DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-27, 32, 35, 40, 45, 49, 51, 76-77 received on 1/9/2023 have been examined, of which claims 1, 26, 51, 76 and 77 are independent.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-23, 27, 32, 35, 40, 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2, 20, 27, 45, each recites “a different antenna panel”, preceded by “respective antenna panel”, “a first antenna panel” and “a second antenna panel”. It is unclear if a different antenna panel is different than respective, first or second antenna panel. Dependent claims are rejected for same reason.
Claim 11 recites after first limitation “or; and”. It is unclear if first and second limitations are optional (or) or not. For the purpose of examination, the examiner considers the limitation as “or”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 24, 26, 49, 51, 76 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiong et al. (US 20190364561).
Regarding claim 1, Xiong teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (abstract: method for uplink transmission for multi-panel operation; fig 4a-4h), comprising:
identifying a first set of one or more uplink communications associated with a first antenna panel of a set of antenna panels of the UE (fig 4c – left side showing CSI and HARQ using panel A; para 41: UE is equipped with two panels and can transmit two beams simultaneously, based on the multiplexing rule as mentioned above, HARQ-ACK and CSI report are multiplexed in a PUCCH using panel A or beam A);
identifying a second set of one or more uplink communications associated with a second antenna panel of the set of antenna panels (fig 4c – left side showing HARQ using panel B; para 41: UE is equipped with two panels and can transmit two beams simultaneously, HARQ-ACK is carried by PUCCH using panel B or beam B), wherein the first set of one or more uplink communications are scheduled to at least partially overlap in time with the second set of one or more uplink communications (fig 4C shows on the left side of the image that CSI using panel A overlaps with HARQ using panel A and HARQ using panel B within the slot);
resolving the overlap between the first set of one or more uplink communications and the second set of one or more uplink communications based at least in part on one or more rules for concurrent uplink communications associated with different antenna panels of the set of antenna panels (para 28: when a UE is configured or indicated to transmit PUSCH or PUCCH using multiple panels or beams, and when multiple PUSCHs using different Tx beams or panels overlap with PUCCH with single or multiple beams or panels, certain mechanisms need to be defined for multiplexing PUCCH(s) and PUSCH(s) to allow alignment between the gNB and UE; fig 4c-4h showing multiplexing rules for two panels with overlapping PUCCH and UCIs within same slot); and
transmitting, based at least in part on resolving the overlap (fig 4c-4h, right side of the image showing multiplexing rules for PUCCH and PUSCH for simultaneous transmission on two antenna panels), at least a portion of the first set of one or more uplink communications, at least a portion of the second set of one or more uplink communications, or a combination thereof via at least one of the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel (para 41-53 describe the multiplexed transmission of signals using two panels simultaneously; e.g. para 41: UE is equipped with two panels and can transmit two beams simultaneously, based on the multiplexing rule as mentioned above, HARQ-ACK and CSI report are multiplexed in a PUCCH using panel A or beam A, HARQ-ACK is carried by PUCCH using panel B or beam B; para 44: PUCCH carrying the second UCI type is dropped and UE transmits the PUCCHs carrying the first UCI type using more than beams or panels).
