DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This action is in response to the amendment filed 06/01/2026, in which claim 1 was amended and claims 3-17 and 20-21 were previously presented. Claims 1, 3-17, 20 and 21 are currently pending and under examination.
Applicant' s arguments have been thoroughly reviewed, but are not persuasive for the
reasons that follow. Any rejection and objections not reiterated in this action have been
withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of suppressing the MAPT gene expression, comprising administering the vector of claim 13, does not reasonably provide enablement for a method for treating Alzheimer’s disease, comprising administering the vector of claim 13, to a subject in need thereof. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Enablement is considered in view of the Wands factors (MPEP 2164.01(A)). These include: the breadth of the claims, the nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, the level of one of ordinary skill, the level of predictability in the art, the amount of direction provided by the inventor, the existence of working examples, and the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention. All of the Wands factors have been considered with regard to the instant claims, with the most relevant factors discussed below.
Nature of the invention: The claims are drawn to a method for treating Alzheimer’s disease in a subject in need thereof comprising administering to the subject a vector comprising the polynucleotide of claim 1. The nature of the invention is complex in that the function of the polynucleotide of claim 1 is to be capable of being delivered to a subject in need thereof for the treatment of Alzheimer’s Disease.
Breadth of the claims: The claims broadly encompass the treatment of Alzheimer’s Disease. The complex nature of the subject matter of this invention is greatly exacerbated by the breadth of the claims. The instant specification indicates that the term "treatment" in the present specification also includes remission of disease, in addition to the cure of diseases [0058]. The specification describes a method for treating or preventing tauopathy including AD, comprises administering the polynucleotide of the present invention or the vector of the present invention to a subject in need thereof [0059]. The specification also describes the method of the present invention to suppress human MAPT gene expression represents a novel therapeutic or preventive strategy for the tauopathy including AD as described and illustrated herein [0071].
Guidance of the specification and existence of working examples: The specification broadly describes a method for treating Alzheimer’s disease, comprising administering the vector of claim 13 which comprises the polynucleotide of claim 1, to a subject in need thereof [0063-0069].
Working Example 1 describes a fusion protein of dCas9 with a transcriptional repressor to suppress gene expression, in the defined expression regulatory region of human MAPT gene that leads to the selective suppression of human MAPT gene expression [0070]. Working example 1 describes SK-N-AS (American Type Culture Collection) cells were transfected with 1000 ng sgRNA containing px601-CMV-dSaCas9-KRAB-P2A-Puro plasmid [0072]. The results of working example 1 showed detection of MAPT expression levels after transfection with control sgRNA guides were set to 1.0. sgRNA# 54, 55, 56, 57, and 68 showed ~90% suppression (Fig. 2) [0077].
Working Example 2 describes SK-N-AS (American Type Culture Collection) cells were transfected with 1000 ng sgRNA containing px601-CMV-dSaCas9-KRAB-P2A-Puro plasmid [0086]. The experiment of working example 2 results as the detected MAPT expression levels after transfection with control sgRNA guides were set to 1.0. SgRNA 123, 127 and 132 showed close to 80% suppression whereas 113 and 106 showed 70% suppression [0089].
No working example describes or teaches the successful treatment of Alzheimer’s Disease by administering to a subject in need thereof, a vector comprising the polynucleotide of claim 1.
Predictability and state of the art: For some relevant background, Raffaele et al (Antioxidants (Basel). 2025 Jun 25;14(7):781; Pgs. 1-47) teaches CRISPR/Cas9 and hiPSCs are promising for disease modeling and therapy, but off-target effects and the complexity of gene editing in the brain limit their use (Page 1, Abstract). Raffaele teaches iPSC-derived neurons, astrocytes, microglia, and 3D organoids can recapitulate key aspects of human AD pathology, but they do not fully replicate the complexity of the human brain, limiting clinical applicability, specifically, these technologies advance studies of amyloid processing, tau aggregation, neuroinflammation, and oxidative stress, yet translating them into clinical therapies remains challenging even despite the promise of CRISPR/Cas9 and iPSCs for precision medicine, gaps in knowledge about their long-term safety and efficacy must be addressed before clinical implementation (Page 1, Abstract). Rafaelle teaches although genetic targets such as APP, PSEN1, MAPT, and APOE have shown promise in modulating core disease pathways, most findings remain confined to in vitro systems or preclinical models, with limited validation across multiple platforms (Page 39, Paragraph 2).
