DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after May 19, 2022, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 11/05/25 (hereinafter Response) including claim amendments have been entered. Examiner notes that claim 1 has been amended. Applicant’s amendment necessitated a new ground(s) of rejections are made under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Koji and further in view of Kawakami (details below) and claims 1-11 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/05/2025 (‘Remarks’, pages 5-7), regarding all claim rejections under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
On page 5 of the response, the applicant submits that claim 1 is amended to introduce “a height adjusting mechanism that is configured to move the apparatus body up or down relative to the crawler mechanism”. Applicant asserts that Huang fails to disclose the height adjusting mechanism that is explicitly configured to move the apparatus body up or down relative to the crawler mechanism. The Examiner agrees and – in view of the amendment, the prior art rejection under -103 is withdrawn. However, based on the teaching of Kawakami and/or that which is known in the art, the argument regarding claim 1 is moot because a new ground of rejection (under 35 USC § 103 over Huang, in view of Koji and further in view of Kawakami; details below) does not rely on the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or no obviousness.
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang Peng (CN212956340 U; hereinafter, “Huang”) in view of Yoshimasu Koji (JP2007030685 A; hereinafter, “Koji”) and further in view of Kawakami et al. (US PUB. 20140202047 A1; hereinafter, “Kawakami”).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches: a standing crawler (“snow sweeper”, ‘Abstract’, fig. 1-8) self-propelled apparatus [para. 0005 discloses: “a snowplow with a crawler chassis which is easy to walk, turn and operate, thus self-propelled apparatus]; comprising:
output shafts (2, [0030]) are symmetrically installed on both sides of the apparatus body (1) [ para. 0036 discloses: “both ends of the output shaft 2 pass through the body 1”];
a console (“console of the body 1”; fig. 1 and [0034, line 5-6]), wherein the console is installed on the apparatus body (1, [fig. 1 shows console is installed to the apparatus body]), the console is movably provided [para. 0034 teaches: “311 is movably connected (provided) to the speed regulating handle 312 on the control console of the body 1”] with a stroke control rod (adjusting rod 309) and a function control rod (speed regulating handle 312) and a linkage mechanism (swing arm, 306) is arranged between the stroke control rod (309) and the function control rod (310, fig. 1 and [0030]) [ para. 0034 discloses that one end of the adjusting rod 309 is fixedly connected to the above-mentioned swing arm 306, and the other end is fixedly connected to the speed regulating disk 310. A pull rope 311 is provided on both sides of the speed regulating disk 310, and the pull rope 311 is movably connected to the speed regulating handle 312 on the control console of the body 1; thus, the console is movably provided with a stroke control rod (adjusting rod) and a function control rod, and a linkage mechanism (via swing arm) is arranged between the stroke control rod and the function control rod.]
Huang doesn’t appear to teach that a pedal is flippably installed on a rear end of the apparatus body; however,
Koji in another self-propelled working machine, similar to Huang teaches that a pedal (step body 29, fig. 1 and [0026]) is flippably installed (via shaft 37, [0027]) on a rear end of the apparatus body (device 12) [para. 0027 teaches: “a connecting shaft 37 (connecting means) is connected to these connecting portions 33, 36. As a result, the step body 29 is connected to the rear part of the lower frame 3 while being able to rotate up and down via the connecting shaft 37”; thus, a pedal is flippably installed on a rear end of the apparatus body.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate a pedal that is flippably installed on a rear end of the apparatus body with the purpose of mitigating the standing platform as taught by Koji into the invention of Huang with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously configure a crawler body structure where an operator could perform his work while driving the travelling device, while flappable characteristic reduces storage space, enabling multi-mode use. [ para. 0001 of Koji.].
