DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/22/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 7, 14, 17, 23, and 25-27 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 7, 14, 17, 23, and 25-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, 14, 17-18, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda et al. (WO 2016/164808), hereinafter Freda and further in view of Fakoorian et al. (US 2021/0051600), hereinafter Fakoorian.
Regarding Claim 1, Freda teaches: A communication method, comprising: sending, by a first terminal device, a solicitation message: “Discover WTRU-1 at 602 may send a message to discoveree WTRUs at 604-610. The messages 1-4 sent at 612-618 may comprise information type, discovery type, PLMN ID, connection information, ProSe mobile relay WTRU ID, status, group information, and/or the like. In FIG. 6, the type may be a solicitation” (Freda ¶ 0086), wherein the solicitation message comprises a measurement threshold: “The configured threshold may be based on a required channel quality corresponding to application layer data to be transmitted from the remote WTRU via the mobile relays” (Freda ¶ 0006); and receiving, by the first terminal device, a response message sent by at least one second terminal device: “the dicoveree at 604 and discoveree at 606 may send a message back to the discoverer at 602. The messages 5-6 sent at 620-622 may comprise information type, discovery type, PLMN ID, connection information, proSe mobile relay WTRU ID, status, group information, and/or the like. In the messages 5-6 sent at 620-622, the type may be a response. The discovery type may be a mobile relay discovery” (Freda ¶ 0086).
Freda does not teach: the response message is sent by the second terminal device after performing a signal measurement of a link between the second terminal device and the first terminal device and based on that a signal measurement result of the link between the second terminal device and the first terminal device is greater than or equal to the measurement threshold.
Regarding Claim 1, Fakoorian teaches: the response message is sent by the second terminal device after performing a signal measurement of a link between the second terminal device and the first terminal device and based on that a signal measurement result of the link between the second terminal device and the first terminal device is greater than or equal to the measurement threshold: “In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the control information includes DCI from a base station or sidelink control information (SCI) from the second UE. Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for determining that the signal to interference plus noise ratio of the received reference signal may be above a threshold or below a threshold, and reporting the reference signal received power measurement based on the determining” (Fakoorian ¶ 0012). At least one embodiment of Fakoorian includes reporting the RSRP measurement, or sending the response message, based upon the RSRP being greater than a threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda with Fakoorian to achieve the predictable result of allowing a UE to determine when to report RSRP measurements. According to Fakoorian: “the techniques described herein may allow a user equipment (UE) to efficiently identify reference signals on which to perform RSRP measurements (e.g., based on signaling from a base station), identify when to report RSRP measurements (e.g., aperiodically, periodically, or semi-persistently), and identify a channel on which to report RSRP measurements (e.g., a sidelink channel or an uplink channel)” (Fakoorian ¶ 0005).
Regarding Claim 2, Freda teaches: The method according to claim 1, before sending, by the first terminal device, the solicitation message, further comprising: receiving, by the first terminal device, a measurement configuration message from a first network device, the measurement configuration message comprising the measurement threshold: “The configuration for the remote WTRU may be derived from the same or a different measurement configuration for the mobile relay WTRU. The configuration for the mobile relay WTRU may be sent by the eNB to the mobile relay WTRU over the Uu link” (Freda ¶ 0112).
Regarding Claim 8, Freda teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the measurement result comprises reference signal receiving power (RSRP) or reference signal receiving quality (RSRQ): “The measurements reported to higher layers may contain one or more of: channel quality measurements (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP)) and/or mobile relay ID” (Freda ¶ 0095).
