Drawings
The drawings were received on 1 July 2026. These drawings are unacceptable and unentered. The drawings are noncompliant with 37 C.F.R. 1.121(d) which requires replacement sheets of drawings to be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the top margin. The drawings of noncompliant with 37 C.F.R. 1.84(u)(1) because the view numbers are preceded by the abbreviation “AG” not “FIG” as required. Further, a marked-up copy of the amended drawing figures including annotations indicating the changes made were not provided as required by Examiner. MPEP 1413.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "531" and "5311" have both been used to designate collar.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "5371" and "5372" have both been used to designate surface.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "5372" and "5373" have both been used to designate a bottom surface of a locking tab.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because they are replete with instances a single reference character being used to designate multiple structures. See reference character 5371 which has bene used to designate surface and free side, 5732 which has been used to designate two different surfaces, 562 which designates different structures between at least figures 9 and 12A, and 565 which designates different structures between at least figure 9 and figures 12A & 12D.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with C.F.R 1.84(t) because the drawing sheet numbering must be larger than the numbers used as reference characters to avoid confusion. MPEP 608.02 V.
The drawings are objected to because 533 is not directed to the bottom portion in at least figure 12E.
The drawings are objected to because a portion of a removed lead line remains in the upper righthand side of figure 12C that was originally associated with 5431.
The drawings are objected to because 532 is not directed to the skirt in figure 12D.
The drawings are objected to because 543 is not directed to the arcuate ledge in figure 12C, 12D, and the rightmost instance in f12F.
The drawings are objected to because 531 is not directed to the annular collar in fig. 12D and 12F.
The drawings are objected to because the uppermost instance of 534 is not directed to a locking tab in figure 12B.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 5372, 5371, 5311, 5373, 5312, 547, 546. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The specification amendment filed 1 July 2026 has not been entered because it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.121(b) because: the amendments to the specification do not include the full text of replacements paragraph with markings to show all the changes relative to the previous version (17 February 2026) of the paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation of claim 22 that “each of the plurality of locking tabs are within a window of the ring” is led to be indefinite. It is unclear if all of the locking tabs are within a single window or if each of the locking tabs are within respective windows. In light of the original disclosure and in order to apply art the limitation will be interpreted as the latter.
Claim 22 is led to be indefinite in that it is unclear if the windows are part of the ring, see “window of the ring”, or if the windows are part of the locking tabs, see “a width of the window of the at least one first locking tab” and “width of the window of the at least one second locking tab”. In light of the original disclosure and in order to apply art the claim will be interpreted as the former. Further, it is unclear if the locking tabs are within windows or if the windows are part of the locking tabs. In light of the original disclosure and in order to apply art the claim will be interpreted as the former and as if it read “a width of the window that the at least one first locking tab is within is less than a width of the window that the at least one second locking tab is within”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aneas (US 20130233822) further in view of Fournier (US 20150360826) and Hudson (US 20120205375).
Claim 1: Aneas discloses a stopping device 50 (closure device) for sealing a container having a neck with an opening and an annular collar, the stopping device 50 (closure device) comprising: a stopper 51 having a flange; and a cap 52 (cap assembly) configured to surround both the stopper 51 and the neck in a sealed condition, the cap 52 (cap assembly) comprising: a ring 53 containing the stopper 51 and comprising a plurality of locking tabs 537, and a crown 54 comprising a skirt telescopically mounted over the ring 53 and connected to the ring 53 by a plurality of external ribs 535, the skirt being configured to radially deflect the plurality of locking tabs 537 inwardly under the annular collar when the crown 54 is axially displaced towards the neck of the container, wherein at least one first locking tab of the plurality of locking tabs 537 has a first axial height and at least one second locking tab of the plurality of locking tabs 537 has a second axial height, wherein the at least one first locking tab of the plurality of locking tabs 537 has a first width and the at least one second locking tab of the plurality of locking tabs 537 has a second width (see fig. 7, 11-13, annotated fig. 14 and annotated partial fig. 8 below).
