DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Two information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted: one on October 27th, 2025; one on December 8th, 2025; filed after the mailing date of the non-final rejection on June 26th, 2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, 20, 33, 35, 42, 45, and 48 are pending in this application. Claims 2, 4-6, 8-9, 12-15, 19, 21-32, 34, 36-41, 43-44, and 46-47 have been cancelled by applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, 20, 45, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez-Garcia et al. (Clin. Cancer Res.; 18, 2012, 4806 – From IDS – previously cited) (“Martinez-Garcia”); in view of Gong et al. (Journal for ImmunoTherapy of Cancer, 2018, 6:8 – previously cited) (“Gong”).
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Martinez-Garcia teaches RO5126766 (a.k.a. VS-6766) as a first-in-class dual RAF/MEK inhibitor, showing three partial responses: two in BRAF-mutant melanoma tumors and one in an NRAS-mutant melanoma (abstract).
Martinez-Garcia does not teach: (i) administration of the RAF/MEK inhibitor in combination with an anti-PD-1 antibody (claim 1); or (ii) with an anti-PD-L1 antibody (claims 18-20). The teachings of Gong et al. are relied upon for these disclosures.
Gong teaches programmed cell death protein receptor 1 and ligand protein receptor 1 (PD-1 and PD-L1, respectively) blockade as effective cancer immunotherapy (page 1, end of col. 1, top col. 2). Furthermore, Gong teaches pembrolizumab as a PD-1 inhibitor (page 1, col. 2, last para.; page 7, col. 2, para. 3; and Table 1) and discloses pembrolizumab in combination with other chemotherapeutic agents (Table 3, entry 3, page 6). Gong further teaches atezolizumab as a PD-L1 inhibitor (page 1, col. 2, last para.; page 7, col. 2, para. 3; and Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a cancer by administering a combination regimen of Martinez-Garcia’s VS-6766 with Gong’s PD-1 or PD-L1 immunotherapies, as recited in instant claims 1 and 18. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Martinez-Garcia teaches that treatment with VS-6766 alone showed three partial responses: two in BRAF-mutant melanoma and one in NRAS-mutant melanoma and that oral VS-6766 showed manageable toxicity, favorable pharmacokinetics, and around 40% tumor shrinkage of patients across all dose levels and tumor types (abstract); further because Gong teaches PD-1 and/ or PD-L1 blockade as effective cancer immunotherapies.
Applicant is advised the courts have found that “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).” See MPEP2144.06. It is therefore obvious to provide a mixture of the two agents, both of which are known cancer therapies, to arrive at a composition capable of treating cancer.
Regarding claim 3, Martinez-Garcia teaches different dosing regimens, with the 4 days on/ 3 days off treatment regimen, with dosing at 2.7 mg being the best tolerated of all dose regimens (page 4813, col. 2, para. 2). Martinez-Garcia also teaches that VS-6766 has a half-life of about 60 hours (<3 days) (page 4815, col. 2, lines 1-4) and the benefits and drawbacks of daily, 4 on/ 3 off, and 7 on/ 7 off dosing regimens (page 4815, col. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the RAF/MEK inhibitor VS-6766 twice a week, depending on the initial dose given to the subject. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in cancer treatment in view of Martinez-Garcia’s teachings on the half-life of VS-6766 and the dose-limiting toxicities observed during clinical trials. Applicant is advised, a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp. Note: MPEP 2141 [R-6] KSR International CO. v. Teleflex Inc. 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007).
Regarding administration of about 3.2 mg to about 4 mg of VS-6766 per administration, as recited in claim 7, Martinez-Garcia teaches different dosing regimens, with the 4 days on/ 3 days off treatment regimen, dosing at 2.7 mg being the best tolerated of all dose regimens (page 4813, col. 2, para. 2), however, they also disclose dosing at 4.0 mg (4 days on/ 3 off).
Regarding claim 10, Gong teaches pembrolizumab as a PD-1 inhibitor and anticancer agent (page 1, col. 2, last para. and Table 1).
Regarding claim 11, Gong teaches that, in clinical trials, patients received pembrolizumab 10 mg/ kg every 2 weeks for 24 months (page 10, col. 2, para. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Gong teaches that, in clinical trials, patients received pembrolizumab 10 mg/ kg per administration every 2 weeks (page 10, col. 2, para. 1). Considering the average weight of a human subject to be about 70 kg, that would mean a dose of about 700 mg per administration.
