DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filed 02/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16 are currently pending. Claims 15 and 16 are newly added.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “herein the second area defines recessed arears of the coil” where the term “arears” appears to be a spelling error and shown be “areas”. The above limitation will be treated as “herein the second area defines recessed areas [[arears]] of the coil”.
Claims 2-16 are objected to for being dependent from an objected to claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0186068 (Kim hereinafter) in view of JP 2015-118882 (Kiyozawa hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a laundry treating apparatus (Figure 1) that discloses a cabinet (Figure 1, cabinet 10); a drum disposed inside the cabinet and made of a metal material the drum being configured to accommodate laundry therein (Drum 30 per ¶ 55); and an induction module spaced apart from a circumferential surface of the drum and configured to heat the circumferential surface of the drum via a magnetic field generated based on a current being applied to a coil, the coil comprising a wound wire (Induction module 70 per ¶ 193), wherein the induction module includes a base housing that accommodates the coil thereon (Base housing 74 per ¶ 302-304), wherein the coil includes a first area positioned adjacent to a front portion of the drum (Portion of 70 towards the opening in 20 in Figures 1B, 2B, and 8), a third area positioned adjacent to a rear portion of the drum (Opposite portion of 70 from the front portion), and a second area positioned between the first area and the third area (Intermediate portion of 70 between the front/back [first/third] sections).
Kim is silent with respect that the wire is wound on the base housing such that a width of the coil in the first area or the third area is different from a width of the coil in the second area, and wherein the second area defines recessed arears of the coil, and the first area and the third area define unrecessed portions of the coil such that a smallest width of the first area or the third area is greater than a smallest width of the second area.
However, Kiyozawa teaches a heating induction coil placed on a cylindrical shape that discloses a wire is wound on the base housing such that a width of the coil in the first area or the third area is different from a width of the coil in the second area (Figures 1-4 show an “hour-glass” shape for the induction coils where the equivalent first and third portions are the larger ends while the second area is the pinch middle area), and wherein the second area defines recessed areas of the coil (Recessed areas being the pinched second area as described), and the first area and the third area define unrecessed portions of the coil such that a smallest width of the first area or the third area is greater than a smallest width of the second area (Figures 1-4 show an “hour-glass” shape for the induction coils with the larger first and third areas and smaller second area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of Kim’s induction coils with the shape taught in Kiyozawa to allow for uniform heating per Kiyozawa’s Abstract.
Regarding claim 2, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Kim and Kiyozawa would further disclose a coil area of the coil in the first area or the third area is greater than a coil area of the coil in the second area (Evident from Figures 1-4 of Kiyozawa).
Regarding claim 3, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Kim and Kiyozawa would further disclose a tub that accommodates the drum therein, wherein the base housing is fixed to the tub (Tub 20 as seen in Figures 1A, 2B, and 8 of Kim).
Regarding claim 4, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 3 where the combination of Kim and Kiyozawa would further disclose a front end and a rear end of the base housing are spaced apart from a front portion and a rear portion of the tub by a predetermined distance, respectively (Evident of Figure 1A of Kim).
Regarding claim 5, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 4 where the combination of Kim and Kiyozawa would further disclose that the induction module further includes a cover housing coupled to the base housing from above (Housing cover 72 in Figure 8 of Kim per ¶ 304) and having a through portion defined therein for dissipating heat generated from the coil (¶ 304 of Kim).
Regarding claim 6, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 5 where the combination of Kim and Kiyozawa would further disclose that the induction module further includes a permanent magnet located on the coil and concentrating the magnetic field generated by the coil in a direction toward the drum (¶ 201, 365, 369-381 of Kim with magnets 75).
Regarding claim 7, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 6 where the combination of Kim and Kiyozawa would further disclose that the permanent magnet is disposed perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the coil (Evident from Figures 9a/9b of Kim with magnets 75 and coil 71).
