Response to Arguments
In their response dated 10/1/2026 applicants submitted an extensive amendments. While examiner following applicant’s mapping, several limitations are not supported by the instant specification. At least the examiner was not able to find it. As such new 112 written description rejection is issued as necessitated by amendment until support for the claims is specifically provided.
With respect to the arguments pertaining to Aime article:
With respect to independent claims 1 and 7, Applicant’s argued that the claims as amended require α-β CD or β-β CD wherein at least one of R1, R2, R3, R1’, R2’, R3’ is not linked to linking group, is not hydrogen and comprises at least one substituent in Group I.
Examiner disagrees. CDs in Aime can be α, β, γ or their mixtures and they can be made into dimers and trimers. Aime utilizes β CD to show reaction mechanisms.
First applicants L substituents can be a bond, -O-. -NH-, NR4-, -S- and at least one of them is not -O-. R substituents can be hydrogen, methyl, alkynyl, heteroarylalkyl and the like. Aime teaches following examples:
In this CD, there are two L groups that are oxygen, R groups are alkynyl and hydrogen. The L group is also a bond wherein R is either not present or group is protected by TBDMSO.
In second example, there are 14 L groups as Oxygen and R as hydrogen, the other group L is a bond and group 1 is alkyl group connected to N3 or aryl group comprising nitrogens which signifies either pyridine (applicant’s bridging compound) or aryl group comprising heteroalkyl (aminoalkyl). With respect to the pyridine compound, L is a bond, R is not present and A or A’ is a bond.
Consequently, under broadest reasonable interpretation Aime does meet the functional groups of the instant invention.
With respect to claims 52 and 53 applicants argue that the Aime fails to teach mixture of CD monomer, specifically unlinked αCD and βCD.
Examiner disagrees. Aime explicitly states following:
Consequently, Aime explicitly teaches heterodimers with ‘head-to-head’, ‘tail-to-tail’ and ‘head-to-tail’ construction for both heterodimers and homodimers. Just because only one is exemplified, such exemplified structure does not teach away and does not exclude using combination of different CDs.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would necessarily have to have mixture of CDs (intermediate product) before they are dimerized (final product). Mixtures of CDs are inherently required for dimerization or trimerization.
The examiner agrees with the applicants regarding Jong reference, because each L substituent comprises oxygen. Consequently, rejection over jong is withdrawn.
With respect to rejection over Aime and Schwartz, the grounds of rejection were directed at tailoring the selectivity of the CD dimers by adjusting functional groups and linking groups. This rejection was directed at dependent claims because independent claims have already been met by Aime. Specifically, substituting of the hydroxy groups in order to improve binding potential. (see CD derivative summary in Table 1). Schwartz was not utilized for solubilizing steroids.
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that CDs will have to be modified and that modification will dictate which compounds can fit in the cavity of the CD. Examiner appreciates applicants citing application to support interaction and encapsulation of 7KC; however, examiner cannot read specification into the claims. Schwarz was not cited for teaching dimers (that was met by Aime) again, Schwarz was explicitly utilized to supplement need for tailoring functional groups, based on intended use. As such in arguing solubilizing steroids, the applicants failed to address the grounds of rejection.
With respect to the Nonstatutory Double Patenting rejection, per applicants request, the rejection will be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is identified.
The statutory Double Patenting rejection is overcome in view of amendments. Rejection will be restated as Nonstatutory Double Patenting rejection as necessitated by amendment.
With respect to the enablement rejection, such is maintained in part. While applicants amended claims to remove claims of curing diseases which are result of genetic mutation, the applicants are still left with unbelievable amount of options for both L and R substituents that can be utilized that the specification does not provide reasonable explanation how each one of the listed substituents can efficiently trap any type of the toxin. Instant substituents range from being a bond, hydrogen, hydroxyl group and lower alkyls to compounds that are bulky or sterically hindered. The aryl groups along can range from singly phenyl ring to multiple phenyl rings that include heteroatoms and alkyl groups. There is no showing that these group can efficiently trap even 7KC toxin, much less toxins which are even more complicated than 7KC. This part of enablement rejection is not overcome, in fact applicants added even more functional group to the scope of the claimed R substituents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7, 8, 13, 14, 48-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Instant claims 1, 7, 52, 54 include newly added R substituents. The substituents in questions are: sulfoalkyl and carboxyalkyl.