Aneas does not disclose the first axial height being less than the second axial height or the first width being less than the second width.
Fournier teaches a fastener ring 2’ comprising flaps 26a’ & 26b’, wherein two diametrically opposite flaps 26b’ have a first axial height and another two diametrically opposite flaps 26a’ have a second axial height, the first axial height being less than the second axial height (see fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the second locking tabs to have a second axial height with the first axial height being less than the second axial height, as taught by Fournier, in order to permit the stopping device 50 (closure device) to be engageable below a relatively wide range of manufacturing tolerances of the collar 13.
Hudson teaches a lid 42 having a pair of diametrically located seal ribs 48 having a greater width than another pair of diametrically located seal ribs 48 (see fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have increased the width of one pair of diametrically located locking tabs 537 in relation to the width of the other pair of diametrically located locking tabs 537, as taught by Hudson, in order to increase the surface area of engagement for better fastening.
When increasing the width of one pair of diametrically disposed locking tabs 537 in relation to the width of the other pair of diametrically disposed locking tabs 537 there are two identified, predictable solutions. One being increasing the width of the first locking tabs and the other being increasing the width of the second locking tabs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have increased the width of the second locking tabs, as it would have been obvious to try the second identified predictable solution with a reasonable expectation of success.
Examiner notes that no criticality has been established for the relative widths of the first and second locking tabs and as such the first and second widths appear to be design choice. Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have made the second width greater than the first width, since applicant has not disclosed that the second locking tab having a second width greater than a first width of the first locking tab solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component.
Examiner notes that no criticality has been established for the relative heights of the first and second locking tabs and as such the first and second axial heights appear to be obvious matters of design choice.
Claim 5: The combination discloses the stopper 51 having a flange, and the ring 53 has an inner circumferential surface including a plurality of ribs 538 (raised steps) extending inwardly radially from the inner circumferential surface to a diameter that is less than or equal to the diameter of the flange (see annotated fig. 14 above and fig. 6 and 8).
Claim 6: The combination discloses wherein the plurality of ribs 538 (raised steps) are present in less than 50% of an inner circumference of the ring 53 (see fig. 8).
Claim 7: The combination discloses a container 1 equipped with the stopping device 50 (closure device) of claim 9 (see fig. 2).
Claim 8: The combination discloses a method of sealing a container 1 with the stopping device 50 (closure device) of claim 1, the method comprising: inserting the neck 12 of the container 1 into the ring 53 (see fig. 4, 6 & 10); and applying an axial force until the stopper is inserted into the opening in the neck 12 of the container 1 and the plurality of locking tabs 537 are radially deflected under the annular collar 13 (see P. 0059-0060 and progression of fig. 6, 10, and 12-14).
Claim 21: The combination discloses a plurality of the first locking tabs, and a plurality of the second locking tabs (see annotated partial fig. 8 above).
Claim 22: The combination discloses wherein each of the plurality of locking tabs are within a window 536 of the ring 53, and a width of the window 536 of the at least one first locking tab is less than a width of the window 536 of the at least one second locking tab (see annotated partial fig. 8 above).
Claim 23: The combination discloses wherein each of the plurality of locking tabs 537 are attached to a ring 534 (bottom portion) of the ring 53 with a hinge having a reduced width as compared to the width of the windows 536 (see fig. 8).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aneas (US 20130233822), Fournier (US 20150360826), and Hudson (US 20120205375) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schmitt (US 20100089862).
Claim 3: The combination discloses the stopper 51 including a flange (see annotated fig. 14 above).
Aneas does not disclose wherein the ring further comprises a plurality of retaining arms configured to extend radially inward and contact a surface of the stopper flange in an unsealed condition.