Regarding Claim 14, Freda teaches: A first terminal device, comprising: a processor, a memory, and an interface for communication with other devices; the memory stores a computer-executable instruction: “the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132, a power source 134, a global positioning system (GPS) chipset 136, and other peripherals 138” (Freda ¶ 0035) and the processor executes the computer-executable instruction stored in the memory to enable the processor to: send, through the interface, a solicitation message: “Discover WTRU-1 at 602 may send a message to discoveree WTRUs at 604-610. The messages 1-4 sent at 612-618 may comprise information type, discovery type, PLMN ID, connection information, ProSe mobile relay WTRU ID, status, group information, and/or the like. In FIG. 6, the type may be a solicitation” (Freda ¶ 0086), wherein the solicitation message comprises a measurement threshold: “The configured threshold may be based on a required channel quality corresponding to application layer data to be transmitted from the remote WTRU via the mobile relays” (Freda ¶ 0006); and receive, through the interface, a response message sent by at least one second terminal device: “the dicoveree at 604 and discoveree at 606 may send a message back to the discoverer at 602. The messages 5-6 sent at 620-622 may comprise information type, discovery type, PLMN ID, connection information, proSe mobile relay WTRU ID, status, group information, and/or the like. In the messages 5-6 sent at 620-622, the type may be a response. The discovery type may be a mobile relay discovery” (Freda ¶ 0086).
Freda does not teach: the response message is sent by the second terminal device after performing a signal measurement of a link between the second terminal device and the first terminal device and based on that a signal measurement result of the link between the second terminal device and the first terminal device is greater than or equal to the measurement threshold.
Regarding Claim 14, Fakoorian teaches: the response message is sent by the second terminal device after performing a signal measurement of a link between the second terminal device and the first terminal device and based on that a signal measurement result of the link between the second terminal device and the first terminal device is greater than or equal to the measurement threshold: “In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the control information includes DCI from a base station or sidelink control information (SCI) from the second UE. Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for determining that the signal to interference plus noise ratio of the received reference signal may be above a threshold or below a threshold, and reporting the reference signal received power measurement based on the determining” (Fakoorian ¶ 0012). At least one embodiment of Fakoorian includes reporting the RSRP measurement, or sending the response message, based upon the RSRP being greater than a threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda with Fakoorian to achieve the predictable result of allowing a UE to determine when to report RSRP measurements. According to Fakoorian: “the techniques described herein may allow a user equipment (UE) to efficiently identify reference signals on which to perform RSRP measurements (e.g., based on signaling from a base station), identify when to report RSRP measurements (e.g., aperiodically, periodically, or semi-persistently), and identify a channel on which to report RSRP measurements (e.g., a sidelink channel or an uplink channel)” (Fakoorian ¶ 0005).
Regarding Claim 17, Freda teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer-executable instruction: “the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132, a power source 134, a global positioning system (GPS) chipset 136, and other peripherals 138” (Freda ¶ 0035) which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to implement: sending, by a first terminal device, a solicitation message: “Discover WTRU-1 at 602 may send a message to discoveree WTRUs at 604-610. The messages 1-4 sent at 612-618 may comprise information type, discovery type, PLMN ID, connection information, ProSe mobile relay WTRU ID, status, group information, and/or the like. In FIG. 6, the type may be a solicitation” (Freda ¶ 0086), wherein the solicitation message comprises a measurement threshold: “The configured threshold may be based on a required channel quality corresponding to application layer data to be transmitted from the remote WTRU via the mobile relays” (Freda ¶ 0006); and receiving, by the first terminal device, a response message sent by at least one second terminal device: “the dicoveree at 604 and discoveree at 606 may send a message back to the discoverer at 602. The messages 5-6 sent at 620-622 may comprise information type, discovery type, PLMN ID, connection information, proSe mobile relay WTRU ID, status, group information, and/or the like. In the messages 5-6 sent at 620-622, the type may be a response. The discovery type may be a mobile relay discovery” (Freda ¶ 0086).
