DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claim 10 is cancelled.
Claims 1-9 are rejected.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 11-19 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Group I, claims 1-9, drawn to a stacked cell manufacturing device, inter alia, a table for stacking.
Group II, claims 11-19, drawn to a stacked cell manufacturing device.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Group I and Group II lack unity of invention because the groups do not share the same or corresponding technical feature.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 11-19 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinozawa et al. (JP 2012243577 A, “Shinozawa”) in view of Tsukasa et al. (US 20140059855 A1, “Tsukasa”). The machine translation is used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 1, Shinozawa discloses a stacked cell manufacturing device arranged to manufacture a stacked cell (see [0032] “manufacturing device 1”; see [0006] “stacked”) in which negative electrode plates and positive electrode plates are alternately disposed and stacked in valley fold parts of a bellows-shaped folded separator (see [0006] “positive electrode plate and negative electrode plate are stacked”; see FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B describes “positive electrode plate D1” & [0042]; see FIG. 7A and FIG. 7B describe “negative electrode plate D2” & see [0050] & FIG. 7B describes “separator sheet S” and bellows shape; see [0010] “folding device that folds the separator sheet”), the manufacturing device comprising: a separator feed unit arranged to feed the separator from a separator roll on which the separator in a tape shape is wound in a cylindrical shape (see [0037] “feeding length of the separation sheet S” & “sheet roll R” & see FIG. 3a & FIG. 3 & see [0016] “separator sheet S” & “separator roll R” describes the separator feed unit is arranged to feed the separator S from a separator roll R; FIG. 3 describes S, separator is tape shape & FIG. 3 describes roll R is cylindrical shape); a folding unit arranged to fold the separator fed from the separator feed unit in a bellows shape (see [0039] “folding device 4”; see FIG. 4a & [0024] describes “abutting bar 4a” & see [0037] describes “FIG. 3a, the separation sheet S is wound around the contact bar 4a of the second back-surface side” which describes a bellows shape; “sheet roll R” describes the separator feed unit); an electrode feed unit arranged to feed the negative electrode plates and the positive electrode plates alternately to the separator folded in the bellows shape by the folding unit (see FIG. 5A & FIG. 5B describe “positive electrode plate D1” & see [0042]; see FIG. 7A and FIG. 7B describe “negative electrode plate D2” & [0050] & FIG. 7B describes “separator sheet S” and bellows shape; see [0010] “folding device that folds the separator sheet”); a conveyance adjustment unit provided to the separator feed unit so as to adjust at least a conveyance length of the separator (see FIG. 1 describes “3 vertical conveyance device” & see FIG. 1 “9 control device”; see [0038] describes in FIG. 3b “setting guide moving device 46 to move the contact bar 4a of the first front-side setting guide 42 from the front side of the separation sheet S above the second back-side setting guide 45”); a control unit (see [0038] describes “control device 9” causes the drawer 31 to draw out a necessary amount of the separator sheet S in synchronization with the operations of the drawer moving device 41 and the set guide moving device 46”); a plurality of first claw parts arranged to hold one end parts of the negative electrode plates and a plurality of second claw parts arranged to hold one end parts of the positive electrode plates (see [0008] “clamper to grip a multilayered electrode”); and a separator roller pair arranged to feed the separator to the stacking (see FIG. 2 describes “31b” & “31a” which reads on separator roller pair and feeds “S” to the stacking), wherein the separator feed unit includes: a conveying roller arranged to guide the separator (see FIG. 2 describes “32 guide roller” guides the separator sheet S), and a tension measuring unit arranged to measure tension of the separator conveyed inside and to send the measurement result to the control unit (see [0031] describes “tension sensor 7” measures a tension acting on the separator sheet S and outputs a value thereof” & “so as to be able to measure the tension of a desired region” which reads on tension measuring unit and sending the result; see [0060] describes “generating a suitable tension” & see [0041] describes “control device 9” & “when the measurement