DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed June 12, 2026 in reply to the First Office Action on the Merits mailed October 7, 2025. Claims 1, 10, 16, 27-30, 33-35, and 37 have been amended; and claims 2-9, 11-15, 17, 18, 20-26, 31, 32, 36, 38-41, 43-48, 50-58, 60-64, 66-70, and 72-75 have been canceled. Claims 42, 49, 59, 65, 71, 76-78 have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 10, 16, 19, 27-30, 33-35, and 37 are under examination in the application.
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following:
1. The abstract should be a concise summary of the key technical aspects of the invention which are new to the art to which the invention pertains. If the invention is a composition, the abstract should recite the key requite ingredients. If the invention is a method, the abstract should recite the key requisite active steps.
2. The first line of the abstract merely informs the reader in as broad and generic terms as possible that the invention pertains to methods, compositions, and kits for treating a disease. These are generally not new to the art at all by any stretch of the imagination, and have been known for thousands of years. This line adds nothing of any substance and certainly Applicant’s invention does not cover any and all compositions and methods known to man for treating a disease. The line should be deleted.
3. The abstract further introduces an “embodiment” of a composition. However, this “embodiment” appears to be the full scope of the actual invention, and should be presented accordingly. Hence, the phrase “in an embodiment” should be deleted.
4. Further, while the abstract introduces “methods” for treating a disease, the abstract does not properly recite the actual key requisite active steps, and “using” a composition is not a proper key active step. Indeed, the last line as now presented is effectively redundant since the composition presented in the prior line is said to be for treating a disease, and thus is would be clear from the description of the composition itself that is could be “used” for treating a disease.
5. Moreover, Applicant’s invention is certainly not the treatment any and all diseases known to man with their composition, and Applicant is not enabled for this, even with the homing peptides. Applicant is thus advised to recite the disease they can treat, which they regard as their actual invention. For example, the last line could be amended to e.g. “A method of treating multiple sclerosis by intravenously administering the composition to a subject in need of treatment is also disclosed”.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 27 are objected to because of the following:
i) In claim 1, there is an extraneous colon between “comprising” and “administering”.
ii) In claim 27, there should be a semicolon rather than a comma between “12 µg/ml” and “and/or”. There should also be a semicolon rather than a comma between “tissue(s)” and “and/or”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Obviousness-Type Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10, 16, 19, 27-30, 33-35, and 37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14-16, 19-24, 33, and 56 of copending Application No. 18/004,633, in view of Petcavich (WIPO International Application Pub. No. WO 2019/246532).
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to a method of treating multiple sclerosis in a subject in need thereof comprising intravenously administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a first composition comprising the peptide KRSS and aspirin, and a second composition comprising the peptide PGESS and psilocybin; wherein the molar or weight ratio of the peptide to the aspirin or psilocybin is 1:10 to 10:1.
Claims 1-3, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14-16, 19-24, 33, and 56 of copending Application No. 18/004,633 disclose a method of treating e.g. a neuroinflammatory disease in a subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a composition comprising a CNS homing peptide and an NSAID, e.g. aspirin; wherein the molar or weight ratio of the peptide to the aspirin or psilocybin is 1:10 to 10:1.
Petcavich discloses a method of treating e.g. multiple sclerosis in a subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effectively amount of a composition comprising e.g. psilocybin; wherein the method induces neuron dendritic and synaptic genesis to thus recover and restore dendritic and synaptic neuron connections.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the disclosure of copending Application No. 18/004,633 defines neuroinflammatory disease as including within its scope e.g. multiple sclerosis; defines “administering” as including within its scope e.g. intravenous administration; and provides that SEQ ID NO 1-22 includes the peptide sequences KRSS and PGESS.
Moreover, Since Petcavich discloses that a method of treating a neuroinflammatory disease such as e.g. multiple sclerosis in a subject in need thereof can advantageously further comprise administering to the subject a therapeutically effectively amount of e.g. psilocybin; wherein the psilocybin induces neuron dendritic and synaptic genesis to thus recover and restore dendritic and synaptic neuron connections; one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to further include psilocybin in the composition of claims 1-3, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14-16, 19-24, 33, and 56 of copending Application No. 18/004,633, with the reasonable expectation that when the resulting composition is administered to a subject in need of treatment of a neuroinflammatory disease such as e.g. multiple sclerosis, the method will successfully treat the multiple sclerosis by attenuating the underlying neuro-inflammation and also by inducing neuron dendritic and synaptic genesis to thus recover and restore dendritic and synaptic neuron connections.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 10, 16, 19, 27-30, 33-35, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 stipulates the step of administering “a first pharmaceutical composition that comprises a first CNS homing peptide with an NSAID” and also “a second pharmaceutical composition comprising a second CNS homing peptide with psilocybin”. It is noted that the homing peptide for each drug can be the same, and the first composition does not necessarily exclude psilocybin and the second composition does not necessarily exclude an NSAID. One of ordinary skill in the art thus cannot definitively ascertain whether or not the “first” and “second” labels for the compositions are intended to limit the order for administering the compositions. More broadly stated, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain whether the first composition must be administered before the second composition, or whether the second composition can be administered before the first composition, or whether the compositions can be administered together at the same time.