Regarding Claim 17, Fakoorian teaches: the response message is sent by the second terminal device after performing a signal measurement of a link between the second terminal device and the first terminal device and based on that a signal measurement result of the link between the second terminal device and the first terminal device is greater than or equal to the measurement threshold: “In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the control information includes DCI from a base station or sidelink control information (SCI) from the second UE. Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for determining that the signal to interference plus noise ratio of the received reference signal may be above a threshold or below a threshold, and reporting the reference signal received power measurement based on the determining” (Fakoorian ¶ 0012). At least one embodiment of Fakoorian includes reporting the RSRP measurement, or sending the response message, based upon the RSRP being greater than a threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda with Fakoorian to achieve the predictable result of allowing a UE to determine when to report RSRP measurements. According to Fakoorian: “the techniques described herein may allow a user equipment (UE) to efficiently identify reference signals on which to perform RSRP measurements (e.g., based on signaling from a base station), identify when to report RSRP measurements (e.g., aperiodically, periodically, or semi-persistently), and identify a channel on which to report RSRP measurements (e.g., a sidelink channel or an uplink channel)” (Fakoorian ¶ 0005).
Regarding Claim 18, Freda teaches: The device according to claim 14, the processor is further enabled to: receive, through the interface, a measurement configuration message from a first network device, the measurement configuration message comprising the measurement threshold: “Certain approaches may comprise an eNB that configures a resource pool and WTRUs that schedule resources among resource pools. A WTRU may transmit D2D discovery or communication using pre-configured pools and/or using pools signaled by the eNB” (Freda ¶ 0188).
Regarding Claim 24, Freda teaches: The device according to claim 14, wherein the measurement result comprises reference signal receiving power (RSRP) or reference signal receiving quality (RSRQ): “The measurements reported to higher layers may contain one or more of: channel quality measurements (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP)) and/or mobile relay ID” (Freda ¶ 0095).
Regarding Claim 25, Freda teaches: The storage medium according to claim 17, wherein the computer-executable instruction which, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to further implement: receiving, by the first terminal device, a measurement configuration message from a first network device, the measurement configuration message comprising the measurement threshold: “Certain approaches may comprise an eNB that configures a resource pool and WTRUs that schedule resources among resource pools. A WTRU may transmit D2D discovery or communication using pre-configured pools and/or using pools signaled by the eNB” (Freda ¶ 0188).
Claims 3-5, 19-21, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda and Fakoorian as applied to claims 1, 14, and 17 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2018/0352412), hereinafter Huang.
Regarding Claim 3, Freda and Fakoorian teach: The method according to claim 2.
Freda and Fakoorian do not teach: the measurement configuration message further comprises at least one of the following: a first triggering condition of performing relay discovery and a second triggering condition of reporting a candidate second terminal device.
Regarding Claim 3, Huang teaches: the measurement configuration message further comprises at least one of the following: a first triggering condition of performing relay discovery: “the auxiliary information may include a relay node discovery trigger threshold value and/or measurement reporting configuration information. The relay node discovery trigger threshold value may be used for triggering the first D2D UE to discover a relay node available for access of the first D2D UE. The measurement reporting configuration information may be used for triggering the first D2D UE to measure the first cell and/or a second cell, and report a measurement result about the first cell and/or the second cell to the first base station, where the second cell may be a neighbor cell of the first cell” (Huang ¶ 0067) and a second triggering condition of reporting a candidate second terminal device: “The measurement reporting configuration information may be used for triggering the first D2D UE to measure the first cell and/or a second cell, and report a measurement result about the first cell and/or the second cell to the first base station, where the second cell may be a neighbor cell of the first cell” (Huang ¶ 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda and Fakoorian with Huang to achieve the predictable result of improving D2D communication quality. According to Huang: “the present embodiment describes, from the perspective of an access node connected with the first D2D UE, how to implement switch of an access node of the first D2D UE. The solution has the advantage of simple and convenient implementation, enables the first D2D UE to flexibly switch the access node according to a specific application scenario, and improves the communication quality” (Huang ¶ 0144).
Regarding Claim 4, Frieda and Fakoorian teach: The method according to claim 3.
Fried and Fakoorian do not teach: the first triggering condition comprises that signal quality of a serving cell of the first terminal device is less than a first quality threshold; and the second triggering condition comprises that link quality between the first terminal device and the first network device is less than a second quality threshold.
