DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species Escherichia coli in the reply filed on 07/7/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-14 are pending and under current examination.
All rejections not reiterated have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
This is a new matter rejection. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, the examiner is unable to locate support in the application, as filed, for a step where the lyophilized antigen is solubilized at ambient temperature. The application makes several references to incubating the antigen with the cationic nanoparticles at ambient; however, no step of solubilizing the antigen at ambient temperature is disclosed. Clarification is requested.
.Claims depending from rejected claims have also been rejected because they incorporate all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend, but fail to resolve the new matter concerns outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Miguel (FR 2803526; publication date: 07/13/2001; citing the English machine translation; cited in the IDS filed 01/10/2023) in view of Bauer et al. (US 8,236,522; issue date: 08/07/2012).
The claim are examined in view of the elected species of pathogen/antigen: Escherichia coli.
De Miguel discloses polysaccharide particles (abstract) formed from polysaccharides or oligosaccharides such as dextran, chitosan, starch, amylose, cellulose, polygalactose, polymannose and their derivatives (page 2) which can be crosslinked and are made charged by reaction with negatively or positively charged groups (page 3). To impart a positive charge to the polysaccharide particle, it can be reacted with, inter alia, quaternary ammonium compounds (page 3). The polysaccharides are useful for oral delivery of actives including antigens for a vaccine (page 4). The active may be introduced into the polymer matrices at different stages of manufacture, depending on charge and hydrophobicity (page 4).
With regard to instant claim 1, On pages 5-9, De Miguel discloses several example methods of forming the polysaccharide particles, loaded with active agent and/or negatively charged phospholipid. Examples 3, 6, and 9 altogether, describe amphotericin B combined with the cationic polysaccharide matrix particles. Example 3 describes preparation of submicron cationic hydrophilic matrices: Inter alia, maltodextrin is crosslinked with epichorohydrin then formed into particles that are combined with the quaternary ammonium compound glycidyltrimethylammonium. Particles thus formed are homogenized to a size of less than 100 and purified by filtration (page 5). In example 6 the submicron cationic amphiphilic matrices of example 3 are associated with anionic phospholipid (dipalmitoylphosphatidylglycerol; page 6). In example 9, an aqueous solution containing the particles formed in example 6 are stirred in a water bath (i.e. an aqueous solution comprising a cationic nanoparticle consisting of a porous cationic polysaccharide core is provided), and this is combined with a solution of amphotericin B followed by stirring for 2 hours (i.e. an active agent is added to the aqueous solution), which results in association of amphotericin B with the particles (page 8).
De Miguel does not disclose that the vaccine antigen has been lyophilized nor is the elected species of antigen, Escherichia coli, disclosed.
Bauer discloses a bacterial extract as a vaccine to reduce incidence of digestive or urinary tract infections cause by Escherichia coli (E. coli) that contain lysates of E. coli (title, abstract, col 1, lines 27-31) for oral delivery (col 9, lines 5-7). The lysate of E. coli is lyophilized then recovered (col 23, lines 30-60). Bauer then teaches oral administration of this lyophilizate (see e.g. col 27, lines 57-59).
It would have been prima facie obvious to formulate the lyophilized lysate of E. coli described by Bauer into De Miguel’s vehicle. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to provide the advantages described by De Miguel of stability and protection from the surrounding environment as well as controlled delivery (page 4). The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because De Miguel indicates the vehicle to be suitable for antigens for a vaccine (page 4).
With regard to the limitation recited in instant claim 1, as amended, requiring “solubilizing the at least on lyophilized antigen at ambient temperature”, the examiner notes that in De Miguel’s examples, using highly hydrophobic drugs, the step of solubilizing the active substance is performed above room temperature. The examiner also points out that De Miguel teaches that the active agent is in solution when it is associated with the particles. Thus, the artisan having ordinary skill, a highly intelligent person with e.g. a Ph.D. degree, would have sought to ensure that the active agent is dissolved when it is combined with the particles in De Miguel’s method.
Bauer teaches that the E. coli lysates can be dissolved in water at room temperature: “the extracts were dissolved … in distilled water” (col 29, lines 7-9).
It would have been prima facie obvious to carry out the solubilizing step taught by Miguel at whatever temperature was required to solubilize the specific active agent in question. In the case of the E. coli extracts taught by Bauer, one having ordinary skill would have recognized that this step may be carried out at room temperature, and the heating step used to solubilize amphotericin or estradiol valerate because the E. coli lyophilizate is soluble in water at ambient temperature. For this reason, the examiner does not consider the requirement that the solubilizing step occur at ambient temperature to patentably define over the cited prior art. See also MPEP 2144.05(II): Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With regard to claim 2, upon addition of the freeze-dried E. coli lysate, noted above, the aqueous solution would contain an antigenic protein from E. coli.