Further regarding instant claims 3, 7, 11, and 16, Applicant is advised, the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2144.05.01). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05-II.
Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 17, Gong teaches intravenous administration of pembrolizumab (page 3, col. 1, line 8-9).
Regarding claim 20, Gong teaches atezolizumab as a PD-L1 inhibitor (page 7, col. 2, para. 3; and Table 1).
Regarding claims 45 and 48, Martinez-Garcia teaches that treatment with VS-6766 alone showed three partial responses: two in BRAF-mutant melanoma and one in NRAS-mutant melanoma (abstract). Martinez-Garcia also teaches ovarian cancer with HRAS mutations (Table 1, page 4809).
Claims 33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez-Garcia et al. (Clin Cancer Res; 18, 2012, 4806 – From IDS – previously cited) (“Martinez-Garcia”); and Gong et al. (Journal for ImmunoTherapy of Cancer, 2018, 6:8 – previously cited) (“Gong”); as applied to claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, 20, 45, and 48; further in view of Shimizu et al. (Cancer Chemother Pharmacol (2016) 77:997–1003 – From IDS – previously cited) (“Shimizu”).
The teachings of Martinez-Garcia and Gong are disclosed above and incorporated herein.
Martinez-Garcia in view of Gong does not teach coadministration of a FAK inhibitor. The teachings of Shimizu are relied upon for these disclosures.
Shimizu teaches VS-6063 (a.k.a. defactinib) as an inhibitor of focal adhesion kinase (FAK) for patients with advanced solid tumor malignancies (abstract). Shimizu further discloses VS-6063 was administered orally twice daily (methods-abstract) at 200 to 600 mg daily (results-abstract) and no dose-limiting toxicities were observed. Shimizu specifically discloses that FAK inhibitors are not overly cytotoxic and are expected to be most effective when used in combination with other chemotherapeutic drugs (page 1002, col. 2, para. 2, lines 10-15), specifically mentioning combination with PD-1 and PD-L1 inhibitors (page 1003, col. 1, lines 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a cancer by administering a combination regimen comprising Martinez-Garcia’s and Gong’s VS-6766/ PD-1 or PD-L1 therapy further comprising Shimizu’s FAK inhibitor, as recited in instant claim 33. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because: (i) Martinez-Garcia teaches that treatment with VS-6766 alone showed manageable toxicity, favorable pharmacokinetics, and around 40% tumor shrinkage of patients across all dose levels and tumor types (abstract); (ii) Gong teaches PD-1 and/ or PD-L1 blockade as effective cancer immunotherapy; (iii) and Shimizu teaches VS-6063 (a.k.a. defactinib) as a FAK inhibitor, and discloses that FAK inhibitors are not overly cytotoxic and are expected to be most effective when used in combination with other chemotherapeutic drugs, like PD-1 or PD-L1 inhibitors.
Applicant is reminded the courts have found that “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. It is therefore obvious to provide a mixture of the three agents, all of which are known cancer therapies, to arrive at a composition capable of treating cancer.
Regarding claim 35, Shimizu teaches VS-6063 was administered orally twice daily in clinical trials.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez-Garcia et al. (Clin Cancer Res; 18, 2012, 4806 – From IDS – previously cited) (“Martinez-Garcia”); and Gong et al. (Journal for ImmunoTherapy of Cancer, 2018, 6:8 – previously cited) (“Gong”); further in view of Shimizu et al. (Cancer Chemother Pharmacol (2016) 77:997–1003 – From IDS – previously cited) (“Shimizu”).
Regarding claim 42, Martinez-Garcia teaches RO5126766 (a.k.a. VS-6766) as a first-in-class dual RAF/MEK inhibitor, showing three partial responses: two in BRAF-mutant melanoma tumors and one in an NRAS-mutant melanoma (abstract).
Martinez-Garcia does not teach coadministration of a PD-1 or PD-L1 inhibitor, and FAK inhibitor VS-6063. The teachings of Gong and Shimizu are relied upon for these disclosures.
Gong teaches programmed cell death protein receptor 1 and ligand protein receptor 1 (PD-1 and PD-L1, respectively) blockade as effective cancer immunotherapy (page 1, end of col. 1, top col. 2). Furthermore, Gong teaches pembrolizumab as a PD-1 inhibitor (page 1, col. 2, last para.; page 7, col. 2, para. 3; and Table 1) and discloses pembrolizumab in combination with other chemotherapeutic agents (Table 3, entry 3, page 6). Gong further teaches atezolizumab as a PD-L1 inhibitor (page 1, col. 2, last para.; page 7, col. 2, para. 3; and Table 1).