result of the tensile force sensor 7 indicates that the tensile force acting on the bipolar sheet S in the electrode-plate installation region is weak” & “the control device 9 controls the pull-out portion moving device 41 to move the pull-out portion 31 towards the front side”), wherein the conveyance adjustment unit includes: a traction roller disposed in a conveyance path for the separator so as to be capable of adjusting tensions of the separator on upstream side and downstream side by its rotation speed (see FIG. 1 describes “3 vertical conveyance device”; see [0016] & FIG. 2 describe “unwinding device 2 supports a separator sheet roll R formed by winding the separator sheet S before the electrode plate D is installed, and is configured to be capable of adjusting the speed of the separator sheet S and the tension acting on the separator sheet S by adjusting the rotation speed of the separator sheet roll R”); and a movable roller disposed between the conveying roller and the traction roller (see FIG. 2 describes “31b drive roll” & when “drive unit 31c” is near the back of the rail “31b” is between “2 unwinding device” and “32 guide roller”), with the separator contacting an outer circumference surface thereof, so as to be capable of changing a conveyance length of the separator by separating from the conveying roller (see [0019] describes “guide roller 32 guides the separator sheet S pulled out in the horizontal direction from the unwinding device 2 downward” & “is disposed between the unwinding device 2 and the pull-out unit 31”), wherein the separator fed from the separator feed unit is folded by the conveying roller, turns around the moveable roller (see FIG. 2 “2 unwinding device” describes traction roller, “32 guide roller” describes conveying roller & “31b drive roll” describes moveable roller), and is sent to the traction roller (see FIG. 2), wherein the control unit performs tension control to change control condition to determine operations of the conveyance adjustment unit so that tension of the separator is within a certain range in the stacking process to stack the negative electrode plates and the positive electrode plates alternately with the bellows-shaped separator therebetween (see [0041] & [0031] describes “tension sensor 7 measures a tension acting on the separator sheet S and outputs a value thereof”; see [0007] describes “relax the tension to such an extent that the separator sheet in a range not abutting on the suction mechanism can follow the grip release operation of the clamper”), wherein the separator is sent along a first direction from the conveying roller to the moveable roller and is sent along a second direction opposite to the first direction from the movable roller to the traction roller (see FIG. 3a & FIG. 3b describes the separator “S” moving along opposite directions).
Regarding the limitations a table for stacking on which the stacked cell is placed, and both with respect to the table for stacking, Shinozawa does not explicitly disclose a table for stacking.
Tsukasa teaches a stacking table (see FIG. 4 describes “stacking stage 55” & see [0026] describes “55” moves in the Z direction). Tsukasa teaches in [0042] “accordingly, the position of the stacking region 56 where the separator 13 is folded by the first wall surface 51 and the second wall surface 52 is controlled so as to always be fixed at the upper surface of the support table 79”.
Shinozawa and Tsukasa are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely manufacturing of stacked electrodes (see Tsukasa title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate stacking stage, as suggested by Tsukasa into the stacked cell manufacturing device of Shinozawa because doing so allows for the separator to be fixed at the upper surface of the support table, as suggested by Tsukasa (See FIG. 4 & [0043]).
Regarding the limitation wherein in a plain view, the table for stacking is moveable alternately between a first position where the negative electrode plates on one side of the separator roller pair are placed and a second position where the positive electrode plates on another side of the separator roller pair are placed, wherein the table for stacking moves from the first position to the second position, Shinozawa discloses in [0027] “electrode plate installation device 5 installs an electrode plate D in the electrode plate installation area of the separator sheet S that is turned upward by the folding device 4, and is equipped with a positive electrode plate placement device 51, a negative electrode plate placement device 52, and an adhesive application device 53”, but does not explicitly disclose a table for stacking.
