DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-14, and 20-23 are pending. Claim 8 is withdrawn. Claims 1, 21, and 23 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “the Hon ‘518 publication relies on an electric heating element within the nozzle to boil and vaporize the liquid.” This argument is not persuasive as the device of Hon in view of Rentsch discussed in the rejections below replaces the electric heating element of Hon with the atomization nozzle unit of Rentsch.
Applicant further argues that Hon’s “liquid feeding mechanism [is] designed to push the liquid gently”. This argument is not persuasive as Applicant has not cited any portion of Hon which discloses the magnitude of the pressure from which to conclude that the pressure is gentle. Further, as discussed in the rejections below, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of pressure produced.
Applicant further argues that “The pressure in the Hon ‘518 publication is only high enough to transport the liquid, not to atomize the liquid by mechanical means.” This argument is not persuasive as Applicant has not cited any portion of Hon which discloses the magnitude of the pressure from which to conclude that the pressure is only high enough to transport the liquid, not to atomize the liquid by mechanical means. Further, as discussed in the rejections below, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of pressure produced.
Applicant further argues that it is not obvious to combine Hon and Rentsch because “[s]ince the liquid of the combination will be vaporized, it is not advantageous to first atomize the liquid.” This argument is not persuasive as the device of Hon in view of Rentsch discussed in the rejections below replaces the heat-based vaporizer of Hon with the atomization nozzle unit of Rentsch.
Applicant further argues that “the elastic member 210 of the combination as included form the Hon ‘518 publication would not be able to exert enough pressure to force the liquid through the nozzle body 14” of Rentsch. This argument is not persuasive as Applicant has not cited any portion of Hon which discloses the magnitude of the pressure from which to conclude that the pressure is not high enough to force the liquid through the nozzle body 14 of Rentsch. Further, as discussed in the rejections below, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of pressure produced.
Applicant further argues that “[t]he low-pressure feeding spring of the Hon ‘518 publication cannot overcome the massive flow resistance of the 6 μm opening of the nozzle plate of” Rentsch. This argument is not persuasive as Applicant has not cited any portion of Hon which discloses the magnitude of the pressure from which to conclude that the pressure cannot overcome the allegedly massive flow resistance of the 6 μm opening of the nozzle plate of Rentsch. Further, as discussed in the rejections below, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of pressure produced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 10-14, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hon (US 2006/0196518 A1) in view of Rentsch et al. (US 2022/0160052 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hon discloses an oral dispenser (“electronic cigarette”, Fig. 8, ¶ 0025) for discharging a liquid (“liquid”, ¶ 0025) in atomized form, comprising:
a liquid reservoir (“liquid storage container 213”, Fig. 8, ¶ 0025) of variable internal volume for storing the liquid prior to discharge (¶ 0025);
a spring mechanism (“super elastic member 210”, Fig. 8, ¶ 0025) by which, when the spring mechanism is loaded, the liquid in the liquid reservoir is permanently under positive pressure (¶ 0025);
an atomization nozzle unit (“vaporization nozzle 217”, Fig. 8, ¶ 0025) with at least one nozzle opening with a maximum cross-section of 0.002 mm2 (internal diameter of 0.05-2 mm, ¶ 0020, which corresponds to a cross-section of 0.00196 mm2 to 3.14 mm2; since the range 0.00196 mm2 to 3.14 mm2 overlaps the claimed range of maximum of 0.002 mm2, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP § 2144.05(I));
an outlet channel (outlet channel in “baffle plate 215”, Fig. 8, ¶ 0025) connecting the liquid reservoir to the atomization nozzle unit (Fig. 8);
an outlet valve (combination of “pneumatic film 214”, “magnetic steel ring 218”, and “steel valve needle 220”, Fig. 8, ¶ 0025) provided in the outlet channel which can adopt an open state and a closed state (Fig. 8, ¶ 0025);
a mouthpiece (end “contacting with user’s mouth”, ¶ 0025) for inhalation of the liquid atomized by the atomization nozzle unit (¶ 0025); and
a refill opening (“refilling valve 212”, Fig. 8, ¶ 0025) separate from the atomization nozzle unit and connected to the liquid reservoir, wherein the spring mechanism is loaded by liquid fed through the refill opening into the liquid reservoir (Fig. 8, ¶ 0025).
Hon does not disclose the pressure of the force of the spring mechanism when the spring mechanism is in a fully loaded state with the liquid reservoir completely filled, to determine if the spring mechanism exerts a force which places the liquid in the liquid reservoir under a pressure of at least 4 bar. However, Hon teaches that the dispenser operates under constant pressure applied by the spring mechanism on the liquid reservoir (¶ 0025). The efficacy of the spring mechanism for this result depends on the pressure of the force applied by the spring mechanism. If the spring mechanism does not apply sufficient force, then the liquid will not be forced out of the liquid reservoir for vaporization. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the pressure of the force applied by the spring mechanism such that it falls within the claimed range. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955); MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)).
