DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 3 and 13 have been canceled.
Claims 1-2, 4-12 and 14-15 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, Claims 14-15, and of species mitoquinol, 4F and DMF, in the reply filed on 1/15/2026 is acknowledged. Upon further consideration, species elections are withdrawn.
Claims 1-2 and 4-12 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claims 14-15 are being examined in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 14 is directed to a composition comprising (a) one or more mitochondrial targeted antioxidants, and (b) one or more ApoA-I mimetic peptides and/or one or more Nrf2 agonists. Mitochondrial targeted antioxidants include naturally occurring antioxidants such as alpha-lipoic acid, and Nrf2 agonists include naturally occurring compounds such as curcumin. Since claim 14 does not recite specific mitochondrial targeted antioxidants and Nrf2 agonists, naturally occurring mitochondrial targeted antioxidants and Nrf2 agonists read on limitations recited in claim 14, and are “product of nature” exceptions. Therefore, claim 14 is directed to an exception. Claim 14 does not require additional elements. Thus, claim 14 does not amount to significantly more than the law of nature itself. Accordingly, claim 14 is not eligible and should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Dhar et al (US 2017/0367989 A1; 12/28/2017.).
The instant claims recite a composition comprising (a) one or more mitochondrial targeted antioxidants, and (b) one or more ApoA-I mimetic peptides and/or one or more Nrf2 agonists.
Dhar teaches a composition comprising a triphenyl phosophonium (TPP) moiety (one or more mitochondrial targeted antioxidants) (Claim 15) and an L-4F polypeptide (one or more ApoA-I mimetic peptides) (Claims 10-11).
Therefore the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al (US 2013/0171103 A1; 7/4/2013. Cited on IDS) in view of Lenten et al (Circulation. 2004;110:3252-3258.) and Rosario et al (J Neuroimmune Pharmacol. 2018;13(3):345-354.).
The instant claims recite a composition comprising (a) one or more mitochondrial targeted antioxidants, and (b) one or more ApoA-I mimetic peptides and/or one or more Nrf2 agonists.
Davis teaches compounds and methods for treating viral infections (Abstract), comprising therapies including mitoquinone (para 0458), and therapies including anti-inflammatory and antioxidant (para 0446).
Davis does not teach said compounds and methods comprise one or more ApoA-I mimetic peptides and/or one or more Nrf2 agonists (claim 14), and the claimed ApoA-I mimetic peptides and Nrf2 agonists (claim 15).
However, Davis does teach said compounds and methods comprise anti-inflammatory and antioxidant (para 0446), wherein said compounds and methods are for treating viral infections including HIV (para 0389).
Lenten teaches apoA-I mimetic peptides such as D-4F are anti-inflammatory agents that may have therapeutic potential (Abstract), and may be exerting their effects at the earliest steps in the sequence of events after viral infection (p.3252 col right – para 1).
In addition, Rosario teaches dimethyl fumarate (DMF), an antioxidant, has been reported to decrease HIV replication (Abstract).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine D-4F (ApoA-I mimetic peptides) and DMF (Nrf2 agonists) with mitoquinone in a composition, since Davis discloses compounds and methods for treating viral infections comprise mitoquinone, anti-inflammatory and antioxidant, Lenten discloses that D-4F is anti-inflammatory and has antiviral activity, and Rosario discloses that DMF is an antioxidant and has antiviral activity. Furthermore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine mitoquinone, D-4F and DMF in a composition for treating viral infections, since each of mitoquinone, D-4F and DMF is known and useful for the same purpose, as evidenced by Davis, Lenten and Rosario, respectively. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited references to combine D-4F (ApoA-I mimetic peptides) and DMF (Nrf2 agonists) with mitoquinone in a composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 14-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-15 and 22-24 of co-pending Application No. 17/570,737 (referred to as the ‘737 application).
Claims 14-15 and 22-24 of the ‘737 application recite a composition comprising, consisting essentially of, or consisting of (a) one or more triphenylphosphonium compounds (TPP Compounds), and (b) one or more bioactive moieties, one or more ApoA-I mimetic peptides, and/or one or more Nrf2 agonists, wherein the one or more TPP Compounds is selected from mitoquinone and salts thereof, mitoquinol and salts thereof, SkQ1, Elamipretide, and Mito-TEMPO, the one or more ApoA-I mimetic peptides is 4F, and the one or more Nrf2 agonists is dimethyl fumarate (DMF).
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759