Tsukasa teaches a stacking table (see FIG. 4 describes “stacking stage 55” & see [0026] describes “55” moves in the Z direction; see FIG. 3 describes “11” & “12” & “55”). Tsukasa teaches in [0042] “accordingly, the position of the stacking region 56 where the separator 13 is folded by the first wall surface 51 and the second wall surface 52 is controlled so as to always be fixed at the upper surface of the support table 79”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate stacking stage, as suggested by Tsukasa into the stacked cell manufacturing device of Shinozawa because doing so allows for the separator to be fixed at the upper surface of the support table, as suggested by Tsukasa (See FIG. 4 & [0043]).
Regarding the limitation the separator roller pair is moved upward, Shinozawa discloses in FIG. 2 describes “31b” & “31a which reads on separator roller pair and feeds “S” to the stacking. Shinozawa discloses and the movable roller is moved to separate from the traction roller (see FIG. 2 describes “31b drive roll” & when “drive unit 31c” is near the back of the rail “31b” is between “2 unwinding device” and “32 guide roller”; see [0019] describes “guide roller 32 guides the separator sheet S pulled out in the horizontal direction from the unwinding device 2 downward” & “is disposed between the unwinding device 2 and the pull-out unit 31”), and, with the negative electrode plates held by the first claw parts (see [0008] “clamper to grip a multilayered electrode”), and then the first claw parts are removed (see [0008]), & with the positive electrode plates held by the second claw parts (see [0008]), and then the second claw parts are removed (see [0008]).
Regarding the limitation the table for stacking is moved so that, when the table for stacking reaches the second position, the separator roller pair is moved downward such that the separator is horizontal and the moveable roller is moved to approach the traction roller, and wherein when the table for stacking is moved from the second position to the first position, the separator roller pair is moved upward and the moveable roller is moved to separate from the traction roller, & the table for stacking is moved so that, when the table for stacking reaches the first position, the separator roller pair is moved downward such that the separator is horizontal and the moveable roller is moved to approach the traction roller, Shinozawa discloses in FIG. 3a & FIG. 3b “32” & “S” & [0027], but does not explicitly disclose a table for stacking.
Tsukasa teaches a stacking table (see FIG. 4 describes “stacking stage 55” & see [0026] describes “55” moves in the Z direction; see FIG. 3 describes “11” & “12” & “55”). Tsukasa teaches in [0042] “accordingly, the position of the stacking region 56 where the separator 13 is folded by the first wall surface 51 and the second wall surface 52 is controlled so as to always be fixed at the upper surface of the support table 79”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate stacking stage, as suggested by Tsukasa into the stacked cell manufacturing device of Shinozawa because doing so allows for the separator to be fixed at the upper surface of the support table, as suggested by Tsukasa (See FIG. 4 & [0043]).
Regarding claim 2, Shinozawa discloses the stacked cell manufacturing device of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the control unit performs the tension control based on a beforehand given control condition (see [0031] & [0041] describes “control device 9” & “tension sensor 7” & [0041] describes “when the measurement result of the tensile force sensor 7 indicates that the tensile force acting on the bipolar sheet S in the electrode-plate installation region is weak” which reads on beforehand given control condition & “the control device 9 controls the pull-out portion moving device 41 to move the pull-out portion 31 towards the front side”; see [0016] describes “unwinding device 2” & “is configured to be capable of adjusting the speed of the separator sheet S and the tension acting on the separator sheet S by adjusting the rotation speed of the separator sheet roll R”; see [0060] describes “generating a suitable tension necessary for realizing a horizontal surface of a desired certain section length on the continuous separator” which reads on control unit performs the tension control).
Regarding claim 3, Shinozawa discloses the stacked cell manufacturing device of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the control condition includes a position of the moveable roller (see [0018] describes “a driving unit 31c for rotationally driving the driving rolls 31a, 31b” which reads on position of the movable roller).
