Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukamoto et al (JP H06-310147 A; all citations refer to the English translation attached to the office action mailed July 23, 2025) in view of Nagata et al. (US 2021/0273232 A1), Liu et al. ("Structure and mechanical properties of iron foil electrodeposited in super gravity field," Surface & Coatings Technology 204(20), pp. 3135-3140, July 2010), Ueda (US 2012/0202101 A1), and Unno et al. (US 2018/0229476 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tsukamoto teaches an electrolytic iron foil with a thickness of 35 µm or less (Tsukamoto Claim 1), which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Tsukamoto does not teach any particular crystallite size. Nagata teaches that surface hardness should be as low as possible to improve penetration of the electrode material and electrical characteristics of the battery (Nagata [0085]). Liu teaches that the strength and hardness of metal foils is controlled by grain size (Liu Introduction and Fig. 7). Liu teaches that grain size is calculated using the Scherrer equation (for calculating crystallite size) using the (110) peak of iron at approximately 2θ=45° (Liu 3.3. Crystal structure, final paragraph; and Fig. 5a). Crystallite size is therefore a recognized result-effective variable for controlling foil hardness. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to optimize crystallite size as measured by Liu to achieve the appropriate foil hardness, including values within the range of the instant claim.
Tsukamoto does not teach that the iron content of the foil is at least 80 wt%. Tsukamoto teaches that iron is desirable because it is extremely inexpensive (Tsukamoto [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use as much iron as possible, including more than 80 wt%, to reduce the price of the foil as much as possible.
Modified Tsukamoto does not teach any particular crystal grain size. Ueda teaches that the negative electrode current collector should have an elongation of 5-15% to prevent separation of the active material and damage to the current collector during bending of the battery (Ueda [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select an elongation of 5-15% to prevent separation of the active material and damage to the current collector.
Unno teaches that, in order to achieve elongation ~10µm for thin foils, grain size should be 1-10 µm (Unno Abstract, [0027], and [0040]-[0041]), which falls within the range of the instant claim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a grain size in the range taught by Unno to achieve the desired elongation described by Ueda.
Regarding claim 2, modified Tsukamoto does not teach any particular orientation index of the surfaces. However, at least one orientation index must necessarily be at least 1, since perfectly random orientations would match the theoretical values, and any deviation from perfect randomness will necessarily result in at least one of the values increasing.
Regarding claim 4, modified Tsukamoto does not teach any particular elongation. Ueda teaches that the negative electrode current collector should have an elongation of 5-15%, which falls within the range of the instant claim, to prevent separation of the active material and damage to the current collector during bending of the battery (Ueda [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select an elongation of 5-15% to prevent separation of the active material and damage to the current collector.
Regarding claim 5, modified Tsukamoto teaches that tensile strength should be more than 500 MPa (Nagata [0010]), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, modified Tsukamoto teaches that the foil is used as a current collector in a non-aqueous battery (Tsukamoto [0011]-[0014]).
Conclusion
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722