DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 16, and 21 are objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 1, line 7: the second instance of “and” should be deleted;
Claim 1, line 12: “and” should be deleted;
Claim 16, line 11: the second instance of “and” should be deleted; and
Claim 21, line 2: “emits” should be replaced with “emit”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Monitoring unit in claim 10 because it uses a generic placeholder (i.e., unit) that is coupled with functional language (i.e., monitoring and “adapted to receive information regarding a position of the patient”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Paragraph [0052] discloses a variety of monitoring systems, but the specification does not clarify whether “monitoring unit” is the same as “monitoring system”. Additionally, ¶ [0052] does not disclose any structure associated with the monitoring systems. Therefore, the specification does not describe corresponding structure, so the limitation is being given its broadest reasonable interpretation of a system configured to be used for monitoring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the monitoring unit" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because a monitoring unit is not previously recited.
Claim 20 recites “gradually increases” in line 3, which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this case, it is unclear when an increase starts/stops being considered gradual/abrupt. The Examiner suggests deleting the recitation of “gradually”.
Claim 20 recites “and wherein the audio signal gradually increases to indicate the system is calibrating such that the pad calibrates to a mattress in an empty bed status” in lines 3-4. The recitation suggests that increasing the audio signal results in the calibration to the mattress, which is unclear. The calibration to a mattress in an empty bed status and increasing the audio signal appear to be separate elements (see ¶ [0059] of the Applicant’s specification), there being no indication of how the audio signal results in the calibration. For the purposes of examination, the recitation will be interpreted to be “, and wherein the pad is configured to calibrate[[s]] to a mattress in an empty bed status”.
Claim limitation “monitoring unit” in claim 10 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specifically, the specification is devoid of any structure, material, or acts for performing the entire function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0092103 A1 (Williams ‘103) (cited by Applicant) in view of US 5,796,059 (Boon) (previously cited), US 2017/0172490 A1 (Afentakis), and US 7,924,163 B1 (Long) (previously cited)
With regards to claims 1 and 16, Williams ‘103 teaches a method of using a patient monitoring sensor pad (Fig. 2B and ¶ [0023] depicts a method of using and positioning an under-mattress patient monitoring sensor pad 100; Fig. 2A and ¶ [0023] depict a patient monitoring sensor pad 100) comprising: positioning the patient monitoring sensor pad atop a bed frame (Fig. 2B depicts the sensor pad 100 atop a bed frame), the patient monitoring sensor pad comprising: a flexible first plate with conductive material printed thereon (Fig. 2A and ¶ [0024] depict a contact plate 113 formed of a flexible material with electrically conductive material printed on the contact plate); a flexible second plate with conductive material printed thereon (Fig. 2A and ¶ [0024] depict a contact plate 115 formed of a flexible material with electrically conductive material printed on the contact plate), wherein each of the first flexible plate and second flexible plate comprises zones of conductivity (¶ [0008] depict the first and second flexible plate comprising zones of conductivity; ¶ [0029] and Figs. 6-7 depict patterns of conductive material 435 and 535 on sensor plates 113 and 115); a sponge layer (Fig. 2A and ¶ [0024] depict soft sponge layer 114); a bottom layer below the second plate (Fig. 2A and ¶ [0024] depicts an outer most layer 112 formed of PVC), the bottom layer being more rigid than the first and second plates (¶ [0026] depicts the layer 112 being rigid compared to the detection layers 113, 114, 115); and a neck portion extending from the bottom layer (Fig. 2A depicts a neck portion extending from layers 112 and 111).
Although Williams ‘103 teaches a sponge layer for use in the pressure sensitive switch (¶ [0025] of Williams ‘103 teaches the soft sponge layer 114 has openings that allow the two contact plates 113 and 115 to come in contact and close a circuit when sufficient pressure is placed on the sensor pad, such as when a patient lays on the mattress), Williams ‘103 is silent with regards to a foam layer, wherein the foam layer is an electrically conductive foam and the foam layer does not have any holes therethrough, and wherein an electrical resistance of the electrically-conductive foam varies as a function of an amount of force applied to the electrically conductive foam, and wherein the zones of conductivity of the first plate are configured to make electrical contact with the zones of conductivity of the second plate when a patient sits or lies on the patient monitoring sensor pad.
