DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-8 are missing a number of colons.
Claim 1 at the end of line 10.
Claim 2 at the end of lines 2 and 3.
Claim 3 at the end of lines 2 and 3.
Claim 4 at the end of lines 2 and 3.
Claim 5 at the end of lines 2 and 3.
Claim 6 at the end of line 2.
Claim 7 at the end of line 2.
Claim 8 at the end of lines 2 and 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the difference in wiring widths outlined in claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 5 (and 2-8 via dependency) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 at lines 12-13 states that “each of the plurality of annular wirings annularly surrounding the plurality of output pads”. This implies that each individual annular wiring portion surrounds all of the output pads. This appears inconsistent with the original specification which shows each individual annular wiring portion surrounds a subset of the output pads (i.e. some of them but not all of them). This inconsistency between spec and claims renders the scope of the claims unclear (see MPEP 2173.03).
For purposes of examination, the limitation will be understood to mean an individual annular wiring must surround a subset of the output pads.
Claim 5 at line 4 states “a plurality of layers laminated of the plurality of annular wirings” which has an unclear meaning, making the scope of the claim itself unclear.
For purposes of examination, the limitation is understood to read that the plurality of annular wirings are formed of a plurality of laminated layers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/2 as being anticipated by Lynch et al. (US 2005/0251698).
With respect to claim 1, Lynch discloses a light emitting device (fig.4-6b, abstract), comprising: a light emitter (fig.5b #62+63+64+65 etc.) provided with a plurality of light emitting elements (fig.5b #62, 63, 64, 65, etc.) arranged in a matrix in plan view (fig.4/5b); an output unit provided with a plurality of output pads (fig.5a connections/traces at either side of gaps #40, 44, 49, 52 which are fitted with LEDs) that outputs a drive current to the plurality of light emitting elements (function of device), the plurality of output pads being arranged in a matrix so as to overlap with the plurality of light emitting elements in plan view (as seen in fig.5b); and a drive current supply wiring (fig.4-6b remainder of wirings/traces) provided in a wiring layer (fig.4 formed of #29+31) on which the output unit is stacked (as seen in fig.5a), the drive current supply wiring supplying the drive current from a power supply (abstract) to the plurality of light emitting elements via the plurality of output pads, wherein the drive current supply wiring includes a plurality of annular wirings having a rectangular frame shape (see annotated figure below) and arranged in a column direction of the plurality of output pads (as seen in fig.4), each of the plurality of annular wirings annularly surrounding the plurality of output pads (see annotated figure) in a predetermined number of rows adjacent in the column direction and being connected to the plurality of output pads surrounded (see fig.4), a common wiring provided on both sides in a direction orthogonal to an arrangement direction of the plurality of annular wirings in plan view and in parallel with the arrangement direction (see annotated figure), the common wiring being connected to the power supply (necessarily present to direct power to the LEDs), and a connection wiring that connects the plurality of annular wirings and the common wiring (see annotated figure).
With respect to claim 2, Lynch discloses the connection wiring connects the common wiring and a central portion in plan view (see annotated figure near connection wiring labels) of a wiring portion configuring both ends of each of the plurality of annular wirings (as seen in annotated figure), the both ends being in a direction orthogonal to the arrangement direction in plan view (as seen in annotated figure).
With respect to claim 3, Lynch discloses the drive current supply wiring further includes a reinforcement wiring that connects wiring portions configuring both ends, in the arrangement direction, of each of the plurality of annular wirings (fig.5b can be considered portions of traces such as found between #86 and #70).
With respect to claim 6, Lynch discloses a correction unit (fig.5b #70s/72s/86s) that corrects the drive current (necessarily modifies the current, can be considered ‘corrected’ as the correction is not defined in the claims) supplied to the predetermined number of rows of the plurality of output pads (at least #86s between rows).
With respect to claim 7, Lynch discloses a correction unit (fig.5b #70s/72s/86s) that corrects the drive current (necessarily modifies the current, can be considered ‘corrected’ as the correction is not defined in the claims) supplied to a predetermined number of rows (at least #86s between rows) and columns (at least #70s/72s between columns) of the plurality of output pads.
With respect to claim 8, Lynch discloses the common wiring is connected to the power supply at both ends in an extending direction ([0032], common wiring identified above connects all rows/columns thereby passing power throughout the device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch.
With respect to claim 4, Lynch teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the drive current supply wiring has the plurality of annular wirings whose wiring widths are adjusted individually so as to supply uniform drive current by the plurality of annular wirings. Lynch does further teach a desire for uniform output ([0068]), the circuit to be connected equally to share power among all LEDs ([0047]), and the ability to adjust the size of the traces ([0072]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the size of the annular wirings of Lynch to supply uniform current to the LEDs as Lynch has demonstrated the wirings to be size adjustable ([0072]) and the desire to provide equal power to the LEDs and uniform output ([0047, 68]) and it would be an obvious optimization of the teachings of Lynch to adjust the sizing to achieve uniform current driving to accomplish the goal of uniform supply and output.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 further specifies the annular wirings to be multilayered and make use of contacts between the layers to supply uniform drive current which was not found to be taught or suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Art such as US 11641091 at fig.10a is found to teach similar language to that of at least claim 1.
/TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828