DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed July 31, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9-12, 22, 24, 25, and 27-32 have been amended.
Claims 3, 12-21, and 23 are cancelled as previously indicated.
Claims 1, 2, 4-11, 22, and 24-32 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 22, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Isaksson et al. (hereinafter Isaksson) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0413316 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 22, and 24, Isaksson teaches and discloses a cell reselection method and a terminal device (wireless communication device, figures 1, 4, and 7), comprising at least one processor (processing circuitry, 701, figure 7) and a memory (memory, 707, figure 7), wherein the memory stores a computer-executable instruction; and the at least one processor (processing circuitry, 701, figure 7) executes the computer-executable instruction stored in the memory to enable the at least one processor to:
receive cell information of a plurality of cells (cells, figure 1) and an artificial intelligence (AI) model (machine learning model; [0042]; “…The training of the model generates one or more trained model parameters, and the model may be a neural network which may be multivariate and time-dependent in that the model takes historical data into account…”; [0043]; “…a model that is trained also referred to as machine learning model…”) supported by each cell from a first network device (radio network node, figures 1, 4, and 8) ([0022]; “…wireless communication device obtains an indicator, such as an index, indicating a model, e.g. a function, and one or more trained model parameters for the model, wherein the model is related to an event being one of the following events: a handover procedure, a cell reselection procedure…”; [0043]; [0054]; teaches the wireless communication device receives cell information related to a plurality of cells and a machine learning model);
determine a first cell from the plurality of cells according to the cell information and the AI model supported by each cell; and reselect the first cell ([0022]; “…wireless communication device obtains an indicator, such as an index, indicating a model, e.g. a function, and one or more trained model parameters for the model, wherein the model is related to an event being one of the following events: a handover procedure, a cell reselection procedure…”; [0043]; [0054]; “…train a number of models and associate each or a plurality of models with a beam, a cell or a region of cells. The model is for triggering a process of a handover procedure, a cell reselection procedure…”; [0058]; [0089]; [0092]; “…The wireless communication device 10 triggers the process…based on the output of the executed model…initiating a conditional handover or a cell or beam reselection…”; teaches the wireless communication device determines a cell from the received cell information and machine learning model information from a BS and performs cell reselection based on the received cell information and machine learning model).
Regarding claims 2 and 25, Isaksson teaches and discloses wherein the receiving cell information of a plurality of cells and a model supported by each cell from a first network device (radio network node, figures 1, 4, and 8) comprises: receiving a broadcast message from the first network device, wherein the broadcast message comprises the cell information and the AI model supported by each cell; wherein the broadcast message is System Information Block (SIB) signaling or a paging message ([0043]; “…a model that is trained also referred to as machine learning model. This model may be trained in the RAN and the indicator, such as an index, indicating the model is sent to the wireless communication device 10 when the wireless communication device 10 enters the wireless communications network 1, e.g. a cell or a beam of the wireless communications network. The indicator may e.g. be sent as system information (SI), such as in a system information block (SIB) or in a master information block (MIB) for a cell. Thus, there may be one model per cell or beam, or one model per region of cells or beams in which the model is valid…”; teaches radio network node broadcasting the configuration and model information via system information block (SIB)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-11 and 26-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaksson et al. (hereinafter Isaksson) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0413316 A1) in view of Geng et al. (hereinafter Geng) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0322176 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 26, Isaksson teaches the UE receives cell configuration information and model information from a BS and determines and cell for cell reselection, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the cell information comprises a frequency of the cell and an identifier of the cell.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Geng teaches and suggests wherein the cell information comprises a frequency of the cell and an identifier of the cell ([0080]; “…one cell may be identified by using a physical cell identifier (physical cell identifier, PCI) and a frequency, or a cell global identifier (CGI)…”; [0105]; “…The reselection priority configuration information may include, for example, one or more of frequency information, frequency priority information, and information about a PCI on a frequency…”; [0107]; [0110]; teaches the cell information includes cell identifier (PCI) and the frequency of the cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cell information includes cell identifier (PCI) and the frequency of the cell as taught by Geng with the method and device cell reselection as disclosed by Isaksson for the purpose of providing reselection cell information for improving cell reselection method, as suggested by Geng.
