DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/05/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/09/2023 and 10/25/2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “wherein introducing the gel into the cavity includes arranging the gel to at least partly cover the substrate”. It is unclear as to what “at least partly” entails and there is no further clarification as to what “at least partly” means within the specification. Does it cover 25% of the substrate? 50% or more? Therefore this is seen as indefinite as there is no clarification as to what “at least partly” entails.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (US Pat. 5645062) herein referred to as “Anderson”.
Regarding claim 1, Anderson discloses an adhesive pad for retaining an electrode against a patient's skin (the foetal electrode sensor 12 is coated with a film-forming layer 17 (seen as the adhesive pad), Col. 5, lines 22-28, Figures 13A and 13B), the pad including: an adhesive gel layer for adhering to the skin (an advantage of the layer 17 is its ability to maintain sufficient strength of adhesion to secure the electrode device 10 to a surface such as the foetal scalp, Col 5. Lines 22-28), the gel layer configured to be water-soluble (the layer 17 is activate by moisture when the electrode 10 is offered to a moist surface, Col. 5, lines 26-27, and Col. 3, lines 14-33) and define a non-tacky external shell (the film-forming layer 17 may be prepared using a bioadhesive gel or viscous solution and drying to a lower water content, drying being completed when all tack is lost from the resulting dried film, Cool. 5, lines 35-44); and a non-adhesive layer carrying the gel layer (insulating substrate 11 carries the gel layer 17, Figures 11-13).
Regarding claim 2, Anderson discloses the adhesive pad of claim 1, wherein the gel layer comprises dehydrated water-soluble adhesive gel (the film-forming layer 17 may be prepared using a bioadhesive gel or viscous solution and drying to a lower water content, drying being completed when all tack is lost from the resulting dried film, Col. 5, lines 35-44 and Col. 3, lines 14-33).
Regarding claim 3, Anderson discloses the adhesive pad of claim 2, wherein the gel layer is further configured such that, responsive to submerging the gel layer in water for a defined period, at least a portion of the gel layer is rehydrated to be malleable and tacky (the layer 17 is activated by moisture when the electrode is offered to a moist surface, Col. 5, lines 26-27, and Col. 5, lines 35-44).
Regarding claim 6, Anderson discloses the adhesive pad of claim 1, wherein the non-adhesive gel layer is configured as a flexible substrate (the electrode device 10 should be relatively thin, lightweight, and flexible in order to minimize the strength of adhesion required, those skilled in the art will recognize a number of widely available materials that meet the requirements for the substrate 11, Col. 4 lines 48-55).
Regarding claim 7, Anderson discloses a method for producing an adhesive pad for adhering to a patient's skin, the method including: forming viscous water-soluble adhesive gel to define a gel layer having a specific shape (the film-forming layer 17 may be prepared using a bioadhesive gel or viscous solution by conventional means known in the art, Col. 5 lines 35-44); joining a non-adhesive substrate to the gel layer (the layer may be formed by casting the polymer solution directly onto the electrode device 10 comprising substrate 11, Col. 6, lines 59-67); and ,dehydrating the gel layer to define a non-tacky external shell, such that the gel layer and non-adhesive substrate form the adhesive pad (the layer may be formed by casting the polymer solution directly onto a head 20 of the electrode device 10 and drying to remove the water, thus forming, a pliable, non-tacky, non-adhesive, film, Col 6, lines 59-67).
Regarding claim 8, Anderson discloses the method of claim 7, wherein forming the gel includes introducing the gel into a cavity defined by a mould, the cavity defining the specific shape (layer 17 may be directly deposited, using a suitable template, onto head 20 (seen as introducing the gel into a cavity defined by a mould), Col. 6 lines 59-67, and Col 7, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Anderson discloses the method of claim 8, wherein joining the substrate to the gel layer includes placing the substrate within the cavity before introducing the gel into the cavity (substrate 11 defines a portion of the cavity and is therefore present within the cavity before the gel 17 is introduced, Col. 6 lines 59-67 and Col. 7, lines 1-2), and wherein introducing the gel into the cavity includes arranging the gel to at least partly cover the substrate (gel layer 17 at least partly covers the substrate 11, Figures 11-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson in view of Way et al. (US Pat. 4955381) herein referred to as “Way”.
