DETAILED ACTION
An amendment after Non-Final Rejection was filed by applicant on 08/26/2026.
Claims 1 and 2 are previously canceled.
Claims 3-6 are currently amended.
Claims 3-6 are remaining in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
Providing additional references, documents or exhibits with arguments/remarks is not considered a proper information disclosure statement (IDS). 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) stipulates that such must be submitted in a separate paper. Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informality:
The Specification does not define that which constitutes Ultra High Molecular Weight Polyethylene Material (UHMWPE). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
The term “ultra high” in claims 3-6 is considered a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “ultra high” is not defined by the claims, the Specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the claimed feature “ultra high molecular weight polyethylene material” is rendered indefinite by the relative term “ultra high”.
It is unclear if the claims now specify a product or a process of making such product, since the claims now recite making a hull by treating a plurality of ultra high molecular weight polyethylene fabrics under heat and pressure; this should be clarified. Note: a method of making an apparatus is considered to carry insignificant patentable weight within an apparatus claim, since the product/apparatus weighs over a process/method of making such product/apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As best understood by the examiner, claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D3: US 2018/0058820 A1 (Kwiatkowski et al.), cited by the examiner, in view of D4: US 2016/0320162 A1, cited by the examiner, and further in view of applicant’s admitted prior art as disclosed in applicant’s Specification. Regarding claim 3, D3 discloses a multi-layered boat hull including layered materials to enhance blast protection. Specifically, D3 discloses a boat hull [10] with an upper hull portion [12] and a lower hull portion [14]; and also discloses that both portions can be monolithic (uniform) and can include layers of blast protection integral with the hull. D3 does not explicitly disclose that the hull is formed with ultra high molecular weight polyethylene structure nor formed by treating a plurality of ultra high molecular weight polyethylene fabrics under heat and pressure. oweveHHowever, D4 discloses barriers that can be used to coat a ship hull that creates an armored panel for ballistic protection that includes ultra high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMWPE). In addition, applicant’s disclosure indicates known prior art materials referred to as ballistic protection level III and IV products made by combining the hard plates formed by the treatment of UHMWPE fabric under heat and pressure, and together with ceramic plate (for level IV products) of one of boron carbide, alumina, silicon carbide and using temperature and pressure as the joining method. Further, regarding claims 4-6, applicant’s disclosure of known prior art materials referred to above also teaches used of such claimed materials, and D4 discloses coatings that can include boron carbide, silicon carbide and/or alumina ceramic, as well as other known materials in various combinations as desired for effective ballistic protection (considered to include protection against projectiles such as bullets and shrapnel). In view of the foregoing, providing such features as known and desired would expectedly facilitate blast and/or ballistic protection of a boat hull, as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide such features and/or materials as known to improve the ballistic protection and bulletproofing for a boat hull as desired with a reasonable expectation of success, as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art. The rejection combines known features to achieve expected results; no unknown features or unexpected results are achieved for the claimed subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been fully considered but are essentially moot due to applicant’s amended claims, and the resulting new and/or modified grounds of rejection presented in this Final Office Action (OA). Nevertheless, the following additional comments are provided for applicant’s consideration for reply to this Final OA:
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, D4 discloses barriers that can be used to coat a ship hull that creates an armored panel for ballistic protection that includes ultra high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMWPE) and also discloses that such a coating can include boron carbide, silicon carbide and/or alumina ceramic for effective ballistic protection. D3 discloses a boat hull that can include layers of blast protection integral with the hull. In addition, applicant’s known prior art as disclosed in applicant’s Specification teaches use of claimed materials for ballistic and bullet proof protection. Therefore, providing such claimed features would expectedly facilitate and/or improve the blast, ballistic and bulletproof protection of a boat hull, as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
In response to applicant's argument that the prior art features cannot be combined, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
It is also noted that applicant argues against the prior art rejection by referring to features that are not in the claims; i.e., In the present invention, however, layers of UHMWPE fabric are consolidated together to form a rigid plate-like structure specifically configured to withstand such forces without separation between the layers and without delamination. This is one example only, and many other examples are present in pages 4-19 of applicant’s remarks.
Applicant presents additional details, description, figures, and illustrations that are not in the disclosure as filed, and presents a technical reference for consideration not listed on an IDS.
Applicant has not materially differentiated the claimed invention over the prior art.
In view of the foregoing, the prior art rejection is considered valid and is not withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
16. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL V VENNE whose telephone number is (571) 272-7947. The examiner can normally be reached between M-F, 7am-3:30pm Flex. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Marc Q Jimenez, who can be reached at phone number (571) 272-4530. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
17. If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Daniel V Venne/
Senior Examiner, Art Unit 3615B
09/03/2026