DETAILED ACTION
Cleaning Pad for Treating Surfaces
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 08-11-2025 has been entered. Claims 1-10,12-18 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant’s amendments overcome the previous specification, drawing objection, 112 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office action mailed 03-12-2025. The previous rejection updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-3, filed 08-11-2025, with respect to claim 1 and their dependent claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejections of office action dated 03-12-2025 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN201029852Y) in view Kohlruss et al (US20020102124A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches
an elastically deformable core (1, figure 1) and a cleaning cover (5, figure 1) surrounding the core, a container (2, figure 1) being introduced into the interior of the core (1, figure 1), the container having a supply part (figures 1-2) and a neck (3, figures 1-2) into which a spray head (8) is built, there being an opening (6 figures 2-3) in the cleaning pad (5, figure 1) above the side of the container (2, figure 1) facing the neck (3, figures 1-2), at least part of the neck (3, figures 1-2) being disposed above the opening
Sun fails to teach the supply part can be passed through the opening, the cross-sectional area of the opening being at least equal to the cross-sectional area of the supply part.
Kohlruss discloses a cleaning pad (1, figure 1) that has a container (2, figure 1) with a supply part (4a, figure 1) can be passed through the opening (figure 2), the cross-sectional area of the opening (figure 2) being at least equal to the cross-sectional area of the supply part (4a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the construction of Sun’s device based on the teachings of Kohlruss so that the supply part can be passed through the opening, the cross-sectional area of the opening being at least equal to the cross-sectional area of the supply part. This would allow a user to easily detach and remove container from cleaning core while also being secured during use. (para 0016, 0017—0021,0029-0030 of Kohlruss).
Regarding claim 2, modified Sun characterized in that the cross-sectional area of the supply part (see Sun figures 1-2) and the cross-sectional area of the opening (see Sun 6, figures 2-3) are congruent (see Kohlruss, figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, modified Sun teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach that the supply part is cylindrical
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the construction of the Sun so that the supply part is cylindrical since a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to create a shape an user desires. (see MPEP 214.04)
Regarding claim 4, modified Sun characterized in that the supply part (see Sun figures 1-2) is bordered in the opening (see Sun 6, figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 5, modified Sun characterized in that the neck (see Sun 3, figures 1-2) is bordered in the opening (see Sun 6, figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sun characterized in that the core (see Sun 1, figure 1) comprises a cavity (see Sun figure 2) into which the supply part (see Sun figures 1-2) is inserted.
Regarding claim 7, modified Sun
characterized in that the cross-sectional area of the supply part (see Sun figures 1-2) and the cross-sectional area of the cavity (figure 2) are congruent (see Kohlruss figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, modified Sun teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach at least a part of the outer surface of the supply part and/or at least a part of the inner surface of the cavity is provided with an adhesive.
Kohlruss discloses a device for cleaning flat objects (abstract) that has a hollow body that filled with a cleaning agent situated within a cleaning pad (abstract, figures 1-2) that includes a part of the outer surface of the hollow body is provided with an adhesive (para 0016)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the construction of Sun’s device based on the teachings of Kohlruss so that supply part is provided with an adhesive. This modification would reduce the chances of the supply part slipping (see Kohlruss para 0016).
Claim(s)10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN201029852Y), Sun hereinafter in view Kohlruss et al (US20020102124A1) further in view of Lersch et al. (US5879094A).
Regarding claim 10, modified Sun teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach a cleaning cover that has an inwardly-curving shape at the edges thereof.
Lersch teaches a cleaning device (abstract) that has a cleaning cover (10, figure 1) that has an inwardly-curving shape at the edges thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the construction of Sun’s device based on the teachings of Lersch so that the cleaning cover that has an inwardly-curving shape at the edges thereof. This modification would help improve the wiping effect (see Lersch abstract).
Claim(s) 9, 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN201029852Y), Sun hereinafter in view Kohlruss et al (US20020102124A1) further in view of Pohlmann (WO2016020059A2)
Regarding claim 9, modified Sun teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach at least a part of the cleaning cover is a type of leather.
Pohlmann teaches a cleaning pad (100, figure 1) that has a cleaning cover (2,figure 1) consists of a type of leather (Pohlmann discloses “leather for drying. A uniform cover (for example as leather, textile leather or synthetic fiber”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the construction of Sun’s cleaning pad based on the teachings of Pohlman so that the cleaning cover can comprise a type of leather. This modification would ensure there is a side of cleaning pad that can used for drying (see Pohlmann para 0011 of npl)
Regarding claim 12, Sun teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach the cleaning cover consists of a first material blank and a second material blank which encapsulate the core therebetween and which are connected together using at least an adhesive and/or a weld seam at an edge area surrounding the core, at least one of first and second material blank being coated on the surface thereof facing the core by an activatable or activated adhesive material at least in said edge area of said at least one material blank.