Regarding claim 4, Shinozawa discloses the stacked cell manufacturing device of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the control condition includes the rotation speed of the traction roller (see “2 unwinding device” describes traction roller; see [0016] describes “adjusting the rotation speed of the separator sheet roll R”).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinozawa et al. (JP 2012243577 A, “Shinozawa”) in view of Tsukasa et al. (US 20140059855 A1, “Tsukasa”) as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Higuchi et al. (JP 2018067492 A, “Higuchi”) and evidenced by SK innovation (https://skinnonews.com/global/archives/6216). The machine translations are used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 5, Shinozawa discloses the stacked cell manufacturing device of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the separator feed unit is capable of increasing a feed speed of the separator (see FIG. 3 “sheet roll R” describes the separator feed unit; see [0016] & FIG. 2 describe “unwinding device 2” & “is configured to be capable of adjusting the speed of the separator sheet S and the tension acting on the separator sheet S by adjusting the rotation speed of the separator sheet roll R”). Shinozawa discloses in [0007] “a tension necessary for realizing this operation is always applied to the separator sheet” & “the tension is temporarily reduced on the separator sheet supply mechanism side at this time” & “it is necessary to relax the tension to such an extent that the separator sheet in a range not abutting on the suction mechanism can follow the grip release operation of the clamper” & “a separator sheet used in a secondary battery is not necessarily guaranteed to have sufficient strength against physical contact or tension in many cases, and it is difficult to guarantee that a scratch or other damage does not occur at all due to contact accompanying the release of the grip of the clamp”. Shinozawa does not explicitly disclose step by step from a low speed to a predetermined normal speed.
Higuchi teaches controlled speed (see [0061] describes “ideal feed speed” & “feed speed increases at a constant acceleration while the winding time increases from 0 to the predetermined first time”; see [0075] describes “teaching mode operation process” & “constant low speed”). Higuchi teaches winding apparatus for manufacturing a wound battery (see [0001] “winding apparatus for manufacturing” and [0098] “wound battery”).
Regarding the limitation wherein when stepping up the feed speed of the separator to a next speed, the control unit starts the tension control by setting the control condition at the former speed as an initial control condition, Sinozawa discloses “control device 9” in [0041] & “tension sensor 7 measures a tension acting on the separator sheet S and outputs a value thereof” & “so as to be able to measure the tension of a desired region” which reads on the control unit starts the tension control by setting the control condition. Sinozawa does not explicitly disclose stepping up the feed speed of the separator to a next speed.
Higuchi teaches stepping up the feed speed to a next speed and initial control condition (see [0061] describes “ideal feed speed” & “the feed speed increases at a constant acceleration while the winding time increases from 0 to the predetermined first time”).
Shinozawa and Higuchi are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely winding apparatus for manufacturing a wound battery.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate speed control into the manufacturing device of Shinozawa because doing so improves the start up to prevent misalignment as evidenced by SK innovation (see P. 3 “fast driving can cause the misalignment of battery components”). It would have been obvious to incorporate “feed speed increases at a constant acceleration during the period from the winding time 0 to the predetermined first time”, suggested by Higuchi (see [0061]) and “in the teaching mode operation process” & “constant low speed”, suggested by Higuchi (see [0075]) into the manufacturing device of Shinozawa because doing so prevents misalignment of the battery components, as evidenced by SK innovation (see P.3).
Regarding the limitation and is capable of performing a control condition determining operation to obtain the measurement result from the tension measuring unit while changing the initial control condition, so as to set the initial control condition when the tension of the separator is within a certain range, as the control condition at current speed, Shinozawa discloses (see [0031] describes “tension sensor 7 measures a tension acting on the separator sheet and outputs a value thereof” which describes the tension measuring unit and measurement result; see [0031] describes “so as to be able to measure the tension of a desired region” reads on control condition determining operation; see [0041] describes “when the measurement result of the tensile force sensor 7 indicates that the tensile force acting on the bipolar sheet S in the electrode-plate installation region is weak” & “the control device 9 controls the pull-out portion moving device 41 to move the pull-out portion 31 towards the front side”; see [0016] describes “adjusting the speed of the separator sheet S and the tension acting on the separator sheet S by adjusting the rotation speed of the separator sheet roll R” which reads on changing the initial control condition, so as to set the initial control condition when the tension of the separator is within a certain range and control condition at current speed.