Regarding claim 26, Xiong teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (UE, fig 4a, 6-7; abstract: method for uplink transmission for multi-panel operation; fig 4a-4h) comprising:
memory (memory 604G, fig 6-7);
a transceiver (RF circuitry 606, fig 6); and
at least one processor of a user equipment (UE) (CPU 604E, fig 6-7), the at least one processor coupled with the memory and the transceiver (fig 6-7, para 93), and the at least one processor configured to cause the apparatus (para 92: device 600 is included in a UE) to:
identify a first set of one or more uplink communications associated with a first antenna panel of a set of antenna panels of the UE (fig 4c – left side showing CSI and HARQ using panel A; para 41: UE is equipped with two panels and can transmit two beams simultaneously, based on the multiplexing rule as mentioned above, HARQ-ACK and CSI report are multiplexed in a PUCCH using panel A or beam A);
identify a second set of one or more uplink communications associated with a second antenna panel of the set of antenna panels (fig 4c – left side showing HARQ using panel B; para 41: UE is equipped with two panels and can transmit two beams simultaneously, HARQ-ACK is carried by PUCCH using panel B or beam B), wherein the first set of one or more uplink communications are scheduled to at least partially overlap in time with the second set of one or more uplink communications (fig 4C shows on the left side of the image that CSI using panel A overlaps with HARQ using panel A and HARQ using panel B within the slot);
resolve the overlap between the first set of one or more uplink communications and the second set of one or more uplink communications based at least in part on one or more rules for concurrent uplink communications associated with different antenna panels of the set of antenna panels (para 28: when a UE is configured or indicated to transmit PUSCH or PUCCH using multiple panels or beams, and when multiple PUSCHs using different Tx beams or panels overlap with PUCCH with single or multiple beams or panels, certain mechanisms need to be defined for multiplexing PUCCH(s) and PUSCH(s) to allow alignment between the gNB and UE; fig 4c-4h showing multiplexing rules for two panels with overlapping PUCCH and UCIs within same slot); and
transmit, via the transceiver and based at least in part on resolving the overlap (fig 4c-4h, right side of the image showing multiplexing rules for PUCCH and PUSCH for simultaneous transmission on two antenna panels), at least a portion of the first set of one or more uplink communications, at least a portion of the second set of one or more uplink communications, or a combination thereof via at least one of the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel (para 41-53 describe the multiplexed transmission of signals using two panels simultaneously; e.g. para 41: UE is equipped with two panels and can transmit two beams simultaneously, based on the multiplexing rule as mentioned above, HARQ-ACK and CSI report are multiplexed in a PUCCH using panel A or beam A, HARQ-ACK is carried by PUCCH using panel B or beam B; para 44: PUCCH carrying the second UCI type is dropped and UE transmits the PUCCHs carrying the first UCI type using more than beams or panels).
Regarding claim 51, Xiong teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE, fig 4a, 6-7; abstract: method for uplink transmission for multi-panel operation; fig 4a-4h), comprising:
means (CPU 604E, fig 6-7) for identifying a first set of one or more uplink communications associated with a first antenna panel of a set of antenna panels of the UE (fig 4c – left side showing CSI and HARQ using panel A; para 41: UE is equipped with two panels and can transmit two beams simultaneously, based on the multiplexing rule as mentioned above, HARQ-ACK and CSI report are multiplexed in a PUCCH using panel A or beam A);
means (CPU 604E, fig 6-7) for identifying a second set of one or more uplink communications associated with a second antenna panel of the set of antenna panels (fig 4c – left side showing HARQ using panel B; para 41: UE is equipped with two panels and can transmit two beams simultaneously, HARQ-ACK is carried by PUCCH using panel B or beam B), wherein the first set of one or more uplink communications are scheduled to at least partially overlap in time with the second set of one or more uplink communications (fig 4C shows on the left side of the image that CSI using panel A overlaps with HARQ using panel A and HARQ using panel B within the slot);
means (CPU 604E, fig 6-7) for resolving the overlap between the first set of one or more uplink communications and the second set of one or more uplink communications based at least in part on one or more rules for concurrent uplink communications associated with different antenna panels of the set of antenna panels (para 28: when a UE is configured or indicated to transmit PUSCH or PUCCH using multiple panels or beams, and when multiple PUSCHs using different Tx beams or panels overlap with PUCCH with single or multiple beams or panels, certain mechanisms need to be defined for multiplexing PUCCH(s) and PUSCH(s) to allow alignment between the gNB and UE; fig 4c-4h showing multiplexing rules for two panels with overlapping PUCCH and UCIs within same slot); and
means (RF circuitry 606, fig 6) for transmitting, based at least in part on resolving the overlap (fig 4c-4h, right side of the image showing multiplexing rules for PUCCH and PUSCH for simultaneous transmission on two antenna panels), at least a portion of the first set of one or more uplink communications, at least a portion of the second set of one or more uplink communications, or a combination thereof via at least one of the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel (para 41-53 describe the multiplexed transmission of signals using two panels simultaneously; e.g. para 41: UE is equipped with two panels and can transmit two beams simultaneously, based on the multiplexing rule as mentioned above, HARQ-ACK and CSI report are multiplexed in a PUCCH using panel A or beam A, HARQ-ACK is carried by PUCCH using panel B or beam B; para 44: PUCCH carrying the second UCI type is dropped and UE transmits the PUCCHs carrying the first UCI type using more than beams or panels).