In the same field of endeavor of patient monitoring pads, Boon teaches a foam layer, wherein the foam layer is an electrically conductive foam and the foam layer does not have any holes therethrough (Fig. 2 and Col. 3, lines 25-58 depict a resilient conductor 16 being a conductive foam and does not have any holes) and wherein an electrical resistance of the electrically-conductive foam varies as a function of an amount of force applied to the electrically conductive foam (Fig. 2 and Col. 3, lines 25-58 depict the foam being a variable resistor that responds to the pressure being applied, wherein more pressure that is applied, the more the foam condenses and the lower its resistive value), and wherein a first zone of conductivity of a first plate is configured to make electrical contact with a second zone of conductivity of a second plate via the foam layer when a patient sits or lies on the patient monitoring sensor pad (Col. 4, lines 1-54 depict the conductive foam closing an electrical circuit between conductive paths 28 and 30 when a patient sits or lies on the device). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the sponge layer of Williams ‘103 with the foam layer as taught by Boon. The motivation would have been to allow for a more accurate determination of the different weights that are applied to the pad (see Col. 3, lines 45-58).
The above combination is silent regarding whether the foam layer has a larger planar size than a planar size of the flexible first plate and a larger planar size than a planar size of the flexible second plate such that the foam layer prevents physical contact between the first plate and the second plate.
In the same field of endeavor of patient monitoring pads, Boon teaches wherein the foam layer has a larger planar size than a planar size of the flexible first plate and a larger planar size than a planar size of the flexible second plate such that the foam layer prevents physical contact between the first plate and the second plate (Figs. 1-2 depict the resilient conductor 16 having a larger planar size than the conductive paths 28 and 30, such that the resilient conductor 16 prevents physical contact between conductive paths 28, 30). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the foam layer of the above combination to incorporate that it has a larger planar size than a planar size of the flexible first plate and a larger planar size than a planar size of the flexible second plate such that the foam layer prevents physical contact between the first plate and the second plate as taught by Boon. Because both foam sizes are capable of being used for a patient monitoring pad, it would have been the simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results. Additionally or alternatively, like Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) as cited in MPEP 2144.04 (IV), the above limitation amounts to a change in relative dimension that would not have resulted in a device that performs differently than the prior art device. Therefore, the difference in relative dimensions is obvious in view of the above combination.
The above combination is silent regarding whether the foam layer is in uninterrupted, juxtaposed planar contact with both the first plate and the second plate.
In a system relevant to the problem of monitoring pressure, Afentakis teaches a foam layer is in uninterrupted, juxtaposed planar contact with both the first electrode and the second electrode (Fig. 7 and ¶ [0047] depict a pressure sensitive layer 110a being a foam and changing resistivity in response to variations in pressure, the layer 110a being in uninterrupted, juxtaposed planar contact with the middle electrode 106a and bottom electrode 104a2; see ¶ [0035] with regards to using the electrodes 106a, 104a2 for monitoring the environmental conditions). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above combination to incorporate that the foam layer is in uninterrupted, juxtaposed planar contact with both the first plate and the second plate as taught by Afentakisk. Because both the interrupted and uninterrupted configurations are capable of being used for providing pressure measurements and alarm signals (¶¶ [0034]-[0035] of Afentakisk; Col. 4, lines 1-54 of Boon), it would have been the simple substitution one of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
The above combination is silent with regards to the neck portion comprising an internal cavity, wherein the internal cavity comprises at least one electrical contact and coupled to an aperture, the aperture configured to be opened and closed, wherein the method comprises coupling the bed pad to a monitoring system via the electrical contact within the internal cavity of the neck portion.