Regarding Claim 4, Huang teaches: the first triggering condition comprises that signal quality of a serving cell of the first terminal device is less than a first quality threshold: “Herein, the first threshold value may be used for triggering, when a measurement value obtained by measuring the first cell by the first D2D UE is smaller than the first threshold value, the first D2D UE to start relay node discovery to search for a relay node available for access of the first D2D UE” (Huang ¶ 0070); and the second triggering condition comprises that link quality between the first terminal device and the first network device is less than a second quality threshold: “In the Second Manner, the auxiliary information may include a relay node discovery trigger threshold value and/or measurement reporting configuration information. The relay node discovery trigger threshold value may be used for triggering the first D2D UE to discover a relay node available for access of the first D2D UE. The measurement reporting configuration information may be used for triggering the first D2D UE to measure the first cell and/or a second cell, and report a measurement result about the first cell and/or the second cell to the first base station, where the second cell may be a neighbor cell of the first cell” (Huang ¶ 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda and Fakoorian with Huang to achieve the predictable result of improving D2D communication quality. According to Huang: “the present embodiment describes, from the perspective of an access node connected with the first D2D UE, how to implement switch of an access node of the first D2D UE. The solution has the advantage of simple and convenient implementation, enables the first D2D UE to flexibly switch the access node according to a specific application scenario, and improves the communication quality” (Huang ¶ 0144).
Regarding Claim 5, Freda and Fakoorian teach: The method according to claim 3.
Freda and Fakoorian do not teach: the sending, by the first terminal device, the solicitation message comprises: sending, by the first terminal device, the solicitation message after determining that the first triggering condition is satisfied.
Regarding Claim 5, Huang teaches: the sending, by the first terminal device, the solicitation message comprises: sending, by the first terminal device, the solicitation message after determining that the first triggering condition is satisfied: “Herein, the first threshold value may be used for triggering, when a measurement value obtained by measuring the first cell by the first D2D UE is smaller than the first threshold value, the first D2D UE to start relay node discovery to search for a relay node available for access of the first D2D UE” (Huang ¶ 0070)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda and Fakoorian with Huang to achieve the predictable result of improving D2D communication quality. According to Huang: “the present embodiment describes, from the perspective of an access node connected with the first D2D UE, how to implement switch of an access node of the first D2D UE. The solution has the advantage of simple and convenient implementation, enables the first D2D UE to flexibly switch the access node according to a specific application scenario, and improves the communication quality” (Huang ¶ 0144).
Regarding Claim 19, Freda teaches: The device according to claim 18.
Freda does not teach: the measurement configuration message further comprises at least one of the following: a first triggering condition of performing relay discovery and a second triggering condition of reporting a candidate second terminal device.
Regarding Claim 19, Huang teaches: the measurement configuration message further comprises at least one of the following: a first triggering condition of performing relay discovery: “the auxiliary information may include a relay node discovery trigger threshold value and/or measurement reporting configuration information. The relay node discovery trigger threshold value may be used for triggering the first D2D UE to discover a relay node available for access of the first D2D UE. The measurement reporting configuration information may be used for triggering the first D2D UE to measure the first cell and/or a second cell, and report a measurement result about the first cell and/or the second cell to the first base station, where the second cell may be a neighbor cell of the first cell” (Huang ¶ 0067) and a second triggering condition of reporting a candidate second terminal device: “The measurement reporting configuration information may be used for triggering the first D2D UE to measure the first cell and/or a second cell, and report a measurement result about the first cell and/or the second cell to the first base station, where the second cell may be a neighbor cell of the first cell” (Huang ¶ 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda with Huang to achieve the predictable result of improving D2D communication quality. According to Huang: “the present embodiment describes, from the perspective of an access node connected with the first D2D UE, how to implement switch of an access node of the first D2D UE. The solution has the advantage of simple and convenient implementation, enables the first D2D UE to flexibly switch the access node according to a specific application scenario, and improves the communication quality” (Huang ¶ 0144).