Regarding claim 8, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 6 where the combination of Kim and Kiyozawa would further disclose that the permanent magnet includes a plurality of permanent magnets arranged to be spaced apart from each other along a longitudinal direction of the coil (Evident form Figures 9a/9b of Kim with magnets 75).
Regarding claim 9, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 8 where the combination of Kim and Kiyozawa would further disclose a number of permanent magnets arranged in the first area or the third area is equal to or greater than a number of the permanent magnets arranged in the second area (Figure 9b of Kim shows 4 magnets being in the first and third areas while only 3 magnets in the second area).
Regarding claim 10, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 8 where the combination of Kim and Kiyozawa would further disclose that the induction module further includes a permanent magnet housing disposed between the base housing and the cover housing and having mounting portions for respectively accommodating the permanent magnets therein (Kim in Figure 14a shows the body 81 acting as a magnet housing and therefore between the base housing 74 and cover 72).
Regarding claim 11, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Kim and Kiyozawa would further disclose that the wire is wound on the base housing such that the coil has straight portions and curved portions (Evident from Figures 9a/9b of Kim and Figures 1-4 of Kiyozawa), wherein a radius of a curvature of a portion of the wire forming the curved portion is uniform in a coil inner portion and a coil outer portion (Kim ¶ 296).
Regarding claim 12, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Kim and Kiyozawa would further disclose that the base housing is formed by being curved in a shape corresponding to a shape of an outer circumferential surface of the drum, and the coil is wound along the curvature of the base housing (Kim Figures 6a and 8).
Regarding claim 13, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 12 where the combination of Kim and Kiyozawa would further disclose that the base housing further includes a coil slot narrower than a diameter of the wire such that the wire is forcibly fitted thereinto (Kim ¶ 53 and 420).
Regarding claim 14, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Kim and Kiyozawa would further disclose that a vertical length of the coil corresponding to a longitudinal direction of the drum is greater than a horizontal length of the coil corresponding to a width direction of the drum (Evident from Figures 61 and 8 of Kim).
Regarding claim 15, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Kim and Kiyozawa would further disclose that the recessed areas of the coil are recessed inward from a perimeter of the coil relative to the unrecessed portions of the coil (Evident from the hourglass/eight shape of Figures 1-4 of Kiyozawa).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0186068 (Kim) in view of JP 2015-118882 (Kiyozawa) and further in view of JP H082959 (Masayuki hereinafter).
Regarding claim 16, Kim’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the width of the coil in each of the first area and the third area at the unrecessed portions is maintained as the coil extends in a front-rear direction of the drum.
However, Masayuki teaches a heating coil wrapped around a cylindrical shape that discloses width of the coil in each of the first area and the third area at the unrecessed portions is maintained as the coil extends in a front-rear direction of the base (Figures 1 and 3 show the induction heating coil 100 and the equivalent first end at 110a and third end at 110b with a maintained width).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the hourglass heating coil of Kim/Kiyozawa with the constant width of the first and third ends of Masayuki to increase the heating area applied to the frum of Kim/Kiyozawa.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants arguments regarding the proposed amendments to claim 1 and the combination of Kim and Kiyozawa have been reviewed. The Applicant particularly points of the newly recited recesses for the second area and the unrecessed are of the first and third areas. The Examiner shows that the first area (Portion of 70 towards the opening in 20 in Figures 1B, 2B, and 8 of Kim) and the third area (Kim’s Opposite portion of 70 from the front portion) are unrecessed as interpreted from Figure 6 with recesses “r” of the submitted specification and drawings by the Applicant. The combination with Kiyozawa shows the equivalent recess being present in Figures 1-4. Kiyozawa shows an “hour-glass” shape for the induction coils where the equivalent first and third portions are the larger ends while the second area is the pinch middle area which is the location of the recess as equivalent to Figure 6 of the submitted specification and drawings by Applicant. Applicant’s newly added claim 15 is read on by the combination of Kim and Kiyozawa while claim 16 required the new reference of Masayuki. In light of the new rejections to read on the proposed claim amendments, Applicant’s arguments are not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762