In the same field of bed pads, Long teaches a neck portion comprising an internal cavity (Fig. 4B depicts a pocket or sleeve 530 comprising an internal cavity), wherein the internal cavity comprises at least one electrical contact and coupled to an aperture (Fig. 4B depicts a wire extending from the pocket or sleeve 530), the aperture configured to be opened and closed (Fig. 4B and Col. 5, lines 15-20 depict a pocket or sleeve 530 comprising an aperture configured to be closed with a flap 540 and secured with tamper proof clips 550). Long further teaches coupling the bed pad to a monitoring system via the electrical contact within the internal cavity of the neck portion (Fig. 4B and Col. 5, lines 15-20 depict connecting the wire to a wire connector 520 of a transmitter 500). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the neck portion of the above combination to incorporate an internal cavity, wherein the internal cavity comprises at least one electrical contact and an aperture, the aperture configured to be opened and closed via a fastening member, and coupling the bed pad to a monitoring system via the electrical contact within the internal cavity of the neck portion as taught by Long. The motivation would have been to (A) provide a mechanism for reversibly sealing elements within the pad and (B) provide a connector for connecting the elements within the pad to other units.
With regards to claim 2, Williams ‘103 further teaches a bottom layer is polyvinyl chloride (¶ [0021] teaches top and bottom layers formed of polyvinyl chloride).
With regards to claim 3, Williams ‘103 further teaches a plastic layer between the bottom layer and the second plate (Fig. 2A and ¶ [0024] depict a plastic plate 220 and bottom plastic plate 125 separating bottom layer 112 and contact plates 115).
With regards to claim 4, Williams ‘103 further teaches a top-most layer above the first plate (Fig. 2A depicts a top outermost layer 111).
With regards to claim 5, Williams ‘103 further teaches the top-most layer is polyvinyl chloride (¶ [0021] teaches top and bottom layers formed of polyvinyl chloride).
With regards to claim 6, Williams ‘103 further teaches the neck portion is configured to extend from the top-most layer (Fig. 2A depicts a neck portion extending from top outer most layer 111).
With regards to claim 7, the above combination is silent with regards to whether the internal cavity further comprises a control chip and a battery.
In the same field of endeavor of patient monitoring pads, Long teaches a transmitter unit in an internal cavity of a neck portion (Fig. 4B), wherein the transmitter unit comprises a control chip and a battery (Fig. 10 and Col. 5, lines 45-67 depict a circuit diagram of a wireless pad transmitter comprising a microcontroller U2 and a battery BT1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the internal cavity of the above combination to incorporate a transmitter unit comprising a control chip and a battery as taught by Long. The motivation would have been to provide the circuitry components for monitoring the conditions of the pad (see Col. 5, lines 51-67 of Long).
With regards to claim 8, the above combination teaches or suggests the control chip comprises an alarm feature (Col. 5, lines 51-67 of Long teaches the microcontroller U2 monitors the conditions of the pad and generates an alarm)
With regards to claim 9, the above combination teaches or suggests the electrical resistance of the electrically conductive foam decreases as an amount of force on the foam increases and increases as an amount of force on the foam decreases (Fig. 2 and Col. 3, lines 25-58 of Boon depict a resilient conductor 16 being a foam that is a variable resistor that responds to the pressure being applied, wherein more pressure that is applied, the more the foam condenses and the lower its resistive value).
With regards to claim 11, the above combination teaches or suggests the control chip further comprises a control feature (Col. 5, line 51 to Col. 6, line 12 of Long teaches the microcontroller U2 generates an alarm, which is then sent to a remote monitor; also see Col. 8, lines 2-11 with regards to the alarm).
With regards to claim 15, Williams ‘103 further teaches wherein the pad is configured to be positioned atop a bed frame and between the mattress and the bed frame (Fig. 2B and ¶ [0023] depicts the under-mattress pad 100 positioned atop a bed frame and below a mattress).
With regards to claim 17, Williams ‘103 further teaches positioning a mattress atop the bed frame such that the pad is positioned between the mattress and the bed frame (Fig. 2B and ¶ [0023] depicts the under-mattress pad 100 positioned atop a bed frame and below a mattress).
With regards to claim 18, the above combination is silent with regards to positioning a mattress between the bed frame and the patient monitoring sensor pad such that the pad is positioned atop the mattress.