Regarding Claim 20, Freda and Huang teach: The device according to claim 19, wherein, the first triggering condition comprises that signal quality of a serving cell of the first terminal device is less than a first quality threshold: “Herein, the first threshold value may be used for triggering, when a measurement value obtained by measuring the first cell by the first D2D UE is smaller than the first threshold value, the first D2D UE to start relay node discovery to search for a relay node available for access of the first D2D UE” (Huang ¶ 0070); and the second triggering condition comprises that link quality between the first terminal device and the first network device is less than a second quality threshold: “In the Second Manner, the auxiliary information may include a relay node discovery trigger threshold value and/or measurement reporting configuration information. The relay node discovery trigger threshold value may be used for triggering the first D2D UE to discover a relay node available for access of the first D2D UE. The measurement reporting configuration information may be used for triggering the first D2D UE to measure the first cell and/or a second cell, and report a measurement result about the first cell and/or the second cell to the first base station, where the second cell may be a neighbor cell of the first cell” (Huang ¶ 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda with Huang to achieve the predictable result of improving D2D communication quality. According to Huang: “the present embodiment describes, from the perspective of an access node connected with the first D2D UE, how to implement switch of an access node of the first D2D UE. The solution has the advantage of simple and convenient implementation, enables the first D2D UE to flexibly switch the access node according to a specific application scenario, and improves the communication quality” (Huang ¶ 0144).
Regarding Claim 21, Freda and Huang teach: The device according to claim 19, the processor is further enabled to: send, through the interface, the solicitation message after determining that the first triggering condition is satisfied: “Herein, the first threshold value may be used for triggering, when a measurement value obtained by measuring the first cell by the first D2D UE is smaller than the first threshold value, the first D2D UE to start relay node discovery to search for a relay node available for access of the first D2D UE” (Huang ¶ 0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda with Huang to achieve the predictable result of improving D2D communication quality. According to Huang: “the present embodiment describes, from the perspective of an access node connected with the first D2D UE, how to implement switch of an access node of the first D2D UE. The solution has the advantage of simple and convenient implementation, enables the first D2D UE to flexibly switch the access node according to a specific application scenario, and improves the communication quality” (Huang ¶ 0144).
Regarding Claim 26, Freda teaches: The storage medium according to claim 25.
Freda does not teach: the measurement configuration message further comprises at least one of the following: a first triggering condition of performing relay discovery and a second triggering condition of reporting a candidate second terminal device.
Regarding Claim 26, Huang teaches: the measurement configuration message further comprises at least one of the following: a first triggering condition of performing relay discovery: “the auxiliary information may include a relay node discovery trigger threshold value and/or measurement reporting configuration information. The relay node discovery trigger threshold value may be used for triggering the first D2D UE to discover a relay node available for access of the first D2D UE. The measurement reporting configuration information may be used for triggering the first D2D UE to measure the first cell and/or a second cell, and report a measurement result about the first cell and/or the second cell to the first base station, where the second cell may be a neighbor cell of the first cell” (Huang ¶ 0067) and a second triggering condition of reporting a candidate second terminal device: “The measurement reporting configuration information may be used for triggering the first D2D UE to measure the first cell and/or a second cell, and report a measurement result about the first cell and/or the second cell to the first base station, where the second cell may be a neighbor cell of the first cell” (Huang ¶ 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda with Huang to achieve the predictable result of improving D2D communication quality. According to Huang: “the present embodiment describes, from the perspective of an access node connected with the first D2D UE, how to implement switch of an access node of the first D2D UE. The solution has the advantage of simple and convenient implementation, enables the first D2D UE to flexibly switch the access node according to a specific application scenario, and improves the communication quality” (Huang ¶ 0144).