Huang as modified above further teaches a crawler mechanism (mechanism constituted by driving wheel 401, driving shaft 403, crawler 405 and transmission sprocket 407, fig. 1), wherein one end of the crawler mechanism is connected to the output shafts (2, see fig. 2), but fails to explicitly teach that the other end of the crawler mechanism is movably hinged to the apparatus body by a height adjusting mechanism that is configured to move the apparatus body up or down relative to the crawler mechanism; however,
Kawakami in another snow removal machine similar to the modified Huang teaches that a crawler mechanism (22L or 22R, fig. 2 and [0040]), wherein one end of the crawler mechanism (22L or 22R, fig. 2 and [0036]) is connected to the output shafts (via shaft at motor 21L or 21R and crank shaft 14A as depicted in fig. 2), and the other end of the crawler mechanism (22L or 22R) is movably hinged to the apparatus body (12 and 15, fig. 2 and [0041]) by a height adjusting mechanism (“lift/lowering drive mechanism 16”), that is configured to move the apparatus body (body frame 15, up or down relative to the crawler mechanism (22L or 22R) and [as depicted in fig. 6 and para. 0041 teaches that the lifting/lowering drive mechanism 16 is vertically pivotably connected at its one end to the travel unit frame 12 (via output shaft) and vertically pivotably connected at the other one end to the vehicle body frame 15. Thus, the vehicle body frame 15, auger housing 25 and blower case 26 can be lifted and lowered (i.e., pivoted in a vertical or up-down direction) by means of the height adjusting mechanism 16; thus, configured to move the apparatus body up or down relative to the crawler mechanism]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified Huang in view of Koji to incorporate the teaching of Kawakami and provide the a crawler mechanism where one end of the crawler mechanism is connected to the output shafts of the Huang, and the other end of the crawler mechanism is movably hinged to the apparatus body by a height adjusting mechanism that is configured to move the apparatus body up or down relative to the crawler mechanism in order to advantageously implement an inclination angle of the travel frame relative to the ground surface and does not allow to make rolling motion together with the auger housing [‘Abstract’ of Kawakami’]. A height-adjusting mechanism into the crawler-type body of a snow-sweeping machine as taught by combination of the cited references already recognizes that adjustable ground-engaging structures, thereby improve traction, maintain optimal working height, adapt to uneven terrain, and reduce wear on the propulsion system. Applying such a known height-adjustment feature to a crawler-based mechanism represents nothing more than the predictable use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the similar field.
Regarding claim 10, Huang as modified above in claim 1 further teaches that the apparatus body (body of snow sweeper of Huang) is provided, but fails to teach that apparatus with a pedal fixing sheet, a locking sheet is hinged to the pedal fixing sheet, the pedal fixing sheet is provided with a locking slot and a locking pin of the pedal is rotated and clamped into the locking slot by the locking sheet; however,
Koji teaches that the apparatus body is provided with a pedal fixing sheet (lower frame 3), a locking sheet (32, [0027]) is hinged (via 31, [0027]) to the pedal fixing sheet (3), the pedal fixing sheet (3) is provided with a locking slot (“penetrating through hole”, [0028]), and a locking pin (connecting shaft 37) of the pedal (step body 29) is rotated and clamped into the locking slot by the locking sheet (32) [para. 0027 teaches that as a result, the pedal 29 is connected to the rear part of the lower frame 3 while being able to rotate up and down via the connecting shaft 37; thus, rotated and clamped into the locking slot.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teaching of Koji and provide the secure locking mechanism where the locking sheet and slot ensure the pedal is firmly fixed by rotating a pin into the slot in order to advantageously configure the self-propelled apparatus that integrate simple yet reliable hinge and slot design, reducing manufacturing cost that reinforcingly support those connecting portions [ para. 0027 of Koji].
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Koji, in view of Kawakami and further in view of Shimoyama Shogo (JP2017115311 A; hereinafter “Shogo”)).