Regarding claims 5 and 27, Isaksson teaches the UE receives cell configuration information and model information from a BS and determines and cell for cell reselection, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the cell information comprises the frequency of the cell, and the determining a first cell from the plurality of cells according to the cell information and the AI model supported by each cell comprises: receiving a cell reselection frequency priority from the first network device; and determining the first cell from the plurality of cells according to the cell reselection frequency priority, a frequency of each of the plurality of cells, and the AI model supported by each cell.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Geng teaches and suggests wherein the cell information comprises the frequency of the cell, and the determining a first cell from the plurality of cells according to the cell information and the AI model supported by each cell comprises: receiving a cell reselection frequency priority from the first network device; and determining the first cell from the plurality of cells according to the cell reselection frequency priority, a frequency of each of the plurality of cells, and the AI model supported by each cell ([0080]; [0105]; “…The reselection priority configuration information may include, for example, one or more of frequency information, frequency priority information, and information about a PCI on a frequency…”; [0107]; [0110]; teaches the cell information includes cell identifier (PCI) and the frequency of the cell and cell reselection frequency priority information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cell information includes cell identifier (PCI) and the frequency of the cell and cell reselection frequency priority information as taught by Geng with the method and device cell reselection as disclosed by Isaksson for the purpose of providing reselection cell information for improving cell reselection method, as suggested by Geng.
Regarding claims 6 and 28, Isaksson teaches determining the frequency of the cell and cell reselection information and determining an AI model list of interest of the terminal device, wherein the AI model list comprises one or more first AI models and determining the first cell from the plurality of cells according to the model supported by each cell, and the AI model list ([0042]; [0043]; [0059]), but may not explicitly disclose determining the first cell from the plurality of cells according to the cell reselection frequency priority, and the frequency of each of the plurality of cells.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Geng further teaches and suggests determining the first cell from the plurality of cells according to the cell reselection frequency priority, and the frequency of each of the plurality of cells ([0080]; “…one cell may be identified by using a physical cell identifier (physical cell identifier, PCI) and a frequency, or a cell global identifier (CGI)…”; [0105]; “…The reselection priority configuration information may include, for example, one or more of frequency information, frequency priority information, and information about a PCI on a frequency…”; [0107]; [0110]; teaches the cell information includes the frequency of the cell and cell reselection frequency priority information for determining a first cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cell information includes cell identifier (PCI) and the frequency of the cell and cell reselection frequency priority information as taught by Geng with the method and device cell reselection as disclosed by Isaksson, as modified by Geng, for the purpose of providing reselection cell information for improving cell reselection method, as suggested by Geng.
Regarding claims 7 and 29, Isaksson teaches determining whether there is at least one second cell according to the model supported by each cell, wherein the AI model supported by the second cell comprises all of the first AI models; and in a condition that there is no second cell, determining the first cell from the plurality of cells according to the AI model supported by each cell and the AI model list ([0043]; [0054]; [0092]), but may not explicitly disclose in a condition that there is at least one second cell, determining the first cell according to the frequency of each second cell and the cell reselection frequency priority.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Geng further teaches and suggests in a condition that there is at least one second cell, determining the first cell according to the frequency of each second cell and the cell reselection frequency priority ([0080]; “…one cell may be identified by using a physical cell identifier (physical cell identifier, PCI) and a frequency, or a cell global identifier (CGI)…”; [0105]; “…The reselection priority configuration information may include, for example, one or more of frequency information, frequency priority information, and information about a PCI on a frequency…”; [0107]; [0110]; teaches when there is another cell, determining the first cell according to the frequency of the cell and cell reselection frequency priority information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cell information includes cell identifier (PCI) and the frequency of the cell and cell reselection frequency priority information as taught by Geng with the method and device cell reselection as disclosed by Isaksson, as modified by Geng, for the purpose of providing reselection cell information for improving cell reselection method, as suggested by Geng.