Shimizu teaches VS-6063 (a.k.a. defactinib) as an inhibitor of focal adhesion kinase (FAK) for patients with advanced solid tumor malignancies (abstract). Shimizu further discloses VS-6063 was administered orally twice daily (methods-abstract) at 200 to 600 mg daily (results-abstract) and no dose-limiting toxicities were observed. Shimizu specifically discloses that FAK inhibitors are not overly cytotoxic and are expected to be most effective when used in combination with other chemotherapeutic drugs (page 1002, col. 2, para. 2, lines 10-15), specifically mentioning combination with PD-1 and PD-L1 inhibitors (page 1003, col. 1, lines 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat a cancer by administering a combination regimen comprising Martinez-Garcia’s and Gong’s VS-6766/ PD-1 or PD-L1 therapy further comprising Shimizu’s FAK inhibitor, as recited in instant claim 42. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because: (i) Martinez-Garcia teaches that treatment with VS-6766 alone showed manageable toxicity, favorable pharmacokinetics, and around 40% tumor shrinkage of patients across all dose levels and tumor types (abstract); (ii) Gong teaches PD-1 and/ or PD-L1 blockade as effective cancer immunotherapy; (iii) and Shimizu teaches VS-6063 (a.k.a. defactinib) as a FAK inhibitor, and discloses that FAK inhibitors are not overly cytotoxic and are expected to be most effective when used in combination with other chemotherapeutic drugs, like PD-1 or PD-L1 inhibitors.
Applicant is reminded the courts have found that “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. It is therefore obvious to provide a mixture of the three agents, all of which are known cancer therapies, to arrive at a composition capable of treating cancer.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, 20, 33, 35, 42, 45, and 48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 9,962,385 B2 (US ‘385) – From IDS, in view of Martinez-Garcia et al. (Clin Cancer Res; 18(17) September 1, 2012, 4806 – From IDS) and Gong et al. (Journal for ImmunoTherapy of Cancer, 2018, 6:8).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, 20, 33, 35, 42, 45, and 48, US ‘385 claims a method of treating cancer comprising administration of FAK inhibitor VS-6063 in combination with an MEK inhibitor.
US ‘385 does not teach: (i) administration of a dual RAF/MEK inhibitor in combination with an anti-PD-1 antibody without a FAK inhibitor (instant claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-17); (ii) administration of a dual RAF/MEK inhibitor in combination with an anti-PD-L1 antibody without an FAK inhibitor (instant claims 18 and 20); (iii) administration of the FAK inhibitor with a RAF/MEK dual inhibitor and an anti-PD-1 inhibitor (instant claims 33 and 35); (iv) administration of the FAK inhibitor with a RAF/MEK dual inhibitor and an anti-PD-L1 inhibitor (instant claim 42); (v) wherein the cancer has KRAS, HRAS, NRAS, or BRAF mutation (instant claim 45); or (vi) the specific cancers listed in instant claim 48. The teachings of Martinez-Garcia and Gong are relied upon for these disclosures.
Martinez-Garcia teaches RO5126766 (a.k.a. VS-6766) as a first-in-class dual RAF/MEK inhibitor, showing three partial responses: two in BRAF-mutant melanoma tumors and one in an NRAS-mutant melanoma (abstract).
Gong teaches programmed cell death protein receptor 1 (PD-1) blockade and programmed cell death ligand protein receptor 1 (PD-L1) blockade as an effective cancer immunotherapy (page 1, end of col. 1, top col. 2). Furthermore, Gong teaches pembrolizumab as a PD-1 inhibitor and atezolizumab as a PD-L1 inhibitor as an effective cancer immunotherapy (page 1, end of col. 1, top col. 2).
Regarding co-administration or combination therapy of a RAF/MEK inhibitor and anti-PD-1 antibody or anti-PD-L1 antibody, as recited in instant claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, and 20, or administration of an FAK inhibitor in combination with a dual RAF/MEK inhibitor and an anti-PD-1 or PD-L1 inhibitor, as recited in instant claims 33, 35, and 42, applicant is reminded the courts have found that “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the teachings of US ‘385 method for the treatment of cancer with an MEK inhibitor with the disclosures of Martinez-Garcia and Gong to arrive at the instant invention.