Williams ‘103 teaches a conventional patient monitoring sensor pad, wherein a mattress is positioned between the bed frame and the bed pad such that the pad is positioned atop the mattress (Fig. 1B). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the position of the pad of the above combination to incorporate that it is atop the bed mattress as taught by Fig. 1B of Williams ‘103. Because both positions are capable of being used for monitoring a patient (¶ [0020] and ¶ [0023] of Williams ‘103), It would have been the simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results.
With regards to claim 19, the above combination teaches or suggests the electrical resistance of the electrically conductive foam decreases as an amount of force on the foam increases and increases as an amount of force on the foam decreases (Fig. 2 and Col. 3, lines 25-58 of Boon depict a resilient conductor 16 being a foam that is a variable resistor that responds to the pressure being applied, wherein more pressure that is applied, the more the foam condenses and the lower its resistive value).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams ‘103 in view of Boon, Afentakis, and Long, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US 2019/0335913 A1 (Tsern) (previously cited).
With regards to claim 10, the above combination is silent regarding whether the monitoring unit is adapted to receive information regarding a position of the patient on the patient monitoring sensor pad comprises an indication of hypermovement, an indication of lack of movement, or an indication of proximity to an edge of the patient monitoring sensor pad.
In the same field of endeavor of monitoring a mattress, Tsern teaches a controller providing information regarding the position of the patient on a patient monitoring sensor pad, wherein the information comprises an indication of hypermovement, an indication of lack of movement, or an indication of proximity to an edge of the patient monitoring sensor pad (¶ [0038] discloses the controller may determine that the user has fallen asleep by monitoring both when the pressure sensor indicates the user lies on the sleep surface, and by monitoring when the pressure sensor indicates a relatively constant pressure, indicating a lack of movement on the part of the user, or alternatively monitoring the output of a motion sensor located in the bed). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above combination to incorporate that a controller which provides information regarding the position of the patient on the patient monitoring sensor pad, wherein the information comprises an indication of hypermovement, an indication of lack of movement, or an indication of proximity to an edge of the patient monitoring sensor pad as taught by Tsern. The motivation would have been to provide a more complete diagnostic analysis of the patient.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams ‘103 in view of Boon, Afentakis, and Long, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2017/0209076 A1 (Williams ‘076) (previously cited)
With regards to claim 12, the above combination teaches or suggests the at least one electrical contact is an elongated wire (Fig. 4B of Long depicts a wire extending from the pocket or sleeve 530).
The above combination is silent with regards to whether the at least one electrical contact is an elongated wire in electrical contact with the zones of conductivity
In the same field of endeavor of sensor pads, Williams ‘076 teaches at least one electrical contact is an elongated wire in electrical contact with the zones of conductivity (Fig. 4 and ¶ [0025] of Williams ‘076 depict a cable 405 connected to the one or more electrical interfaces of the sensor pad). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the elongated wire of the above combination to incorporate that it is in electrical contact with the zones of conductivity as taught by Williams ‘076. The motivation would have been to provide a connection such that the signals from the zones can be analyzed.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams ‘103 in view of Boon, Afentakis, and Long, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0125413 A1 (Smith, Jr.), US 2018/0177449 A1 (Latey), and US 2005/0185799 A1 (Bertranm)
With regards to claim 20, the Examiner notes that, in view of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) above, claim 20 is being interpreted to recite “when power is applied to the pad, the pad emits an audio signal and the pad calibrates using a baseline resistance threshold of the conductive foam, wherein the audio signal increases to indicate the system is calibrating, and wherein the pad is configured to calibrate to a mattress in an empty bed status”.
The above combination is silent regarding whether, when power is applied to the pad, the pad calibrates using a baseline resistance threshold of the conductive foam, and wherein the pad is configured to calibrate to a mattress in an empty bed status.
