Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2022/0209321 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a battery module (battery module 100) comprising stacked pouch battery cells (battery cells 10), a busbar (busbar 95) coupled to the leads of the cells, a housing (cover 91 of busbar assembly 90a) configured to fix the position of the busbar, and a sensing unit (sensing device 80) attached to the inner and outer faces of the housing (Lee Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 2, the sensing unit wraps around the upper edge of the housing (Lee Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Lee does not teach that the sensing unit is electrically connected to the busbar at the second surface of the housing. Lee teaches that the sensing unit is electrically connected to circuit board 98 on the second surface of the housing (Lee [0075] and Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to power the circuit using the battery, which would require a connection to the busbar.
Regarding claim 6, Lee does not teach that the sensing unit is a FPCB. Lee teaches that the sensing unit may be a FPCB (Lee [0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use a FPCB, since that is the only option provided by Lee.
Regarding claim 9, Lee does not disclose an electronic device using the battery module as an energy source. Lee teaches that the battery is intended for use in an electronic device (Lee [0003]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use the battery module as a power source for an electronic device, since Lee teaches that that is its intended purpose.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (US 2014/0349181 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Lee does not teach any particular tab width. Lim teaches that tab leads on batteries with oppositely arranged positive and negative leads should be as wide as possible, particularly 10-80% of the width of the electrodes, to minimize resistance (Lim [0015] and [0019]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a tab width in this range in order to minimize resistance and to keep housing width as close as possible to electrode width in order to maximize space utilization. This will result it tabs approximately 10-80% of the width of the housing, which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 5, Lee does not teach any particular tab width. Lim teaches that tab leads on batteries with oppositely arranged positive and negative leads should be as wide as possible, particularly 10-80% of the width of the electrodes, to minimize resistance (Lim [0015] and [0019]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a tab width in this range in order to minimize resistance and to keep pouch width as close as possible to electrode width in order to maximize space utilization. This will result it tabs approximately 10-80% of the width of the pouch, which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moon et al. (US 2016/0315356 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Lee does not teach a terminal connector coupled to the sensing unit. However, terminal connectors for battery circuits are a well-known means of retrieving data from associated sensors. See, for example, Moon Figs. 1-3 and [0010]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use any conventional connection means, including the connector of Moon, to retrieve data from the sensors of Lee.
Regarding claim 8, the connector of modified Lee is elongated in the stacking direction (Moon Fig. 3).
Conclusion
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722