Regarding claim 76, Xiong teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium (memory 604G, fig 6-7) storing code for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), the code comprising instructions executable by a processor (para 94: some or all of the functionality of baseband processors 604A-D may be included in modules stored in the memory 604G and executed via a Central Processing Unit (CPU) 604E) to:
identify a first set of one or more uplink communications associated with a first antenna panel of a set of antenna panels of the UE (fig 4c – left side showing CSI and HARQ using panel A; para 41: UE is equipped with two panels and can transmit two beams simultaneously, based on the multiplexing rule as mentioned above, HARQ-ACK and CSI report are multiplexed in a PUCCH using panel A or beam A);
identify a second set of one or more uplink communications associated with a second antenna panel of the set of antenna panels (fig 4c – left side showing HARQ using panel B; para 41: UE is equipped with two panels and can transmit two beams simultaneously, HARQ-ACK is carried by PUCCH using panel B or beam B), wherein the first set of one or more uplink communications are scheduled to at least partially overlap in time with the second set of one or more uplink communications (fig 4C shows on the left side of the image that CSI using panel A overlaps with HARQ using panel A and HARQ using panel B within the slot);
resolve the overlap between the first set of one or more uplink communications and the second set of one or more uplink communications based at least in part on one or more rules for concurrent uplink communications associated with different antenna panels of the set of antenna panels (para 28: when a UE is configured or indicated to transmit PUSCH or PUCCH using multiple panels or beams, and when multiple PUSCHs using different Tx beams or panels overlap with PUCCH with single or multiple beams or panels, certain mechanisms need to be defined for multiplexing PUCCH(s) and PUSCH(s) to allow alignment between the gNB and UE; fig 4c-4h showing multiplexing rules for two panels with overlapping PUCCH and UCIs within same slot); and
transmit, based at least in part on resolving the overlap (fig 4c-4h, right side of the image showing multiplexing rules for PUCCH and PUSCH for simultaneous transmission on two antenna panels), at least a portion of the first set of one or more uplink communications, at least a portion of the second set of one or more uplink communications, or a combination thereof via at least one of the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel (para 41-53 describe the multiplexed transmission of signals using two panels simultaneously; e.g. para 41: UE is equipped with two panels and can transmit two beams simultaneously, based on the multiplexing rule as mentioned above, HARQ-ACK and CSI report are multiplexed in a PUCCH using panel A or beam A, HARQ-ACK is carried by PUCCH using panel B or beam B; para 44: PUCCH carrying the second UCI type is dropped and UE transmits the PUCCHs carrying the first UCI type using more than beams or panels).