Pohlmann teaches a cleaning pad (100, figure 1) that has a cleaning cover (2,figure 1) consists of two material blanks (6 and 6’, figure 2) which encapsulate the core (1, figure 2) therebetween and which are connected together using at least an adhesive and/or a weld seam at an edge area (Pohlmann discloses “The material blanks 6, 6' are designed with an oversize compared to the core 1 and are connected to one another in their outer edge region 3 via a laterally protruding and in particular circumferential adhesive and/or weld seam 4 approximately half the thickness of the core 1.”) surrounding the core (1, figure 2), at least one of the material blanks (6, 6’, figure 2) being coated on the surface thereof facing the core (1, figure2) by an activatable or activated adhesive material at least in said edge area (Pohlmann discloses “In order that the natural leather can be glued to the second material cut 6 made of microfiber terry cloth, it is provided that the leather material cut 6 ' is coated with a thermally activated adhesive at least on its surface 8 facing the core 1, at least in the edge region 3, in particular to be bonded flatly to an adhesive gauze 9”) of said at least one material blank (6 and 6’ , figure 2) the seam is closed up to the outermost edge and has a width of at least two millimeters. (Pohlmann discloses “This seam 4 is closed to the outermost edge and has a width of at least two millimetres.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the construction of Sun’s cleaning pad based on the teachings of Pohlman so that cleaning cover comprises two material blanks connected together using adhesive. This modification would ensure the seams of the cleaning pad are even and reduce damage when exposed to high mechanical stress. (see para 0003-0005 Polhmann’s npl )
Regarding claim 13, modified Sun teaches characterized in that
the adhesive material is thermally activatable or activated for forming a seam. (Pohlman discloses “In order that the natural leather can be glued to the second material cut 6 made of microfiber terry cloth, it is provided that the leather material cut 6 ' is coated with a thermally activated adhesive at least on its surface 8 facing the core 1, at least in the edge region 3, in particular to be bonded flatly to an adhesive gauze 9”).
Regarding claim 14, modified Sun teaches the seam is closed up to the outermost edge and has a width of at least two millimeters. (Pohlmann discloses “This seam 4 is closed to the outermost edge and has a width of at least two millimetres.”)
Regarding claim 15, modified Sun teaches the adhesive material is applied as an activatable layer on at least one of the material blanks on the entire surface thereof facing the core (Pohlman discloses the adhesive material to be applied as an activatable layer over a large area on at least one of the material blanks on its surface facing the core. Such a large-area layer can be created in terms of manufacturing technology simply by having at least one of the material blanks on its surface facing the core, in particular over its entire area, underlaid by an adhesive gauze)
Regarding claim 16, modified Sun teaches that
on the surface facing the core of at least one of the material blanks an adhesive gauze material is provided on the bottom. (Pohlmann discloses “At least one of the material blanks 6, 6' created before assembly is coated on its surface 8 facing the core (1, figure 1), at least in its outer edge region, with an activatable or activated adhesive material 9.”)
Regarding claim 17, modified Sun teaches a method of manufacturing a cleaning pad wherein two material webs (Pohlmann discloses “sponge-like, two material webs are first provided for an upper and a lower layer to be formed,”) are prepared for an upper and a lower layer to be formed, at least one of said webs being provided with an adhesive layer and cut out into a one of the first or second material blank (Pohlmann discloses “the material webs are cut or punched out into precisely fitting material cuts 6 , 6”) so coated, wherein a core (Pohlmann discloses “In the coated or laminated state of the material web for subsequent material cutting”) , in particular a cuboid, elastically deformable core, is placed onto a first material blank (Pohlmann discloses “Subsequently, the particularly cuboid-shaped, elastically deformable core 1 is placed on this material blank 6,6’ “), and the second material blank is placed onto the core, the first material blank and the second material blanks laterally protruding past the core, both the first and second material blanks (11,12) being then pressed together, encapsulating the core (Pohlmann discloses “On the core 1, the second material blank 6 is placed, wherein the first and the second material blank 6, 6 ' laterally project beyond the core 1 (Figure 7 below) both material blanks 6, 6 ' under the edging of the core 1 indirectly pressed together on”), and thereby dissolving the adhesive layer and gluing and/or welding the material blanks (11,12) together ( Pohlmann discloses “ The adhesive layer 9 is dissolved (activated). And the material blanks 6, 6 ' are glued together durably and / or in particular special welded”)
characterized in that
during the manufacture of the cleaning pad, the core is provided with a cavity (Sun figure 2) and at least one of the first and second material blank is provided with an opening before or after being pressed together (Pohlmann discloses “ The adhesive layer 9 is dissolved (activated). And the material blanks 6, 6 ' are glued together durably and / or in particular special welded”) after being pressed together the container (Sun 2, figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, modified Sun teaches the welding and/or gluing can be activated using high-frequency exposure (see Pohlmann discloses “that the welding and / or gluing can be activated by high-frequency action.”)
Conclusion
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723