With respect to sulfoalkyl, the functional group is listed as part of US 5,134,127, Instant specification fails to identify sulfoalkyl as R substituent. Additionally, applicants have only support for sulfobutyl which has been part of the claims as originally filed. Sulfoalkyl encompasses other alkyl groups not disclosed in the specification.
With respect to carboxyalkyl, [0319] defines what carboxyalkyl and hydroxycarbonalkyl are. Instant specification fails to identify carboxyalkyl as R substituent. Applicants specification only has support for carboxymethyl, wherein term alkyl denotes alkyl chains not described in the specification.
With respect to claim 14, the amendment states that L substituents are no -O- or are a bond. While both -O- and bond are supported by the specification term “is not oxygen” opens the claims to other substituents. At the same time instant specification states that for R substituents to have functional groups listed in claim 14, L has to be either oxygen or a bond (embodiments A14 and A21). To remedy this applicants can simply state that at least one L is a bond, without broadening the scope of the independent claims. The same rejection applies to instant claim 54.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 8, 13, 14 and 48-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
SPECIFICATION:
[0387] is directed to disease indications and methods of treatment which is directed at solubilization and/or removal of 7KC which may be performed in vitro or in vivo, followed by discussion of the CD greater affinity and/or solubilization of 7KC than cholesterol which is evidenced at sub-saturating concentrations.
Examples provided by the applicants include following:
Example 1 [0429] MD simulations of βCDs and βCD dimers
Example 2 [0435] MD Simulation of C6 butyl-substituted DS6 triazole linked βCD Dimers complexes with sterols.
Example 3 [0437] MD Simulations of C6 2-hydroxypropyl DS6 triazole-linked βCD.
Example 4 [0443] is directed to solubilization of compounds by βCD.
Examples 5-9 [0444-0664] Synthesis of HPβCD substituted CD dimers. The examples include homodimers, asymmetric dimers and heterodimers.
Example 10 [0665] is directed to test methods, the sample was taken from healthy volunteers and plasma was spiked with 7KC. Results starting [0675] show that the affinity of the CD dimers is greater for 7KC than it is for cholesterol. Further tests included toxicity of dimers and their linking groups, solubility and study of the degree of substitution.
Case law holds that applicant's specification must be "commensurately enabling [regarding the scope of the claims]" Ex parte Kung, 17 USPQ2d 1545, 1547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1989) otherwise undue experimentation would be involved in determining how to practice and use applicant's invention. Although the statute itself does not use the phrase "undue experimentation", it has been interpreted to require that the claimed invention be enabled so that any person skilled in the art can make and use the invention without undue experimentation as stated in Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546, 547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1986) and in In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
Specifically, in In re Wands the Court set forth a non-exhaustive list of factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation would be involved in making and/or using the claimed invention. These factors include, but are not limited to : (a) the breadth of the claims; (b) the nature of the invention; (c) the state of the prior art; (d) the level of one of ordinary skill; (e) the level of predictability in the art; (f) the amount of direction provided by the inventor; (g) the existence of working examples; and (h) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
It should be noted that while all Wands factors have to be considered, not all Wands factors need to be addressed in every case (MPEP 2164). The analysis is fact-dependent, and the decision to reject a claim based on scope of the claim relative to the scope of enablement must identify the claimed subject matter for which the specification is not enabling.
Claims 1, 7, 8, 13, 14, 48-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 first paragraph because the specification while enabling for specific dimers to trap 7KC toxin in host-guest type relationship, the specification does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to which it pertains or with which it is most clearly connected to make and use the invention commensurate in scope of these claims.
Applying Wands factors to claims 1, 7, 8, 13, 14, 48-58, it is noted that the specification provides no direction or working examples (cf. factors (f) and (g)) which would show how different L and R substituents influence dimer’s ability to “trap” any possible toxin since instant claims are not limited to 7KC.
