Status of Claims
Claims 7-8, 10-13, and 18-19 are pending as of the response and amendments filed on 2/17/26. Claims 1-6, 9, and 14-17 have been canceled.
The amendments to claims 8, 13, and 18 in an attempt to overcome the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) are appreciated. Applicant’s remarks in response to this rejection have been considered. However, the amendments introduce a new issue; a new rejection under 35 USC 112(b) is made in view of the amendments, presented in the action below.
The rejection of claim 11 under 35 USC 112(b) is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims to overcome the rejections over claims 7, 12, and 18 under 103 over Hong, and over Jung have been fully considered but are not found sufficient. Applicant has argued neither Hong nor Jung discloses, teach, or suggest all of the limitations of claim 7 as amended, or of instant claim 12. However, upon further review it is maintained the teachings of Hong and Jung would still render the amended claims prima facie obvious, as discussed in the action.
Claims 7-8, 10-13, and 18-19 were examined. Claims 7-8, 10, 12-13, and 18-19 are rejected. Claim 11 is objected to.
Claim Rejections-35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 10, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites in one embodiment wherein R2 is independently halo or -ORc, however, in another limitation recited by the claim, R2 is recited as containing N or O atoms. This amendment introduces indefiniteness, since the first embodiment of R2, being halo or -ORc doesn’t allow for N atoms. It is uncertain which limitation applies to R2 in the claim, and the metes and bounds of the claim aren’t clear. Claims 10, 13, and 19 are similarly rejected as these claims depend from claim 8 and don’t provide further clarity.
Claim Rejections-35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et. al., USP 6500846 B1, patented 12/31/2002, of record.
Hong teaches flavone derivative compounds and their pharmaceutically acceptable salts, hydrates, solvates, and isomers thereof as inhibitors of cyclin dependent kinases, for the treatment of neurodegenerative diseases as well as anti-cancer agents (title & abstract). The flavone derivatives are taught to have the following chemical structure (col. 1, lines 7-57):
.
Claim 7 is drawn to the following compounds:
7-chloro-2-(2,5-difluorophenyl)-3-hydroxy-4H-chromen-4-one
7-chloro-2-(3,5-difluorophenyl)-3-hydroxy-4H-chromen-4-one
;
7-chloro-2-(3,4-difluorophenyl)-3-hydroxy-4H-chromen-4-one;
2-(2,5-difluorophenyl)-7-fluoro-3-hydroxy-4H-chromen-4-one;
2-(3,5-difluorophenyl)-7-fluoro-3-hydroxy-4H-chromen-4-one; and
2-(2,3-difluorophenyl)-7-fluoro-3-hydroxy-4H-chromen-4-one. These compounds would be prima facie obvious in consideration of the teachings of Hong, since Hong allows for position R3 to be halogen; position R5 to be hydroxy; positions R1, R2, and R4=hydrogen; and positions R6 and R7 to be halogen.
In addition, Hong includes the following compounds as exemplary (col. 57, Ex. 68; col. 77-78, no. 8):
;
.
This compound is structurally very similar to the compounds of instant claim 18, 2-(2,5-difluorophenyl)-3-hydroxy-7-methoxy-4H-chromen-4-one; and 2-(3,5-difluorophenyl)-3-hydroxy-7-methoxy-4H-chromen-4-one:
Structure
Molecule Title
2-(3,5-difluorophenyl)-3-hydroxy-7-methoxy-4H-chromen-4-one
Structure
Molecule Title
2-(2,5-difluorophenyl)-3-hydroxy-7-methoxy-4H-chromen-4-one
. The difference between the claimed compounds and the compounds exemplified by Hong is with regards to the substituents on the phenyl ring. The claimed compounds have the phenyl ring disubstituted with fluoro, while the compounds exemplified by Hong has the phenyl ring substituted by a single chloro group, and or disubstituted with hydroxyl. However, Hong also broadly teaches the flavone derivatives can have the phenyl ring substituted with more than one halogen (col. 1, lines 7-57). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claims to have modified the compounds exemplified by Hong by replacing the single halogen substituent or hydroxyl substituents with two fluoro groups attached at either the 2-, 5-, or 3-, 5- positions, and have had a reasonable expectation of success, in consideration of the teachings of Hong. In particular, Hong teaches the compounds to inhibit CDK2, CDK4, and CDK5 (see Table 1; col. 4, lines 1-16), and that CDK5 inhibition has activity for treating neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer’s (col. 3, lines 8-16). As such, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claims to have arrived at the claimed compounds above, and to have administered these compounds to treat Alzheimer’s disease, in consideration of Hong’s teaching that the flavone derivatives have utility for treating this condition.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et. al., KR 20170000426 A, publ. 1/3/2017, of record. An English translation is provided for discussion.