Schmitt teaches a closure comprising a stopper 10 having a flange; and a cap 20 configured to surround both the stopper 10 and a neck of a container in a sealed condition, the cap 20 comprising a plurality of holding members 22 (retaining arms) configured to extend radially inward and contact a surface of the flange in an unsealed condition (see fig. 6a-6b) , wherein the cap 20 further includes a plurality of first cap openings 26 and each first cap opening 26 is adjacent to one holding member 22 (retaining arm) of the plurality of holding members 22 (retaining arms), such that upon axial displacement of the cap 20 towards the neck, a widened edge 3 deflects each of the holding member 22 (retaining arm) into the respective adjacent first cap opening 26 and the stopper 10 is inserted into an opening in a sealed condition (see fig. 8a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the ring 53 to have a plurality of first cap openings 26 adjacent to respective plurality of holding members 22 (retaining arms) which are configured to extend radially inward and contact a surface of the flange in an unsealed condition and to deflect into respective first cap opening 26 upon axial displacement of the ring 53 towards the neck, as taught by Schmitt, in order to positively restrain the stopper 51 in its desired axial position within the ring 53.
Claim 4: The combination discloses wherein the ring 53 further includes a plurality of first cap openings 26 (apertures) and each first cap opening 26 (aperture) is adjacent to one holding member 22 (retaining arm) of the plurality of holding members 22 (retaining arms), such that upon axial displacement of the ring 53 towards the neck 12, the annular collar 13 deflects each of the holding member 22 (retaining arm) into the respective adjacent first cap opening 26 (aperture) and the stopper 51 is inserted into the opening in the sealed condition (see fig. 6a, 6b, and 8a ‘862).
Claim(s) 9-10 and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aneas (US 20130233822) further in view of Fukuoka (EP 0028411), Fournier (US 20150360826), and Hudson (US 20120205375).
Claim 9: Aneas discloses a stopping device 50 (closure device) for sealing a container having a neck with an opening and an annular collar, the stopping device 50 (closure device) comprising: a stopper 51 having a flange; and a cap 52 (cap assembly) configured to surround both the stopper 51 and the neck in a sealed condition, the cap 52 (cap assembly) comprising: a ring 53 containing the stopper 51 and including a plurality of locking tabs 537, and a crown 54 comprising a skirt telescopically mounted over the ring 53, the skirt being configured to radially deflect the plurality of locking tabs 537 inwardly under the annular collar, wherein the ring 53 comprises an inner circumferential surface, wherein a first locking tab of the plurality of locking tabs 537 has a first axial height and a width and a second locking tab of the plurality of locking tabs 537 has a first axial height and a second width (see fig. 7, 8, 10, an annotated fig. 14 and annotated partial fig. 8 above).
Aneas does not disclose the inner circumferential surface including a plurality of raised steps extending inwardly radially from the inner circumferential surface to a diameter that is less than or equal to the diameter of the flange to provide an interference fit between the stopper and the ring, the first axial height being less than the second axial height, or the first width being less than the second width.
Fukuoka teaches an inner cap 2 having a sidewall 2b having an inner surface including four projections 7 (plurality of raised steps) extending inwardly radially from the inner surface to a diameter that is less than the diameter of a top plate 3a of a rubber plug 3 to provide an interference fit between the rubber plug 3 and the inner cap 2 (see P. 4 L. 13-16. and fig. 3 and 7-8).
Fournier teaches a fastener ring 2’ comprising flaps 26a’ & 26b’, wherein two diametrically opposite flaps 26b’ have a first axial height and another two diametrically opposite flaps 26a’ have a second axial height, the first axial height being less than the second axial height (see fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the second locking tabs to have a second axial height with the first axial height being less than the second axial height, as taught by Fournier, in order to permit the stopping device 50 (closure device) to be engageable below a relatively wide range of manufacturing tolerances of the collar 13.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the ring 53 with four projections 7 (plurality of raised steps) extending inwardly radially from the inner circumferential surface of the ring 53 to a diameter that is less than the diameter of the flange of the stopper 51, as taught by Fukuoka, in order to assist in positively restraining the stopper 51 in its desired location.