Hon also does not disclose wherein the atomization nozzle unit includes a nozzle plate with a plurality of nozzle openings each having a maximum cross-section of 0.002 mm2.
Rentsch, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an oral dispenser (“inhaler”, Fig. 6, ¶ 0105) with a liquid reservoir (“liquid compartment 4”, Fig. 6, ¶ 0105) under pressure (“liquid compartment 4” is in “pressure tank 1”, Fig. 6, ¶ 0105) and an atomization nozzle unit (“nozzle body 14”, Fig. 6, ¶ 0108) including a nozzle plate with a plurality of nozzle openings (“nozzle plate 14a having a plurality of outlet openings”, Fig. 6, ¶ 0109, see also ¶ 0049). Rentsch also teaches that the plurality of nozzle openings each have a maximum cross-section of 0.002 mm2 (the nozzle openings can have a diameter of 6 µm or less, ¶ 0051; therefore, the range of possible total cross-sectional areas taught by Rentsch includes π x 0.003 mm x 0.003 mm = 0.000028 mm2 if using the stated maximum diameter; the range taught by Rentsch overlaps the claimed range, see MPEP § 2144.05(I)). Further, Rentsch teaches an advantage to using an atomization nozzle unit with a nozzle plate with a plurality of openings in that it allows for a desirable size distribution of the atomized droplets of liquid (¶ 0008, 0050). Rentsch also teaches an advantage to using such an atomization nozzle unit without heating as it prevents undesirable chemical processes (¶ 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the atomization nozzle unit with the nozzle plate with plurality of nozzle openings taught by Rentsch in place of the atomization nozzle unit taught by Hon that uses heat (“liquid with nicotine enters the vaporization nozzle . . . and is vaporized . . . at high temperature”, ¶ 0025), in order to achieve these benefits. In the device of the combination, the pressure of the liquid caused by the spring mechanism serves to atomize the liquid (as the spring mechanism of Hon pushes the liquid into the atomization unit of Rentsch to be atomized, the spring mechanism is considered as serving to atomize the liquid).
Regarding claim 2, Hon in view of Rentsch teaches the oral dispenser as claimed in claim 1, as stated above. Hon further discloses that the oral dispenser includes a nicotine-containing liquid in the liquid reservoir (“liquid with nicotine”, ¶ 0025).
Regarding claim 4, Hon in view of Rentsch teaches the oral dispenser as claimed in claim 1, as stated above. Hon further discloses that the oral dispenser has an elongate form oriented in a main extent direction (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 10, Hon in view of Rentsch teaches the oral dispenser as claimed in claim 1, as stated above. Hon further discloses wherein the outlet valve is configured as a manually actuatable outlet valve (the outlet valve is manually actuatable “When the user performs suction action”, ¶ 0025).
Regarding claim 11, Hon in view of Rentsch teaches the oral dispenser as claimed in claim 1, as stated above. Hon further discloses wherein the outlet valve is configured as a lip-actuatable outlet valve (the outlet valve is actuatable “When the user performs suction action”, ¶ 0025; suction action may be provided by the user’s lips) and has an actuating face (“pneumatic film 214”, Fig. 8, ¶ 0025) on the mouthpiece or in a region of the mouthpiece (Fig. 8), the actuating face, when force-loaded by a user's lips, causing the outlet valve to transfer from the closed to the open state (¶ 0025).
Regarding claim 12, Hon in view of Rentsch teaches the oral dispenser as claimed in claim 1, as stated above. Hon further discloses wherein the outlet valve is formed as a breath-controlled outlet valve (the outlet valve is actuatable “When the user performs suction action”, ¶ 0025; suction action may be provided by the user’s breath) and has a vacuum chamber (vacuum chamber formed by “suction action”, ¶ 0025) in communication with the mouthpiece (Fig. 8) and provided with a displaceable chamber wall (“pneumatic film 214”, Fig. 8, ¶ 0025), the displaceable chamber wall transferring the outlet valve from the closed to the open state by vacuum-induced displacement (¶ 0025).
Regarding claim 13, Hon in view of Rentsch teaches the oral dispenser as claimed in claim 1, as stated above. Hon further discloses that the oral dispenser has an outer housing (“shell” in claim 68, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 14, Hon in view of Rentsch teaches the oral dispenser as claimed in claim 1, as stated above. Hon also discloses the oral dispenser further comprising at least one air channel (“air hole 216”, Fig. 8, ¶ 0025) through which air flows into the mouthpiece in order to be inhaled with the atomized liquid.