Regarding claim 3, Martinez-Garcia teaches different dosing regimens, with the 4 days on/ 3 days off treatment regimen, with dosing at 2.7 mg being the best tolerated of all dose regimens (page 4813, col. 2, para. 2). Martinez-Garcia also teaches that VS-6766 has a half-life of about 60 hours (<3 days) (page 4815, col. 2, lines 1-4) and the benefits and drawbacks of daily, 4 on/ 3 off, and 7 on/ 7 off dosing regimens (page 4815, col. 1).
Regarding administration of about 3.2 mg to about 4 mg of VS-6766 per administration, as recited in claim 7, Martinez-Garcia teaches different dosing regimens, with the 4 days on/ 3 days off treatment regimen, dosing at 2.7 mg being the best tolerated of all dose regimens (page 4813, col. 2, para. 2), however, they also disclose dosing at 4.0 mg (4 days on/ 3 off). Applicant is reminded, the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Further regarding claims 3 and 7, the courts have found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 10, Gong teaches pembrolizumab as a PD-1 inhibitor and anticancer agent (page 1, col. 2, last para. and Table 1).
Regarding claim 11, Gong teaches that, in clinical trials, patients received pembrolizumab 10 mg/ kg every 2 weeks for 24 months (page 10, col. 2, para. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Gong teaches that, in clinical trials, patients received pembrolizumab 10 mg/ kg per administration every 2 weeks (page 10, col. 2, para. 1). Considering the average weight of a human subject to be about 70 kg, that would mean a dose of about 700 mg per administration.
Applicant is reminded, the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Furthermore, the courts have found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 17, Gong teaches intravenous administration of pembrolizumab (page 3, col. 1, line 8-9).
Regarding claim 20, Gong teaches atezolizumab as a PD-L1 inhibitor (page 7, col. 2, para. 3; and Table 1).
Regarding claims 45 and 48, Martinez-Garcia teaches that treatment with VS-6766 alone showed three partial responses: two in BRAF-mutant melanoma and one in NRAS-mutant melanoma (abstract). Martinez-Garcia also teaches ovarian cancer with HRAS mutations (Table 1, page 4809).
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, 20, 33, 35, 42, 45, and 48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,406,158 B2 (US ‘158) – From IDS, in view of Martinez-Garcia et al. (Clin Cancer Res; 18(17) September 1, 2012, 4806 – From IDS) and Gong et al. (Journal for ImmunoTherapy of Cancer, 2018, 6:8).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, 20, 33, 35, 42, 45, and 48, US ‘158 claims a method of treating cancer comprising administration of FAK inhibitor VS-6063 in combination with an MEK inhibitor (US ‘158’s claim 1), and wherein treatment comprises administration of an additional chemotherapy or immunotherapy (US ‘158’s claim 11).
US ‘158 does not specifically claim: (i) administration of a dual RAF/MEK inhibitor in combination with an anti-PD-1 antibody without a FAK inhibitor (instant claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-17); (ii) administration of a dual RAF/MEK inhibitor in combination with an anti-PD-L1 antibody without an FAK inhibitor (instant claims 18 and 20); (iii) administration of the FAK inhibitor with a RAF/MEK dual inhibitor and an anti-PD-1 inhibitor (instant claims 33 and 35); (iv) administration of the FAK inhibitor with a RAF/MEK dual inhibitor and an anti-PD-L1 inhibitor (instant claim 42); (v) wherein the cancer has a KRAS, HRAS, NRAS, or BRAF mutation (instant claim 45); or (vi) the specific cancers listed in instant claim 48. The teachings of Martinez-Garcia and Gong are relied upon for these disclosures.
Martinez-Garcia teaches RO5126766 (a.k.a. VS-6766) as a first-in-class dual RAF/MEK inhibitor, showing three partial responses: two in BRAF-mutant melanoma tumors and one in an NRAS-mutant melanoma (abstract).
Gong teaches programmed cell death protein receptor 1 (PD-1) blockade and programmed cell death ligand protein receptor 1 (PD-L1) blockade as an effective cancer immunotherapy (page 1, end of col. 1, top col. 2). Furthermore, Gong teaches pembrolizumab as a PD-1 inhibitor and atezolizumab as a PD-L1 inhibitor as an effective cancer immunotherapy (page 1, end of col. 1, top col. 2).