Regarding claim 2, Huang as modified above teaches the height adjusting mechanism (“lift/lowering drive mechanism 16” of Kawakami), and the crawler mechanism, but fails to teach that the height adjusting mechanism comprises a height adjusting motor and a swing rod group hinged into the apparatus body, a motor base of the height adjusting motor is hinged into the apparatus body, and the height adjusting motor is connected to a push rod by a screw rod mechanism; the swing rod group comprises a first swing rod and a second swing rod mutually fixed; and the first swing rod is hinged to the push rod, and the second swing rod is hinged to the crawler mechanism; however,
Shogo in another snow plow, similar to the modified Huang teaches that the height adjusting mechanism comprises a height adjusting motor (“the lifting drive mechanism has an electric motor 49 with lift operation switch 87”, [0007, 0043 and 0078]) and a swing rod group (rods 6 and 7, fig. 1 and [0029]) hinged into the apparatus body (3), a motor base (support member 81, [“the electric motor 80 are supported by a support member 81, [0071]) of the height adjusting motor (11) is hinged into [0029] the apparatus body (3), and the height adjusting motor (49) is connected to a push rod (displacement axial plunger, [0031, line 12-14])) by a screw rod mechanism [ para. 0086 teaches: “various conversion mechanisms may be provided, such as a screw mechanism that converts the rotational drive force of the electric motor 80 into a lifting operation force”]; the swing rod group (6 and 7) comprises a first swing rod (6) and a second swing rod (7) mutually fixed [ para 0029 teaches: “the left and right steering handles are mutually supported and reinforced (mutually fixed) by being connected to each other by reinforcing rods 6 and 7; and the first swing rod (6) is hinged to the push rod (axial plunger), and the second swing rod (7) is hinged to the crawler mechanism [ para. 0029 teaches that a pair of first swing rod 6 and second swing rod 7 are connected at a portion between the grip portion 4b (portion with push rod of the motor connected via boss portion 88 where steering levers are gripped using ‘spring 64’) and the base portion 4a [associate with crawler mechanism; para. 0028 teaches that the means for connecting the base portion 4a and the handle support frame portion 22 is not limited to connecting bolts, but welding may also be used].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teaching of Shogo and provide a height adjusting motor, a first swing rod and a second swing rod, the swing rods are mutually hinged and respectively hinged to the apparatus body and the crawler as illustrated above with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously configure the self-propelled apparatus where the two linked swing rods allow for greater vertical displacement to an elevation driving mechanism for elevation operation of the support frame with the same motor stroke [‘Abstract of Shogo’].
Regarding claim 3, Huang as modified above further teaches that the first swing rod (6 of Shogo) and the second swing rod (7 of Shogo) are welded [0028 and claim rejection 2 above] and fixed by a hinged shaft (boss portion 88 is provided in forward of the grip portion 4b; [note that 4a and 4b are the portions where swing rods 6 and 7 are fixed; see claim rejection 2 above]), a stroke limit switch (87, [0078]) is installed on the height adjusting motor (49 of Shogo; see claim rejection 2 above), and a tension spring (64) is connected between the swing rod group (6 and 7 via steering levers, [0049 of Shogo]) and the apparatus body (1).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Koji, in view of Kawakami and further in view of Xu Haijun (CN209560387 U; hereinafter “Xu”).
Regarding claim 4, Huang as modified above further teaches that the linkage mechanism (swing arm, 306) and function control rod (speed regulating handle 312), but fails to teach that it comprises a slide rod, a slide rod seat and a linkage block , the slide rod is slidably installed on the slide rod seat, one side of the slide rod is in contact with the stroke control rod, the linkage block is hinged to a hinged support frame in the console, and the linkage block is provided with a linkage clamp slot able to clamp the function control rod; and during combined operation of the stroke control rod and the function control rod, the function control rod is manually pushed into the linkage clamp slot; however,
Xu in another snow sweeper similar to that of the modified Huang teaches that the linkage mechanism comprises a slide rod (6, via connecting shaft sleeve, figs. 1-2, [0021]), a slide rod seat (support plate 5) and a linkage block (11, fig. 1), the slide rod (6) is slidably installed (via shaft sleeve, [0026 teaches that the clutch handle is fixedly connected to a connecting shaft sleeve, and connecting shaft sleeve is sleeved; note that ‘sleeved’ is being interpretated as slidably installed] on the slide rod seat (5), one side of the slide rod (6) is in contact with the stroke control rod (14), the linkage block (11) is hinged to a hinged support frame (connecting plate 7) in the console (1), and the linkage block (11) is provided with a linkage clamp slot (9) able to clamp [0029 teaches that card slot 9 on the lock plate 8 are sleeved on the linkage block 11 during the forward rotation process, locking the clutch handle 3 of the stirring cage; to form an interlocking state; thus, able to clamp] the function control rod (linkage shaft); and during combined operation of the stroke control rod (upper transmission rod 14, [0028]) and the function control rod (linkage shaft, [claim 4]) , the function control rod (linkage shaft) is manually pushed into the linkage clamp slot (9) [ para. 0027 teaches that when the cage clutch handle 3 is pressed down, the locking plate 8 rotates driven by the torsion spring 10, and the card slot 9 can be sleeved on the card block 11 and lock the card block 11; thus, manually pushed into the linkage clamp slot 9.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teaching of Xu design and provide a slide rod that moves within a slide rod seat, in contact with a stroke control rod where a linkage block is hinged to a support frame and the function control rod can be manually pushed into the linkage clamp slot with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously configure the self-propelled apparatus where operator can manually engage or disengage the control rods, thus enhancing safety and user control, thereby preventing damage to the equipment caused by mis operation [para. 0006 of Xu].