Regarding the limitation and wherein the control unit has a learning mode as an operation mode, in which the feed speed of the separator is set to the low speed when starting operation, Shinozawa does not explicitly disclose.
Higuchi teaches “teaching mode” (see [0075] “teaching mode operation process” & “rotate at a constant low speed”; see [0064] “the teaching mode is an operating method for the purpose of acquiring the relationship information data while actually manufacturing the battery element 1”; see [0020] “teaching mode” & “it is possible to acquire the relation information data assuming the actual winding mode. Accordingly, the winding mode, the sheet can be fed to the winding core in a more stable state”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching mode, as suggested by Higuchi (see [0075], [0064]) into the manufacturing device of Shinozawa because doing so allows for the separator sheet to be fed in a more stable state, as suggested by Higuchi (see [0020]).
Regarding the limitation the control condition determining operation is repeated until the feed speed of the separator becomes the normal speed, Shinozawa does not explicitly disclose.
Higuchi teaches feed speed becomes the normal speed (see [0020] “teaching mode and the winding mode, the condition of the tension applied to the sheet (the operation mode of the tension applying unit) is the same. Therefore, in the teaching mode, it is possible to acquire the relationship information data assuming the actual winding mode. Accordingly, in the winding mode, the sheet can be fed to the winding core in a more stable state. As a result, the sheet can be wound at a higher speed, and the productivity can be further improved”). Higuchi teaches [0113] “quality of the battery element 1 can be improved”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “acquire the relationship information data” & “sheet can be wound at a higher speed”, suggested by Higuchi (see [0020]) into the manufacturing device of Shinozawa because doing so improves the productivity and quality, as suggested by Higuchi (see [0020] & [0013]).
Regarding the limitation and the control condition when the feed speed becomes the normal speed is stored, Shinozawa does not explicitly disclose.
Higuchi teaches storing the relationship information (see [0020] “acquire the relationship information data” & see [0059] “stores the relationship information data”). Higuchi teaches [0113] “quality of the battery element 1 can be improved”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate storing the relationship information data, as suggested by Higuchi (see [0059]) into the manufacturing device of Shinozawa because doing so improves the quality and productivity, as suggested by Higuchi (see [0020] & [0113]).
Regarding claim 6, Shinozawa discloses the stacked cell manufacturing device of claim 5. Shinozawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the control unit performs the learning mode every time when a certain number of stacked cells are manufactured.
Higuchi teaches “teaching mode” (see [0020] “relationship information data” & improved productivity with “teaching mode and winding mode”; see [0113] “quality of the battery element 1 can be improved” & “target value”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate “target value” & “relationship information” & “teaching mode”, as suggested by Higuchi (see [0020]) in to the manufacturing device of Shinozawa because doing so improves the quality and productivity (see [0020] & [0113]).
It would have been obvious that after a certain number of stacked cells are manufactured, the separator roll becomes empty. It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to incorporate the start up “teaching mode”, as suggested by Higuchi into the manufacturing device of Shinozawa because doing so allows for the start up “teaching mode” to be run every time the new separator roll is replaced which improves the quality and productivity, as suggested by Higuchi (see [0020] & [0113]).
Regarding claim 7, Shinozawa discloses the stacked cell manufacturing device of claim 5. Shinozawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the control unit performs the learning mode every time when the separator roll that feeds the separator is replaced.
Higuchi teaches “teaching mode” & improved quality (see [0020] describes “relationship information data” & improved productivity with “teaching mode and winding mode”; see [0113] describes “quality of the battery element 1 can be improved”).