Regarding co-administration or combination therapy of a RAF/MEK inhibitor and anti-PD-1 antibody or anti-PD-L1 antibody, as recited in instant claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, and 20, or administration of an FAK inhibitor in combination with a dual RAF/MEK inhibitor and an anti-PD-1 or PD-L1 inhibitor, as recited in instant claims 33, 35, and 42, applicant is reminded the courts have found that “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the teachings of US ‘158 method for the treatment of cancer with an MEK inhibitor with the disclosures of Martinez-Garcia and Gong to arrive at the instant invention.
Regarding claim 3, Martinez-Garcia teaches different dosing regimens, with the 4 days on/ 3 days off treatment regimen, with dosing at 2.7 mg being the best tolerated of all dose regimens (page 4813, col. 2, para. 2). Martinez-Garcia also teaches that VS-6766 has a half-life of about 60 hours (<3 days) (page 4815, col. 2, lines 1-4) and the benefits and drawbacks of daily, 4 on/ 3 off, and 7 on/ 7 off dosing regimens (page 4815, col. 1).
Regarding administration of about 3.2 mg to about 4 mg of VS-6766 per administration, as recited in claim 7, Martinez-Garcia teaches different dosing regimens, with the 4 days on/ 3 days off treatment regimen, dosing at 2.7 mg being the best tolerated of all dose regimens (page 4813, col. 2, para. 2), however, they also disclose dosing at 4.0 mg (4 days on/ 3 off). Applicant is reminded, the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Further regarding claims 3 and 7, the courts have found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 10, Gong teaches pembrolizumab as a PD-1 inhibitor and anticancer agent (page 1, col. 2, last para. and Table 1).
Regarding claim 11, Gong teaches that, in clinical trials, patients received pembrolizumab 10 mg/ kg every 2 weeks for 24 months (page 10, col. 2, para. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Gong teaches that, in clinical trials, patients received pembrolizumab 10 mg/ kg per administration every 2 weeks (page 10, col. 2, para. 1). Considering the average weight of a human subject to be about 70 kg, that would mean a dose of about 700 mg per administration.
Applicant is reminded, the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Furthermore, the courts have found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 17, Gong teaches intravenous administration of pembrolizumab (page 3, col. 1, line 8-9).
Regarding claim 20, Gong teaches atezolizumab as a PD-L1 inhibitor (page 7, col. 2, para. 3; and Table 1).
Regarding claims 45 and 48, Martinez-Garcia teaches that treatment with VS-6766 alone showed three partial responses: two in BRAF-mutant melanoma and one in NRAS-mutant melanoma (abstract). Martinez-Garcia also teaches ovarian cancer with HRAS mutations (Table 1, page 4809).
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, 20, 33, 35, 42, 45, and 48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 10,532,056 B2 (US ‘056) – From IDS, in view of Martinez-Garcia et al. (Clin Cancer Res; 18(17) September 1, 2012, 4806 – From IDS).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, 20, 33, 35, 42, 45, and 48, US ‘056 claims a method of treating cancer comprising administering to a subject an effective amount of FAK inhibitor VS-6063 in combination with an anti-PD-1 antibody (US ‘056 claim 1) or anti-PD-L1 antibody (US ‘056 claim 20).
US ‘056 does not specifically claim: (i) administration of a dual RAF/MEK inhibitor in combination with an anti-PD-1 antibody without a FAK inhibitor (instant claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-17); (ii) administration of a dual RAF/MEK inhibitor in combination with an anti-PD-L1 antibody without an FAK inhibitor (instant claims 18 and 20); (iii) wherein the cancer has a KRAS, HRAS, NRAS, or BRAF mutation (instant claim 45); or (iv) the specific cancers listed in instant claim 48. The teachings of Martinez-Garcia et al. are relied upon for these disclosures.
Martinez-Garcia teaches RO5126766 (a.k.a. VS-6766) as a first-in-class dual RAF/MEK inhibitor, showing three partial responses: two in BRAF-mutant melanoma tumors and one in an NRAS-mutant melanoma (abstract).
Regarding co-administration or combination therapy of a RAF/MEK inhibitor and anti-PD-1 antibody or anti-PD-L1 antibody, without an FAK inhibitor, as recited in instant claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, and 20, applicant is reminded the courts have found that “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the teachings of US ‘056 method for the treatment of cancer with an MEK inhibitor with the disclosures of Martinez-Garcia and Gong to arrive at the instant invention.