***Until further clarification, the claim is being interpreted as if the order of administering the first and second compositions is not limited at all. Hence, the first composition can be administered before the second, or vice versa, or they can be administered together at the same time.
Claim 10, which depends from claim 1, stipulates in a wherein clause that “the CNS homing peptide” is attached with “the NSAID and/or psilocybin”. In claim 1, there is a “first CNS homing peptide” and also a “second CNS homing peptide”. However, the first and second CNS homing peptides can be one and the very same sequence, e.g. SEQ ID NO 1. One of ordinary skill in the art thus cannot definitively ascertain whether “the CNS homing peptide” means that the first and second homing peptides are limited to being one and the very same, or at the very least one and the very same sequence, e.g. SEQ ID NO. 1.
Claims 27-30 and 33-35 recite the phrase “in cell(s), tissue(s), and/or organ(s)”. Organs are composed of tissues, and tissues are composed of cells. The claims thus recite at least one broad limitation (e.g. organ) together with a narrower limitation (e.g. cells) that fall within the broader limitation in the alternative in the same claim, which is indefinite.
Claim 30 is indefinite for the following reasons:
1. Claim 30 recites the phrase “in cell(s), tissue(s), organ(s), and/or environment(s)”. The claim thus recites at least one broad limitation (e.g. organ) together with a narrower limitation (e.g. cells) that fall within the broader limitation in the alternative in the same claim, which is indefinite. Moreover, organs and tissues are generally composed of cells and extracellular space. The extracellular space within a particular tissue or organ could be considered the “environment” of the cells within the tissue or organ. However, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain the “environment thereof” of a tissue or organ of the CNS. For example, what constitutes the “environment thereof” of the brain? If anything, the “environment thereof” of the brain is not the brain itself, but some structure or space beyond the brain itself, which is undefined.
2. Claim 30 stipulates in a wherein clause that the Cmax of the NSAID in “cell(s), tissue(s), organ(s), and/or environment(s) thereof” of the CNS is about 50-150% of the Cmax in the blood. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain whether the “environment thereof” of the CNS include blood vessels and the blood therein that supply the CNS? If so, claim 30 would provide that the Cmax of the NSAID in the blood supplying the brain is 50-150% of the Cmax in the blood, which is incongruous.
Claims 33-35 stipulate that “the Cmax, Tmax, and elimination half-life of the NSAID in cells, tissues, and/or organs of the CNS is 50-150%, 100-200%, and 100-200% of the Cmax, Tmax, and elimination half-life, respectively, of the NSAID in cells, tissues, and/or organs of the CNS” when the NSAID and psilocybin are administered in the absence of the first CNS homing peptide or when the NSAID is administered alone, or when the NSAID and psilocybin are administered alone; or that “the Cmax, Tmax, and elimination half-life of the psilocybin in cells, tissues, and/or organs of the CNS is 50-150%, 100-200%, and 100-200% of the Cmax, Tmax, and elimination half-life of the psilocybin in cells, tissues, and/or organs of the CNS” when the NSAID and psilocybin are administered in the absence of the second CNS homing peptide or when the psilocybin is administered alone, or when the NSAID and psilocybin are administered alone, which renders the claim indefinite for the following reasons:
1. Claims 33-35 thus appear to compound the indefiniteness of claim 1 with respect to whether the first composition is administered before the second, or vice versa, or they can be administered together at the same time. Indeed, it would appear that the first and second compositions must be administered together.
2. Moreover, claim 33 appears to provide that the Cmax of the NSAID and the psilocybin of the claimed composition can be significantly lower than the Cmax attained in the absence of the homing peptide, which appears to be incongruous. Claim 34 appears to provide that the Tmax of the NSAID and the psilocybin of the claimed composition can be significantly higher than the Tmax attained in the absence of the homing peptide, which also appears to be incongruous. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the homing peptides to facilitate more drug getting to the CNS and at a quicker rate.
Claim 37, which depends from claim 1, stipulates in a wherein clause that “the therapeutically effective amount of the first…and the second pharmaceutical composition” is administered “orally, intravenously, or a combination thereof”. Claim 37 thus appears to compound the indefiniteness of claim 1 with respect to whether the first composition is administered before the second, or vice versa, or they can be administered together at the same time. Indeed, “the therapeutically effective amount” appears to imply that both compositions must be administered together at the same time to be effective therapeutically. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain whether both the first and second compositions must be both administered orally, both administered intravenously, or both administered both orally and intravenously, or rather each one individually can be administered orally, intravenously, or the combination or both orally and intravenously. For example, in the first interpretation, if the first composition is administered orally, the second composition must also be administered orally. In the second interpretation, if the first composition is administered orally, the second can be administered orally, intravenously or both.
