Priority
Claims have priority date of filing of PCT application PCT/JP2020/029556 Filing Date 07/31/2020
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
After further consideration of the claims as a whole with additional amendments, the claims are rejected by the combination of Lee et al. US 2020/0008227 in view of Papasakellariou US 2020/0137695.
Examiner notes that the amendment of independent claims to include limitation “wherein when the given higher layer signaling is not configured, the processor controls to perform the first UL transmission and to not perform the second UL transmission” has the effect of BROADENING the claims since it is now in the broadest reasonable interpretation including two embodiments, one of which “when the given higher layer signaling is not configured” is much broader than the first embodiment of “when the given higher layer signaling is not configured.” If applicant did not intend to broaden the claim, examiner suggests further amending the claims to clarify that intent and can further discuss by scheduled Examiner Interview.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 2020/0008227 in view of Papasakellariou US 2020/0137695.
14. Lee discloses A system comprising a terminal and a base station (Fig. 9 base station 20 terminal 10), wherein the terminal comprises:
a transmitter of the terminal (Fig. 9 terminal 10 transmitter 13) that transmits capability information of the terminal regarding support of simultaneous transmission ([0124] “A rule may be defined to report simultaneous transmission capability (or, simply, simultaneous transmission capability of PUCCH and URLLC SR or simultaneous transmission capability of PUSCH and SR) of a long PUCCH and URLLC SR and/or a short PUCCH and URLLC SR to a network”) of a first uplink (UL) transmission with a first priority and a second UL transmission with a second priority ([0112] When a plurality of SRs for different specific services and/or latency needs to be transmitted at the same time [0118] “Priority may be determined with respect to a plurality of SRs “);
a receiver of the terminal that receives (Fig. 9 transmitter/receiver 13), by Downlink Control Information (DCI), control information ([0054] “the DCI contains resource allocation information and control information for a UE or a UE group. For example, the DCI includes a transport format and resource allocation information of a downlink shared channel (DL-SCH), a transport format and resource allocation information of an uplink shared channel (UL-SCH)”); and
a processor of the terminal (fig 9 processor) that, when given higher layer signaling is configured, controls to simultaneously transmit the first UL transmission and the second UL transmission ([0172] the simultaneous transmission may be allowed only when a UL waveform of two channels that are configured by a high layer signal) that overlap in a time domain, in cells with different frequency bands ([0121] “When SR transmission for specific service/traffic (e.g., URLLC SR) overlaps with other UL channels on time, a dedicated frequency domain may be assigned for an SR resource for URLLC.” [0123] “simultaneous transmission configuration of PUSCH and SR may be configured UE-specifically, or may be configured to a UE for each predetermined or pre-configured cell group, for each cell, or for each band/band combination”):
wherein the processor of the terminal controls to simultaneously transmit the first UL transmission and the second UL transmission after resolving overlap a plurality of UL transmissions with a same priority ([0127] “ all BSRs or specific BSRs are reported to include information on latency and/or reliability for corresponding traffic together and a network may perform more appropriate scheduling to requirements of the UE based on the rule” thus teaching of “resolving overlap” [as broadly claimed] a plurality of UL transmission with a same priority, where latency/reliability is equivalent of “priority” see e.g. [0113] “SR for traffic with tight latency among a plurality of SRs may have as high priority”), and
wherein when the given higher layer signaling is not configured, the processor of the terminal controls to perform the first UL transmission and to not perform the second UL transmission ([0148] On the other hand, when the number of SRs is a plural number (e.g., Case 1, 4, or 5), a rule may be defined to drop SR with low priority and to transmit only SR with as high priority as possible),
and the base station (fig 9 receiving device) comprises:
a receiver of the base station (fig 9 receiver) that receives the capability information ([0124] A rule may be defined to report simultaneous transmission capability (or, simply, simultaneous transmission capability of PUCCH and URLLC SR or simultaneous transmission capability of PUSCH and SR) of a long PUCCH and URLLC SR and/or a short PUCCH and URLLC SR to a network);