Regarding claim 3, Martinez-Garcia teaches different dosing regimens, with the 4 days on/ 3 days off treatment regimen, with dosing at 2.7 mg being the best tolerated of all dose regimens (page 4813, col. 2, para. 2). Martinez-Garcia also teaches that VS-6766 has a half-life of about 60 hours (<3 days) (page 4815, col. 2, lines 1-4) and the benefits and drawbacks of daily, 4 on/ 3 off, and 7 on/ 7 off dosing regimens (page 4815, col. 1).
Regarding administration of about 3.2 mg to about 4 mg of VS-6766 per administration, as recited in claim 7, Martinez-Garcia teaches different dosing regimens, with the 4 days on/ 3 days off treatment regimen, dosing at 2.7 mg being the best tolerated of all dose regimens (page 4813, col. 2, para. 2), however, they also disclose dosing at 4.0 mg (4 days on/ 3 off). Applicant is reminded, the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Further regarding claims 3 and 7, the courts have found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 10, Gong teaches pembrolizumab as a PD-1 inhibitor and anticancer agent (page 1, col. 2, last para. and Table 1).
Regarding claim 11, Gong teaches that, in clinical trials, patients received pembrolizumab 10 mg/ kg every 2 weeks for 24 months (page 10, col. 2, para. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Gong teaches that, in clinical trials, patients received pembrolizumab 10 mg/ kg per administration every 2 weeks (page 10, col. 2, para. 1). Considering the average weight of a human subject to be about 70 kg, that would mean a dose of about 700 mg per administration.
Applicant is reminded, the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Furthermore, the courts have found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 17, Gong teaches intravenous administration of pembrolizumab (page 3, col. 1, line 8-9).
Regarding claim 20, Gong teaches atezolizumab as a PD-L1 inhibitor (page 7, col. 2, para. 3; and Table 1).
Regarding claims 45 and 48, Martinez-Garcia teaches that treatment with VS-6766 alone showed three partial responses: two in BRAF-mutant melanoma and one in NRAS-mutant melanoma (abstract). Martinez-Garcia also teaches ovarian cancer with HRAS mutations (Table 1, page 4809).
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, 20, 33, 35, 42, 45, and 48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 11,564,927 B2 (US ‘927) – From IDS; in view of Martinez-Garcia et al. (Clin Cancer Res; 18(17) September 1, 2012, 4806 – From IDS); and Gong et al. (Journal for ImmunoTherapy of Cancer, 2018, 6:8).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, 20, 33, 35, 42, 45, and 48, US ‘927 claims a method of treating cancer comprising administering to a subject an effective amount of FAK inhibitor VS-6063 in combination with an anti-PD-1 antibody (US ‘927 claim 1). US ‘927 speaks to cell lung and ovarian cancers (US ‘927 claim 18) reading on instant claims 45 and 48.
US ‘927 does not teach: (i) administration of a dual RAF/MEK inhibitor in combination with an anti-PD-1 antibody without a FAK inhibitor (instant claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-17); (ii) administration of a dual RAF/MEK inhibitor in combination with an anti-PD-L1 antibody without an FAK inhibitor (instant claims 18 and 20); or (iii) administration of the FAK inhibitor with a RAF/MEK dual inhibitor and an anti-PD-L1 inhibitor (instant claim 42). The teachings of Martinez-Garcia and Gong et al. are relied upon for these disclosures.
Martinez-Garcia teaches RO5126766 (a.k.a. VS-6766) as a first-in-class dual RAF/MEK inhibitor, showing three partial responses: two in BRAF-mutant melanoma tumors and one in an NRAS-mutant melanoma (abstract).
Gong teaches programmed cell death ligand protein receptor 1 (PD-L1) blockade as an effective cancer immunotherapy (page 1, end of col. 1, top col. 2). Furthermore, Gong teaches atezolizumab as a PD-L1 inhibitor as an effective cancer immunotherapy (page 1, end of col. 1, top col. 2).
Regarding co-administration or combination therapy of a RAF/MEK inhibitor and anti-PD-1 antibody or anti-PD-L1 antibody, without an FAK inhibitor, as recited in instant claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, and 20, or administration of an FAK inhibitor in combination with a dual RAF/MEK inhibitor and an anti-PD-L1 inhibitor, as recited in instant claim 42, applicant is reminded the courts have found that “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the teachings of US ‘927 method for the treatment of cancer with an MEK inhibitor with the disclosures of Martinez-Garcia and Gong to arrive at the instant invention.