It would have been obvious that after a certain number of stacked cells are manufactured, the separator roll becomes empty. It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to incorporate the start up “teaching mode”, as suggested by Higuchi into the manufacturing device of Shinozawa because doing so allows for the start up “teaching mode” to be run every time the new separator roll is replaced which improves the quality and productivity, as suggested by Higuchi (see [0020] & [0113]).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinozawa et al. (JP 2012243577 A, “Shinozawa”) in view of Tsukasa et al. (US 20140059855 A1, “Tsukasa”) as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Higuchi et al. (JP 2018067492 A, “Higuchi”). The machine translations are used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Shinozawa discloses the stacked cell manufacturing device of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the control unit (see [0015] “control device 9”) regularly obtains the measurement result from the tension measuring unit (see [0016] & see FIG. 2 describes “unwinding device 2 supports a separator sheet roll R formed by winding the separator sheet S” & see [0031] describes “tension sensor 7 measures a tension acting on the separator sheet S and outputs a value thereof”). Shinozawa does not explicitly disclose calculates a reference value based on an integrated value of all the measurement results from the last obtained measurement result to the measurement result obtained a predetermined number of times before, and changes the control condition so that the reference value is within a predetermined range.
Higuchi teaches “control device 81” in [0054] & in [0005] “feedforward control of the rotation speed of the winding core according to the detected rotation angle”; see [0075] describes “data-acquiring unit 84 starts creating relational information using the feed amount acquired by the feed information-acquiring unit 82 and the rotation amount (cumulative rotation angle from the start of the low-speed rotation) acquired by the rotation amount-acquiring unit 83. The relationship information data is created based on data (the feed amount and the rotation amount) after winding of all the sheets is started”); see [0077] describes step S33 is repeated & “predetermined amount set in advance”. Higuchi teaches increased production speed (see [0005] “in order to suppress the occurrence of unevenness in the winding speed while increasing the production speed”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “feedforward control”, suggested by Higuchi into the manufacturing device of Shinozawa because doing so improves the production speed, as suggested by Higuchi (see [0005]).
Regarding claim 9, Shinozawa does not explicitly disclose and changes the control condition so that the tension of the separator is within a certain range based on the measurement result when the control unit obtains the measurement result. However, Shinozawa does disclose changing the speed and tension by adjusting the rotation speed which reads on changes the control condition.
Higuchi teaches within a certain range (see [0014] “the rotation of the winding core is controlled such that the sheet is fed at a constant speed based on the relationship information data acquired in the teaching mode” & “the sheet can be more stably fed at a constant speed” & “increase the productivity and the production speed”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “relationship information data” into the manufacturing device of Shinozawa because doing so allows for the sheet to be fed at a constant speed and allows for the sheet to be more stably fed. Doing so increase the productivity and production speed as suggested by Higuchi (see [0014]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding applicant’s arguments on P14 “Applicant reasserts that the identified movable roller and conveying roller in Shinozawa do not disclose this feature”, is unpersuasive because Shinozawa discloses in FIG. 1 “3 vertical conveyance device” & in [0038] describes “control device 9 causes the drawer 31 to draw out a necessary amount of the separator sheet” which describes changing a conveyance length of the separator by separating from the conveying roller.
Regarding applicant’s arguments on P15 par 1 “no indication that the separator moves up within the plane of the page from the drive roll 31b (moveable roller) to the unwinding device 2 (traction roller)” & P15 par 2-3 “Shinozawa does not disclose “wherein the separator is sent along a first direction from the conveying roller to the movable roller and is sent along a second direction opposite to the first direction from the movable roller to the traction roller” is unpersuasive because in FIG. 3a & FIG. 3b describes the separator moving along opposite directions. & in [0048] describes “separator sheet S faces upward” & [0050] describes increasing the tension acting on the separator sheet S”.
Conclusion
/S.A.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 06/30/2026