Akbar et al (Genes (Basel). 2025 Jul 22;16(8):850; Pages 1-28) teaches although CRISPR/Cas9 offers promising strategies to modify key genes involved in AD pathogenesis, including APP, BACE1, PSEN2, APOE, and MAPT, its application remains largely experimental (Page 10, Paragraph 7). Akbar teaches preclinical studies that have demonstrated the feasibility of correcting pathogenic mutations, altering amyloid and tau pathology, and restoring neuronal function in cellular models; however, significant limitations persist; these include challenges in achieving precise, safe, and efficient delivery across the blood–brain barrier, potential off-target effects, and the need for long-term efficacy and safety validation in vivo (Page 10, Paragraph 7).
Amount of experimentation necessary: In order to practice the claimed invention, an immense amount of experimentation would be required. As disclosed above, the specification itself provides description of a polynucleotide, comprising the following base sequences: (a) a base sequence encoding a fusion protein of a nuclease-deficient CRISPR effector protein and a transcription repressor, and (b) a base sequence encoding a guide RNA comprising the base sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 54, 56, 57, 68 or 153. No description is provided of the polynucleotide being capable of the treatment of Alzheimer’s. The specification does teach how the polynucleotides function and how the structure of the polynucleotides contributes to that function in order to successfully accomplish the treatment of Alzheimer’s. Therefore, experiment could be conducted, but in view of the specification there does not appear to be any amount of experimentation that would be sufficient to reliably produce the exact product of the invention. Such experimentation would not be possible due to not having the steps of how the polynucleotide would be capable of the treatment of Alzheimer’s in a subject in need thereof. Therefore, it would require immense amount of unpredictable experimentation to practice the claimed invention with such variants in the possible result.
In view of the breadth of the claims and the lack of guidance provided by the specification as well as the unpredictability of the art, the skilled artisan would have required an undue amount of experimentation to make and/or use the claimed invention. Therefore, claim 20 is not considered to be fully enabled by the instant disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-17, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Flynn (US 2017/0035860 A1; Cited in a prior Office Action) in view of Zeitler et al (WO 2021/151012 A1; priority to provisional application 62/964,501 filed on 01/22/2020). This is a NEW rejection necessitated by the amendment to the claims in the reply filed 06/01/2026.
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 21, Flynn teaches gene regulation using a mutant dCas9 construct where the Cas9 protein is fused to a KRAB repressor domain wherein a guide RNA is used to target an exon within the MAPT gene [0111]. Flynn teaches that after tissue derivation, the CRISPR/Cas9 gene will be cloned into the delivery vector separate or together with the designed sgRNA against selected regions of the MAPT gene [0150].
Flynn does not teach the specific sequence of the sgRNA used that would comprise similarity to the expression regulatory region of the human MAPT gene.
Zeitler teaches a fusion protein comprising a zinc finger protein (ZFP) domain and a transcription repressor domain, wherein the ZFP domain binds to the target region of a human MAPT gene wherein the proteins treat neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's disease (Abstract; [008]). Zeitler teaches the DNA-binding ZFP domains of the ZFP-TFs direct the fusion proteins to a target region of the MAPT gene and bring the transcriptional repression domains of the fusion proteins to the target region [042]. Zeitler teaches the present engineered ZFPs bind to a target site (i.e., Target Sequence) wherein the target sites are SEQ ID NO: 59, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 54 (See NEW Appendix I; [044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Flynn to include the specific targeting of target site of the MAPT gene as taught by Zeitler because Flynn teaches it is within the ordinary skill in the art to use gene regulation using a mutant dCas9 construct where the Cas9 protein is fused to a KRAB repressor domain wherein a guide RNA is used to target an exon within the MAPT gene and Zeitler teaches the ZFP-TFs direct the fusion proteins to a target region of the MAPT gene and bring the transcriptional repression domains of the fusion proteins to the target region.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to receive the expected benefit of reduced expression of the MAPT gene for the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease as taught by Zeitler.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Flynn teaches gene regulation using a mutant dCas9 construct where the Cas9 protein is fused to a KRAB repressor domain wherein a guide RNA is used to target an exon within the MAPT gene [0111]. Flynn teaches that after tissue derivation, the
CRISPR/Cas9 gene will be cloned into the separate delivery vector or together with the designed sgRNA against selected regions of the MAPT gene [0150].