Human body has many substances that are formed within other than 7KC which are also reasons why listed diseases are progressing the way they.
The inventive CDs, for lack of better expression, form a pocket or an opening in which the guest molecule (in instant examples 7KC) has to fit. The lock and key concept only applies to components that can fit within that pocket or opening. However, not all toxins or harmful substances are created equally. 7KC is only one of the ketocholesterols produced by the body. Depending on the disease these substances include protein deposits, reactive oxygen species (ROS), sugars reacting with protein or lipids, uric acid produced by breakdown of hyperuricemia, prions, hormonic imbalance, cytokines, or prostaglandins just to name a few.
It should also be noted that 7KC is created by lipids, particularly cholesterol-containing lipoprotein and lipids are not created equally. Other substances produced that are harmful include 7-hydroxycholesterol, 27-hydroxycholesterol, cholestane-2one, lipid peroxidation products such as malondialdehyde, 4-hydroxynonenal and xox-acyl0hydroxyacids and so on.
Instant claims 1, 7, 8, 13, 14, 48-58, under the broadest reasonable interpretation encompass all harmful substances, and yet none of the examples show if these toxins can even fit within the “pocket” of the inventive CD.
Additionally, based on the extensive content of the functional L and R groups in claims the inventive CD can be modified beyond what is taught by the instant invention, the specification does not show any factual evidence which would show how the inventive CDs can be modified with which group to effectively change the affinity to specific toxin or if each one of the substituents will provide the same affinity to the 7KC.
Furthermore, the definition of linking groups A, B and A’ is very extensive while the toxicity test is only performed on specific linking groups utilized in the examples (see instant claim 7). As such there is no showing or factual evidence that the other listed compounds (substituents and linking groups) would or would not be toxic for use within human body. The quantity of experimentation (cf. factor (h)) involved to reach usable embodiment from all the listed options would be too great.
In view of the above discussion of the factors, it is concluded that undue experimentation would be involved to make and use of the invention as presently claimed with predictable results. The quantity of experimentation required to figure out which inventive dimer is actually the option for each of the substituent listed is enormous and will require extensive amount of time to figure out which one modification is best for which toxin, forming CDs that are very distinct from one another.
Further instant specification does not show if all substituents or linking groups are safe for use in human body.
Instant specification further teaches that the inventive dimers can be utilized in combination with pharmaceutically acceptable therapy compounds. The specification is generic at best [0022] and [0023] that it includes any possible drug or treatment compound without significant toxicity, irritation or allergic response. CD dimers are not only known as compounds that can trap harmful toxins but also as a delivery vehicle for the drugs or therapeutically acceptable compounds. Instant specification again failed to show that if CD dimer is to be used as delivery vehicle for medicine that all therapeutic compounds encompassed by the instant claims can fit within claimed CD pocket to be delivered. This is because under broadest reasonable interpretation, instant invention includes using CD as delivery vehicle.
While examiner understands that applicant’s goal is the get as much of subject matter of the instant invention as possible, however, in medical fields small change can have huge impact on the final product and its ability to perform expected function. Specifically, chemical structure of 7KC is as follows:
7KC binds to cyclodextrin via hydrophobic inclusion and polarity matching and conical shape of the cyclodextrin. Groups that have affinity to 7KC include hydrophobic alkyl and aryl groups, hydroxyl groups, polar oxygenated groups (hydrogen bonding). As mentioned above claimed substituents create undue burden for one having ordinary skill in the art to even figure out if these substituents can perform its intended function, specifically trapping 7 KC, or any description as to which toxins can be trapped and what type of drugs can be delivered with which functional group.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 52 and 54 are objected to because of the following informalities: Hydroxyalkyl is mentioned in claims at least three times which renders the two out of the three occurrences as redundant. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13, 14, 48, 49, 52, 53, 55, 56, 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aime et al. New cyclodextrin dimers and trimers capable of forming supramolecular adducts with shape specific ligands (Article attached).