Regarding claim 4, discloses the adhesive pad of anyone of the preceding claimsclaim1, wherein the gel layer defines an electrode portion dimensioned to cover and extend beyond the electrode to allow adhering the electrode portion to the electrode and the skin (gel layer 17 defines an electrode portions and covers and extends beyond the electrode sensor 12, allowing the adhering of the electrode portion to the electrode and the skin, Figures 11-13).
However Anderson does not explicitly disclose a tail portion extending from the electrode-portion, the tail portion dimensioned to cover and extend beyond a portion of a wire attached to the electrode to allow adhering the tail portion to the wire and the skin.
Way discloses an electrode have multiple conductive pads (Abstract) wherein the adhesive pad includes a tail portion extending from the electrode-portion, the tail portion dimensioned to cover and extend beyond a portion of a wire attached to the electrode to allow adhering the tail portion to the wire and the skin (plastic foam cover 6, the foam backing is advantageously covered with a medical grade adhesive which will enable the foam backing to adhere directly to the metal foils 7, 8, and to the human body, Col. 4, lines 58-68, Figure 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Anderson to incorporate the teachings of Way by including wherein the adhesive pad includes a tail portion extending from the electrode-portion, the tail portion dimensioned to cover and extend beyond a portion of a wire attached to the electrode to allow adhering the tail portion to the wire and the skin. The motivation to do so being to adhere the foam backing to the metal foils as well as to the patients skin (Way, Col. 4, lines 58-68).
Regarding claim 5, Anderson in view of Way discloses the adhesive pad of claim 4.
However Anderson does not explicitly disclose wherein the gel layer defines a peripheral profile surrounding the electrode portion and the tail portion, the peripheral profile having a teardrop shape.
Way discloses wherein the adhesive layer defines a peripheral profile surrounding the electrode portion and the tail portion, the peripheral profile having a teardrop shape (adhesive foam backing layer 6 defines a teardrop shape, Figure 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Anderson to incorporate the teachings of Way by including wherein the gel layer defines a peripheral profile surrounding the electrode portion and the tail portion, the peripheral profile having a teardrop shape. The motivation to do so being to adhere the foam backing to the metal foils as well as to the patients skin (Way, Col. 4, lines 58-68).
Further it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the gel layer of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson.
Regarding claim 10, Anderson discloses the method of claim 8.
Anderson discloses wherein dehydrating the gel layer includes a first dehydration stage where the gel layer is dehydrated whilst arranged in the cavity (the layer 17 may be prepared using a bioadhesive gel or viscous solution by conventional means known in the art and drying to a low water content, Col. 5, lines 35-39, and Col. 7, lines 1-9).
However Anderson does not explicitly disclose an intermediary stage where the gel layer and the substrate are removed from the cavity, and a second dehydration stage where the gel layer is dehydrated when removed from the cavity.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include an intermediary stage where the gel layer and the substrate are removed from the cavity, and a second dehydration stage where the gel layer is dehydrated when removed from the cavity because applicant has not disclosed that an intermediary stage where the gel layer and the substrate are removed from the cavity, and a second dehydration stage where the gel layer is dehydrated when removed from the cavity provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the gel adhesive layer as disclosed by Anderson and applicant’s invention to perform equally well with either a single dehydration step taught by Anderson or the claimed intermediary stage where the gel layer and the substrate are removed from the cavity, and a second dehydration stage where the gel layer is dehydrated when removed from the cavity because both dehydration steps would perform the same function of dehydrating the gel adhesive layer. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Anderson to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Anderson.
Regarding claim 11, Anderson discloses the method of claim 10.
However Anderson does not explicitly disclose wherein a duration of the first dehydration stage is substantially greater than a duration of the second dehydration stage.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include wherein a duration of the first dehydration stage is substantially greater than a duration of the second dehydration stage because applicant has not disclosed that wherein a duration of the first dehydration stage is substantially greater than a duration of the second dehydration stage provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the gel adhesive layer as disclosed by Anderson and applicant’s invention to perform equally well with either a single dehydration step taught by Anderson or the claimed wherein a duration of the first dehydration stage is substantially greater than a duration of the second dehydration stage because both dehydration steps would perform the same function of dehydrating the gel adhesive layer. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Anderson to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Anderson.
Conclusion
/D.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794