In the same field of endeavor of pressure sensor pads, Smith, Jr. teaches when power is applied to the pad, the pad calibrates using a baseline resistance threshold of the conductive foam, and wherein the pad is configured to calibrate to a mattress in an empty bed status (¶ [0069] and Fig. 7 depict that when the control unit is powered on at 500, checking to determine if only the mattress is present on top of the pad at 504, determining a mattress threshold at 506, and calibrating the control unit at 508). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above combination to incorporate when power is applied to the pad, the pad calibrates using a baseline resistance threshold of the conductive foam, and wherein the pad is configured to calibrate to a mattress in an empty bed status, as taught by Smith, Jr. The motivation would have been to provide a method for accounting for the weight of the mattress, which would allow for a more accurate determination of the pressure due to a patient’s weight (see ¶ [0070] of Smith Jr.).
The above combination is silent regarding whether, when power is applied to the pad, the pad emits an audio signal and wherein the audio signal increases to indicate the system is calibrating.
In a system relevant to the problem of indicating a calibration status, Latey teaches when power is applied to a device, the device emits an audio signal which indicates the system is calibrating (¶ [0088] discloses that a calibrating routine is indicated by an audible signal such as a chirping tone, wherein the calibration necessarily takes place while the device is powered on). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above combination to incorporate, based on the teachings of Latey, when power is applied to the pad, the pad emits an audio signal to indicate the system is calibrating. The motivation would have been to make it easier for the user to know about the calibration status of the device.
The above combination is silent regarding whether the audio signal increases.
In a system relevant to the problem of providing audible signals, Bertram teaches providing an audio signal that increases (¶ [0051] discloses an audible tone that gets louder or has faster beeping). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the audio signal to incorporate that the audio signal gradually increases as taught by Bertram. Because both the audio signals of Latey and Bertram are capable of signaling a device status, it would have been the simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results. Additionally or alternatively, the increasing audio signal is a matter relating to mere ornamentation which has no mechanical function. The court found that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947) and MPEP 2144.04(I).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams ‘103 in view of Boon, Afentakis, and Long, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 4,862,144 A (Tao) and US 2018/0125413 A1 (Smith, Jr.).
With regards to claim 21, the above combination is silent regarding applying power to the pad to cause the pad to emit an audio signal.
In the same field of endeavor of monitoring pads, Tao teaches applying power to a pad to cause the pad to emit an audio signal (Col. 9, lines 37-41 depict that when a battery output level falls below a predetermined safe level, the audible alarm is energized to provide outputs). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above combination to incorporate applying power to a pad to cause the pad to emit an audio signal as taught by Tao. The motivation would have been to provide an indication that power is failing.
The above combination is silent regarding wherein the foam layer is positioned under a mattress to cause the system to calibrate using a baseline resistance threshold of the foam layer.
In the same field of endeavor of pressure sensor pads, Smith, Jr. teaches the foam layer is positioned under a mattress to cause the system to calibrate using a baseline resistance threshold of the foam layer (¶ [0069] and Fig. 7 depict that when the control unit is powered on at 500, checking to determine if only the mattress is present on top of the pad at 504, determining a mattress threshold at 506, and calibrating the control unit at 508). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above combination to incorporate the foam layer is positioned under a mattress to cause the system to calibrate using a baseline resistance threshold of the foam layer, as taught by Smith, Jr. The motivation would have been to provide a method for accounting for the weight of the mattress, which would allow for a more accurate determination of the pressure due to a patient’s weight (see ¶ [0070] of Smith Jr.).
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
There are new grounds of claim objections.
35 U.S.C. §112(b)
There are new grounds of rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) necessitated by the claim amendments filed 06/25/2026.
Applicant did not respond to the rejection of claim 10 for reciting “monitoring unit” which invokes interpretation under 35 U.S.C. §112(f) but does not have any corresponding structure recited in the specification. The examiner did not find a reason to withdraw the rejections, so the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) were maintained.
35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant's amendment and arguments filed 06/25/2026 with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections set forth in the Final Rejection mailed 02/27/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over US 2017/0092103 A1 (Williams ‘103) (cited by Applicant) in view of US 5,796,059 (Boon) (previously cited), US 2017/0172490 A1 (Afentakis), and US 7,924,163 B1 (Long) (previously cited). See the above rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103. Therefore, the previously applied rejection has been modified to incorporate the teachings of James.
Conclusion
/S.C.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JACQUELINE CHENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791