With respect to claims 1 and 52, Aime discloses following structure:
Wherein L1’ and L2’ are oxygen, R1’ and R2’ are hydrogen. The 7th group is modified to accept linking groups for dimerization wherein Ls is a bond and one of the Rs is N3. Wherein linking groups, A and A’ can be a bond and linking group B is substituted arylene.
With respect to claim 13, 14, 52 and 55, R1, R1’, R2, R2’ are hydrogen, depending which group will be utilized to bond to linking groups, R3 and R3’ can also be hydrogens. Wherein to make a dimmer of αCD and βCD encompassed by Aime, the ratio of the two is 1:1.
With respect to claim 56-58, method of Aime is first to protect the hydroxy groups which process includes incorporating of functional group that allows formation of dimer via linking group. The resulting dimers are deprotected. Purification of the dimer is a requirement if its use is in medical delivery system which renders the purification as step that is not only inherent but necessary to avoid toxicity.
With respect to claims 48-49, Aime teaches use of spacers (linking groups) that are based on azido methyl compounds (p. 371) which form alkylated triazole bridges upon dimerization. On p. 370 Aime talks about forming both homodimers and heterodimers, wherein content of the substituents n and m are disclosed as well.
Claims 7, 8, 13, 14, 47, 48, 52, 53, 55, 56, 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Aime et al. New cyclodextrin dimers and trimers capable of forming supramolecular adducts with shape specific ligands (Article attached).
With respect to claim 7, Aime discloses following structure:
Wherein L1’ and L2’ are oxygen, R1’ and R2’ are hydrogen. The 7th group is modified to accept linking groups for dimerization wherein Ls is a bond and one of the Rs is N3. Wherein the linking groups A and A’ can be a bond and linking group B is substituted arylene. Aime discloses on page 370 that the CDs can be α-, β- and γ-CDs to make homodimers or heterodimers vis cycloaddition of CD monoazides and CD monoacetylenes.
With respect to claim 8, R1, R1’, R2, R2’ are hydrogen, depending which group will be utilized to bond to linking groups, R3 and R3’ can also be hydrogens. R1, R1’, R2, R2’ are hydrogen, depending which group will be utilized to bond to linking groups, R3 and R3’ can also be hydrogens. Although R3 and R3’ are cites at which two cyclodextrins bund through linking groups A-B-A.
With respect to claims 13 and 14, L1’ and L2’ are oxygen, R1’ and R2’ are hydrogen. The 7th group is modified to accept linking groups for dimerization wherein Ls is a bond and one of the Rs is N3. Wherein linking groups, A and A’ can be a bond and linking group B is substituted arylene.
With respect to the provisos at least one L/R group will be different from the rest because it will be bound to the linking groups. Since the applicants have not defined which group is beings substituted, at least one proviso is met. Furthermore, under broadest reasonable interpretation only one L or R has to be different in order to make the entire pair different. Wherein to make a dimmer of αCD and βCD encompassed by Aime, the ratio of the two is 1:1.
With respect to claims 42 and 43, Aime clearly states in the introduction that the cyclodextrins are mixed with pharmaceutical agents as delivery agents, drug encapsulation and the like (P. 370). Wherein effects of the method are optional. Encapsulation of the drug by CD dimer is by definition solubilization of an otherwise hydrophobic drug.
With respect to claim 44, method of Aime is first to protect the hydroxy groups which process includes incorporating of functional group that allows formation of dimer via linking group. The resulting dimers are deprotected. Purification of the dimer is a requirement if its use is in medical delivery system which renders the purification as step that is not only inherent but necessary to avoid toxicity.
Aime teaches use of spacers (linking groups) that are based on azido methyl compounds (p. 371) which form alkylated triazole bridges upon dimerization. On p. 370 Aime talks about forming both homodimers and heterodimers, wherein content of the substituents n and m are disclosed as well.
Claims 13, 14 and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Aime et al. New cyclodextrin dimers and trimers capable of forming supramolecular adducts with shape specific ligands (Article attached).