Regarding claim 5, Huang as modified above further teaches that the slide rod seat (support plate 5) is installed on the hinged support frame (hand rail 2, fig. 1), and a reset spring (10 of Xu) is installed (via locking plate 8, [0027]) between the linkage block (11, fig. 1) and the hinged support frame (2); a slide shaft (13 of Xu) is formed at one end of the slide rod (6 of Xu), and the slide shaft (connecting shaft, [0028, line 12-15]), but fails to teach that the slide shaft is matched with a first kidney slot of the linkage block; and the hinged support frame is provided with a gear slot for accommodating the function control rod, and in a linkage operation state, a "7"-shaped slot is formed between the linkage block and the gear; however,
Xu teaches that the sliding shaft is matched with a first kidney slot (9; note that para. 0009 teaches that the locking slot can be sleeved on the locking block and lock the locking block is being interpretated as ‘kidney slot’) of the linkage block (11); and the hinged support frame (connecting plate 7 of Xu) is provided with a gear slot (slot at card block 11; [note that : 0027 teaches that card slot 9 is provided on the upper part of the front side of the locking plate 8, whereas line 11-13 further teaches that the card slot 9 can be sleeved on the card block 11 and lock the card block 11, thus gear slot at block 11 and another slot 9 on the upper part slidably move]) for accommodating the function control rod (linkage shaft, [0010]), and in a linkage operation state, a "7"-shaped slot is formed between the linkage block (11) and the gear slot. It should be understood that the sliding and locking operation within kidney-shaped slot reaches its locked state at the top end, which is guided and secured by the configuration of 7-shaped slot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teaching of Xu’s design and provide the slide rod seat mounted and hinged to support frame where a reset spring is placed between linkage block and hinge support frame as illustrated above in claim 5 with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously configure the optimized locking mechanism that prevents misalignment and enables faster re-engagement without manual repositioning, thereby preventing damage to the equipment caused by mis operation [ para.0004 of Xu].
Regarding claim 6, Huang as modified above further teaches that a lower end of the function control rod (speed regulating handle 312 of Huang), a lower end of the function control rod (312) is provided with a drive plate (speed regulating paddle 305, fig. 3 of Huang), one side of the drive plate is slidably sleeved [ para 0033 of Huang teaches that the drive plate 305 is sleeved on the turntable shaft 302 and is rotatably connected to the driven turntable whereas line 5-7 teaches that the swing arm 306 is movably connected to the drive plate 305; note that: drive plate, being sleeved and both movably and rotatably connected, enables a sliding effect, thus slidably sleeved] over a support frame sheet (F, annotated fig. 3 below of Huang) and the support frame sheet (F) is fixed on a first gear rotation shaft (turntable shaft 302 of Huang, fig. 4) in the console (control console); the drive plate is slidably sleeved (see above interpretation for slidably sleeve) over the first gear rotation shaft (302), and a compression spring [ para. 0019 of Huang teaches that a return spring is provided between the clutch set and the bracket] is installed between the drive plate and a shaft end of the first gear rotation shaft (302); when the combined operation needs to be manually released, the function drive rod (311) is pushed in an axial direction [the movable and rotatable connection as discussed above allows motion along the axial direction] of the first gear rotation shaft (302), the drive plate deflects with an upper end edge of the support frame sheet as a fulcrum (G, annotated fig. 3 of Huang), and the function drive rod (311) is disengaged (separated,[ 0016]) from the linkage clamp slot [para. 0016 teaches that a first slot is opened on the outer periphery of the clutch seat. The clutch fork is clamped in the first slot and can drive the clutch shaft to move back and forth along the driving shaft under the drive of the clutch drive mechanism, so that the clutch seat and the transmission sprocket are linked or separated, separated is equivalent to disengaged]; and the drive plate (305) is sleeved over a guide pin (307, fig. 4 shows pin 307) of the support frame sheet (A), and the drive plate is installed on the first gear rotation shaft (302) by a second kidney slot (slot 9 of Xu).