Regarding claim 24 and 49, Xiong further teaches receiving (via the transceiver - (RF circuitry 606, fig 6)) a second indication of a feedback mode for transmitting acknowledgement information for downlink communications associated with the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel (para 30: PDCCHs scheduling UL transmissions including HARQ-ACK and PUSCH for slot n; fig 4B showing DL grant for PDSCH, causing the HARQ-ACK; fig 4C, 4D and 4E show HARQ-ACK for panel A and HARQ-ACK for panel B within same slot), wherein resolving the overlap is based at least in part on the second indication (fig 4C, 4D and 4E show HARQ-ACK for panel A and HARQ-ACK for panel B within same slot on left side which are overlapping in time domain and para 41, 43, 45 describe the multiplexing rule for HARQ-ACK of each panel with CSI information to resolve the overlap, which is based on the HARQ-ACK transmission schedule).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 19, 25, 27, 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (US 20190364561) in view of Han et al. (US 20120008577)
Regarding claim 77, Xiong teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (abstract: method for uplink transmission for multi-panel operation; fig 4a-4h), comprising:
an indication (para 47: when a UE is configured or indicated to transmit PUSCHs using one or more than one Tx beams or panels; multiplexing rules in para 48, 50, 52) of whether the UE is allowed to transmit uplink control information associated with a respective antenna panel of a set of antenna panels via a different antenna panel of the set of antenna panels (fig 4F, 4G and 4H; para 47-52: when PUSCHs overlap with PUCCH carrying UCI using one or more than one Tx beams or panels in a slot, and based on multiplexing rule, UCI is multiplexed on both PUSCHs using different beams or panels, UCI is multiplexed on the PUSCH using panel A, e.g., the same panel configured for PUCCH transmission, or UCI is multiplexed on the PUSCH using panel B which has lower frequency resource than the PUSCH using panel A);
identifying a first set of one or more uplink communications associated with a first antenna panel of the set of antenna panels of the UE (fig 4c – left side showing CSI and HARQ using panel A; para 41: UE is equipped with two panels and can transmit two beams simultaneously, based on the multiplexing rule as mentioned above, HARQ-ACK and CSI report are multiplexed in a PUCCH using panel A or beam A);
identifying a second set of one or more uplink communications associated with the second antenna panel of the set of antenna panels (fig 4c – left side showing HARQ using panel B; para 41: UE is equipped with two panels and can transmit two beams simultaneously, HARQ-ACK is carried by PUCCH using panel B or beam B), wherein the first set of one or more uplink communications are scheduled to at least partially overlap in time with the second set of one or more uplink communications (fig 4C shows on the left side of the image that CSI using panel A overlaps with HARQ using panel A and HARQ using panel B within the slot);
resolving the overlap between the first set of one or more uplink communications and the second set of one or more uplink communications based at least in part on the indication (para 28: when a UE is configured or indicated to transmit PUSCH or PUCCH using multiple panels or beams, and when multiple PUSCHs using different Tx beams or panels overlap with PUCCH with single or multiple beams or panels, certain mechanisms need to be defined for multiplexing PUCCH(s) and PUSCH(s) to allow alignment between the gNB and UE; fig 4c-4h showing multiplexing rules for two panels with overlapping PUCCH and UCIs within same slot; para 48, 50, 52 describing multiplexing rule for transmitting UCI in same, all or different panel than PUCCH); and
transmitting, based at least in part on resolving the overlap (fig 4c-4h, right side of the image showing multiplexing rules for PUCCH and PUSCH for simultaneous transmission on two antenna panels), at least a portion of the first set of one or more uplink communications, at least a portion of the second set of one or more uplink communications, or a combination thereof via at least one of the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel (para 41-53 describe the multiplexed transmission of signals using two panels simultaneously; e.g. para 41: UE is equipped with two panels and can transmit two beams simultaneously, based on the multiplexing rule as mentioned above, HARQ-ACK and CSI report are multiplexed in a PUCCH using panel A or beam A, HARQ-ACK is carried by PUCCH using panel B or beam B; para 44: PUCCH carrying the second UCI type is dropped and UE transmits the PUCCHs carrying the first UCI type using more than beams or panels).
Xiong teaches the uplink transmission for multi-panel operation, including UE being configured or indicated to transmit PUSCH or PUCCH using multiple panels or beams, and when multiple PUSCHs using different Tx beams or panels overlap with PUCCH with single or multiple beams or panels, certain mechanisms need to be defined for multiplexing PUCCH(s) and PUSCH(s) to allow alignment between the gNB and UE. Thus, the reference teaches the indication of multi-antenna configuration if UCI of one antenna can be transmitted by another antenna, but does not teach that UE receives the configuration or indication. Han is directed to operation of terminal with multi-antenna configuration.