With respect to claim 13, Aime discloses following structure:
Wherein L1’ and L2’ are oxygen, R1’ and R2’ are hydrogen. The 7th group is modified to accept linking groups for dimerization wherein Ls is a bond and one of the Rs is N3. Wherein linking groups, A and A’ can be a bond and linking group B is substituted arylene.
With respect to the provisos at least one L/R group will be different from the rest because it will be bound to the linking groups. Since the applicants have not defined which group is beings substituted, at least one proviso is met. Furthermore, under broadest reasonable interpretation only one L or R has to be different in order to make the entire pair different.
With respect to claim 14, R1, R1’, R2, R2’ are hydrogen, depending which group will be utilized to bond to linking groups, R3 and R3’ can also be hydrogens.
With respect to claim 45, Aime clearly states in the introduction that the cyclodextrins are mixed with pharmaceutical agents as delivery agents, drug encapsulation and the like (P. 370). Wherein effects of the method are optional. Encapsulation of the drug by CD dimer is by definition solubilization of an otherwise hydrophobic drug.
With respect to claim 46, Aime clearly states in the introduction that the cyclodextrins are mixed with pharmaceutical agents as delivery agents, drug encapsulation and the like (P. 370). Wherein effects of the method are optional. Encapsulation of the drug by CD dimer is by definition solubilization of an otherwise hydrophobic drug.
With respect to claim 47, method of Aime is first to protect the hydroxy groups which process includes incorporating of functional group that allows formation of dimer via linking group. The resulting dimers are deprotected. Purification of the dimer is a requirement if its use is in medical delivery system which renders the purification as step that is not only inherent but necessary to avoid toxicity. Aime teaches use of spacers (linking groups) that are based on azido methyl compounds (p. 371) which form alkylated triazole bridges upon dimerization. On p. 370 Aime talks about forming both homodimers and heterodimers, wherein content of the substituents n and m are disclosed as well.
Claims 24, 25, 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Aime et al. New cyclodextrin dimers and trimers capable of forming supramolecular adducts with shape specific ligands (Article attached).
With respect to claim 24, Aime discloses following structure:
Wherein L1’ and L2’ are oxygen, R1’ and R2’ are hydrogen. The 7th group is modified to accept linking groups for dimerization wherein Ls is a bond and one of the Rs is N3. Wherein linking groups, A and A’ can be a bond and linking group B is substituted arylene.
With respect to claim 25, R1, R1’, R2, R2’ are hydrogen, depending which group will be utilized to bond to linking groups, R3 and R3’ can also be hydrogens.
With respect to claims 36 and 37, Aime clearly states in the introduction that the cyclodextrins are mixed with pharmaceutical agents as delivery agents, drug encapsulation and the like (P. 370). Wherein effects of the method are optional. Encapsulation of the drug by CD dimer is by definition solubilization of an otherwise hydrophobic drug.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 14, 52, 53, 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aime in view of Schwarz (J. International Pharma article).
Discussion of the teachings of Aime are incorporated here by reference. While Aime teaches dimers and while encapsulation is viewed as solubilizing, Aime does not show how tailor the selectivity of the CD dimers via adjusting functional groups and linking groups.
Schwarz discloses solubilizing steroidal drugs using β-CD derivatives. Specifically, CD derivatives can solubilize steroids and improve bio-availability of these hydrophobic APIs (Abstract).
CDs are host molecules because they are able to complex with guest molecules in aqueous media. It is known that complexes with two CDs rings per guest can be formed. Substitution of the primary hydroxy group of CD by the more hydrophobic thioether groups improves the binding potential so that exceptional high binding constants can be reached.
Schwarz states that binding depends on the special fit of the guest within the CD cavity and on the pattern of substituents on the CD derivative. The more completely the hydrophobic guest is filling the cavity, the higher the binding constant will be (pp. 560-561). Schwarz states that there is a high demand in finding improved formulation for steroidal drugs using cyclodextrin derivatives which provide several advantages including avoiding harmful excipients such as ethanol, DMSO and surfactants, enhanced rate of uptake, higher dosage efficiency and reproducibility and more convenient administration forms such sublingual administration (p. 564, papa 4).
