Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species 1 in the reply filed on 10/07/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “As amended, all pending claims 1-2, 7-11, and 16-18 are readable on species II.” This is not found persuasive because applicants have already combined the two species together, added claims 3-6 limitations into claim 1 and cancelled claims 3-6 and as amended. There is no withdrawn claim/s.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 18, line 2; the word “each” is misspelled as “east”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 7-11 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 6-7; the phase “said dispensing nozzle” lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “said at least one dispensing nozzle” is assumed.
In claim 16, line 15; the phase “said dispensing nozzle” lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “said at least one dispensing nozzle” is assumed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al US 2015/251212A1 in view of Hubert (US 2004/0005411 A1).
Ikeda et al discloses (see Fig 8) a device (sealant applying apparatus 21 with sealant cartridge) for performing at least one task on a structure (44 with a base 24) to be worked on, the device (21) comprising: securing elements (base 24,28; cylinder 26 and motion guide 27) to secure the device to a motor-driven handling device (36, 38) able to move the device for performing at least one task at least partially in space relative to the structure (44 with a base 24) to be worked on (see para [0053-0056] and [0064-0066]); securing elements (cylinder 26, motion guide 27 and base 28) to secure the device to the structure (44 with a base 24) to be worked on; at least one functional module (holding members 31-33) able to receive at least one fastener (8) necessary for carrying out the task; and at least one coating device (sealant discharge unit 22) for coating a fastener (8) of the at least one fastener (see para [0106] for fasteners) with a coating material, the device (21) comprising: a dispenser (sealant cartridge 42) for dispensing the coating material and comprising at least one dispensing nozzle (43); a holder (32) for holding the fastener; a drive assembly (biasing section 29 and punch feeder 70) for providing relative movement of the fastener (8) and the at least one dispensing nozzle (43) with respect to each other; and a controller (52) configured to control drive assembly to synchronize the operation thereof to deposit coating material on the fastener (see para [0077] and Fig 10), the at least one functional module (holding members 31-33) comprising the holder (32). Ikeda et al lacks specifically teaching at least one dispensing nozzle to deposit at least one bead of sealant, however a sealant applying apparatus depositing beads of sealant is known in the art; for instance; as taught by Hubert (see para [0030] and [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deposit beads of sealant in Ikeda et al to dispense a quantity of sealant corresponding to a bead of sealant as taught by Hubert (see para [0052]).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al US 2015/251212A1 in view of Hubert (US 2004/0005411 A1) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Bray et al (US 2012/0168055A1).
As to claim 17, Ikeda et al lacks teaching loading or setting stations for a sealant applying apparatus. Bray et al teaches (see Figs 10 and 13 for multi-station machine 500) a fastener loading station(feeder assembly 502 or 532) to introduce the at least one fastener into the at least one the functional module, a coating station at which the at least one coating device is located (see para [0090], a setting station [quality control station 514, see para [0084]) for setting the at least one fastener in the structure to be worked on, and the at least one functional module (pick-up station 504 with robotic loading, see para [0078]) being movable from one of the fastener loading, the coating station or the setting station to another of the fastener loading, the coating station or the setting station (see para [0090]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include multiple stations as claimed in Ikeda et al to automatically and continuously process fasteners in carousel-based by using a multi-station machine (see para [0024] and [0091-0092]).
As to claim 18, although Ikeda et al teaches a plurality of fasteners (see para [0106]), holders supporting different size of fasteners are not taught. However, Bray et al teaches (see Fig 10) a multi-station machine with a quality control station processing a plurality of fasteners, a plurality of functional modules (collets 508) each comprising holding means a respective holder, at each one of the respective holders having a different size than at least one other respective holder to support fasteners capable of having different diameters (see para [0081] different sizes of fasteners and Fig 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include holders supporting different size of fasteners in Ikeda et al as modified to efficiently treat different types of fasteners as desired.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 2, 7-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Ikeda et al teaches a device for coating a fastener with a coating material wherein the fastener comprises a body and a head, the device comprising a dispenser (sealant cartridge 42) for dispensing the coating material and comprising at least one dispensing nozzle (43); a holder (32) for holding the fastener; a drive assembly (biasing section 29 and punch feeder 70 and rotating unit 23) for providing relative movement of the fastener (8) and at least one dispensing nozzle with respect to each other, the drive assembly (biasing section 29 and punch feeder 70 and rotating unit 23) providing a rotatable drive of the fastener along an axis (see Fig 11 for axis S1) and providing a translational drive of the dispensing nozzle along the axis (see para [0066] for the discharge punch feeder 70 moves the discharge punch 41 in parallel to the X axial direction); and a controller (52) configured to control drive assembly to synchronize the operation thereof to deposit coating material on the fastener (see para [0077] and Fig 10), the at least one functional module (holding members 31-33) comprising the holder (32). Ikeda et al further teaches (see Fig 8, para [0067] and [0091]) a reaction sensor 40 may be configured to detect the pushing reaction based on a motor current value of the servo motor 38, wherein the reaction sensor acts on the discharge punch 41 when discharging the sealant, but lacks a feeler and a drive element for evaluating a length of the fastener to be coated as claimed. Bray et al also teaches a quality control station using a laser and a detector (feeler) to determine the exact size of the fastener (see para [0081]), but lacks teaching a drive element for evaluating a length of the fastener to be coated, the drive element being arranged to drive the feeler to bring the feeler into contact against an end of the body opposite to the head of the fastener. Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a device for coating a fastener with a coating material, wherein the fastener comprises a body and a head, the device comprising, among others, a dispenser, a holder, a drive assembly and a controller configured to control the dispenser as claimed (see claim 1) in combination with a feeler and a drive element for evaluating a length of the fastener to be coated, the drive element being arranged to drive the feeler to bring the feeler into contact against an end of the body opposite to the head of the fastener.
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/