Regarding Claim 27, Freda and Huang teach: The storage medium according to claim 26, wherein, the first triggering condition comprises that signal quality of a serving cell of the first terminal device is less than a first quality threshold: “Herein, the first threshold value may be used for triggering, when a measurement value obtained by measuring the first cell by the first D2D UE is smaller than the first threshold value, the first D2D UE to start relay node discovery to search for a relay node available for access of the first D2D UE” (Huang ¶ 0070); and the second triggering condition comprises that link quality between the first terminal device and the first network device is less than a second quality threshold: “In the Second Manner, the auxiliary information may include a relay node discovery trigger threshold value and/or measurement reporting configuration information. The relay node discovery trigger threshold value may be used for triggering the first D2D UE to discover a relay node available for access of the first D2D UE. The measurement reporting configuration information may be used for triggering the first D2D UE to measure the first cell and/or a second cell, and report a measurement result about the first cell and/or the second cell to the first base station, where the second cell may be a neighbor cell of the first cell” (Huang ¶ 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda with Huang to achieve the predictable result of improving D2D communication quality. According to Huang: “the present embodiment describes, from the perspective of an access node connected with the first D2D UE, how to implement switch of an access node of the first D2D UE. The solution has the advantage of simple and convenient implementation, enables the first D2D UE to flexibly switch the access node according to a specific application scenario, and improves the communication quality” (Huang ¶ 0144).
Claims 6 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda and Fakoorian as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0377822), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding Claim 6, Freda teaches: The method according to claim 1, after receiving, by the first terminal device, the response message sent by at least one second terminal device, further comprising: sending, by the first terminal device, a measurement report message to the first network device: “The remote WTRU may receive a configuration indicating that the remote WTRU may send measurements to the eNB via the mobile relay WTRU and may use an indication in a measurement report that indicates to the mobile relay WTRU that the measurements are meant for the eNB” (Freda ¶ 0114).
Freda and Fakoorian do not teach: the measurement report message comprising identification information of at least one third terminal device and identification information of a second network device that each third terminal device belongs to, and the third terminal device being a terminal device serving as a candidate relay in the at least one second terminal device.
Regarding Claim 6, Wang teaches: the measurement report message comprising identification information of at least one third terminal device and identification information of a second network device that each third terminal device belongs to, and the third terminal device being a terminal device serving as a candidate relay in the at least one second terminal device: “In one embodiment, remote UE 1001 and relay UE 1002 can put corresponding serving cell ID into the PC5-S signaling exchanged for the purpose of relay discovery. In one embodiment, relay UE 1002 reports the associated remote UE (including both remote UE L2 ID and serving cell ID of remote UE) to its serving gNB 1004 to allow the base station to prepare remote UE access, and/or coordinate with source gNB of remote UE. At step 1024, remote UE 1001 sends Uu RRC message, e.g. Measurement Report, to source gNB 1003” (Wang ¶ 0060-0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda with Wang to achieve the predictable result of improving handover service continuity. According to Wang: “The Layer-2 (L2) based relay using sidelink can improve the efficiency and flexibility. With the adaption of the sidelink relay, the path switch between direct cellular link and the sidelink relay link, and vice versa are new use cases not addressed by the current network design. The issues of maintain the service continuity during the path switch needs to be addressed” (Wang ¶ 0003).
Regarding Claim 22, Freda teaches: The device according to claim 14, the processor is further enabled to: send, through the interface, a measurement report message to the first network device: “The remote WTRU may receive a configuration indicating that the remote WTRU may send measurements to the eNB via the mobile relay WTRU and may use an indication in a measurement report that indicates to the mobile relay WTRU that the measurements are meant for the eNB” (Freda ¶ 0114).
Freda and Fakoorian do not teach: the measurement report message comprising identification information of at least one third terminal device and identification information of a second network device that each third terminal device belongs to, and the third terminal device being a terminal device serving as a candidate relay in the at least one second terminal device.