Jung teaches chromenone derivatives that activate cardiac myosin function, for the treatment or prevention of heart failure (Title; para [0001]). Jung teaches the chromenone derivatives to have the following structural formula (claim 1):
.
Jung teaches treatment or preventing heart failure comprising administering a composition comprising a chromenone derivative as described above in an effective amount (para [0064]). Jung exemplifies the chromenone derivatives, 7-chloro-2-(4-chlorophenyl)-3-methoxy-4H-chromen-4-one; and 2-(4-chlorophenyl)-3,7-dimethoxy-4H-chromen-4-one (para [0038-0039]):
Structure
Molecule Title
7-chloro-2-(4-chlorophenyl)-3-methoxy-4H-chromen-4-one
Structure
Molecule Title
2-(4-chlorophenyl)-3,7-dimethoxy-4H-chromen-4-one
.
7-chloro-2-(4-chlorophenyl)-3-methoxy-4H-chromen-4-one is very structurally similar to the claimed compounds, 7-chloro-2-(2,5-difluorophenyl)-3-methoxy-4H-chromen-4-one; and 7-chloro-2-(3,5-difluorophenyl)-3-methoxy-4H-chromen-4-one:
Structure
Molecule Title
7-chloro-2-(2,5-difluorophenyl)-3-methoxy-4H-chromen-4-one
Structure
Molecule Title
7-chloro-2-(3,5-difluorophenyl)-3-methoxy-4H-chromen-4-one
. The above shown compounds differ from 7-chloro-2-(4-chlorophenyl)-3-methoxy-4H-chromen-4-one of Jung only by the substituents attached to the non-fused phenyl ring; the above shown compounds have two fluoro groups instead of a chloro group attached to the phenyl ring. However, Jung also teaches the phenyl ring substituent, R3, can be one or more of various functional groups including halogen (claim 1). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claims to have modified the compound exemplified by Jung by replacing the single halogen substituent on the non-fused phenyl ring with two fluoro groups attached at either the 2-, 5-, or 3-, 5- positions, and have had a reasonable expectation of success, in consideration of the teachings of Jung.
Jung’s compound 2-(4-chlorophenyl)-3,7-dimethoxy-4H-chromen-4-one is very structurally similarly to the claimed compounds, 2-(2,5-difluorophenyl)-3,7-dimethoxy-4H-chromen-4-one; 2-(3,5-difluorophenyl)-3,7-dimethoxy-4H-chromen-4-one; and 2-(2,4-difluorophenyl)-3,7-dimethoxy-4H-chromen-4-one:
Structure
Molecule Title
2-(2,5-difluorophenyl)-3,7-dimethoxy-4H-chromen-4-one
Structure
Molecule Title
2-(3,5-difluorophenyl)-3,7-dimethoxy-4H-chromen-4-one
Structure
Molecule Title
2-(2,4-difluorophenyl)-3,7-dimethoxy-4H-chromen-4-one
. The claimed compounds differ from 2-(4-chlorophenyl)-3,7-dimethoxy-4H-chromen-4-one only by the substituents attached to the non-fused phenyl ring; the above shown compounds have two fluoro groups instead of a chloro group attached to the non-fused phenyl ring. However, Jung also teaches the phenyl ring substituent, R3, can be one or more of various functional groups including halogen (claim 1). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claims to have modified the compound exemplified by Jung by replacing the single halogen substituent with two fluoro groups attached at either the 2-, 5-; 2-,4-; or 3-, 5- positions, and have had a reasonable expectation of success, in consideration of the teachings of Jung.
As Jung teaches the chromenone derivatives for the treatment of heart failure, it would have been prima facie obvious to have administered the claimed compounds arrived at from the teachings of Jung for the treatment of heart failure in a subject in need thereof, and have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Objection
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
SARAH . PIHONAK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627