Hudson teaches a lid 42 having seal ribs 48 of different widths (see fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have increased the width of the second locking tabs in relation to the width of the first locking tabs, as taught by Hudson, in order to increase the surface area of engagement for better fastening.
When increasing the width of one pair of diametrically disposed locking tabs 537 in relation to the width of the other pair of diametrically disposed locking tabs 537 there are two identified, predictable solutions. One being increasing the width of the first locking tabs and the other being increasing the width of the second locking tabs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have increased the width of the second locking tabs, as it would have been obvious to try the second identified predictable solution with a reasonable expectation of success.
Examiner notes that no criticality has been established for the relative widths of the first and second locking tabs and as such the first and second widths appear to be design choice. Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have made the second width greater than the first width, since applicant has not disclosed that the second locking tab having a second width greater than a first width of the first locking tab solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component.
Examiner notes that no criticality has been established for the relative heights of the first and second locking tabs and as such the first and second axial heights appear to be obvious matters of design choice.
Claim 10: The combination discloses wherein the four projections 7 (plurality of raised steps) are present in less than 50% of an inner circumference of the ring 53 (see fig. 3 ‘411).
Claim 13: The combination discloses a method of sealing a container 1 with the stopping device 50 (closure device) of claim 9, the method comprising: inserting the neck 12 of the container 1 into the ring 53 (see fig. 4, 6 & 10); and applying an axial force until the stopper is inserted into the opening in the neck 12 of the container 1 and the plurality of locking tabs 537 are radially deflected under the annular collar 13 (see P. 0059-0060 and progression of fig. 6, 10, and 12-14).
Claim 14: The combination discloses a container 1 equipped with the stopping device 50 (closure device) of claim 9 (see fig. 2).
Claim 15: The combination discloses the ring 53 comprises a top portion having a bottom surface including a collar 562 (protuberance) configured to apply a force to a top surface of the stopper 51 (see fig. 8 and 13-14).
Claim 16: The combination discloses wherein the collar 562 (protuberance) is radially inward of the four projections 7 (plurality of raised steps) (see fig. 8 and 13-14).
Claim 17: The combination discloses wherein the collar 562 (protuberance) is in the form of a circle (see fig. 8 and 13-14).
Claim(s) 11, 12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aneas (US 20130233822), Fournier (US 20150360826), Fukuoka (EP 0028411), and Hudson (US 20120205375) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Schmitt (US 20100089862).
Claim 11: The combination discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the ring further comprises a plurality of retaining arms configured to extend radially inward and contact a surface of the stopper flange in an unsealed condition.
Schmitt teaches a closure comprising a stopper 10 having a flange; and a cap 20 configured to surround both the stopper 10 and a neck of a container in a sealed condition, the cap 20 comprising a plurality of holding members 22 (retaining arms) configured to extend radially inward and contact a surface of the flange in an unsealed condition (see fig. 6a-6b) , wherein the cap 20 further includes a plurality of first cap openings 26 and each first cap opening 26 is adjacent to one holding member 22 (retaining arm) of the plurality of holding members 22 (retaining arms), such that upon axial displacement of the cap 20 towards the neck, a widened edge 3 deflects each of the holding member 22 (retaining arm) into the respective adjacent first cap opening 26 and the stopper 10 is inserted into an opening in a sealed condition (see fig. 8a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the ring 53 to have a plurality of first cap openings 26 adjacent to respective plurality of holding members 22 (retaining arms) which are configured to extend radially inward and contact a surface of the flange in an unsealed condition and to deflect into respective first cap opening 26 upon axial displacement of the ring 53 towards the neck, as taught by Schmitt, in order to positively restrain the stopper 51 in its desired axial position within the ring 53.