Regarding Claim 6, Wang teaches: the measurement report message comprising identification information of at least one third terminal device and identification information of a second network device that each third terminal device belongs to, and the third terminal device being a terminal device serving as a candidate relay in the at least one second terminal device: “In one embodiment, remote UE 1001 and relay UE 1002 can put corresponding serving cell ID into the PC5-S signaling exchanged for the purpose of relay discovery. In one embodiment, relay UE 1002 reports the associated remote UE (including both remote UE L2 ID and serving cell ID of remote UE) to its serving gNB 1004 to allow the base station to prepare remote UE access, and/or coordinate with source gNB of remote UE. At step 1024, remote UE 1001 sends Uu RRC message, e.g. Measurement Report, to source gNB 1003” (Wang ¶ 0060-0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda with Wang to achieve the predictable result of improving handover service continuity. According to Wang: “The Layer-2 (L2) based relay using sidelink can improve the efficiency and flexibility. With the adaption of the sidelink relay, the path switch between direct cellular link and the sidelink relay link, and vice versa are new use cases not addressed by the current network design. The issues of maintain the service continuity during the path switch needs to be addressed” (Wang ¶ 0003).
Claims 7 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda, Fakoorian, and Wang as applied to claims 6 and 22 above, and further in view of Singh et al. (US 2017/0295531), hereinafter Singh and Lin et al. (US 2020/0404571), hereinafter Lin.
Regarding Claim 7, Freda, Fakoorian, and Wang teach: The method according to claim 6.
Freda, Fakoorian, and Wang do not teach: the measurement report message further comprises a signal measurement result corresponding to each third terminal device, and before sending, by the first terminal device, the measurement report message to the first network device, the method further comprises: measuring, by the first terminal device, the signal measurement of the link between the at least one second terminal device based on the response message sent by the at least one second terminal device, to determine a signal measurement result corresponding to each second terminal device; and sequencing, by the first terminal device, the measurement result, wherein the measurement result is greater than or equal to the measurement threshold; and selecting, by the first terminal device and from the at least one second terminal device, the at least one third terminal device according to a sequenced signal measurement result.
Regarding Claim 7, Singh teaches: the measurement report message further comprises a signal measurement result corresponding to each third terminal device: “The Relay UE may send a measurement report which includes the collected information of all other D2D UEs that are within the transmission information of the Relay UE and are within the same D2D group of the Relay UE to the base station” (Singh ¶ 0079), and before sending, by the first terminal device, the measurement report message to the first network device, the method further comprises: measuring, by the first terminal device, the signal measurement of the link between the at least one second terminal device based on the response message sent by the at least one second terminal device, to determine a signal measurement result corresponding to each second terminal device: “receiving a configuration as a relay UE to perform: receiving a service request message which comprises an application ID and a traffic type ID; transmitting a service announcement message which comprises a device ID of the relay UE and the traffic type ID; receiving a first remote UE measurement report performed based on the service announcement message, wherein the first remote UE measurement report includes a device ID and a hop count” (Singh ¶ 0012).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda, Fakoorian, and Wang with Singh to achieve the predictable result of enabling resources to be allocated due to deice mobility. According to Singh: “a smart D2D mobility management would need to consider not only the problems posed by the mobility itself but also the resource allocations due to device mobility” (Singh ¶ 0002).
Singh does not teach: sequencing, by the first terminal device, the measurement result, wherein the measurement result is greater than or equal to the measurement threshold; and selecting, by the first terminal device and from the at least one second terminal device, the at least one third terminal device according to a sequenced signal measurement result.
Regarding Claim 7, Lin teaches: sequencing, by the first terminal device, the measurement result, wherein the measurement result is greater than or equal to the measurement threshold: “Regarding the first condition above, one or more thresholds are preset, and when RSSI measured by the specific device with a relay node is not less than the one or more thresholds, it indicates that RSSI is not worse than the one or more preset thresholds, then the relay node satisfies the first condition above. Regarding the second condition above, RSSI measured by the specific device with each relay node is determined, and relay nodes are sorted according to corresponding RSSI sizes from high to low, then top M relay nodes satisfy the second condition above” (Lin ¶ 0070-0071); and selecting, by the first terminal device and from the at least one second terminal device, the at least one third terminal device according to a sequenced signal measurement result: “Optionally, the first device selects a target relay node from the at least one relay node according to the relay condition information transmitted by each relay node, and/or channel measurement information detected by a remote terminal for each relay node.” (Lin ¶ 0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda, Fakoorian, Wang, and Singh with Lin to achieve the predictable result of enabling a sufficient relay node to be selected. According to Lin: “When using communication modes such as UE-to-Network Relay or UE-to-UE Relay, a UE needs to perform D2D discovery or data transmission with a network or other UEs via a relay node. In order to ensure reliability of data transmission, a suitable relay node needs to be selected for the UE” (Lin ¶ 0013).