With regard to claim 3, De Miguel discloses an example in which the polysaccharide is not crosslinked (see example 12).
With regard to claims 3, 4, and 6, as noted above an example polysaccharide core is formed with maltodextrin and the quaternary ammonium compound glycidyltrimethylammonium.
With regard to claims 4 and 5, as noted above, the polysaccharide is crosslinked with epichlorohydrin.
With regard to claims 7-9, in the example noted above, the particle is charged with dipalmitoylphosphatidylglycerol.
With regard to claim 10, in other examples the particles are not charged with lipid, see e.g. example 2. The examiner considers this an obvious variant of the procedure disclosed by De Miguel.
With regard to claims 11-14, the antigen in the method rendered obvious by De Miguel and Bauer is a lysate (i.e. an extract) of the bacterial pathogen, Escherichia coli.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 9, Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the limitation recited in amended claim 1 requiring the solubilizing step to occur at ambient temperature.
Please see the rejection above, the examiner respectfully disagrees with this position. De Miguel teaches solubilizing the active agent and describes heating active agents that have very low water solubility. One having ordinary skill would have understood that the temperatures can vary (80C for amphotericin vs. 37C for estradiol valerate), and would have understood from Bauer that a heating step would not be needed in order for the E. coli lyophilizate to dissolve in water. Thus, it would have been obvious to solubilize the lyophilized antigen at ambient temperature.
On page 10, Applicant argues that De Miguel does not provide expectation of success that the lyophilized antigen may be solubilized in aqueous solution comprising a cationic nanoparticle etc., let alone to solubilize the lyophilized antigen at room temperature and that Bauer merely teaches that the extract may be lyophilized prior to formulating it for use an dis silent on how to formulate and solubilize the lyophilized extract let alone to solubilize the lyophilized extract at an ambient temperature.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding the allegation that the artisan of ordinary skill would have lacked reasonable expectation of success, see In re O’Farrell, 853 F.2d 894, 7 USPQ2d 1673 (Fed. Cir. 1988) and MPEP 2143: "Obviousness does not require absolute predictability of success.” In the instant case, as explained in the rejection, the artisan of ordinary skill would have been highly intelligent and experienced, and would have been able to draw from the combined teachings of De Miguel and Bauer that the E coli lysate could be dissolved in water at room temperature for the step of combining with the polymer particles. Further expectation of success is drawn from De Miguel who discloses that the method can be used to form vaccine formulations.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 6759060;
claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 6342226;
claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 6214621;
claims 1-48 of U.S. Patent No. 6017513;
claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 6096291; and
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9731005
in view of Miguel (FR 2803526; publication date: 07/13/2001; citing the English machine translation; cited in the IDS filed 01/10/2023) in view of Bauer et al. (US 8,236,522; issue date: 08/07/2012).
Inter alia, the claims of the cited patents embrace a particle for vaccine or biologically active agent delivery comprising a solid nanoparticle formed from a polysaccharide selected from dextran, a dextrin, and a maltodextrin and a cationic group such as a quaternary ammonium group and further associated with a negatively charged phospholipid.
The claims of the cited patents do not disclose a method for forming the solid particle component.
De Miguel discloses polysaccharide particles (abstract) formed from polysaccharides or oligosaccharides such as dextran, chitosan, starch, amylose, cellulose, polygalactose, polymannose and their derivatives (page 2) which can be crosslinked and are made charged by reaction with negatively or positively charged groups (page 3). To impart a positive charge to the polysaccharide particle, it can be reacted with, inter alia, quaternary ammonium compounds (page 3). The polysaccharides are useful for oral delivery of actives including antigens for a vaccine (page 4). The active may be introduced into the polymer matrices at different stages of manufacture, depending on charge and hydrophobicity (page 4). Thus, the particles are comparable to those of the cited patents.
On pages 5-9, De Miguel discloses several example methods of forming the polysaccharide particles, loaded with active agent and/or negatively charged phospholipid. Examples 3, 6, and 9 altogether, describe amphotericin B combined with the cationic polysaccharide matrix particles. Example 3 describes preparation of submicron cationic hydrophilic matrices: Inter alia, maltodextrin is crosslinked with epichorohydrin then formed into particles that are combined with the quaternary ammonium compound glycidyltrimethylammonium. Particles thus formed are homogenized to a size of less than 100 and purified by filtration (page 5). In example 6 the submicron cationic amphiphilic matrices of example 3 are associated with anionic phospholipid (dipalmitoylphosphatidylglycerol; page 6). In example 9, an aqueous solution containing the particles formed in example 6 are stirred in a water bath (i.e. an aqueous solution comprising a cationic nanoparticle consisting of a porous cationic polysaccharide core is provided), and this is combined with a solution of amphotericin B followed by stirring for 2 hours (i.e. an active agent is added to the aqueous solution), which results in association of amphotericin B with the particles (page 8).