Claim 12: The combination discloses wherein the ring 53 further includes a plurality of first cap openings 26 (apertures) and each first cap opening 26 (aperture) is adjacent to one holding member 22 (retaining arm) of the plurality of holding members 22 (retaining arms), such that upon axial displacement of the ring 53 towards the neck 12, the annular collar 13 deflects each of the holding member 22 (retaining arm) into the respective adjacent first cap opening 26 (aperture) and the stopper 51 is inserted into the opening in the sealed condition (see fig. 6a, 6b, and 8a ‘862).
Claim 20: The combination discloses wherein the plurality of holding members 22 (retaining arms) extend radially inward of the four projections 7 (plurality of raised steps) (see fig. 13 ‘862 and 8 ‘411).
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aneas (US 20130233822), Fournier (US 20150360826), Fukuoka (EP 0028411), and Hudson (US 20120205375) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Schmitt (US 20100089862).
Claim 18: The combination does not disclose wherein the protuberance comprises a plurality of segments.
Schmitt teaches a cap 20 having spacers 23 that apply a force to a top surface of a stopper 10, wherein the spacers 23 are in the form of a plurality of segments in a circular shape (see fig. 5a, 6a, 9a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the circular collar 562 (protuberance) to be a plurality of segments in a circular shape, as taught by Schmitt, in order to reduce materials and associated costs.
Claim 19: The combination discloses the plurality of segments being of equal size and spaced evenly (see fig. 9a ‘862).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that it is acknowledged by the Examiner that motivation for the proposed modification is not supported by the cited prior art, the Examiner disagrees that any such acknowledgement was made and requests applicant provide citation to this alleged acknowledgement.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Examiner takes liberties in ignoring what is actually taught by the prior art, the Examiner replies that no disclosure of the prior art references was ignored.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Examiner does not even produce his own motivation to arrive at the claimed invention, the Examiner responds that motivation was provided: “in order to permit the stopping device 50 (closure device) to be engageable below a relatively wide range of manufacturing tolerances of the collar 13” and “ order to increase the surface area of engagement for better fastening”. The latter of which is explicitly acknowledged by applicant in the most recent remarks.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Examiners cycling through snippets of case law without considering the actual prior art nor the underlying legal rational cannot support a proper modification, the Examiner replies that no snippets of case law were cycled through as no case law was cited in the rejection to the independent claims. Further, the examiner fully considered the prior art references.
In response to applicant’s argument that the ice cream container lid of Hudson does not support a modification of making the taller tabs of Aneas in view of Fournier with a larger width (than shorter tabs) because Hudson clearly distinguishes from the differential snapping positions of Fournier in that the oval shaped ice cream container lid 40 has a seal rib 48 that is non-continuous but in a single plane in direct contrast to the differential height tabs of Fournier, the Examiner responds that Hudson teaches a lid 42 having seal ribs 48 of different widths (see fig. 10). This teaching provides that it was well known to those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided ribs of unequal lengths on a lid. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have increased the width of the second locking tabs, as taught by Hudson, in order to increase the surface area of engagement for better fastening. By increasing the width of the second locking tabs the surface area of engagement is likewise increased which results in better fastening due to a larger area of contact. The first and second locking tabs being at different vertical positions of the combination does not detract from an increased width of the second locking tabs resulting in better fastening. Examiner further notes that it is proper to take account of the "inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 1727, 1731, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). See also id. at 1742, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 ("A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton."). One of ordinary skill in the art is presumed to have skills apart from what the prior art references expressly disclose. In re Sovish, 769 F.2d 738, 743 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In response to applicant’s argument that the only logical reason for the differential widths of the discontinuous rib 48 is because the ice cream lid is oval shaped and that the only reason for the discontinuity in the rib 48 are for venting (see P. 0047), the Examiner responds that Arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record MPEP 2113 II. Nowhere does Hudson attribute the different widths of the discontinuous rib 48 to be a result of the oval shape of the ice cream container. En arguendo, this does not negate the factual evidence that Hudson teaches a lid 42 having seal ribs 48 of different widths which would lead a POSITA to modify the locking tabs to be of different width, with one pair having a larger width than the other. (see fig. 10). Additionally, Hudson provides factual evidence at P. 0044 that “the shape of the inner wall does not have to be oval”.