The derivatives discussed by Schwarz include heptakis-6-thioglyceryl-6-deoxy-β-CD (HTG)(Abstract).
HTG is a cyclodextrin derivative of the instant claims wherein instant L1, L1’, L2, L2’ are each O, L3 and L3’ are S. R3 and R3’ are hydroxyalkyl (Scheme 1. HTG showed selective recognition of β-estradiol by exclusively complexing the female hormone over testosterone (p. 564, para 2).
Schwarz teaches that the β-CD HTG derivative can solubilize steroids to increase serum level, which can be avoided by attaching CD to a polymer backbone.
The formula meets the structure of instant claims 1, 8, 14, 52, 53, 56.
With respect to the reduction of 7KC such as included in claims as optional effect. Additionally, since the CDR Dimers of prior art comprises the same functional groups and linkers, the affinity to 7KC is viewed as inherent.
In the light of the above disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that CD dimers would solubilize the hydrophobic drugs and that the affinity of the CD dimer can be adjusted depending on the target compound. Such modification would allow one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a dimer having optimized efficiency for specific target compounds for either delivery or removal.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 8, 13, 14, 48-58 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 11,279,774 to O’Connor. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
O’Connor teaches cyclodextrin dimer having CD-L-CD structure in patented claim 1, wherein L is a linker and CD has following structure:
Wherein instantly claimed L group is an oxygen, and R is defined in the same manner as that of the instant invention. The linking group of O’Connor is much broader in scope as the linking group B of the instant invention wherein A and A’ are bond. Specifically, the linking group is 6-8 atoms comprising any functionality or chemical structure. Instant group B can also be heteroarylene which meets the formula of claim 4 of O’Connor.
O’Connor in claim 2 further discloses narrow embodiments of the substituents that fall within the scope of instant independent claims 1, 7, 13 and 46 as well as dependent claim 14.
The dimer of O’Connor can be utilized with pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Consequently, instant invention is viewed as broader disclosure of already patented invention of O’Connor.
Claim 1, 7, 8, 13, 14, 48-58 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,157,779 (‘779). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Patented invention (also to Connor) discloses a dimer having CD-L-CD structure, wherein CD is defined in claim 1 as follows:
Wherein L in the patented ‘779 is a linking group having no more than 22 atoms which meets the definition of instant linking group B, where linking groups A and A’ are bonds. Patented linking groups are specifically substituted heteroaryls.
Oxygen atom meets instant groups L1, L2, L3, L1’, L2’ and L3’. Groups R1, R2 and R3 of ‘779 are defined in the same manner as groups R1, R2, R3, R1’, R2’ and R3’ if the instant invention.
Dimers of ‘779 also are taught to prevent, treat and ameliorate the same type of diseases either alone or in combination with another type of therapy/drug.
The method of ‘779 is the same method of making the dimer as that disclosed in the instant invention.
Claim 1, 7, 8, 13, 14, 48-58 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9-12, 25, 37, 42, 44, 54, 62, 63, 72 of copending Application No. 18/925129 (’129). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Co-pending application ‘129 discloses CD dimers having CD-L-CD structure and wherein CD has several formulae that meet instant invention the substituents meet the instantly claimed compound. The linking group is heteroaryl compound, instant group L is Oxygen and all R substituents are defined in the same manner.
The method of making the dimers is also the same as method of making dimer of the instant invention including materials utilized therein.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1, 7, 8, 13, 14, 48-59 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of US 12,760,128. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Please note that this application was allowed on 2/27/2026. Latest claimed of the applications are utilized in the rejection because patent has not been published and the number has not been assigned yet.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims are almost identical and very much coextensive in scope. That is the claims in both applications cover subject matter. Specifically, ‘128 discloses the same CD dimers and composition with the same L and R substituents. The same linking groups and the same bridging groups as those of instant invention. In fact, some of the dependent claims are identical. The same compounds are also utilized to make CD dimer as those of the instant invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 October 23, 2026