It would have been prima facie obvious to form the solid polysaccharide core according to the method disclosed by De Miguel because this would have been simply combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(A)).
Neither the cited patents nor De Miguel disclose that the vaccine antigen to be combined with the particles has been lyophilized nor is the elected species of antigen, Escherichia coli, disclosed.
Bauer discloses a bacterial extract as a vaccine to reduce incidence of digestive or urinary tract infections cause by Escherichia coli (E. coli) that contain lysates of E. coli (title, abstract, col 1, lines 27-31) for oral delivery (col 9, lines 5-7). The lysate of E. coli is lyophilized then recovered (col 23, lines 30-60). Bauer then teaches oral administration of this lyophilizate (see e.g. col 27, lines 57-59).
It would have been prima facie obvious to formulate the lyophilized lysate of E. coli described by Bauer into De Miguel’s vehicle. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to provide the advantages described by De Miguel of stability and protection from the surrounding environment as well as controlled delivery (page 4). The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because De Miguel indicates the vehicle to be suitable for antigens for a vaccine (page 4).
With regard to the limitation recited in instant claim 1, as amended, requiring “solubilizing the at least on lyophilized antigen at ambient temperature”, the examiner notes that in De Miguel’s examples, using highly hydrophobic drugs, the step of solubilizing the active substance is performed above room temperature. The examiner also points out that De Miguel teaches that the active agent is in solution when it is associated with the particles. Thus, the artisan having ordinary skill, a highly intelligent person with e.g. a Ph.D. degree, would have sought to ensure that the active agent is dissolved when it is combined with the particles in De Miguel’s method.
Bauer teaches that the E. coli lysates can be dissolved in water at room temperature: “the extracts were dissolved … in distilled water” (col 29, lines 7-9).
It would have been prima facie obvious to carry out the solubilizing step taught by Miguel at whatever temperature was required to solubilize the specific active agent in question. In the case of the E. coli extracts taught by Bauer, one having ordinary skill would have recognized that this step may be carried out at room temperature, and the heating step used to solubilize amphotericin or estradiol valerate because the E. coli lyophilizate is soluble in water at ambient temperature. For this reason, the examiner does not consider the requirement that the solubilizing step occur at ambient temperature to patentably define over the cited prior art. See also MPEP 2144.05(II): Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With regard to claim 2, upon addition of the freeze-dried E. coli lysate, noted above, the aqueous solution would contain an antigenic protein from E. coli.
With regard to claim 3, De Miguel discloses an example in which the polysaccharide is not crosslinked (see example 12). The examiner considers non-crosslinked particles to have been an obvious variant of the cited patents.
With regard to claims 3, 4, and 6, as noted above an example polysaccharide core is formed with maltodextrin and the quaternary ammonium compound glycidyltrimethylammonium.
With regard to claims 4 and 5, as noted above, the polysaccharide is crosslinked with epichlorohydrin.
With regard to claims 7-9, in the example noted above, the particle is charged with dipalmitoylphosphatidylglycerol.
With regard to claim 10, in other examples the particles are not charged with lipid, see e.g. example 2.
With regard to claims 11-14, the antigen in the method rendered obvious by De Miguel and Bauer is a lysate (i.e. an extract) of the bacterial pathogen, Escherichia coli.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18251658 in view of Miguel (FR 2803526; publication date: 07/13/2001; citing the English machine translation; cited in the IDS filed 01/10/2023) in view of Bauer et al. (US 8,236,522; issue date: 08/07/2012).
Inter alia, the claims of the application embrace a particle for vaccine or biologically active agent delivery comprising a solid nanoparticle formed from a polysaccharide selected from dextran, a dextrin, and a maltodextrin and a cationic group such as a quaternary ammonium group and further associated with a negatively charged phospholipid.
The claims of the cited application do not disclose a method for forming the solid particle component.
De Miguel discloses polysaccharide particles (abstract) formed from polysaccharides or oligosaccharides such as dextran, chitosan, starch, amylose, cellulose, polygalactose, polymannose and their derivatives (page 2) which can be crosslinked and are made charged by reaction with negatively or positively charged groups (page 3). To impart a positive charge to the polysaccharide particle, it can be reacted with, inter alia, quaternary ammonium compounds (page 3). The polysaccharides are useful for oral delivery of actives including antigens for a vaccine (page 4). The active may be introduced into the polymer matrices at different stages of manufacture, depending on charge and hydrophobicity (page 4). Thus, the particles are comparable to those of the cited patents.