Regarding Claim 23, Freda, Fakoorian, and Wang teach: The device according to claim 22.
Freda, Fakoorian, and Wang do not teach: the measurement report message further comprises a signal measurement result corresponding to each third terminal device, and the processor is further configured to: measure, by the first terminal device, the signal measurement of the link between the at least one second terminal device based on the response message sent by the at least one second terminal device, to determine a signal measurement result corresponding to each second terminal device; and sequence, by the first terminal device, the measurement result, wherein the measurement result is greater than or equal to the measurement threshold; and select, by the first terminal device and from the at least one second terminal device, the at least one third terminal device according to a sequenced signal measurement result.
Regarding Claim 7, Singh teaches: the measurement report message further comprises a signal measurement result corresponding to each third terminal device: “The Relay UE may send a measurement report which includes the collected information of all other D2D UEs that are within the transmission information of the Relay UE and are within the same D2D group of the Relay UE to the base station” (Singh ¶ 0079), and the processor is further configured to: measure, by the first terminal device, the signal measurement of the link between the at least one second terminal device based on the response message sent by the at least one second terminal device, to determine a signal measurement result corresponding to each second terminal device: “receiving a configuration as a relay UE to perform: receiving a service request message which comprises an application ID and a traffic type ID; transmitting a service announcement message which comprises a device ID of the relay UE and the traffic type ID; receiving a first remote UE measurement report performed based on the service announcement message, wherein the first remote UE measurement report includes a device ID and a hop count” (Singh ¶ 0012).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda, Fakoorian, and Wang with Singh to achieve the predictable result of enabling resources to be allocated due to deice mobility. According to Singh: “a smart D2D mobility management would need to consider not only the problems posed by the mobility itself but also the resource allocations due to device mobility” (Singh ¶ 0002).
Singh does not teach: sequence, by the first terminal device, the measurement result, wherein the measurement result is greater than or equal to the measurement threshold; and select, by the first terminal device and from the at least one second terminal device, the at least one third terminal device according to a sequenced signal measurement result.
Regarding Claim 7, Lin teaches: sequence, by the first terminal device, the measurement result, wherein the measurement result is greater than or equal to the measurement threshold: “Regarding the first condition above, one or more thresholds are preset, and when RSSI measured by the specific device with a relay node is not less than the one or more thresholds, it indicates that RSSI is not worse than the one or more preset thresholds, then the relay node satisfies the first condition above. Regarding the second condition above, RSSI measured by the specific device with each relay node is determined, and relay nodes are sorted according to corresponding RSSI sizes from high to low, then top M relay nodes satisfy the second condition above” (Lin ¶ 0070-0071); and select, by the first terminal device and from the at least one second terminal device, the at least one third terminal device according to a sequenced signal measurement result: “Optionally, the first device selects a target relay node from the at least one relay node according to the relay condition information transmitted by each relay node, and/or channel measurement information detected by a remote terminal for each relay node.” (Lin ¶ 0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Freda, Fakoorian, Wang, and Singh with Lin to achieve the predictable result of enabling a sufficient relay node to be selected. According to Lin: “When using communication modes such as UE-to-Network Relay or UE-to-UE Relay, a UE needs to perform D2D discovery or data transmission with a network or other UEs via a relay node. In order to ensure reliability of data transmission, a suitable relay node needs to be selected for the UE” (Lin ¶ 0013).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/BRADLEY D LYTLE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2473