DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filled on 03/27/2026 has been entered.
Claims 78, 79, 89, 93, 94, 102-109, 112, 119, 120, and 159-162 are amended.
Claims 78, 79, 81, 82, 84, 87, 89, 90, 93-95, 102-109, 112-115, 119,120, 125, and 159-162 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed on 03/27/2026 have been fully considered and but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 78-79, 81-82, 84,87,115, 119-120,159-162 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng to (US 20180219606 A1) in view of Papasakellariou to ( US 20170367046 A1)
Regarding claims 78,119, 159,161 Ng teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one processor, memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions for the at least one processor to cause the UE to: receive downlink control information from a network device, ([0159] discloses the beam indication for common or UE-group common PDSCH and PDCCH is done with higher layer signaling such as an RRC signaling or a combination of RRC and MAC CE signaling; in this case, the PDCCH scheduling the common or UE-group common PDSCH does not include L1 beam indication. The beam indication for unicast PDSCH is done with at least L1 signaling (including a combination of RRC and L1 signaling, or a combination of RRC, MAC CE and L1 signaling) as a part of the DCI scheduling the unicast PDSCH) the downlink control information comprising unicast scheduling information for a plurality of UEs including the first UE;([0158] discloses a higher layer based beam indication (e.g. MAC CE) signaling is used for receiving common PDSCHs (or a subset of common PDSCHs); whereas L1 based beam indication signaling (with PDCCH) is used for receiving unicast PDSCHs. The procedures are illustrated in FIG. 17(a) and FIG. 17(b). Whether a PDSCH is common or unicast is distinguished with the RNTI type that is associated with the PDSCHs (e.g. the RNTI is used to scramble the PDSCH and is associated with the PDCCH that schedules the PDSCH). It is also noted that the same higher layer beam indication signaling can be applied to both the common PDSCHs and the PDCCHs beam management procedure) determine, from the unicast scheduling information, a set of resources for communicating with the network device; ([0119] There is a need for the UE to determine if the unicast PDSCH to be received is a fallback PDSCH or not in order to implement the procedure as illustrated in FIG. 11. The following are some examples. In one example, if the unicast PDSCH is scheduled with a 1.sup.st type of DCI format, the unicast PDSCH is a fallback PDSCH; else if the unicast PDSCH is scheduled with a 2.sup.nd type of DCI format, the unicast PDSCH is a non-fallback PDSCH [0158] discloses Whether a PDSCH is common or unicast is distinguished with the RNTI type that is associated with the PDSCHs (e.g. the RNTI is used to scramble the PDSCH and is associated with the PDCCH that schedules the PDSCH). It is also noted that the same higher layer beam indication signaling can be applied to both the common PDSCHs and the PDCCHs beam management procedure) and communicate with the network device using the set of resources based at least in part on the determination( [0116] To protect against error events associated with beam switching procedure and misalignment of the fine beams, or to deliver unicast messages that requires high reliability but not necessarily high spectral efficiency (e.g. RRC messages), there is a need to support fallback to more robust beams for unicast PDSCH. Therefore, unicast PDSCH can be of two types: fallback PDSCH, capable of robust unicast data transmission, and non-fallback unicast PDSCH, capable of high spectral efficiency/high data rate transmission. This implies that there is a need to support two different Tx beams (and correspondingly two different Rx beams) for transmitting the two types of unicast PDSCH)
Ng does not explicitly teach DCI is a single downlink control information transmission and comprising unicast scheduling information for a plurality of UEs including the first UE
However, Papasakellariou teaches single downlink control information transmission comprising unicast scheduling information for a plurality of UEs including the first UE ([0155] discloses indicated by a gNB through a DCI format that can be detected by UEs in a group of UEs (UE-common DCI format)... this DCI format is referred to as DCI format A. The DCI format A can be associated with a Slot-RNTI or a group-common RNTI (GC-RNTI) that a gNB configures to UEs for scrambling a CRC of DCI format A... scheduling unicast PDSCH or unicast PUSCH transmissions)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Ng include single downlink control information transmission comprising unicast scheduling information for a plurality of UEs including the first UE, as suggested by Papasakellariou. This modification would benefit the system reduce overhead.