a transmitter of the base station that transmits, by the DCI, the control information ([0054] “the DCI contains resource allocation information and control information for a UE or a UE group. For example, the DCI includes a transport format and resource allocation information of a downlink shared channel (DL-SCH), a transport format and resource allocation information of an uplink shared channel (UL-SCH)”); and
a processor of the base station (fig 9 processor) that, when the given higher layer signaling is configured ([0119], [0124] “a rule may be defined”), controls reception processing for the simultaneous transmission of the first UL transmission and the second UL transmission that overlap in the time domain, in the cells ([0121] When SR transmission for specific service/traffic (e.g., URLLC SR) overlaps with other UL channels on time, [0124] for each predetermined or pre-configured cell group, for each cell),
wherein when the given higher layer signaling is not configured, the processor of the base station controls reception processing for the first UL transmission, and ([0148] “On the other hand, when the number of SRs is a plural number (e.g., Case 1, 4, or 5), a rule may be defined to drop SR with low priority and to transmit only SR with as high priority as possible)” thus implicit if low priority SR is dropped at transmission then it is not received by base station and only the first UL transmission (high priority SR) is received)),
wherein the first UL transmission is a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) transmission including a Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest ACKnowledgement (HARQ-ACK), and the second UL transmission is a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) transmission ([0123] Simultaneous transmission configuration of the long PUCCH and URLLC SR and/or the short PUCCH and URLLC SR, or simply, simultaneous transmission configuration of PUCCH and URLLC SR or simultaneous transmission configuration of PUSCH and SR may be configured UE-specifically, or may be configured to a UE for each predetermined or pre-configured cell group, for each cell, or for each band/band combination.; [0111] “corresponding SR may also be transmitted to (s)PUCCH (along with HARQ-ACK) (similarly to existing LTE). Alternatively, SR may be piggybacked to (s)PUSCH together“)).
Lee does not explicitly disclose the DCI control information (taught by Lee ¶54) further including information regarding the first priority and the information regarding the second priority;
the second UL transmission is a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) transmission including a HARQ- ACK.
Papasakellariou teaches the DCI comprising information regarding the first priority and the information regarding the second priority (See Papasakellariou Claims 2-4 “the first DCI format includes a field indicating a priority for the first PUSCH” “ the second DCI format includes a field indicating a priority for the second PUSCH” “the third DCI format includes a field indicating a priority for the first PUCCH”);
And further teaches the second UL transmission is a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) transmission including a HARQ- ACK. (Papasakellariou [0191] multiplexing HARQ-ACK information for a first data information type in a PUSCH transmission).
Papasakellariou also teaches wherein the processor of the terminal controls to simultaneously transmit the first UL transmission and the second UL transmission after resolving overlap a plurality of UL transmissions with a same priority (See also Papasakellariou Claim 4 “ multiplexing the first HARQ-ACK information in the first PUSCH transmission only when the first PUSCH and the first PUCCH have same priority.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Lee to include the noted teachings of Papasakellariou in order for supporting higher data rates beyond 4th-Generation (4G) communication system such as long term evolution (LTE).
Consider claims 7, 12, 13
The combination teaches Claim 7 Terminal, claim 12 Method for a Terminal, Claim 13 Base station in the same manner as Claim 14 with rejection incorporated herein.
Consider claim 9
The combinate teaches The terminal according to claim 7, wherein the first priority is different from the second priority (See Lee e.g. [0119] priority may be determined in order of DL URLLC>DL eMBB>URLLC SR>eMBB SR in such a way that DL traffic has high priority in a DL resource).
Pertinent Prior Art(s)
The prior art made of record though not relied upon in the current rejection is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20230164788 A1 YAMAMOTO; Tetsuya et al.
Yamamoto discloses by the DCI, the information regarding the first priority and the information regarding the second priority (claim 1, receives a first downlink control information (DCI) including first bit information that indicates a first priority of a scheduled transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and receives a second DCI including second bit information that indicates a second priority of a transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)).