Annotated fig. 3 of Huang
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Koji, in view of Kawakami and further in view of Zhang Xin (CN212580018 U; hereinafter “Xin”)).
Regarding claim 7, Huang as modified above further teaches that the crawler mechanism (mechanism constituted by driving wheel 401, driving shaft 403, crawler 405 and transmission gear 303, fig. 1), comprises a crawler (405), a transmission gear (303) and a support frame (4, fig. 5), the output shaft (2) the output shaft is connected to the transmission gear (303) and the transmission gear (303) is matched with a through slot (slot formed when inserting output shaft 2) of the crawler (405); and a plurality of pairs of guide teeth (plural teeth on 405, fig. 5) are uniformly installed on an inner side [fig. 5 shows plurality of teeth are formed at inner side] of the crawler (405), and a guide cavity (cavity 418 formed between the teeth, fig. 5) corresponding to the transmission gear (next to the gear 303, fig. 3) is formed between each pair of guide teeth [ para. 0015 teaches that a toothed portion is provided on the turntable shaft to mesh with the transmission gear; thus, cavity is formed between each pair of guide teeth.]
The modified Huang doesn’t appear to teach that (303) output shaft is connected by a bearing seat; however,
Xin in another crawler equipment, similar to that of Huang teaches that “the bottom of a tracked vehicle usually has load-bearing wheels (51, fig. 1)”; note that all the load wheels are connected through output shaft and on the bearing seat (equivalent to load bearing). See para. 0004 and fig. 1 of Xin.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teaching of Xin and provide the load bearing wheel to the bottom of the track vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously configure the self-propelled apparatus where the bearing reduces the impact on uneven roads and increase the service life of the crawler device [ para. 0006 of Xin].
Regarding claim 8, Huang as modified above further teaches the wheels (fig. 5 of Huang), lower end of the support frame (4, fig. 5 of Huang), the lower end of the support frame (lower surface of 4, fig. 5), but doesn’t appear to explicitly teach that bearing wheels are installed on both sides of a lower end of the support frame, the lower end of the support frame is movably hinged to a V-shaped frame and a floating guide wheel installed on the V-shaped frame, the bearing wheels and the floating guide wheel are arranged outside the guide teeth (10), the support frame is provided with a tensioning wheel able to adjust the tightness of the crawler, and the tensioning wheel correspondingly falls into the guide cavity (d 1); however,
Xin teaches that bearing wheels (51, fig. 1) are installed on both sides of a lower end of the support frame (chassis support, ‘Abstract’), the lower end of the support frame (lower end of chassis support, fig. 1) is movably hinged to a V-shaped frame (13) and a floating guide wheel (44) installed on the V-shaped frame (V-shaped connecting member 6, as depicted in fig. 2), the bearing wheels (51) and the floating guide wheel (52) are arranged outside the guide teeth (fig. 1 shows outside the guide teeth), the support frame (chassis support) is provided with a tensioning wheel (4, claim 7) able to adjust the tightness of the crawler (1) [ para 0010 teaches: “the tensioning wheel is used to tension the crawler track”], and the tensioning wheel (4 of same height [0018])) correspondingly falls into the guide cavity [fig. 1 shows tensioning mechanism 41 where tensioning wheel is installed within its cavity; also para. 0030 teaches that the tensioning mechanism 41 is used to adjust the position of the tensioning wheel 4 in a small range (equivalent to guide cavity) so that the tensioning wheel 4 can effectively tension the crawler track 1.]. Note that: for an alternate to the above teaching, also see para. 0020 of Huang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teaching of Xin and provide the bearing wheels on both sides, hinged connected to a V-shaped frame, floating guide wheel that adjust to changes in surface elevation and tensioning wheel inside guide cavity that keeps the crawler belt properly tensioned while being aligned withing the guide system with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously configure the self-propelled apparatus that prevents derailment, improves power transfer efficiency. Therefore, the crawler apparatus can have a good service life [ para. 0029 of Xin].
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Koji, in view of Kawakami and further in view of Walker et al. (US 20090293321 A1; hereinafter, “Walker”).