In response to applicant’s argument that the examiners proposed motivation of “better fastening” based on Hudson has no relevance to the differential vertical snapping positions of Fournier, that the Examiner fails to address the different snapping positions of Fournier with respect to the “better fastening” provided by the non-continuous rib of the ice cream container lid of Hudson and therefore does not address that the flaps of differential heights of Fournier do not work together such that some are always inoperative, and that the Examiner does not provide any reasoning why some snapping positions of Fournier should provide “better fastening” than another, the Examiner responds that Hudson teaches a lid 42 having seal ribs 48 of different widths (see fig. 10). This teaching provides that it was well known to those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided ribs of unequal lengths on a lid. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have increased the width of the second locking tabs, as taught by Hudson, in order to increase the surface area of engagement for better fastening. By increasing the width of the second locking tabs the surface area of engagement is likewise increased which results in better fastening due to a larger area of contact. The first and second locking tabs being at different vertical positions of the combination does not detract from an increased width of the second locking tabs resulting in better fastening.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Examiner explicitly refuses to address how Aneas in view of Fournier would be modified by Hudson by stating “Examiner notes that Hudson is a secondary reference which is not being modified by Fournier in any fashion”, the Examiner responds that the quoted statement does not amount to a refusal to address how Aneas in view of Fournier would be modified by Hudson. The rejection explicitly describes the modification.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Examiner somehow thinks that it is proper to consider each limitation in a vacuum by relying on Fournier to address the axial height limitations and Hudson to address the width limitations and therefore the Examiner is explicitly disregarding 103 by refusing to consider the references in their entirety and how the relied upon teachings would be combined to address the claim as a whole, the Examiner responds that each reference was considered in their entirety. The rejection explicitly describes how the prior art references are combined to address the claim as a whole.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Examiner’s only supporting evidence in Hudson is what is shown in FIGS. 9 and 10 however the Examiner attempts to produce some type of general principle based on Hudson while disregarding what is shown in FIGS. 9 and 10 and other wise disclosed by Hudson, the Examiner replies that a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. See MPEP 2123. Nothing from figures 9 and 10 has been disregarded.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Applicant previously pointed out that the only purpose of the discontinuities in the rib is for venting and that the Examiner attempts to completely ignore this disclosure in stating that “Hudson is not relied upon for teaching of venting”, the Examiner responds that this disclosure is not ignored. Hudson may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. See MPEP 2123. Whether or not the only disclosed purpose of the discontinuities in the rib is for venting does not negate the fact that Hudson teaches a lid 42 having seal ribs 48 of different widths (see fig. 10) which provides that it was well known to those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided ribs of unequal lengths on a lid. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have increased the width of the second locking tabs, as taught by Hudson, in order to increase the surface area of engagement for better fastening. By increasing the width of the second locking tabs the surface area of engagement is likewise increased which results in better fastening due to a larger area of contact. The first and second locking tabs being at different vertical positions of the combination does not detract from an increased width of the second locking tabs resulting in better fastening.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Examiner’s attempt to disregard what is actually taught by his own cited reference gets further away from establishing his initial burden of establishing a prima facie conclusion of obviousness, the Examiner responds that no teaching or disclosure of the cited prior art references was disregarded.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Examiner fails to provide any reasoning why a POSA would apply the rib structure of the oval shaped lid of FIGS. 9 and 10 to that of a non-oval shaped lid, the Examiner responds that Hudson teaches a lid 42 having seal ribs 48 of different widths (see fig. 10). This teaching provides that it was well known to those of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided ribs of unequal lengths on a lid. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have increased the width of the second locking tabs, as taught by Hudson, in order to increase the surface area of engagement for better fastening. By increasing the width of the second locking tabs the surface area of engagement is likewise increased which results in better fastening due to a larger area of contact. Whether or not the lid of the primary reference is oval shaped or not does not detract from an increased width of the second locking tabs resulting in better fastening.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Examiner is relying on pure speculation which cannot establish a prima facie conclusion of obviousness, the Examiner responds that no rejection relies on pure speculation in any form.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Examiner does not even address the differential snapping positions in his modification based on Fournier, the Examiner refers applicant to the rejection which does address the differential snapping positions.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Examiner attempts to make up his own motivation with vague generalities of providing a “larger surface area” however the Examiner fails to even address the differential width as claimed (“wherein the first locking tab of the plurality of locking tabs has a first width and the second locking tab of the plurality of locking tabs has a second width, the first width being less than the second width”), the Examiner replies that the motivation is to increase the surface area of engagement for better fastening. The differential width is clearly addressed as Hudson teaches a lid 42 having a pair of diametrically located seal ribs 48 having a greater width than another pair of diametrically located seal ribs 48 (see fig. 10).
