DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. The Applicant’s amendment filed on January 23, 2026 was received. Claim 1 was amended. Support of amendment can be found in paragraph [0038] of current Specification in PG pub US2023/0243821 A1.
The text of those sections of Title pre-AIA 35, U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action issued on November 21, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, on claims 1, 3-7, 13, 15-16 are withdrawn, because the claims have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejections under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Hartmann et al. (NPL title: Increasing robustness and sensitivity of protein microarrays through microagitation and automation) in view of Wright et al. (US2010/0266794A1) on claims 1, 3-7, 12, 13 and 15-16 are are withdrawn, because the claims have been amended.
Claims 1, 3-7, 12, 13 and 15-16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Bass et al. (US 2002/0081236 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bass teaches a method of applying a liquid such as blocking composition for example on a substrate for an assay ([0022], [0041], Claims 1 and 2), the method comprising: providing a substrate for an assay, wherein the substrate for an assay comprises a solid substrate provided with a plurality of discrete spots of a biological material such as polynucleotides on a surface thereof ([0022], [0041], [0058], Claim 1); and spray coating the blocking composition onto the substrate as particles or droplets having a diameter of about 10-150 micrometers and being less than the diameter of the discrete spots of biological material, wherein the spray coating is performed using an ultrasonic atomizer (Abstract, [0022], [0041], [0058], [0060], [0066], Claims 1, 2, and 8, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) see MPEP 2144.05). Bass does not explicitly teach the whole range of the particles or droplets size in about 20-100 micrometers, but teaches particles or droplets size about 10-150 micrometers as discussed above ([0060]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range in about 20 -100 micrometers, because the claimed range about 20 -100 micrometers overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art about 10-150 micrometers, a prima facie case of obviousness exists and expect the same success when applying the same particle sizes.
Regarding claim 3, Bass teaches wherein the substrate is provided with an array of the biological material on a surface thereof (Abstract, Claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Bass teaches wherein the substrate for an assay comprises a microarray ([0017]).
Regarding claim 5, Bass teaches a method as disclosed above. Bass does not explicitly teach wherein the size of the spots of biological material on the surface of the substrate is about 100µm - 300µm. However, Bass recognizes the array spot is adjusted by changing the application ([0042], [0043]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the size of the spots to yield a desired application ([0042], [0043]). Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in know process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Regarding claim 6, Bass teaches wherein the blocking composition comprises a blocking buffer (claims 1 and 2, [0070]).
Regarding claim 7, Bass teaches wherein the biological material comprises a DNA for example ([0022], [0028]).
Regarding claim 13, Bass teaches comprising improving specificity and/or sensitivity during subsequent analysis ([0005], [0007], [0022], [0044]).
Regarding claim 15, Bass teaches wherein the method reduces, avoids and/or prevents the occurrence of aberrant results ([0040]).
Regarding claim 16, Bass teaches further comprising applying a sample on the blocked substrate ([0042]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-7, 12, 13 and 15-16 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, DAH-WEI YUAN can be reached on 571-272-1295. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HAI Y ZHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717