Regarding claim 6, Flynn teaches gene regulation using a mutant dCas9 construct where the Cas9 protein is fused to a KRAB repressor domain wherein a guide RNA is used to target an exon within the MAPT gene [0111]. Flynn teaches that after tissue derivation, the CRISPR/Cas9 gene will be cloned into the delivery vector separate or together with the designed sgRNA against selected regions of the MAPT gene [0150].
Regarding claims 8-10, Flynn teaches the MAPT CRISPR/Cas9 constructs comprising the U6 promoter and guide RNA vector and CMV humanized Cas9 vector, in human HEK293 cells [0110].
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Flynn teaches the MAPT CRISPR/Cas9 constructs comprising the U6 promoter and guide RNA vector and CMV humanized Cas9 vector, in human HEK293 cells [0110].
Regarding claims 13-17, Flynn teaches the CRISPR/Cas9 gene cloned into the delivery vector such as AAV or lentivirus together with the designed sgRNA against selected regions of the MAPT gene [0145]. Flynn teaches that the delivery vehicle that will be utilized for Cas9/CRISPR delivery will be an adeno-associated virus (AAV) [0142]. Flynn teaches Adeno-associated viral vectors are excellent vehicles to transfer genes into the nervous system due to their property to transduce also post-mitotic cells, their ability to be grown to very high titers (up to 1013 virion particles per ml), and their relatively large insert capacity (insert capacity of - 7.5 kb) [0143].
Flynn does not teach that the AAV is specifically an AAV9 vector.
Zeitler teaches a fusion protein comprising a zinc finger protein (ZFP) domain and a transcription repressor domain, wherein the ZFP domain binds to the target region of a human MAPT gene wherein the proteins treat neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's disease (Abstract; [008]). Zeitler teaches the delivery of AAV9 encoding representative R->Q variant ZFP-TFs construct (57890-T2A-65918), specifically encoding the ZFP-TF under the human synapsin 1 promoter, in htau mice [029-032].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Flynn to include the specific AAV9 vector delivery system as taught by Zeitler because Flynn teaches it is within the ordinary skill in the art to use gene regulation using a mutant dCas9 construct where the Cas9 protein is fused to a KRAB repressor domain wherein a guide RNA is used to target an exon within the MAPT gene within an AAV vector for delivery to a cell and Zeitler teaches using AAV9 for specific targeting of cells for improved delivery.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to receive the expected benefit of enhanced transduction and specific cell delivery of the AAV9 vector as taught by Zeitler.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted as the method of suppressing the MAPT gene expression, comprising administering the vector of claim 13 as outlined in the scope of enablement rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) above.
Flynn teaches a method of suppression of the MAPT gene by administering a vector that targets the MAPT gene [0111]. Flynn teaches gene regulation using a mutant dCas9 construct where the Cas9 protein is fused to a KRAB repressor domain wherein a guide RNA is used to target an exon within the MAPT gene [0111]. Flynn teaches that after tissue derivation, the CRISPR/Cas9 gene will be cloned into the delivery vector separate or together with the designed sgRNA against selected regions of the MAPT gene [0150].
Flynn does not teach the specific sequence of the sgRNA used that would comprise similarity to the expression regulatory region of the human MAPT gene.