Regarding claims 8 and 30, Isaksson teaches the UE receives cell configuration information and model information from a BS and determines and cell for cell reselection , but may not explicitly disclose determining a first frequency of a top priority from the frequency of each second cell according to the cell reselection frequency priority; obtaining a first measurement result of the second cell whose frequency is the first frequency; and determining the first cell according to the first measurement result. Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Geng further teaches and suggests determining a first frequency of a top priority from the frequency of each second cell according to the cell reselection frequency priority; obtaining a first measurement result of the second cell whose frequency is the first frequency; and determining the first cell according to the first measurement result ([0080]; “…one cell may be identified by using a physical cell identifier (physical cell identifier, PCI) and a frequency, or a cell global identifier (CGI)…”; [0105]; “…The reselection priority configuration information may include, for example, one or more of frequency information, frequency priority information, and information about a PCI on a frequency…”; [0107]; [0110]; teaches determining the first cell according to an obtained measurement result and cell reselection frequency priority information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cell information includes cell identifier (PCI) and the frequency of the cell and cell reselection frequency priority information and obtaining measurement results and further determining the cell as taught by Geng with the method and device cell reselection as disclosed by Isaksson, as modified by Geng, for the purpose of providing reselection cell information for improving cell reselection method, as suggested by Geng.
Regarding claim 9, Isaksson teaches the UE receives cell configuration information and AI model information from a BS and determines and cell for cell reselection and determining, in a condition that there is a third cell in the plurality of cells, the first cell from the third cell, wherein the AI model supported by each third cell comprises at least one first AI model ([0043]; [0054]; [0092]), but may not explicitly disclose a condition that there is no third cell in the plurality of cells, obtaining a second measurement result of the plurality of cells, and determining the first cell according to the second measurement result.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Geng further teaches and suggests a condition that there is no third cell in the plurality of cells, obtaining a second measurement result of the plurality of cells, and determining the first cell according to the second measurement result ([0080]; “…one cell may be identified by using a physical cell identifier (physical cell identifier, PCI) and a frequency, or a cell global identifier (CGI)…”; [0105]; “…The reselection priority configuration information may include, for example, one or more of frequency information, frequency priority information, and information about a PCI on a frequency…”; [0107]; [0110]; teaches determining the first cell according to an obtained measurement result and cell reselection frequency priority information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cell information includes cell identifier (PCI) and the frequency of the cell and cell reselection frequency priority information and obtaining measurement results and further determining the cell as taught by Geng with the method and device cell reselection as disclosed by Isaksson, as modified by Geng, for the purpose of providing reselection cell information for improving cell reselection method, as suggested by Geng.
Regarding claim 10, Isaksson teaches the UE receives cell configuration information and AI model information from a BS and determines and cell for cell reselection, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the determining, in a condition that there is a third cell in the plurality of cells, the first cell from the third cell comprises: determining a fourth cell from the third cell according to a first AI model priority in the AI model list, wherein the AI model supported by the fourth cell comprises the first AI model of a top priority in the first AI model supported by each third cell, and a frequency of a top cell reselection frequency priority in the frequency of each fourth cell is a second frequency; obtaining a third measurement result of the fourth cell whose frequency is the second frequency; and determining the first cell according to the third measurement result.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Geng further teaches and suggests wherein the determining, in a condition that there is a third cell in the plurality of cells, the first cell from the third cell comprises: determining a fourth cell from the third cell according to a first AI model priority in the AI model list, wherein the AI model supported by the fourth cell comprises the first AI model of a top priority in the first AI model supported by each third cell, and a frequency of a top cell reselection frequency priority in the frequency of each fourth cell is a second frequency; obtaining a third measurement result of the fourth cell whose frequency is the second frequency; and determining the first cell according to the third measurement result ([0080]; “…one cell may be identified by using a physical cell identifier (physical cell identifier, PCI) and a frequency, or a cell global identifier (CGI)…”; [0105]; “…The reselection priority configuration information may include, for example, one or more of frequency information, frequency priority information, and information about a PCI on a frequency…”; [0107]; [0110]; teaches determining the first cell according to an obtained measurement result and cell reselection frequency priority information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cell information includes cell identifier (PCI) and the frequency of the cell and cell reselection frequency priority information and obtaining measurement results and further determining the cell as taught by Geng with the method and device cell reselection as disclosed by Isaksson, as modified by Geng, for the purpose of providing reselection cell information for improving cell reselection method, as suggested by Geng.