Han further teaches receiving an indication of the set of antenna panels (abstract: receiving configuration information for multi-antenna transmission from a base station; configuring a multi-antenna transmission mode in accordance with the received configuration information; and transmitting an uplink channel having a plurality of symbols to the base station through multiple antennas; fig 19-20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine uplink transmission and multiplexing rules for multi-antenna panel UE as taught by Xiong with transmission of configuration for multi-antenna to UE as taught by Han for the benefit of enabling terminal to perform uplink transmission via multiple antennas as taught by Han in para 23.
Regarding claim 2 and 27, Xiong teaches the limitation of the parent claim.
Xiong further teaches an indication (para 47: when a UE is configured or indicated to transmit PUSCHs using one or more than one Tx beams or panels; multiplexing rules in para 48, 50, 52) of whether the UE is allowed to transmit uplink control information associated with a respective antenna panel of the set of antenna panels via a different antenna panel of the set of antenna panels (fig 4F, 4G and 4H; para 47-52: when PUSCHs overlap with PUCCH carrying UCI using one or more than one Tx beams or panels in a slot, and based on multiplexing rule, UCI is multiplexed on both PUSCHs using different beams or panels, UCI is multiplexed on the PUSCH using panel A, e.g., the same panel configured for PUCCH transmission, or UCI is multiplexed on the PUSCH using panel B which has lower frequency resource than the PUSCH using panel A), wherein resolving the overlap is based at least in part on the indication (para 48, 50, 52 describing multiplexing rule for transmitting UCI in same, all or different panel than PUCCH).
Xiong teaches the uplink transmission for multi-panel operation, including UE being configured or indicated to transmit PUSCH or PUCCH using multiple panels or beams, and when multiple PUSCHs using different Tx beams or panels overlap with PUCCH with single or multiple beams or panels, certain mechanisms need to be defined for multiplexing PUCCH(s) and PUSCH(s) to allow alignment between the gNB and UE. Thus, the reference teaches the indication of multi-antenna configuration if UCI of one antenna can be transmitted by another antenna, but does not teach that UE receives the configuration or indication. Han is directed to operation of terminal with multi-antenna configuration.
Han further teaches receiving (via the transceiver) an indication of the set of antenna panels (abstract: receiving configuration information for multi-antenna transmission from a base station; configuring a multi-antenna transmission mode in accordance with the received configuration information; and transmitting an uplink channel having a plurality of symbols to the base station through multiple antennas; fig 19-20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine uplink transmission and multiplexing rules for multi-antenna panel UE as taught by Xiong with transmission of configuration for multi-antenna to UE as taught by Han for the benefit of enabling terminal to perform uplink transmission via multiple antennas as taught by Han in para 23.
Regarding claim 3, Xiong further teaches
determining, based at least in part on the indication (multiplexing rule in para 48 and 52), that the UE is allowed to transmit uplink control information associated with the second antenna panel via the first antenna panel (fig 4F -PUCCH of panel A is transmitted as UCI on panel a and b; and 4H- pucch on panel a is transmitted on panel b), wherein the transmitting comprises:
transmitting, via the first antenna panel, an uplink channel that includes the uplink control information associated with the second antenna panel (fig 4F- PUCCH of panel A is transmitted on panel a and b; and 4H- pucch on panel a is transmitted on panel b).
Regarding claim 4, Xiong further teaches wherein the transmitting further comprises: refraining, based at least in part on transmitting the uplink channel via the first antenna panel that includes the uplink control information associated with the second antenna panel, from transmitting an uplink control channel via the second antenna panel (as shown in fig 4H and described in para 51-52, the pucch on panel a is transmitted on panel b is only transmitted on panel b, thus refrained from transmitting on panel a).
Regarding claim 5, Xiong further teaches wherein the transmitting further comprises: transmitting an uplink shared channel via the second antenna panel at least partially concurrently with transmitting the uplink channel via the first antenna panel (as shown in fig 4H and described in para 51-52, the PUSCH on panel a is transmitted on panel a, concurrently (overlapping) with UCI and PUSCH transmitted on panel b).
