tactile displays, at least one audio/video device, and a data processing apparatus operatively connected with the haptic feedback device.
However, Cruz-Hernandez teaches a system comprising:
A haptic device comprising a plurality of tactile displays configured to provide thermo-tactile stimuli to a user (“haptic output devices…actuators are used to provide haptic effects”, paragraph [0009], “haptic effects associated with…temperature signals”, paragraph [0038]);
At least one audio/video device configured to reproduce an audio file (“audio output device configured to receive the signal and output an audible effect”, paragraph [0004]), with or without a video file (“haptic effect may be associated with an Audio-Visual track, for example, the audio portion of a video file”, paragraph [0010]); and
A data processing apparatus operatively connected with said haptic device (“haptic output device in communication with the processor”, paragraph [0004]), and said audio/video device (“processor receives an audio signal…signal associated with a video playing on computing device”, paragraph [0039]), the data processing apparatus having a processor comprising instructions configured to operate the system to:
Reproduce the audio file, with or without a video file, via the audio/video device (“haptic track to be developed based on an audio track in advance of distribution of the audio track”, paragraph [0073]); and
Provide the thermo-tactile stimuli to the subject, wherein the thermo-tactile stimuli are provided through the haptic device according to a haptic profile obtained by said audio file (“haptic effect may comprise a haptic effect associated with an audio track”, paragraph [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system to accelerate sleep of Toth et al. with the system of Cruz-Hernandez and create a system that applies thermo-tactile stimulation to the skin through a haptic device comprised of a plurality of tactile displays that is connected with a data-processor that reproduces an audio file that helps accelerate sleep and improve sleep quality in a user.
Regarding claim 25, Toth et al. teaches sensors configured to measure the temperature of the distal portion of the subject (“patch including at least one temperature sensor”, paragraph [0217]), including at least one of a hand, a foot, an ankle, a wrist, head and neck, or variations thereof (“patch/module pair may be adapted for placement almost anywhere on the body of a subject”, paragraph [0432]; Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 31, Toth et al. in view of Cruz-Hernandez teaches wherein a pressure and/or temperature of the thermo-tactile stimuli is set based on body parameters measured in a body portion different from the distal portion (“energy signal may be emitted into the body of the subject by a first patch and simultaneously monitored by one or more patches to determine a physiologic parameter of the subject”, paragraph [0304]).
Furthermore, Cruz-Hernandez teaches the duration of the thermo-tactile stimuli being set to correspond to duration of the signals (“haptic effects may be output for a certain period of time (e.g., 50 ms) when a certain event occurs”, paragraph [0009]), wherein duration of signals directed to one cell is different or equal to duration of other signals to another cell of the plurality of cells (“the perceived coefficient of friction of the screen can be varied (e.g., increased or decreased) based on…the length of time”, paragraph [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Toth et al. with the system of Cruz-Hernandez and make the duration of signals and thermo-tactile stimuli being based off detected body parameters to determine the current state of a user and send out haptic effects to accelerate sleep in the user.
Regarding claim 32, Toth et al. teaches the system being configured to monitor over time the temperature (“the processor configured to receive the temperature signal and to assess a thermal state of the subject therefrom”) and/or the degree of dilation of blood vessels in the skin of the distal portion of the subject, or variations thereof (“patch/module pairs in accordance with the present disclosure configured to measure local blood flow in adjacent tissues”, paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 35, Toth et al. teaches the thermo-tactile stimuli comprising thermal (“one or more of the sensors may include…a thermal gradient sensor”, paragraph [0042]) and pressure gradients (“one or more patches…may include…an interfacial pressure sensing element”, paragraph [0234]) provided on the subject’s skin in a spatio-temporal fashion.
Regarding claim 36, Toth et al. teaches the thermo-tactile stimuli duration being based on physiological, movement and/or psychological parameters of the subject (“monitoring one or more physiologic and/or physical signals from a subject including one or more patches…may be configured to convey and/or store one or more physiologic and/or physical signals, a signal derived therefrom, and/or a metric derived therefrom”, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 37, Toth et al. teaches the system to provide a thermo-tactile stimuli to a distal portion of the subject (“patch interface may include a stimulating device selected from an electrical stimulator, a thermoregulating device…a thermoelectric device…a tactile stimulating component”, paragraph [0079) to increase the degree of dilation of blood vessels in the skin of said distal portion (“patches or modules may be used to determine blood flow dynamics throughout one or more regions of the body”, paragraph [0305]), wherein the thermo-tactile stimuli are provided through the haptic device according to a haptic profile obtained by said audio file, thereby inducing a relaxation state together with thermal regulation in said subject to accelerate sleep onset and/or to improve sleep quality (“a Peltier device may be incorporated into the device so as to heat and/or cool the adjacent tissues as part of a stress test”, paragraph [0415]). Applying heat to the skin would increase blood flow, and by doing so, dilates blood vessels which allows the body to be in a state of relaxation, inducing sleep.
Furthermore, Cruz-Hernandez teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium (“a memory 104, which can comprise any suitable tangible (and non-transitory) computer-readable medium”, paragraph [0015]) containing a set of instructions that, when executed by a data processing apparatus comprised in the system of claim 24, cause the data processing apparatus to operate said system to:
Reproduce an audio file, with or without a video file, via the audio/video device (“haptic track to be developed based on an audio track in advance of distribution of the audio track”, paragraph [0073]); and
Provide a thermo-tactile stimuli to a distal portion of the subject, wherein the thermo-tactile stimuli are provided through the haptic device according to a haptic profile obtained by said audio file (“haptic effect may comprise a haptic effect associated with an audio track”, paragraph [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Toth et al. with the computer-readable medium of Cruz-Hernandez and produce the steps within a non-transitory computer readable medium.
Conclusion
/L.L.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791