DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the language, “Provided are” should be deleted and the abstract is less than 50 words. The abstract should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “i is an integer of 0 to 7” should be replaced to show an actually “j” and to be “j is an integer of 0 to 7”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “between the 2 or more stacks”. However, there is no positive recitation of 2 or more stacks in claims 8 or 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim as written is indefinite and unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cha et al. (KR 2020-0144482 A1).
Regarding claims 1-7, Cha et al. teach a compound represented by formula 1:
( see abstract, claims and examples), more specifically
on page 6 or
on page 8 as compounds in paragraphs [0095-0107] meeting the limitation of a compound represented by Formula 1:
, a compound represented by any Formulas 1-1 to 1-3, a compound represented by any Formulas 1-4 to 1-6, a compound represented by any Formulas 1-7 or 1-8, a compound represented by Formula 1-9, a compound represented by any one of formulas 1-10 to 1-12, and a compound represented by any of following compounds P-1 to P-90 as instantly claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 10-2016-0091198 A1).
Regarding claims 1-9 and 11-17, Lee et al. disclose an organic optoelectronic device ( see abstract, claims and examples) comprising: an anode and a cathode facing each other; a light-emitting layer positioned between the anode and the cathode, ; a hole transport layer positioned between the anode and the light-emitting layer; and an auxiliary hole transport layer positioned between the hole transport layer and the light-emitting layer, wherein the hole transport layer comprises at least one type of a first compound represented by chemical formula 1 and the auxiliary hole transport layer comprises at least one type of a second compound represented by a combination of chemical formula 2:
on page 4 and chemical formula 3:
on page 4, wherein the sconed compound includes compound 2-19:
( see claims 1 and 10 and paragraphs [0154-0155]). Compound 2-19 of Lee et al. is similar to the compound represented by chemical formula 1 in claim 1; the compound represented by chemical formula 1-1 in claim 2; the compound represented by chemical formula 1-5 in claim 3; and the compound represented by chemical formula 1-7 in claim 4, wherein a-h are 0. In addition, compound 2-18 of Lee et al. is similar to the compound represented by chemical formula 1-9 in claim 5; the compound represented by chemical formula 1-11 in claim 6, wherein a-d are 0, and I and j are 0; and compound P-2 in claim 7.
Further regards to claims 1-7, Lee et al. differs from the instantly claimed invention in that two naphthyl groups are included at the terminal, whereas two phenyl groups are included at the terminal, but deriving claims 1-7 by changing, to a naphthyl group, the phenyl group which is a terminal substituent is a work amounting to a normal structure activity study, thus, the structural change does not involve any particular difficulty. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the structural chemical compound of Lee at al. to include that two naphthyl groups are included at the terminal, whereas two phenyl groups are included at the terminal in view of routine experimentation.
Further regards to claim 8, Lee et al. do not explicitly recite the compound of claim 1 is contained in an auxiliary light emitting layer as instantly claimed. However, in view of the features disclosed in Lee et al. wherein the second compound is contained in the auxiliary hole transport layer positioned between the hole transport layer and the light-emitting layer, and the auxiliary hole transport layer controls, by comprising the second compound such as compound 2-19, the hole injection characteristics so as to reduce the accumulation of holes at the interface between the auxiliary hole transport layer and the light-emitting layer, thereby exhibiting an excellent effect of reducing quenching, in which excitons are annihilated by polarons at the interface ( see claims 1 and 10 & [0120]), the difference would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art in view of design choice and routine experimentation.
Further regards to claims 9, 11 and 12, Lee et al. teach 9,10-di(naphthalene-2-yl)anthracene (ADN:
) as a host and BD01(
) as a dopant, in the light emitting layer, wherein AND is the same as the compound of chemical formula 3 in claim 9, wherein R25 and R30 are naphthalene, and R23, R24, R26-29, R31 and R32 are hydrogen; and compound 9-10 in claim 11, and BD01 is the same as the compound of chemical formula 4 in claim 9,wherein R36 and R41 are L’NRaRb, wherein L’ is a single bond, Ra and Rb are a phenyl group, and R33-R35 , R37-R40 and R42 are hydrogen, and compound 10-14 in claim 12 ( see paragraphs [0164-0171]).
Further regards to claim 13, Lee et al. do not explicitly recite the organic electronic element further comprises a light efficiency enhancing layer formed on at least one surface of the first electrode and the second electrode, the surface being opposite to the organic material layer as instantly claimed. However, in view of the features disclosed of Lee et al. wherein an organic layer can further comprise an electron transport layer, which is a layer facilitating electron transport from the cathode to the light emitting layer [0182], the difference could be readily derived and obvious by a person of ordinary skilled in the art in view of design choice and routine experimentation.
Further regards to claims 14 and 15, Lee et al. do not explicitly recite the organic material layer comprises 2 or more stacks comprising a hole transport layer as instantly claimed or organic material layer further comprises a charge generation layer formed between the two or more stacks as instantly claimed. However, comprising a plurality of stacks and further comprising a charge generation layer would be obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art without any technical difficulty in view of design choice and routine experimentation.
Further regards to claim 16, Lee et al. do not explicitly disclose an electronic device comprising a control unit for driving the display device as instantly claimed. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to include a control unit to a display device of Lee et al. in view of design choice.
Further regards to claim 17, Lee et al. teach the organic electronic element is at least one of OLED ( claim 1).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 10-2016-0091198 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Brooks et al. (KR 10-2020-0013113).
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. do not explicitly recite a compound represented by Formula 2 that is represented by any one of the following compounds 8-1 to 8-18 as instantly claimed. However, the examiner has added Brooks et al. to teach it is well-known to one of ordinary skilled in the art of organic electronic elements to include a compound represented by Formula 2 that is represented by any one of the following compounds 8-1 to 8-18 ( see triphenylene core of chemical formula I :
wherein R1, R2 and R3 are independently hydrogen, a non-fused aryl or heteroaryl group having one or more substituents in abstract, claims 1, 20 and 21 and examples). Lee et al. and Brooks et al. are analogous art in an organic electronic element field. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the compound of Lee et al. to include the triphenylene compound as taught by Brooks et al. in view of aiding in being useful in the phosphorescent organic light emitting devices.
Conclusion
/CHANCEITY N ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737