DETAILED ACTION
The previous prior art rejection under Berthe et al (US 20160185705), Berthe in view of Tang et al (CN 103804209), and Double Patenting rejection over U.S. Patent No. 10590058 maintained and therefore it is proper to make this rejection FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1-7, 9-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berthe et al (US 20160185705), cited in the previous Office Action
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berthe et al as applied to claims 1-7, 9-12 and 14-15 above, and further in view of Tang et al (CN 103804209), cited in cited in the previous Office Action and IDS.
Amendments to claims 1 and 2 are noted. They include limitations of Injecting HBr, in the gaseous form and in stoichiometric excess, into a reaction mixture comprising a compound of formula (1) CH2=CH-(CH2)n-COOR, a radical initiator, and at least one solvent, where the ratio of the molar flow rate of HBr injected in stage (a) to the molar flow rate of the compound of formula (1) injected in stage (a) is from 1.2 to 3.
Amendment to claim 2 tightens HBr to compound (1) ratio as 1.2 to 2.2.
Berthe teaches the ratio between hydrobromic acid and undecylenic acid is 2 (i.e., 50ml/min vs 25 ml/min, see 0069), meeting the limitations of amended claims 1 and 2.
Regarding the limitation, requiring injection of HBr in gaseous state, Berthe teaches that the solvent is optional (see Abstract and claim 1).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-7, 9-12 and 14-15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9-10 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 10590058.
U.S. 10590058 teaches the ratio between hydrobromic acid and undecylenic acid is 2 (i.e., 50ml/min vs 25 ml/min, see 8:25), meeting the limitations of amended claims 1 and 2.
Regarding the limitation, requiring injection of HBr in gaseous state, U.S. 10590058 teaches that the solvent is optional (see and claim 1)
The rejection can be found in the NON-FINAL office action mailed 7/22/2025 and is herein incorporated by reference
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Berthe does not teach that (1) HBr is injected in gaseous form and (2) the
stoichiometric excess is 1.2 to 3.0 and injection of HBr in gaseous state. .
Examiner disagrees. Berthe teaches the ratio between hydrobromic acid and undecylenic acid is 2 (i.e., 50ml/min vs 25 ml/min, see 0069).
Regarding the limitation, requiring injection of HBr in gaseous state, Berthe teaches that the solvent is optional (see Abstract and claim 1)
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Ashton et al (Addition of Hydrogen Bromide to Double Bonds. Undecenoic Acid., Journal of Chemical Society, January 1, 1934, pp.434-440) is withdrawn in view of claim 1 amendment and Applicant’s arguments.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GL
/GREGORY LISTVOYB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765