DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The Applicant has provided a response dated 11/7/205; in the Response, the Applicant has provided amendments to the claims and arguments based upon the rejections. The amendments to the claims has provided for the withdrawal of the claim objections. The amendment to claim 5 has allowed for the withdrawal of the 35 USC 112(a) Written Description of the claims; The Applicant has provided a reasonable argument to assert that the claimed cell does not need to be deposited, and as such, these 35 USC 112(a) Written Description rejections are withdrawn. The claim amendments also provide for the 35 USC 112(b) rejections to be withdrawn. All of the prior 35 USC 112(a) and (b) rejections are withdrawn.
On pages 17 of the Applicant’s Arguments, the Applicant states that von Maltzahn does not teach cathepsin. This was discussed in the rejections, and is why Pager, et al (Virology, 346, 251-257, 2006 [IDS Reference]) is used as a supporting reference. Similarly, on page 18 of the Applicant’s Arguments, the Applicant states that Pager does not teach all of the elements that are taught by von Maltzahn. Based upon this assessment, the Applicant is arguing the references individually; one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the rejection is was noted that von Maltzahn provides for all of the claimed elements except for the inclusion of the cathepsin limitation. The rejection further notes that there is a clear nexus between the fusosomes of von Maltzahn and the cathepsin of Pager, wherein von Maltzahn teaches a virus that can be cleaved by the cathepsin of Pager. The Applicant has proved no reasons as to why the two references cannot be combined, nor is there an argument as to why the ordinary artisan would not find this combination obvious and predictable. As such, all of the 35 USC 103 rejections are maintained for all of the reasons provided in the previous rejection.
On page 19 of the Applicant’s Arguments, the Applicant states that claim 4 has been canceled, and as such, the Non-Statutory Double Patenting rejection should be withdrawn. The rejection also applied to independent claim 5, and still continues to apply. As such, the Non-Statutory Double Patenting rejections will be modified to account for the fact that the rejection only applies to claim 5, and related dependent claims.
New claims 30-36 have been added; these will be discussed in the rejections below. All of the claim objections have been withdrawn. All of the 35 USC 112(a) and (b) rejections are withdrawn. All of the 35 USC 103 rejections are maintained on the pending/non-canceled claims. All of the Non-Statutory Double Patenting rejections are maintained on the pending/non-canceled claims. No claims are allowed.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 31 is indefinite because it is unclear how the claim limitation relates to the claim from which it depends. Claim 31 is dependent on claim 5, which states that at least 33% of the henipavirus F molecules are “active.” While the limitation of claim 5 is not necessarily indefinite, since the activation of various proteins would be clear to the ordinary artisan (for example, fibrinogen is activated into fibrin by the enzymatic cleavage of the inactive portion), it is unclear if the claimed truncation results in the claimed activation; furthermore, if at least 33% are active, it is unclear if the other 67% has the same truncation, or if there is no truncation resulting in inactive proteins. That is to say, if the limitation of claim 31 was performed on all of the claimed henipavirus proteins, would 100% of the proteins be active?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-16, 18-22, 24-26, 28-30 and 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over von Maltzahn, et al (PGPub 2020/0060980 [IDS Reference]) and Pager, et al (Virology, 346, 251-257, 2006 [IDS Reference]). von Maltzahn provides for methods of making fusosomes. See paragraph [0004]. The composition is made from a host/source cell. See paragraph [0005]. von Maltzahn states that the host cell can be modified to over express a protease, but does not explicitly state that it can be cathepsin. See paragraph [0737]. von Maltzahn includes henipavirus F and G, wherein they can be included together. See paragraph [0449]. von Maltzahn cultures the cells to produce a fusosome. See paragraph [0421].
Although von Maltzahn does not state the inclusion of cathepsin as the recommended protease, Pager indicates that cathepsin is particularly effective in cleaving henipavirus proteins. See page 251, entire. Since it is clear that cathepsin is a particularly effective protease for the cleavage of the proteins described in von Maltzahn, it would be obvious to substitute the general disclosure of “protease” with the specifically described cathepsin.
With respect to claims 1-3, von Maltzahn generally describes the claimed method, and the cell used for making fusosomes. Although von Maltzahn does not explicitly state cathepsin, von Maltzahn does suggest proteases. Pager shows that cathepsin is particularly effective in cleaving the henipavirus proteins of von Maltzahn.
With respect to claims 5 and 6, von Maltzahn appears to describe the same fusosome.
With respect to claims 7, 8, 34 and 35, von Maltzahn describes methods of delivering exogenous cargo. See paragraph [0003].
With respect to claims 9 and 10, the retargeted henipavirus of von Maltzahn appears consistent with the claimed modification. See paragraph [0449].
With respect to claims 11, 12, 20-22, and 24-26, although Pager does not teach the sequence of the cathepsin molecules and von Maltzahn does not teach the sequences of the henipavirus proteins, these are well-known to the ordinary artisan. The Applicant has explicitly stated, in the most recent Applicant’s Arguments, that these sequences are known.
With respect to claims 13-16, 18 and 19, since the rejection is based on the combination of references, the claimed limitation is not explicitly taught in the prior art. However, if the ordinary artisan were to combine von Maltzahn and Pager, there is a reasonable expectation that the claimed limitations would be met.
With respect to claims 28, 30, and 32, von Maltzahn teaches that the cargo can be therapeutic nucleic acids. See paragraph [0004]. Lentiviral vectors are exceptionally well-known in the art.
With respect to claim 29, von Maltzahn teaches human cells. See paragraph [0288].
With respect to claims 33 and 36, von Maltzahn teaches the presence of both henipavirus F and G proteins.
Double Patenting
Claims 5-8, 31, 34 and 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-40 of U.S. Patent No. 11,576,872. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent describes fusosomes that include both henipavirus F and G proteins; this reads upon the claimed fusosomes that include these proteins. The patent is broader than the instant claim-set, since it describes fusosomes with other proteins. The fusosomes of the patent read upon, both, the fusosomes and the methods of delivery, of the instant claim-set. Furthermore, the patent provides for methods of administering the composition, and as such, anticipates the method provided in claims 7 and 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID W BERKE-SCHLESSEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651