Bhamri et al. US 2022/0132530.
Bhamri discloses wherein when the given higher layer signaling is not configured, the processor controls to perform the first UL transmission and to not perform the second UL transmission ([0117] wherein when the given higher layer signaling is not configured, the processor controls to perform the first UL transmission and to not perform the second UL transmission).
WO 2020153209 A1 TAKEDA, KAZUKI et al. USER TERMINAL AND WIRELESS COMMUNICATION METHOD
(see paragraphs [0012] to [0051] and Fig. 2), teaching an operation of
a UE (corresponding to "a terminal" of the present application) is disclosed in a
case where SR and transmission (corresponding to "a first transmission" or "a second
transmission" of the present application) of different services collide with each
other (see particularly paragraph [0021]), and here, there is disclosed an operation
of a UE (corresponding to the "terminal" in the present application). It is described
that SR is transmitted in the PUCCII (see paragraphs [0013] to [0014], in
particular), and the UE transmission may be a PUSCH transmission (see particularly
paragraph [0028]). In the above cited document 1, the UE performs processing on SR by
setting an association between the SR setting and the service by RRC signaling
(corresponding to the "upper layer signaling" in the present application), and, for
example, SR of the first service of the second service collides with the transmission
of the first service. In a case where the second service takes precedence over the
first service (corresponding to the point of "having a first priority" and the point
of "having a second priority"), Embodiment 2 may be performed based on the setting
information (see paragraphs [0036] to [0037], in particular), and Embodiment 2-2, for
example, in Embodiment. In CA using CC #1 and CC #2, if the first time resource of
SR of the first service on CC #1 collides with the second time resource of the
transmission of the second service on CC #2, the UE is a UE. Transmitting the SR in
the first time resource of CC #1 and the transmission in the second time resource of
CC #2 (receiving information on the information on the first priority degree and
information on the second priority of the present application) "When predetermined
upper layer signaling is set, simultaneous transmission of the first transmission
overlapping in the time domain and the second transmission" is performed (see, in
particular, paragraph [0044] and Fig. 2). Here, when the invention according to Claim
1 of the present application and the invention described in Cited Document 1 are
compared, Cited Document 1 describes, as described above. While the UE is described
to transmit transmission on CC #1 of SR and transmission on CC #2 of more prioritized
transmission at the same time, with regard to simultaneous transmission over CC #1
and CC #2, the simultaneous transmission on CC #1 and CC #1 is described. They are
different in that they do not describe "transmitting capability information of a
terminal relating to simultaneous transmission.". However, for example, it is
described in Cited Document 2 (see paragraph [0037]) that the UE capable of
responding to the Uplink CA transmits the uplink transmission capability information
indicating that the uplink data signal is to be transmitted via a plurality of bands
in the same subframe. And, for example, see Cited Document 3 (see paragraphs [0054]
to [0055]). As is clear from the description that a user equipment capable of using
PUCCH / PUSCH simultaneous transmission between CCs notifies the wireless base
station of the capability information on whether to apply the PUCCH / PUSCH
simultancous transmission, as is clear from the description. It is merely a
well-known art that a terminal that supports simultaneous transmission transmits
capability information on a terminal relating to support for simultaneous
transmission. If that is the case, it could have been easily conceived by a person
skilled in the art to adopt the above different feature on the basis of the
well-known art described above in the invention described in the cited document 1.
Further, the invention according to Claim 6-8 of the other independent type is
similar to the invention according to Claim 1.
JP 2013176019 A SAGAE Y et al. (Document showing well-known arts)
WO 2016159231 A1 TAKEDA, KAZUKI et al. USER TERMINAL, WIRELESS BASE STATION, AND WIRELESS COMMUNICATION METHOD (Document showing well-known arts)
Conclusion
UMAIR AHSAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/UMAIR AHSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647