DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/06/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 14-16, 18-23, 25-28 are pending in the application. Claims 14-16, 18-23, 25-28 are withdrawn. Claims 6-13, 17, 24 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 6 nothing in Wietelmann teaches or suggests the lithium-containing substance being metallic lithium in the form of a lithium rod and/or lithium foil as recited in claim 1.
However, Wietelmann is not relied upon to teach this limitation, Moser is relied upon, as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wietelmann et al (US 20040033191 A1, cited in IDS 09/04/2024) in view of Moser (US 3660163).
Regarding claim 1, Wietelmann discloses preparation of a 29% lithium iodide solution in 1,3-dioxolane from lithium hydride and iodine ([0038] meeting limitation “a lithium iodide nonaqueous solution”). 11.9 g (1.50 mol) of LiH granules in 315 g of anhydrous 1,3-dioxolane, i.e. nonaqueous solvent, were placed in the glass reactor and heated to 40° C ([0039]). The yield of LiI calculated from these data is 95% of theory ([0042]). Water content: 50 ppm (Karl Fischer titration) ([0041]).
Wietelmann discloses Y is 50 ppm and X is 29%. Therefore, Y/X is approximately 1.72, which is within the claimed range of 7 or lower. Since there is no acid component in the solution disclosed by Wietelmann (see example 1 [0038]-[0042]), the limitation “an acid-derived component content of 4000 ppm or lower” is met.
Wietelmann discloses the lithium metal or lithium hydride can be used in a coarse to very fine form ([0024]) but does not explicitly disclose “generated by reacting metallic lithium and iodine in the nonaqueous solvent, the metallic lithium being at least one material selected from the group consisting of a lithium rod and lithium foil”.
Moser discloses a substantially anhydrous solid state battery has a lithium anode, a solid lithium iodide electrolyte and an electronically conductive cathode containing iodine (abstract). A lithium iodide electrolyte, i.e. lithium iodide, is formed in situ, i.e. in the nonaqueous solvent, by reaction of the iodine in the cathode, i.e. iodine, with the lithium anode, i.e. metallic lithium (Col. 2 lines 8-9). It will be recognized that additional lithium iodide electrolyte is formed by the electrochemical reaction of the cell (Col. 2 lines 15-17). The lithium is most conveniently in the form of a foil (Col. 2 lines 26-27 meeting limitation “the metallic lithium being at least one material selected from the group consisting of a lithium rod and lithium foil”).
Moser further discloses the lithium-iodine cells of this invention have a high output voltage (Col.1 lines 16-17).
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the lithium iodide to be generated by reacting metallic lithium and iodine in the nonaqueous solvent, the metallic lithium being at least one material selected from the group consisting of a lithium rod and lithium foil in the method of Wietelmann in order to utilize the lithium iodide nonaqueous solution in a high output voltage cell as taught by Moser.
Regarding claim 2, Wietelmann in view of Moser discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including Wietelmann discloses a 29% lithium iodide solution in 1,3-dioxolane ([0038]). 29% is within the claimed range of 5 to 70 % by weight.
Regarding claim 3, Wietelmann in view of Moser discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including Wietelmann discloses water content: 50 ppm (Karl Fischer titration) ([0041]). 50 ppm is within the claimed range of lower than 200 ppm.
Regarding claim 4 and 5, Wietelmann in view of Moser discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and including Wietelmann discloses a 29% lithium iodide solution in 1,3-dioxolane ([0038]). 1,3-dioxolane is an acetal solvent and aprotic.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/MICHAEL FORREST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738