On pages 5-9, De Miguel discloses several example methods of forming the polysaccharide particles, loaded with active agent and/or negatively charged phospholipid. Examples 3, 6, and 9 altogether, describe amphotericin B combined with the cationic polysaccharide matrix particles. Example 3 describes preparation of submicron cationic hydrophilic matrices: Inter alia, maltodextrin is crosslinked with epichorohydrin then formed into particles that are combined with the quaternary ammonium compound glycidyltrimethylammonium. Particles thus formed are homogenized to a size of less than 100 and purified by filtration (page 5). In example 6 the submicron cationic amphiphilic matrices of example 3 are associated with anionic phospholipid (dipalmitoylphosphatidylglycerol; page 6). In example 9, an aqueous solution containing the particles formed in example 6 are stirred in a water bath (i.e. an aqueous solution comprising a cationic nanoparticle consisting of a porous cationic polysaccharide core is provided), and this is combined with a solution of amphotericin B followed by stirring for 2 hours (i.e. an active agent is added to the aqueous solution), which results in association of amphotericin B with the particles (page 8).
It would have been prima facie obvious to form the solid polysaccharide core according to the method disclosed by De Miguel because this would have been simply combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(A)).
Neither the cited application nor De Miguel disclose that the vaccine antigen to be combined with the particles has been lyophilized nor is the elected species of antigen, Escherichia coli, disclosed.
Bauer discloses a bacterial extract as a vaccine to reduce incidence of digestive or urinary tract infections cause by Escherichia coli (E. coli) that contain lysates of E. coli (title, abstract, col 1, lines 27-31) for oral delivery (col 9, lines 5-7). The lysate of E. coli is lyophilized then recovered (col 23, lines 30-60). Bauer then teaches oral administration of this lyophilizate (see e.g. col 27, lines 57-59).
It would have been prima facie obvious to formulate the lyophilized lysate of E. coli described by Bauer into the vehicle of the cited application. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so in order to provide the advantages described by De Miguel of stability and protection from the surrounding environment as well as controlled delivery (page 4). The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because De Miguel indicates the vehicle to be suitable for antigens for a vaccine (page 4).
With regard to the limitation recited in instant claim 1, as amended, requiring “solubilizing the at least on lyophilized antigen at ambient temperature”, the examiner notes that in De Miguel’s examples, using highly hydrophobic drugs, the step of solubilizing the active substance is performed above room temperature. The examiner also points out that De Miguel teaches that the active agent is in solution when it is associated with the particles. Thus, the artisan having ordinary skill, a highly intelligent person with e.g. a Ph.D. degree, would have sought to ensure that the active agent is dissolved when it is combined with the particles in De Miguel’s method.
Bauer teaches that the E. coli lysates can be dissolved in water at room temperature: “the extracts were dissolved … in distilled water” (col 29, lines 7-9).
It would have been prima facie obvious to carry out the solubilizing step taught by Miguel at whatever temperature was required to solubilize the specific active agent in question. In the case of the E. coli extracts taught by Bauer, one having ordinary skill would have recognized that this step may be carried out at room temperature, and the heating step used to solubilize amphotericin or estradiol valerate because the E. coli lyophilizate is soluble in water at ambient temperature. For this reason, the examiner does not consider the requirement that the solubilizing step occur at ambient temperature to patentably define over the cited prior art. See also MPEP 2144.05(II): Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With regard to claim 2, upon addition of the freeze-dried E. coli lysate, noted above, the aqueous solution would contain an antigenic protein from E. coli.
With regard to claim 3, De Miguel discloses an example in which the polysaccharide is not crosslinked (see example 12). The examiner considers non-crosslinked particles to have been an obvious variant of the cited application.
With regard to claims 3, 4, and 6, as noted above an example polysaccharide core is formed with maltodextrin and the quaternary ammonium compound glycidyltrimethylammonium.
With regard to claims 4 and 5, as noted above, the polysaccharide is crosslinked with epichlorohydrin.
With regard to claims 7-9, in the example noted above, the particle is charged with dipalmitoylphosphatidylglycerol.
With regard to claim 10, in other examples the particles are not charged with lipid, see e.g. example 2.
With regard to claims 11-14, the antigen in the method rendered obvious by De Miguel and Bauer is a lysate (i.e. an extract) of the bacterial pathogen, Escherichia coli.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 11 and 12, Applicant argues that De Miguel and Bauer do not teach the step of solubilizing the lyophilized antigen in the aqueous solution at ambient temperature.
This is not persuasive for the reasons set forth in the rejections and as described in greater detail in the Response to Arguments section following the obviousness rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE PEEBLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617