Regarding claim 3, Martinez-Garcia teaches different dosing regimens, with the 4 days on/ 3 days off treatment regimen, with dosing at 2.7 mg being the best tolerated of all dose regimens (page 4813, col. 2, para. 2). Martinez-Garcia also teaches that VS-6766 has a half-life of about 60 hours (<3 days) (page 4815, col. 2, lines 1-4) and the benefits and drawbacks of daily, 4 on/ 3 off, and 7 on/ 7 off dosing regimens (page 4815, col. 1).
Regarding administration of about 3.2 mg to about 4 mg of VS-6766 per administration, as recited in claim 7, Martinez-Garcia teaches different dosing regimens, with the 4 days on/ 3 days off treatment regimen, dosing at 2.7 mg being the best tolerated of all dose regimens (page 4813, col. 2, para. 2), however, they also disclose dosing at 4.0 mg (4 days on/ 3 off). Applicant is reminded, the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Further regarding claims 3 and 7, the courts have found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 10, Gong teaches pembrolizumab as a PD-1 inhibitor and anticancer agent (page 1, col. 2, last para. and Table 1).
Regarding claim 11, Gong teaches that, in clinical trials, patients received pembrolizumab 10 mg/ kg every 2 weeks for 24 months (page 10, col. 2, para. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Gong teaches that, in clinical trials, patients received pembrolizumab 10 mg/ kg per administration every 2 weeks (page 10, col. 2, para. 1). Considering the average weight of a human subject to be about 70 kg, that would mean a dose of about 700 mg per administration.
Applicant is reminded, the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Furthermore, the courts have found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 17, Gong teaches intravenous administration of pembrolizumab (page 3, col. 1, line 8-9).
Regarding claim 20, Gong teaches atezolizumab as a PD-L1 inhibitor (page 7, col. 2, para. 3; and Table 1).
Regarding claims 45 and 48, Martinez-Garcia teaches that treatment with VS-6766 alone showed three partial responses: two in BRAF-mutant melanoma and one in NRAS-mutant melanoma (abstract). Martinez-Garcia also teaches ovarian cancer with HRAS mutations (Table 1, page 4809).
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, 20, 33, 35, 42, 45, and 48 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 32, 36, 41-43, 46-47, 52-53-54 of copending Application No. 17/795,402 (Copending ‘402); in view of Gong et al. (Journal for ImmunoTherapy of Cancer, 2018, 6:8).
Regarding instant claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-20, 33, 35, 42, 45, and 48, Copending ‘402 claims a method of treating cancer comprising coadministration of RAF/MEK inhibitor VS-6766 dosed at least once a week at about 0.1 to 100 mg (instant claims 3 and 7) (Copending ‘402 claims 32, 36, 41-43, and 46-47). Copending ‘402 also speaks to coadministration with a FAK inhibitor, specifically defactinib (instant claims 33, 35, and 42) for the treatment of the same cancers as instant claim 48 with KRAS mutations (Copending ‘402 claims 53-54).
Copending ‘402 does not teach coadministration with a PD-1 antibody or PD-L1 antibody inhibitor. The teachings of Gong et al. are relied upon for these disclosures.
Gong teaches programmed cell death protein receptor 1 (PD-1) blockade and programmed cell death ligand protein receptor 1 (PD-L1) blockade as an effective cancer immunotherapy (page 1, end of col. 1, top col. 2). Furthermore, Gong teaches pembrolizumab as a PD-1 inhibitor and atezolizumab as a PD-L1 inhibitor as an effective cancer immunotherapy (page 1, end of col. 1, top col. 2).
Regarding co-administration or combination therapy of a FAK inhibitor with a RAF/MEK inhibitor and anti-PD-1 antibody or PD-L1 antibody, applicant is reminded the courts have found that “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the teachings of Copending ‘402 with the disclosures of Gong to arrive at the instant invention.
Regarding claim 10, Gong teaches pembrolizumab as a PD-1 inhibitor and anticancer agent (page 1, col. 2, last para. and Table 1).
Regarding claim 11, Gong teaches that, in clinical trials, patients received pembrolizumab 10 mg/ kg every 2 weeks for 24 months (page 10, col. 2, para. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Gong teaches that, in clinical trials, patients received pembrolizumab 10 mg/ kg per administration every 2 weeks (page 10, col. 2, para. 1). Considering the average weight of a human subject to be about 70 kg, that would mean a dose of about 700 mg per administration.
Applicant is reminded, the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Furthermore, the courts have found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 17, Gong teaches intravenous administration of pembrolizumab (page 3, col. 1, line 8-9).
