DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and response filed on 9/11/2026 have been received and entered into the case. Claims 3 and 13 have been canceled, Claims 16-18 have been added. Claims 1-2, 4-12 and 14-18 are pending, Claims 1-2 and 4-12 have been withdrawn, and Claims 14-18 have been considered on the merits. All arguments have been fully considered.
Withdrawn Rejections
Rejections of Claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 101 are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Rejections of Claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Dhar et al (US 2017/0367989 A1; 12/28/2017.) are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Rejections of Claims 14-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al (US 2013/0171103 A1; 7/4/2013. Cited on IDS) in view of Lenten et al (Circulation. 2004;110:3252-3258.) and Rosario et al (J Neuroimmune Pharmacol. 2018;13(3):345-354.) are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “(10-(4,5-dimethoxy-2-methyl-3,6-dioxo-1,4- cyclohexadienyl) decyl triphenylphosphonium)” (line 2-3) and “(10-(4,5-dimethoxy-2-methyl-3,6- dihydroxy-1,4-cyclohexadienyl) decyl triphenylphosphonium” (line 3-4). It is unclear what the parenthetical information is conveying. Further, parenthesis are reserved for reference characters and information within parenthesis has no effect on the scope of the claims. See MPEP 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Savel et al (US 2018/0000950 A1; 1/4/2018.).
The instant claims recite a composition comprising (a) one or more mitochondrial targeted antioxidants selected from mitoquinone (10-(4,5-dimethoxy-2-methyl-3,6-dioxo-1,4- cyclohexadienyl) decyl triphenylphosphonium), mitoquinol (10-(4,5-dimethoxy-2-methyl-3,6- dihydroxy-1,4-cyclohexadienyl) decyl triphenylphosphonium), and salts thereof, and (b) one or more ApoA-I mimetic peptides and/or one or more Nrf2 agonists.
Savel teaches a composition comprising antioxidants (para 0500), wherein said antioxidants comprise mitoquinone mesylate (para 0503), resveratrol, alpha lipoic acid, lycopene, and lutein (one or more Nrf2 agonists) (para 0501).
Therefore the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Savel et al (US 2018/0000950 A1; 1/4/2018.) as applied to claims 14 and 16 above, further in view of Lenten et al (Circulation. 2004;110:3252-3258.), McGuire et al (Scientific Reports. 2016;6:31159.) and Li et al (Experimental Neurology. 2013;250:239-249.).
Savel does not teach the composition comprises one or more ApoA-I mimetic peptides as claimed (claim 15), dimethyl fumarate (DMF) (claim 17) and sulforaphane (claim 18).
However, Savel does teach the composition comprises antioxidants, and an anti-inflammatory composition can be incorporated (para 0930). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it was well-known in the art that apoA-I mimetic peptides such as D-4F, dimethyl fumarate (DMF) and sulforaphane possess antioxidant and/or anti-inflammatory activities. In support, Lenten teaches apoA-I mimetic peptides such as D-4F are anti-inflammatory agents that may have therapeutic potential (Abstract). In addition, McGuire teaches dimethyl fumarate (DMF) possesses anti-inflammatory properties (Abstract). Finally, Li teaches sulforaphane has potent antioxidant and anti-inflammatory activities (Abstract).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate D-4F (ApoA-I mimetic peptides), DMF and sulforaphane, since Savel discloses a composition comprises antioxidant and anti-inflammatory agents, Lenten discloses that D-4F is an anti-inflammatory agent, McGuire discloses that DMF possesses anti-inflammatory properties, and Li discloses that sulforaphane has potent antioxidant and anti-inflammatory activities. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited references to incorporate D-4F, DMF and sulforaphane with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining a composition.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 14-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-15 and 22-24 of co-pending Application No. 17/570,737 (referred to as the ‘737 application).
Claims 14-15 and 22-24 of the ‘737 application recite a composition comprising a mixture of one or more bioactive moieties, one or more ApoA-I mimetic peptides, and/or one or more Nrf2 agonists, wherein the one or more ApoA-I mimetic peptides is 4F, the one or more Nrf2 agonists include sulforaphane and dimethyl fumarate (DMF). The composition comprises mitoquinol mesylate.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Davis, Lenten, and Rosario, alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest a composition that comprises both (1) mitoquinol or mitoquinone, or a salt thereof, and (2) an ApoA-I mimetic peptide or an Nrf2 agonist. However, these arguments are moot since those rejections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759