Claims 10, 16, 19, 27-30, 33-35, and 37 are (also) indefinite for depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 16, 19, 27-30, 33-35, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moudgil et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2019/0359651), in view of Petcavich (WIPO International Application Pub. No. WO 2019/246532).
Applicant Claims
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to a method of treating multiple sclerosis in a subject in need thereof comprising intravenously administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a first composition comprising the peptide KRSS and aspirin, and a second composition comprising the peptide PGESS and psilocybin; wherein the molar or weight ratio of the peptide to the aspirin or psilocybin is 1:10 to 10:1.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Moudgil et al. disclose a method of treating e.g. multiple sclerosis in a subject in need thereof comprising e.g. intravenously administering to the subject a therapeutically effectively amount of a composition comprising a CNS homing peptide and one or more drugs; wherein the CNS homing peptide can be e.g. KRSS or e.g. PGESS, and wherein the drug can include e.g. aspirin; and wherein the homing peptide facilitates delivery of the drug to the CNS (see abstract; paragraphs 0008, 0010, 0011, 0028, 0043, 0044, 0046, 0055, 0058, 0066, 0084, 0093, 0094, 0100, 0106, 0123, 0125, and 0126).
Petcavich discloses a method of treating e.g. multiple sclerosis in a subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effectively amount of a composition comprising e.g. psilocybin; wherein the method induces neuron dendritic and synaptic genesis to thus recover and restore dendritic and synaptic neuron connections.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.02)
Moudgil et al. do not explicitly disclose that the composition being administered to treat multiple sclerosis further contains psilocybin. This deficiency is cured by the teachings of Petcavich.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was filed to combine the respective teachings of Moudgil et al. and Petcavich, outlined supra, to devise Applicant’s presently claimed method.
Moudgil et al. disclose a method of treating e.g. multiple sclerosis in a subject in need thereof comprising e.g. intravenously administering to the subject a therapeutically effectively amount of a composition comprising a CNS homing peptide and one or more drugs; wherein the CNS homing peptide can be e.g. KRSS or e.g. PGESS, and wherein the drug can include e.g. aspirin; and wherein the homing peptide facilitates delivery of the drug to the CNS. Since Petcavich discloses that a method of treating e.g. multiple sclerosis in a subject in need thereof can advantageously comprise administering to the subject a therapeutically effectively amount of e.g. psilocybin; wherein the psilocybin induces neuron dendritic and synaptic genesis to thus recover and restore dendritic and synaptic neuron connections; one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to further administer psilocybin, together with a CNS homing peptide as disclosed in Moudgil et al., with the reasonable expectation that administering both aspirin and psilocybin, each with a homing peptide, to a subject in need of treatment of multiple sclerosis, will successfully treat the multiple sclerosis by attenuating the underlying neuro-inflammation and also by inducing neuron dendritic and synaptic genesis to thus recover and restore dendritic and synaptic neuron connections.
Moreover, Moudgil et al. disclose than an “effective amount” of the homing peptide and also an “effective amount” of the therapeutic agent are to be administered for the treatment of multiple sclerosis in a subject (see e.g. paragraph 0028). As Moudgil et al. make crystal clear in paragraph [0095]; “a pharmacologically effective dose can be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art and by methods known to one of ordinary skill in the art”. Indeed, the optimal dose for the homing peptide and for the drug will depend on the subject being treated, the particulars of the disease involved, and other factors. Nevertheless, as Moudgil et al. expressly teach, one of ordinary skill in the art can arrive at the optimal effective doses for both the peptide and the therapeutic agent, in moles or in weight, that should be included in the composition being administered. As a result, one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be able to arrive at a homing peptide to drug molar or weight ratio of 1:10 to 10:1.
One of ordinary skill in the art, in following the teachings of the cited prior art, would thus arrive at the presently claimed method of treating multiple sclerosis in a subject in need thereof, with the active step of intravenously administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a composition comprising the combination of a homing peptide, e.g. KRSS or PGESS, with one or more drugs, e.g. aspirin and psilocybin; wherein the molar or weight ratio of the homing peptide to the aspirin or psilocybin is 1:10 to 10:1. Since the method one of ordinary skill in the art would thus arrive at is the same as the claimed method, the properties must be the same as well, including the pharmacokinetic properties, e.g. of claims 27-30 and 33-35, after administering the composition to the subject with multiple sclerosis.
In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they appear to be moot in view of the modified ground of rejection necessitated by the present amendment.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/DAVID BROWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617