Regarding claim 9, Huang as modified above in claim 1 further teaches a snow outlet cover (snow outlet cover as depicted in fig. 1) is rotatably [ para 0005 teaches that a snowplow with a crawler chassis which is easy to walk, turn, thus, rotatably operate] operate. installed on a snow sweeping cover shell (bottom cover as depicted on fig. 1) at a front end (fig. 1 shows at front end) of the apparatus body (1).
The modified Huang teaches snowplow outlet cover and its rotatable operation, but fails to explicitly teach that a gear ring is installed at a lower end of the snow outlet cover, and a steering motor and a steering gear engaged with the gear ring are installed on the snow sweeping cover shell; however,
Walker in another motorized snowblower chute control assembly, similar to that of Huang teaches that a snow outlet cover (24, [0016], [equivalent to outlet cover of Huang]) is rotatably installed on a snow sweeping cover shell (housing ‘H’, [0016]) at a front end of the apparatus body (10, fig. 1), a gear ring (‘RG’, fig. 3 and [para.: “motor M can then be coupled to a ring gear RG secured at or near the base of discharge chute 12”]) is installed at a lower end (base) of the snow outlet cover (12), and a steering motor (M, fig. 2) and a steering gear (26, fig. 3) engaged with the gear ring (RG) are installed on the snow sweeping cover shell (12) [ para. 0016 teaches: “a drive gear 26 driven by motor M can be meshingly engaged with the teeth of ring gear RG”.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teaching of Walker and provide rotatable snow outlet cover, operated by gear ring and steering motor with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously configure the self-propelled apparatus that integrate compact design and allow operator to adjust the snow discharge direction on the fly, reduces physical strain, thereby facilitates rotational control [ para. 0007 of Walker].
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Koji, in view of Kawakami and further in view of Li Yuting (WO2018035747 A1; hereinafter, “Li”).
Regarding claim 11, Huang as modified above includes all the limitations of claim 1 including height adjusting mechanism (“lift/lowering drive mechanism 16” of Kawakami), but fails to teach the remaining limitations; however,
Kawakami teaches that height adjusting mechanism comprises a height adjusting handle (17L, 17R, fig. 3; [0034]), and an upper rotation rod group (lever 42, fig. 3; [0048]) and a lower rotation rod group (43L, 43R) respectively hinged to the apparatus body (16, fig. 3), the height adjusting handle (17L, 17R) is connected to the upper rotation rod group (42), and the lower rotation rod group (43L, 43R) is movably hinged to the crawler mechanism (via 65a); the upper rotation rod group (42) and the lower rotation rod group (43L, 43R) are connected by a height- adjustable connecting rod (via “actuator having a piston rod”; [0040]); the crawler mechanism comprises a crawler (22L. 22R), and a support frame (15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teaching of Kawakami and provide the height adjusting mechanism of the known components and techniques as outlined above of Kawakami fig. 3 in order to advantageously optimize the design to maintain optimal working height of the clearing implement, adapt to uneven terrain and to reduce wear on the propulsion system. The claimed configuration doesn’t yield unexpected results, but reflects routing engineering design choices based on known principles of modular height adjustment mechanism and terrain adaptability.
Huang as modified by Xin as detailed in the rejection of Claim 8 above, includes the limitations that the crawler, a support frame and a crawler transmission wheel arranged inside the crawler, and the crawler transmission wheel is separately connected to the output shaft and the crawler; a lower end of the support frame is provided with one or more than one bearing wheel group, the lower end of the support frame is provided with a tensioning wheel group which is at a same height [para. 0018 of Xin] as the bearing wheel group and also able to play a bearing role. Note that claims 8 and 11 are unrelated dependency-wise, but the limitation and teaching as specified above teaches all the limitations as outlined in claim rejection 8 above.
But, Huang as modified above doesn’t appear to explicitly teach the triangular support frame; however,
Li in another crawler wheels device, similar to Huang teaches the triangular support frame (support frame 23, fig. 5 and [para. 0022 discloses: “the support frame 23 is triangular”.])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teaching of Li and provide the triangular support frame to the crawler with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously configure the self-propelled apparatus that integrate a triangular crawler supported by triangular support frame that enhances stable ground contact, improved traction and obstacle-surmounting performance [Abstract’ of Li].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200291590 A1 to Fukano teaches: the vehicle body frame 38 is provided with an elevating mechanism 46 for adjusting a height position of the auger housing 22.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NABIN KUMAR SHARMA/
Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611