In response to applicant’s argument that the fact that it is a well known concept of physics that a larger surface area of engagement will lead to better fastening and not only will a larger surface area of engagement result in a decreased likelihood of misalignment between the two components, but that P=F/A such that a larger surface area of engagement leads to lower pressure concentrations are vague “scientific principles”, the Examiner responds that these are not vague scientific principles but established fundamentals of physics.
In response to applicant’s argument that it is not clear how the “well known concept of physics that a larger surface area of engagement will lead to better fastening” would lead a POSA to make one of the tabs of Aneas wider than another tab and that it is further unclear how these vague generalized statements apply to the tabs of Aneas when they have different heights based on the Examiner’s proposed modification in view of Fournier, the Examiner responds that this argument is not commensurate in scope with the rejection at hand. The “well known concept of physics” is not relied upon to lead a POSITA to make one of the tabs wider than another tab, the direct teaching of Hudson of a lid 42 having a pair of diametrically located seal ribs 48 having a greater width than another pair of diametrically located seal ribs 48 is (see fig. 10).
In response to applicant’s argument that to compensate for this lack of motivation the Office improperly and repeatedly relies on blanket statements of “design choice” which are undercut by its own motivation statement, where a “design choice” rational can be applied based on ornamentation only with no mechanical function In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947) and such an ornamental “design choice” rational cannot be applied when the claimed structure performs differently from the prior art In re Gal, 980 F.2d 717, 719 (Fed. Cir. 1992), the Examiner responds that In re Seid does not limit design choice rational to be applied based on ornamentation only with no mechanical function. The court found that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. This does not mean that the court found that design choice can only be applied to ornamentation only with no mechanical function. Further, design choice applies when old elements in the prior art perform the same function as the now claimed structures. See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975) (use of claimed feature solves no stated problem and presents no unexpected result and “would be an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art”). However, when the claimed structure performs differently from the prior art a finding of obvious design choice is precluded. In re Gal, 980 F.2d 717, 719 (Fed. Cir. 1992) (finding of obvious design choice precluded when claimed structure and the function it performs are different from the prior art). See In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 298-99 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (“design choice” is appropriate where the applicant fails to set forth any reasons why the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art would result in a different function). Here, the prior art combination performs identically to the claimed structure. Additionally, the applicant has failed to set for any reasons why the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art would result in a different function. Examiner notes that the function is identical. The plurality of locking tabs 537 of Aneas function to radially deflect inwardly under an annular collar to immobilize the cap 52 (cap assembly) on a neck.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Office attempts to rely on blanket statements of obvious to try without the required articulation, that the Examiner does not even attempt to provide sufficient rational to support his “obvious to try” rejection, that the Examiner does not articulate the problem the Examiner is attempting to solve with the differential widths nor the combination of the differential widths and the differential heights, the Examiner initially replies that the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. The Examiner articulated that the increasing the width of one pair of diametrically located locking tabs 537 in relation to the width of the other pair of diametrically located locking tabs 537 is related to the problem or need in the art of fastening the locking tabs 537. When increasing the width of one pair of diametrically disposed locking tabs 537 in relation to the width of the other pair of diametrically disposed locking tabs 537 there are only two identified, predictable solutions. One being increasing the width of the first locking tabs and the other being increasing the width of the second locking tabs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have increased the width of the second locking tabs, as it would have been obvious to try the second identified predictable solution with a reasonable expectation of success.