DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed on February 4, 2026 is acknowledged. The response improperly indicates that claims 13-16 and 18-20 are withdrawn. The claims are no longer withdrawn as a result of the Petition Decision mailed on November 5, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 6, lines 1-2, the recitation “wherein the wherein the” is grammatically incorrect.
In claim 9, line 2, the recitation “defined” appears to be grammatically incorrect and inconsistent with the tense used in the other claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 16, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Micheli (2006/0065760).
Micheli discloses a nozzle assembly comprising:
a nozzle body 24;
a bearing (85 in the figures; bearing 84 in paragraph 0023) secured inside the nozzle body and defining a circular aperture; and
a turbine element 26, 28, 84 journaled inside the bearing, the turbine element defining an internal passage 30, 34, 36 configured to convey a fluid, the internal passage having a rifled profile (at grooves 36), wherein the turbine element comprises a nozzle tip 28, 38 having a nozzle opening (opening of sleeve 28) formed in an end face (downstream face of sleeve 28) of the nozzle tip, the nozzle opening being in fluid communication with the internal passage;
wherein the turbine element gas a generally cylindrical exterior surface (exterior cylindrical surface defined by the rotor 84);
wherein the nozzle body defines a circular aperture in which the turbine element is journaled (aperture accommodating bearing 85);
wherein the nozzle body defines a first annular shelf (part of housing 24 downstream of the forward bearing 85; see figures 3 and 4), and wherein the bearing abuts against the first annular shelf to prevent longitudinal movement of the bearing;
wherein the wherein the nozzle body defines a second annular shelf 94 coaxial with the first annular shelf, and wherein the nozzle assembly further comprises an annular seal 92 within the nozzle body and abutting the second annular shelf to retain the bearing in the nozzle body (the bearing is retained via the end surface 94, shaft 26 and retaining ring around the aft end of shaft 26; see figures 3 and 4);
wherein the turbine element defines a shoulder (outer diameter of rotor 84) having a diameter greater than a diameter of the aperture;
wherein the turbine element defined a circumferential groove (circumferential groove at the aft end of shaft 26 (see figures 3 and 4), and wherein the nozzle assembly further comprises a retaining clip (shown at the aft end of shaft 26 in figures 3 and 4), the retaining clip operable to prevent longitudinal displacement of the turbine element with respect to the aperture;
wherein the rifled profile extends to the end face (see figures 3-6);
wherein the rifled profile comprises a plurality of radially directed channels extending to the end face (see figures 3-6);
wherein the turbine element if configured to rotate inside the bearing around a rotational axis thereof, the rotational axis aligned with the internal passage (see figures 3 and 4);
wherein the rifled profile is configured to discharge jets of the fluid off-center from the rotational axis of the turbine element (shown in dotted lines in figures 5 and 6).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsieh (8,807,453).
Hsieh discloses a nozzle assembly comprising:
a nozzle body 1;
a bearing 22 secured inside the nozzle body and defining a circular aperture; and
a nozzle tip 21, 4 journaled inside the bearing, the nozzle tip having a nozzle opening (outlet opening of passage 43) formed in an end face (downstream end face of head 42) of the nozzle tip, the nozzle tip defining a fluid-conveying passage 213, 43 having a surface profile (spiral profile of passage 43; col. 2, ll. 47-48) configured to interact with a fluid passing through the passage to apply a torque upon the nozzle tip.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steinhilber et al. (6,193,169).
Steinhilber discloses a nozzle assembly comprising:
a nozzle body 2;
a bearing 6, 23, 25, 28 secured inside the nozzle body and defining a circular aperture; and
a nozzle tip 13, 17, 18, 22, 26 journaled inside the bearing, the nozzle tip having a nozzle opening 41 formed in an end face (face of ring 37) of the nozzle tip, the nozzle tip defining a fluid-conveying passage 14 having a surface profile (obliquely inclined profile; col. 2, l. 67) configured to interact with a fluid passing through the passage to apply a torque upon the nozzle tip;
wherein the surface profile is rifled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 13, 16, 18, 19, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramos, Sr. (7,963,462) in view of Hsieh (8,807,453) or Micheli (2006/0065760).
Ramos, Sr. discloses a nozzle assembly for use with an agricultural crop sprayer, the nozzle assembly comprising:
a nozzle body 38;
a bearing (see figure 5) defining a circular aperture;
a turbine element 40, the turbine element defining an enteral passage (internal passage of second portion 40) configured to convey a fluid (not positively recited), the internal passage having a rifled profile (profile defined by fins 42), wherein the turbine element comprises a nozzle tip (tip of second portion 40) having a nozzle opening 28 formed in an end face (downstream end face of second portion 40) of the nozzle tip, the nozzle opening being in fluid communication with the internal passage.
Ramos, Sr. discloses the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of the bearing being secured inside the nozzle body and the turbine element being journaled inside the bearing. In Ramos, Sr., the bearing is inside the turbine element and the nozzle body is inside the bearing. Placing the bearing inside the nozzle body and placing the turbine element inside the bearing is merely a reversal of parts.
Hsieh discloses a nozzle body 1, a bearing 22 secured inside the nozzle body and defining a circular aperture, and a nozzle tip 21, 4. The spinning nozzle tip 21, 4 is journaled inside the bearing 22.
Micheli discloses a nozzle body 24, a bearing 85 (bearing 84 in paragraph 0023) secured inside the nozzle body and defining a circular aperture, and a turbine element 26, 84 journaled inside the bearing.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have reversed the nozzle body 38 and the turbine element 40 in Ramos, Sr., since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. MPEP 2144.04.VI.A. Hsieh and Micheli disclose a turbine element/nozzle tip being journaled inside a bearing that is inside a nozzle body. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have reversed the nozzle body 38 and the turbine element 40 in Ramos, Sr. as taught by Hsieh or Micheli to utilize two bearing for increased strength and support.
Ramos, Sr. further discloses,
wherein the turbine element has a generally cylindrical exterior surface;
wherein the nozzle body defines a circular aperture in which the turbine element is journaled (inherent when the nozzle body 38 and the turbine element 40 are reversed);
wherein the nozzle body defines a first annular shelf (the annular shelf of turbine element 40 would be on the nozzle body 38 when the parts are reversed), and wherein the bearing abuts against the first annular shelf to prevent longitudinal movement of the bearing;
wherein the turbine element defines a shoulder (shoulder of nozzle body 38 that cradles the bearing would be on the turbine element 40 when the parts are reversed) having a diameter greater than a diameter of the aperture;
wherein the turbine element is configured to rotate inside the bearing around a rotational axis thereof, the rotational axis aligned with the internal passage;
wherein the rifled profile is configured to discharge jets (through apertures 30, 32) of the fluid off-center from the rotational axis of the turbine element.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 14, 15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the rotating portion 40 must be redesigned to have a smaller diameter than the first portion 38, and the bearing must be relocated. Applicant further argues that the characteristics of the flow will necessarily change when the dimensions of the parts change, as well as the assembly procedure. Finally, Applicant argues that the Examiner has not identified any reason why a person having ordinary skill in the art would have modified the design of Ramos. Any reversal of parts involves some degree of redesign. In Ramos, the rotating portion 40 is a female connection and the first portion 38 is a male connection. Making the rotating portion 40 a male connection and the first portion 38 a female connection is merely a reversal of parts. In either configuration, the bearing remains between the rotating portion 40 and the first portion 38. Reversal of parts is an obvious modification. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reverse parts for mere design change.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER S KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 CHRISTOPHER S. KIM
Examiner
Art Unit 3752
CK