Regarding claims 79, 120,160,162, Ng teaches wherein the instructions to determine the set of resources are for the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: determine the set of resources based at least in part on one or more predefined rules comprising a UE-specific transformation of time and frequency resources that are common across the plurality of UEs, ([0119] There is a need for the UE to determine if the unicast PDSCH to be received is a fallback PDSCH or not in order to implement the procedure as illustrated in FIG. 11. The following are some examples. In one example, if the unicast PDSCH is scheduled with a 1.sup.st type of DCI format, the unicast PDSCH is a fallback PDSCH; else if the unicast PDSCH is scheduled with a 2.sup.nd type of DCI format, the unicast PDSCH is a non-fallback PDSCH [0158] discloses Whether a PDSCH is common or unicast is distinguished with the RNTI type that is associated with the PDSCHs (e.g. the RNTI is used to scramble the PDSCH and is associated with the PDCCH that schedules the PDSCH). It is also noted that the same higher layer beam indication signaling can be applied to both the common PDSCHs and the PDCCHs beam management procedure) wherein the time and frequency resources are indicated by the downlink control information([0119] There is a need for the UE to determine if the unicast PDSCH to be received is a fallback PDSCH or not in order to implement the procedure as illustrated in FIG. 11. The following are some examples. In one example, if the unicast PDSCH is scheduled with a 1.sup.st type of DCI format, the unicast PDSCH is a fallback PDSCH; else if the unicast PDSCH is scheduled with a 2.sup.nd type of DCI format, the unicast PDSCH is a non-fallback PDSCH).
Regarding claim 81, Ng teaches wherein the instructions are further for the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the network device, a configuration of the one or more predefined rules, wherein determining the set of resources is based at least in part on the configuration([0143] There is a need for the UE to determine if the UE-specific PDCCH to be received is a fallback PDCCH or not in order to implement the procedure as illustrated in FIG. 11. The following are some examples. In one example, if the UE-specific PDCCH is detected/received in a 1.sup.st PDCCH search space (e.g. common PDCCH search space, or UE-group common PDCCH search space), the UE-specific PDCCH is a UE-specific PDCCH; else if the UE-specific PDCCH is detected/received in a 2.sup.nd PDCCH search space (e.g. UE-specific PDCCH search space), the UE-specific PDCCH is a non-fallback PDCCH).
Regarding claim 82, Ng teaches wherein the instructions are further for the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: calculate the UE-specific transformation based at least in part on an identity of the first UE, an index of a table including a set of candidate transformation values, or any combination thereof([0156] discloses Implicit DCI indication for PDSCH beam (rather than explicit DCI field) is also possible. Some example approaches are given below: apply a mask to scramble CRC parity bits for the DCI message where the mask is generated as a function of the BPL/beam/RS/QCL reference index used to transmit the corresponding PDSCH; and scramble the RNTI value of the DCI with a number which is generated as a function of the corresponding BPL/beam/RS/QCL reference index).
Regarding claim 84, Ng teaches wherein the instructions are further for the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a message via a physical downlink shared channel based at least in part on the set of resources;( [0148] The network can also perform spatial division multiplexing on multiple subsets of UEs and transmit different data streams on different UE-group common PDSCHs. However, for certain common PDSCHs such as those corresponding to SIB that contains essential system access information (analogous to SIB 1 and SIB2 in LTE)) and attempt to decode the received message using a scrambling sequence that is specific to the first UE([0158] Discloses The procedures are illustrated in FIG. 17(a) and FIG. 17(b). Whether a PDSCH is common or unicast is distinguished with the RNTI type that is associated with the PDSCHs (e.g. the RNTI is used to scramble the PDSCH and is associated with the PDCCH that schedules the PDSCH). It is also noted that the same higher layer beam indication signaling can be applied to both the common PDSCHs and the PDCCHs beam management procedure).
Regarding claim 87, Ng teaches wherein the instructions to determine the set of resources are for the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: identify one or more candidate shifts that are specific to the first UE;( [0115] For the unicast PDSCH, it would be necessary for the UE to indicate to the network the best/preferred Tx beam to receive the PDSCH, as such UE feedback would allow the network to provide better link quality for the unicast PDSCH and also to support MU-MIMO transmissions of unicast PDSCHs. Beam management of unicast PDSCH based on a UE-specific RS, e.g. UE-specific CSI-RS can enable more refined beams to be used which can either increase the spectral efficiency or the range of the unicast PDSCH) and determine the set of resources based at least in part on the one or more candidate shifts( [0115] For the unicast PDSCH, it would be necessary for the UE to indicate to the network the best/preferred Tx beam to receive the PDSCH, as such UE feedback would allow the network to provide better link quality for the unicast PDSCH and also to support MU-MIMO transmissions of unicast PDSCHs. Beam management of unicast PDSCH based on a UE-specific RS, e.g. UE-specific CSI-RS can enable more refined beams to be used which can either increase the spectral efficiency or the range of the unicast PDSCH).