Regarding claim 6, Xiong further teaches
determining, based at least in part on the indication (multiplexing rule in para 48 and 50), that uplink control information associated with the second antenna panel must be transmitted via the second antenna panel (fig 4F -PUCCH of panel A is transmitted as UCI on panel a and b; and 4G- PUCCH on panel a is transmitted as UCI on panel a), wherein the transmitting comprises:
transmitting the uplink control information associated with the second antenna panel within an uplink channel via the second antenna panel (fig 4F -PUCCH of panel A is transmitted as UCI on panel a and b; and 4G- PUCCH on panel a is transmitted as UCI on panel a).
Regarding claim 19, Xiong further teaches wherein the indication (para 47: when a UE is configured or indicated to transmit PUSCHs using one or more than one Tx beams or panels; multiplexing rules in para 48, 50, 52) of whether the UE is allowed to transmit the uplink control information associated with the respective antenna panel of the set of antenna panels via the different antenna panel of the set of antenna panels (fig 4F, 4G and 4H; para 47-52: when PUSCHs overlap with PUCCH carrying UCI using one or more than one Tx beams or panels in a slot, and based on multiplexing rule, UCI is multiplexed on both PUSCHs using different beams or panels, UCI is multiplexed on the PUSCH using panel A, e.g., the same panel configured for PUCCH transmission, or UCI is multiplexed on the PUSCH using panel B which has lower frequency resource than the PUSCH using panel A) comprises a radio resource control parameter (para 34: for a PUCCH resource, the UE panel can be indicated by RRC; fig 3, configuration message including panel index information for PUCCH or PUSCH).
Regarding claim 25, Xiong teaches the UE operation and multiplexing rules for overlapping signals of two antenna panels for UE. Xiong does not specify that antenna panel of multi-antenna UE correspond to MIMO. Han is directed to operation of terminal with multi-antenna configuration.
Han further teaches the first antenna panel corresponds to a first input or output for multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) communications by the UE (fig 19; para 135); and
the second antenna panel corresponds to a second input or output for MIMO communications by the UE (fig 19, para 135: the base station signals information regarding the multi-antenna transmission mode to the UE (S1920), including information indicating whether or not a MIMO transmission scheme is used, the MIMO transmission scheme, the number of antennas that require channel estimation, and the like, the information regarding the multi-antenna transmission mode may include information indicating whether or not transmit diversity (TxD) is used. In this case, the information regarding the multi-antenna transmission mode may indicate whether or not 1-TxD, 2-TxD, 4-TxD, or the like are used). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine uplink transmission and multiplexing rules for multi-antenna panel UE as taught by Xiong with transmission of configuration for multi-antenna to UE as taught by Han for the benefit of enabling terminal to perform uplink transmission via multiple antennas as taught by Han in para 23.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-18, 20-23, 32, 35, 40, 45 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
- Cheng et al. (US 20200205150): (related to priority limitations in claims 7-18, 20-23, 32, 35, 40, 45) : para 95-98: the UE may perform PUCCH transmission through more than one UE antenna panels, if the priority level of the overlapped PUCCH resources are different, the UE may drop a PUCCH resource based on its priority order (e.g., a UCI type priority of HARQ-ACK>SR>CSI with higher priority>CSI with lower priority). Different panels/TRPs may be applied with different priority level or a common priority level may be applied for all panels/TRPs. In one implementation, an intra-slot repetition PUCCH may have a higher priority than other physical channels such as another PUCCH with/without inter-slot repetition, dynamic grant PUSCH, or configured grant PUSCH.
- Zhang et al. (US 20190327691): para 169: scaling power of each antenna panel comprises: scaling down power of a first antenna panel associated with a first uplink transmission, wherein a second antenna panel is associated with a second uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission has a priority that is higher than a priority of the first uplink transmission.
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 12/22/2025