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Office relies on a conclusory statement based on “a mere change in the size of a component” while acknowledging that the facts of the case law does not apply as the Examiner agrees that In re Rose does not apply (“this argument is no longer commensurate in scope with the rejection at hand which does not cite to In re Rose”) but still throws out unsupported conclusory statements that the motivation is obvious because it would involve a “mere change in the size of a component” which is the exact rational basis of In re Rose (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A), the Examiner initially responds that no acknowledgement was made that the facts of the case law did not apply nor agreement made that In re Rose did not apply. Examiner notes that “design choice” is appropriate where the applicant fails to set forth any reasons why the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art would result in a different function See In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 298-99 (Fed. Cir. 1995)
In response to applicant’s argument that the “mere change in the size” rational is based a holding of changing “the overall size of the article under consideration” while citing to non-precedential Ex parte Drozdenko and that In re Rose has no relevance to the relative size of one component to another component in the same article, the Examiner replies that In re Rose was not cited nor relied upon.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Office proposed modification is based on modifying Aneas with both differential widths and differential heights in combining Aneas, Fournier, and Hudson and neither In re Rose nor a conclusory statement based on “a mere change in the size of a component” can support the Office’s proposed modification, the Examiner replies that the modifications in light of Fournier and Hudson rely on motivation.
In response to applicant’s argument that the Office’s entire rejection is improperly relying on the mere possibility that a POSITA could come up with the claimed structure to result in the unrelated motivation of increasing the surface area of all of the tabs, the Examiner responds that this argument is not commensurate in scope with the rejection at hand which does not increase the surface area of all of the tabs.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to applicant’s argument that criticality is not required when the Office fails to provide a prima facie case of obviousness and that the Office seemingly takes all of these liberties in the proposed modification relying on an allegation that “no criticality has been established for the relative widths of the first and second locking tabs and as such the first and second widths appear to be design choice” and “no criticality has been established for the relative heights of the first and second locking tabs and as such the first and second heights appear to be design choice”, the Examiner replies that no liberties were taken. Nor does the Examiner allege that the prior art combination succeeds only because no criticality was established.
In response to applicant’s argument that MPEP 2142 explicitly states that “the examiner bears the initial burden of using facts and reasoning to establish a prima facie conclusion of obviousness. If the examiner does not produce a prima facie case, the applicant is under no obligation to submit evidence or arguments to show nonobviousness” such that it is a moot point that no criticality is provided because the Office has failed to provide any articulated reasoning for the various modifications, the Examiner responds that he has met the initial burden.
In response to applicant’s argument that P. 0006 provides that the variation in locking tabs addresses “manufacturing tolerances of the component parts of the seal” and “dimensional variations in the containers themselves and in the stoppers that are used [that] further complicate the closure of a batch of containers, the Examiner replies that P. 0006 states that “certain seals may not lock correctly in view of the manufacturing tolerances of the component parts of the seals and in view of the operating clearances of the presser plate. Also, the dimensional variations in the containers themselves and in the stoppers that are used further complicate the closure of a batch of containers”. P. 0006 does not discuss the locking tabs in any manner, let alone the relative widths or relative heights of first and second locking tabs, nor attribute any benefit to the relative widths or heights of first and second locking tabs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2017001459 fig. 2 is considered pertinent to hinges having a reduced width.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLAN D STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736