Regarding claim 115, Ng teaches wherein the instructions are further for the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifier based at least in part on a time interval associated with receiving a downlink message from the network device using the set of resources; ([0231] An error event of PDCCH beam indication is when the beam/BPL indication signaling is received by the UE but the acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) of the reception fails to be received by the gNB. As a result, the UE changes the UE's BPL for a CORESET according to the received signaling but the gNB is unaware this and connectivity can be lost) and transmit a feedback message to the network device based at least in part on the HARQ process identifier([0231] An error event of PDCCH beam indication is when the beam/BPL indication signaling is received by the UE but the acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) of the reception fails to be received by the gNB. As a result, the UE changes the UE's BPL for a CORESET according to the received signaling but the gNB is unaware this and connectivity can be lost).
Claim(s) 95,102 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng to (US 20180219606 A1) in view of Papasakellariou to (US20170367046 A1) further in view of Babaei to (US20210307108)
Regarding claim 95, Ng does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are further for the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: determine, based at least in part on a decoding failure of a message received on the set of resources, a second set of resources for a retransmission of the message from the network device, wherein the second set of resources is different from the set of resources
However, Babaei teaches wherein the instructions are further for the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: determine, based at least in part on a decoding failure of a message received on the set of resources, a second set of resources for a retransmission of the message from the network device, wherein the second set of resources is different from the set of resources([0317] discloses an IE BeamFailureRecoveryConfig may be used to configure the UE with RACH resources and candidate beams for beam failure recovery in case of beam failure detection. The parameter recoverySearchSpaceId may indicate search space to use for BFR RAR. The network configures this search space to be within the linked DL BWP (i.e., within the DL BWP with the same bwp-Id) of the UL BWP in which the BeamFailureRecoveryConfig is provided. ..The parameter ra-OccasionList may indicate RA occasions that the UE may use when performing BFR upon selecting the candidate beam identified by a CSI-RS. The network may ensure that the RA occasion indexes provided herein are also configured by prach-ConfigurationIndex and msg1-FDM. A RACH occasion may be sequentially numbered, first, in increasing order of frequency resource indexes for frequency multiplexed PRACH occasions; second, in increasing order of time resource indexes for time multiplexed PRACH occasions within a PRACH slot and Third, in increasing order of indexes for PRACH slots. If the field is absent the UE may use the RA occasion associated with the SSB that is QCLed with CSI-RS)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Ng include determine, based at least in part on a decoding failure of a message received on the set of resources, a second set of resources for a retransmission of the message from the network device, wherein the second set of resources is different from the set of resources, as suggested by Babaei. This modification would benefit the system reduce communication error.
Regarding claim 102, Ng does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are further for the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: identify a switch from a first bandwidth part to a second bandwidth part based at least in part on the downlink control information, wherein each UE of the plurality of UEs are switched to the second bandwidth part
However, Babaei teaches wherein the instructions are further for the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: identify a switch from a first bandwidth part to a second bandwidth part based at least in part on the downlink control information, wherein each UE of the plurality of UEs are switched to the second bandwidth part ([0132] The BWP switching (e.g., BWP switching 1010, BWP switching 1012, BWP switching 1014, or BWP switching 1016 in FIG. 10) may be based on a command from the base station. The command may be a DCI comprising scheduling information for the UE in the second BWP. In case of uplink BWP switching, the first BWP and the second BWP may be uplink BWPs and the scheduling information may be an uplink grant for uplink transmission via the second BWP. In case of downlink BWP switching, the first BWP and the second BWP may be downlink BWPs and the scheduling information may be a downlink assignment for downlink reception via the second BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Ng include wherein the instructions are further for the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: identify a switch from a first bandwidth part to a second bandwidth part based at least in part on the downlink control information, wherein each UE of the plurality of UEs are switched to the second bandwidth part, as suggested by Babaei. This modification would benefit the system reduce communication error.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 89-90,93-94,125 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461