Regarding claim 20, Gong teaches atezolizumab as a PD-L1 inhibitor (page 7, col. 2, para. 3; and Table 1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, 20, 33, 35, 42, 45, and 48 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3-4, 11, 13, 16-17, 19, 20-23, 27-29, and 37 of copending Application No. 17/921,509 (Copending ‘509); in view of Gong et al. (Journal for ImmunoTherapy of Cancer, 2018, 6:8).
Regarding instant claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, 20, 33, 35, 42, 45, and 48, Copending ‘509 claims a method of treating cancer comprising coadministration of RAF/MEK inhibitor VS-6766, dosing twice a week at about 0.5-10 mg (instant claims 3 and 7) (Copending ‘509 claims 3-4, 11, 13, 16-17, 19, 20-22). Copending ‘509 also speaks to coadministration with a FAK inhibitor - defactinib (Copending ‘509 claims 28-29). Copending ‘509 also speaks to cancers with KRAS mutations such as ovarian cancer, etc. (Copending ‘509 claim 37).
Copending ‘509 does not teach coadministration with a PD-1 antibody or PD-L1 antibody inhibitor. The teachings of Gong et al. are relied upon for these disclosures.
Gong teaches programmed cell death protein receptor 1 (PD-1) blockade and programmed cell death ligand protein receptor 1 (PD-L1) blockade as an effective cancer immunotherapy (page 1, end of col. 1, top col. 2). Furthermore, Gong teaches pembrolizumab as a PD-1 inhibitor and atezolizumab as a PD-L1 inhibitor as an effective cancer immunotherapy (page 1, end of col. 1, top col. 2).
Regarding co-administration or combination therapy of a FAK inhibitor with a RAF/MEK inhibitor and anti-PD-1 antibody or PD-L1 antibody, applicant is reminded the courts have found that “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the teachings of Copending ‘509 with the disclosures of Gong to arrive at the instant invention.
Regarding claim 10, Gong teaches pembrolizumab as a PD-1 inhibitor and anticancer agent (page 1, col. 2, last para. and Table 1).
Regarding claim 11, Gong teaches that, in clinical trials, patients received pembrolizumab 10 mg/ kg every 2 weeks for 24 months (page 10, col. 2, para. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Gong teaches that, in clinical trials, patients received pembrolizumab 10 mg/ kg per administration every 2 weeks (page 10, col. 2, para. 1). Considering the average weight of a human subject to be about 70 kg, that would mean a dose of about 700 mg per administration.
Applicant is reminded, the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Furthermore, the courts have found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 17, Gong teaches intravenous administration of pembrolizumab (page 3, col. 1, line 8-9).
Regarding claim 20, Gong teaches atezolizumab as a PD-L1 inhibitor (page 7, col. 2, para. 3; and Table 1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, 20, 33, 35, 42, 45, and 48 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2-5, 9-14, 24-26, 48, 53, and 57 of copending Application No. 18/704,267 (Copending ‘267) in view of Gong et al. (Journal for ImmunoTherapy of Cancer, 2018, 6:8).
Regarding instant claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, 16-18, 20, 33, 35, 42, 45, and 48, Copending ‘267 claims a method of treating cancer comprising coadministration of RAF/MEK inhibitor VS-6766, administered at 3.2 mg, twice a week (instant claims 3 and 7) (Copending ‘267 claims 1, 5, 9-11 and 53). Copending ‘267 also speaks to coadministration with a FAK inhibitor - defactinib (Copending ‘267 claims 3-4). Copending ‘267 claims treatment of melanoma, etc. (Copending ‘267 claim 57).
Copending ‘267 does not teach coadministration with a PD-1 antibody or PD-L1 antibody inhibitor. The teachings of Gong et al. are relied upon for these disclosures.
Gong teaches programmed cell death protein receptor 1 (PD-1) blockade and programmed cell death ligand protein receptor 1 (PD-L1) blockade as an effective cancer immunotherapy (page 1, end of col. 1, top col. 2). Furthermore, Gong teaches pembrolizumab as a PD-1 inhibitor and atezolizumab as a PD-L1 inhibitor as an effective cancer immunotherapy (page 1, end of col. 1, top col. 2).
Regarding co-administration or combination therapy of a FAK inhibitor with a RAF/MEK inhibitor and anti-PD-1 antibody or PD-L1 antibody, applicant is reminded the courts have found that “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the teachin