Zeitler teaches a fusion protein comprising a zinc finger protein (ZFP) domain and a transcription repressor domain, wherein the ZFP domain binds to the target region of a human MAPT gene wherein the proteins treat neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's disease (Abstract; [008]). Zeitler teaches the DNA-binding ZFP domains of the ZFP-TFs direct the fusion proteins to a target region of the MAPT gene and bring the transcriptional repression domains of the fusion proteins to the target region [042]. Zeitler teaches the present engineered ZFPs bind to a target site (i.e., Target Sequence) wherein the target sites are SEQ ID NO: 59, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 54 (See NEW Appendix I; [044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Flynn to include the specific targeting of target site of the MAPT gene as taught by Zeitler because Flynn teaches it is within the ordinary skill in the art to use gene regulation using a mutant dCas9 construct where the Cas9 protein is fused to a KRAB repressor domain wherein a guide RNA is used to target an exon within the MAPT gene and Zeitler teaches the ZFP-TFs direct the fusion proteins to a target region of the MAPT gene and bring the transcriptional repression domains of the fusion proteins to the target region.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to receive the expected benefit of reduced expression of the MAPT gene for the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease as taught by Zeitler.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flynn (US 2017/0035860 A1; Cited in a prior Office Action) in view of Zeitler et al (WO 2021/151012 A1; priority to provisional application 62/964,501 filed on 01/22/2020) as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 8-17, 20 and 21 above, and further in view of Raikwar et al (Molecular Neurobiology (2019) 56: pgs 378–393; Cited in a prior Office Action). This is a NEW rejection necessitated by the amendment to the claims in the reply filed 06/01/2026.
The teachings of Flynn and Zeitler are described above and applied as before.
Regarding claim 7, Flynn teaches gene regulation using a mutant dCas9 construct where the Cas9 protein is fused to a KRAB repressor domain wherein a guide RNA is used to target an exon within the MAPT gene [0111]. Flynn teaches that after tissue derivation, the CRISPR/Cas9 gene will be cloned into the delivery vector separate or together with the designed sgRNA against selected regions of the MAPT gene [0150]. While Zeitler teaches a fusion protein comprising a zinc finger protein (ZFP) domain and a transcription repressor domain, wherein the ZFP domain binds to the target region of a human MAPT gene wherein the proteins treat neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's disease (Abstract; [008]). Zeitler teaches the DNA-binding ZFP domains of the ZFP-TFs direct the fusion proteins to a target region of the MAPT gene and bring the transcriptional repression domains of the fusion proteins to the target region [042]. Zeitler teaches the present engineered ZFPs bind to a target site (i.e., Target Sequence) wherein the target sites are SEQ ID NO: 59, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 54 (See NEW Appendix I; [044]).
Flynn and Zeitler do not teach the Cas9 is derived from Staphylococcus aureus.
Raikwar teaches confocal microscopy of murine BV2 microglial cell line transduced with an adeno-associated virus (AAV) coexpressing Staphylococcus aureus (Sa) Cas9 and a GMF-specific guide RNA (GMF-sgRNA) revealed few cells expressing SaCas9 while lacking GMF expression, thereby confirming successful GMF gene editing (Page 378, Abstract). Raikwar teaches the large size (1368 amino acids) of the Streptococcus pyogenes nuclease SpCas9 and due to the AAV packaging limitations, it is not possible to simultaneously coexpress SpCas9 as well as GMF-specific sgRNA using a single AAV vector (Page 382, Column 1 bridging Column 2). Raikwar teaches to overcome this limitation, the smaller (1053 amino acids) CRISPR-Cas9 nuclease derived from Staphylococcus aureus SaCas9 that can be easily packaged along with GMF sgRNA in a single AAV vector was utilized (Page 382, Column 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Flynn and Zeitler to include the Staphylococcus aureus derived Cas9 as taught by Raikwar because Flynn teaches it is within the ordinary skill in the art to use gene regulation using a mutant dCas9 construct where the Cas9 protein is fused to a KRAB repressor domain wherein a guide RNA is used to target an exon within the MAPT gene, Zeitler teaches methods of targeting the MAPT gene for repression of expression for treatment of Alzheimer’s disease and Raikwar teaches the smaller (1053 amino acids) CRISPR-Cas9 nuclease derived from Staphylococcus aureus SaCas9 that can be easily packaged along with GMF sgRNA in a single AAV vector was utilized.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to receive the expected benefit of easier and more efficient packaging and delivery of the SaCas9 construct as taught by Raikwar.
Response to Arguments - Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The previous rejection of claims 1, 3-17, 20 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been withdrawn in view of Applicant' s amendment to the claims filed on 06/01/2026.
The previous rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been withdrawn in view of Applicant' s amendment to the claims filed on 06/01/2026.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ALEXANDRA ROSE LIPPOLIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/CELINE X QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637