Regarding claims 11 and 32, Isaksson, as modified by Geng, further teaches wherein for any first model, the method further comprises: obtaining AI model information of the AI model supported by each cell; and determining whether the AI model supported by each cell comprises the first AI model according to the AI model information; wherein the model information comprises at least one of the following information: a type of the AI model; an application type of the AI model; an application scenario of the AI model; a size of the AI model; accuracy of the AI model; and an index of the AI model ([0022]; [0043]; [0054]; [0089]; teaches the UE receives cell configuration information and model information from a BS and the index of model).
Regarding claim 31, Isaksson teaches the UE receives cell configuration information and AI model information from a BS and determines and cell for cell reselection and determining, in a condition that there is a third cell in the plurality of cells, the first cell from the third cell, wherein the model supported by each third cell comprises at least one first AI model and determine a fourth cell from the third cell according to a first AI model priority in the AI model list ([0043]; [0054]; [0092]), but may not explicitly disclose in a condition that there is no third cell in the plurality of cells, obtain a second measurement result of the plurality of cells, and determine the first cell according to the second measurement result; and wherein the AI model supported by the fourth cell comprises the first AI model of a top priority in the first AI model supported by each third cell, and a frequency of a top cell reselection frequency priority in the frequency of each fourth cell is a second frequency; obtain a third measurement result of the fourth cell whose frequency is the second frequency; and determine the first cell according to the third measurement result.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Geng further teaches and suggests in a condition that there is no third cell in the plurality of cells, obtain a second measurement result of the plurality of cells, and determine the first cell according to the second measurement result ([0080]; “…one cell may be identified by using a physical cell identifier (physical cell identifier, PCI) and a frequency, or a cell global identifier (CGI)…”; [0105]; “…The reselection priority configuration information may include, for example, one or more of frequency information, frequency priority information, and information about a PCI on a frequency…”; [0107]; [0110];teaches the cell information includes cell identifier (PCI) and the frequency of the cell and cell reselection frequency priority information and obtaining measurement results and further determining the cell); and wherein the AI model supported by the fourth cell comprises the first AI model of a top priority in the first AI model supported by each third cell, and a frequency of a top cell reselection frequency priority in the frequency of each fourth cell is a second frequency; obtain a third measurement result of the fourth cell whose frequency is the second frequency; and determine the first cell according to the third measurement result ([0080]; “…one cell may be identified by using a physical cell identifier (physical cell identifier, PCI) and a frequency, or a cell global identifier (CGI)…”; [0105]; “…The reselection priority configuration information may include, for example, one or more of frequency information, frequency priority information, and information about a PCI on a frequency…”; [0107]; [0110]; [0192]; teaches determining the first cell according to an obtained measurement result and cell reselection frequency priority information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cell information includes cell identifier (PCI) and the frequency of the cell and cell reselection frequency priority information and obtaining measurement results and further determining the cell as taught by Geng with the method and device cell reselection as disclosed by Isaksson, as modified by Geng, for the purpose of providing reselection cell information for improving cell reselection method, as suggested by Geng.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 4-11, 22, and 24-32 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
November 12, 2025
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477