Regarding claim 20, Hon in view of Rentsch teaches the oral dispenser as claimed in claim 1, as stated above. However, Hon does not disclose wherein the plurality of nozzle openings have cross-sections in total amounting to a maximum of 0.04 mm2. Rentsch further teaches that the plurality of nozzle openings have cross-sections in total amounting to a maximum of 0.04 mm2 (the nozzle openings have a diameter of 6 µm or less, ¶ 0051, and the nozzle plate includes at least 20 nozzle openings, ¶ 0053; therefore, the range of possible total cross-sectional areas taught by Rentsch includes π x 0.003 mm x 0.003 mm x 20 = 0.0000565 mm2 if using the stated maximum diameter and minimum number of holes; since the range taught by Rentsch overlaps the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 21, Hon in view of Rentsch teaches the oral dispenser as claimed in claim 1, as stated above. Hon does not disclose the speed of the liquid flow when the atomization nozzle unit is configured with an internal liquid pressure of 4 bar, to determine if a liquid flow between 5 µl/second and 30 µl/second is dispensed by the atomization nozzle unit. However, Hon teaches that under the pressure of the spring mechanism, the liquid flows through the dispenser (¶ 0007, 0025) and that this dispensing of liquid is for optimal delivery of nicotine to the user (¶ 0005-0006). The efficacy of the dispenser for this result depends on the speed of the liquid flow. If the liquid does not have sufficient flow through the dispenser or if the liquid flows too quickly through the dispenser, then the user will not receive optimal delivery of the liquid and the nicotine contained therein. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the pressure of the force applied by the spring mechanism such that it falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 22, Hon in view of Rentsch teaches the oral dispenser as claimed in claim 4, as stated above. Hon further discloses wherein the refill opening is arranged at a distal end of the oral dispenser (Fig. 8, “refilling valve 212” is distal to “charging jack 202”).
Regarding claim 23, Hon in view of Rentsch teaches the oral dispenser as claimed in claim 1, as stated above. Hon also discloses the oral dispenser further comprising a longitudinally elongate and tubular housing (housing in Fig. 8) defining a central longitudinal axis (central longitudinal housing in Fig. 8) and having axially spaced proximal and distal ends (proximal end with mouthpiece and distal end with “charging jack 202”, Fig. 8, ¶ 0025), the mouthpiece being disposed at the proximal end of the housing and being tubular and defining a central longitudinal axis (Fig. 8, ¶ 0025), the atomization nozzle unit being disposed in the mouthpiece (Fig. 8, ¶ 0025) and the mouthpiece being arranged coaxially with the housing (Fig. 8, ¶ 0025).Therefore, as the nozzle plate of Rentsch is located in the atomization nozzle unit of Hon in the oral dispenser of the combination, the nozzle plate is disposed in the mouthpiece in the oral dispenser of the combination.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hon (US 2006/0196518 A1) in view of Rentsch et al. (US 2022/0160052 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lavanant et al. (US 2019/0014815 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Hon in view of Rentsch teaches the oral dispenser as claimed in claim 1, as stated above. Hon further discloses wherein the liquid reservoir is delimited at least in portions by a wall (outer wall surrounding the liquid reservoir, Fig. 8), and the spring mechanism is configured for exerting a force on the wall to reduce a size of the liquid reservoir (¶ 0025, the spring mechanism exerts force on the liquid which exerts force on the outer wall as the size of the liquid reservoir is reduced).
However, Hon does not explicitly disclose that the wall has a flexible form.
Lavanant, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a liquid reservoir surrounded by an outer wall with flexible form (¶ 0080, Figs. 3-5). Lavanant also teaches that when force is exerted on the wall, the size of the liquid reservoir is reduced (Fig. 5), and the liquid moves under pressure (¶ 0083). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the wall taught by Hon to make it have a flexible form as taught by Lavanant in order to obtain the benefit of aiding the movement of the liquid through the dispenser.
Regarding claim 6, Hon in view of Rentsch and Lavanant teaches the oral dispenser as claimed in claim 5, as stated above. Lavanant further teaches wherein the form-flexible wall is configured as an elastically expandable hose surrounding the liquid reservoir (¶ 0080, 0083, Figs. 3-5; the form-flexible wall is an elastically expandable hose).
Regarding claim 7, Hon in view of Rentsch and Lavanant teaches the oral dispenser as claimed in claim 6, as stated above. Hon further discloses wherein the oral dispenser has a central mandrel (central mandrel in “refilling valve 212”, Fig. 8, ¶ 0025) surrounded by the outer wall, and the liquid reservoir is provided at least partially as a ring between an outer face of the central mandrel and an inside of the hose (Fig. 8). In the dispenser of the combination, the outer wall is the hose, so the central mandrel is surrounded by the hose.
Conclusion
/COURTNEY G CULBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 1747