DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 and 8-17 are currently pending. Claim 7 has been canceled. Claims 1 and 15 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 has been amended to recite “wherein at least one of R1, R2, R3, R4 , R5, R6, R7, and R8 is deuterium” in proviso 2 then the claim recites “wherein a, b, c, d, e, and g are each independently integers of 0 to 4, and h and f are independently integers of 0 to 7” in proviso 3; therefore, not requiring at least one of R1, R2, R3, R4 , R5, R6, R7, and R8 to be a deuterium. The claim as written is indefinite and unclear , if the precent invention wants at least one of R1, R2, R3, R4 , R5, R6, R7, and R8 to be a deuterium as claimed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-6 and 8-17 depends on claim 1; therefore, the claims are also indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 9, 11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lee et al. ( US 2022/0006063 A1) as evidenced by Hayato et al. (“The hydrogen/deuterium isotope effect of the host material on the lifetime of organic light-emitting diodes† Received 3rd July 2014, Accepted 15th September 2014 DOI: 10.1039/c4cc05108d www.rsc.org/chemcomm Hayato Tsuji,* Chikahiko Mitsuia and Eiichi Nakamura*”).
Regarding claims 1-6, Lee et al. teach a compound represented by
([0064] on page 12) meeting the limitation of a compound represented by Formula 1 wherein a, b, c, d, e, and g are each independently integer of 0, and h and f are independently integer of 0 and formula 1-1 to 1-3, formula 14-16, 1-7 to 1-8, 1-9 and 1-10 to 1-12 as instantly claimed.
Assuming arguendo, the compound listed above of Lee et al. meets the limitation of chemical formula 1 of instant claim 1, amended claim 1 recites “wherein at least one of R1, R2, R3, R4 , R5, R6, R7, and R8 is deuterium” in proviso 2 which is not shown by the compound above described by Lee et al. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the compound above taught by Lee et al. to include at least one of R1, R2, R3, R4 , R5, R6, R7, and R8 is deuterium as substitutent as evidenced by Hayato et al. ( see abstract, and page 14870 e.g. “Replacement of labile C-H bonds in the host with C-D bonds increases the device (OLED) lifetime by a factor of five without loss of efficiency”) in view routine experimentation and in view of increasing the OLED device and efficiency.
Regarding claims 8 and 13-15, Lee et al. teach an organic electronic element [0014-0015 & 0104-comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic material layer between the electrodes, wherein the organic layer may include a hole transport layer; an emitting layer and emitting auxiliary layer comprising the compound of Formula 1 ( see figures, claims, examples and abstract).
Regarding claims 9 and 11, Lee et al. teach the emitting layer [0069-0070] comprising a compound represented by any one of Formulas 2 to 4 (see paragraphs [0083] of Lee et al. which teaches compounds of Formula 3, Formula 9-1, Formula 9-2 and Formula 9-4 as instantly claimed).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Lee et al. teach an electronic device comprising a display device comprising an organic electronic element ( OLED) and a control unit for diving the display device ([0003-0005 & 0102-0107] claims and examples).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. ( US 2022/0006063 A1) as evidenced by Hayato et al. (“The hydrogen/deuterium isotope effect of the host material on the lifetime of organic light-emitting diodes† Received 3rd July 2014, Accepted 15th September 2014 DOI: 10.1039/c4cc05108d www.rsc.org/chemcomm Hayato Tsuji,* Chikahiko Mitsuia and Eiichi Nakamura*”) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Brooks et al. (KR 10-2020-0013113).
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. do not explicitly recite a compound represented by Formula 2 that is represented by any one of the following compounds 8-1 to 8-18 as instantly claimed. However, the examiner has added Brooks et al. to teach it is well-known to one of ordinary skilled in the art of organic electronic elements to include a compound represented by Formula 2 that is represented by any one of the following compounds 8-1 to 8-18 ( see triphenylene core of chemical formula I :
wherein R1, R2 and R3 are independently hydrogen, a non-fused aryl or heteroaryl group having one or more substituents in abstract, claims 1, 20 and 21 and examples). Lee et al. and Brooks et al. are analogous art in an organic electronic element field. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the compound of Lee et al. to include the triphenylene compound as taught by Brooks et al. in view of aiding in being useful in the phosphorescent organic light emitting devices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 and 8-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHANCEITY N ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737