DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 11. Applicant has further amended claims 1 and 11 to include a limitation such that “the predetermined minimum voltage is selected such that a runaway of one or more of the first, second, and third rechargeable batteries is avoided” thereby traversing the prior art of record Maxwell et al (US 20150303527 A1).
In response to applicant's argument that “[at] the outset, Maxwell does not show discharging of batteries for recycling” and “the invention provides that the minimum voltage is selected in such a way that a runaway of the rechargeable battery is avoided”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The structure of the discharging device as taught by Maxwell is capable of performing discharging rechargeable batteries for recycling. Further
Applicant specification ¶0063 discloses “FIG. 1 shows a rechargeable battery discharge device 10”, indicating that which the inventor regards as the invention is a battery discharge device. Similarly Maxwell ¶0058 discloses “Control system 114 also includes current modulation system 142. Current modulation system 142 is configured to control… the current flowing out of plurality of battery cells 105 to a load in a discharging mode”, indicating that Maxwell has the structure necessary to perform discharging a plurality of rechargeable batteries. Discharging batteries prior to recycling is an application of discharging rechargeable batteries, and as stated above, does not necessarily provide a structural difference between Maxwell and the claimed invention.
Similarly applicant argues “the invention provides that the minimum voltage is selected in such a way that a runaway of the rechargeable battery is avoided”, wherein thermal runaway is caused by lithium batteries overheating and can be caused from over-discharging or deep discharging a battery. Envo Drive section 2. Electrical Abuse discloses “If a lithium-ion battery is discharged below its safe voltage threshold (typically 2.5V per cell)… These deposits create unintended conductive pathways, leading to an internal short circuit when the battery is used again”, an internal short circuit of the battery can cause the battery to overheat and in turn cause thermal runaway.
Maxwell ¶0050 “Bypass circuit 132 is configured to determine whether a voltage output from a battery cell in plurality of battery cells 105 has fallen below a selected threshold and to bypass the battery cell in the series circuit in response”, ¶0088 indicates that the bypass circuit 132 of FIG 1 is further detailed by bypass circuit 632 of FIG 6. Further disclosed in ¶0089 as “ bypass circuit 632 includes plurality of comparators 634 and plurality of switches 636… Plurality of switches 636 includes switches 653, 654, 656, 658, 660, 662, 664, and 666, which correspond to battery cells 304, 306, 308, 310, 312, 314, 316, and 302, respectively”. The plurality of switches bypass the individual battery cells, thereby shorting the battery out of the circuit, which performs the same functionality as the short circuit switch 24.i of the current application of removing a battery from discharging.
Applicant makes no further arguments regarding the additional prior art of record.
Applicant's arguments filed 9 March 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 23 December 2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 22 December 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation “prevent a runway”, wherein the term “runaway” is indefinite and does not particularly point out the type of runaway which is occurring. Examiner suggests amending to recite “prevent a thermal runaway”.
Claim 2 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as failing to specify a further limitation of subject matter from a previously set forth claim. The preamble to claim 2 reads “The rechargeable discharge device according to claim 0”, wherein claim 0 does not exist. For the purposes of examination this has been interpreted as “The rechargeable discharge device according to claim 1”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 11-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maxwell et al (US 20150303527 A1) modified by Muenzel et al (20200144830 A1) and supported by ENVO Drive. (2025, February 3). Thermal Runaway in Lithium-Ion Batteries: Causes, Risks, and Preventions. https://envodrive.com/en-us/blogs/articles/thermal-runaway-in-lithium-ion-batteries-causes-risks-and-prevention?srsltid=AfmBOookQgOuGn7jB5K9sWnssJQE4D56lvbrmMdXPnImtn0Z5_6TGibM.
In certain circumstances, references cited to show a universal fact need not be available as prior art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention. In re Wilson, 311 F.2d 266, 135 USPQ 442 (CCPA 1962). Such facts include the characteristics and properties of a material or a scientific truism
Regarding claim 1, Maxwell teaches a rechargeable battery discharge device for discharging rechargeable batteries for recycling, (¶0039 "Control chamber 112 is used to hold at least a portion of control system 114. Control system 114 may be considered part of battery system 100 or separate from battery system 100, depending on the implementation")
comprising: a first rechargeable battery connection for connecting a first rechargeable battery, (¶0086 "battery cell 302 has anode 600 and cathode 602")
a second rechargeable battery connection for connecting a second rechargeable battery, (¶0086 "battery cell 304 has anode 604 and cathode 606")
at least a third rechargeable battery connection for connecting a third rechargeable battery, (¶0086 "battery cell 306 has anode 608 and cathode 610")
and a load connection for a load for dissipating an electric output during discharging of the rechargeable batteries, (¶0087 "battery cells in plurality of battery cells 300 are electrically connected to load 601 to form series circuit 631. Current flows from load 601 into anode 600 of battery cell 302 and back to load 601 from cathode 630 of battery cell 316... series circuit 130 in FIG. 1. Load 601 may be an example of one implementation for load 129 in FIG. 1")
and a discharge circuit comprising a first short circuit switch, (¶0089 "Plurality of switches 636 includes switches 653, 654, 656, 658, 660, 662, 664, and 666, which correspond to battery cells 304, 306, 308, 310, 312, 314, 316, and 302, respectively")
a first voltmeter that is arranged to measure a first rechargeable battery voltage dropped across the first rechargeable battery connection, (¶0089 "FIG. 1. Plurality of comparators 634 includes comparators 638, 640, 642, 644, 646, 648, 650, and 652, which correspond to battery cells 302, 304, 306, 308, 310, 312, 314, and 316, respectively")
a second short circuit switch, (¶0089 "Plurality of switches 636 includes switches 653, 654, 656, 658, 660, 662, 664, and 666, which correspond to battery cells 304, 306, 308, 310, 312, 314, 316, and 302, respectively")
a second voltmeter that is arranged to measure a second rechargeable battery voltage dropped across the second rechargeable battery connection, (¶0089 "FIG. 1. Plurality of comparators 634 includes comparators 638, 640, 642, 644, 646, 648, 650, and 652, which correspond to battery cells 302, 304, 306, 308, 310, 312, 314, and 316, respectively")
a third short circuit switch, (¶0089 "Plurality of switches 636 includes switches 653, 654, 656, 658, 660, 662, 664, and 666, which correspond to battery cells 304, 306, 308, 310, 312, 314, 316, and 302, respectively")
a third voltmeter that is arranged to measure a third rechargeable battery voltage dropped across the third rechargeable battery connection, (¶0089 "FIG. 1. Plurality of comparators 634 includes comparators 638, 640, 642, 644, 646, 648, 650, and 652, which correspond to battery cells 302, 304, 306, 308, 310, 312, 314, and 316, respectively")
and a control unit, wherein the control unit is being configured to automatically carry out a method comprising the steps: (¶0058 "Control system 114 also includes current modulation system 142. Current modulation system 142 is configured to control the current flowing into plurality of battery cells 105 in a charging mode or the current flowing out of plurality of battery cells 105 to a load in a discharging mode")
for all of the first, second, and third voltmeters, detecting the respective first, second, or third rechargeable battery voltage, (¶0050 "control system 114 includes bypass circuit 132 Bypass circuit 132 is configured to determine whether a voltage output from a battery cell in plurality of battery cells 105 has fallen below a selected threshold and to bypass the battery cell in the series circuit in response to a determination that the voltage output from the battery cell has fallen below the selected threshold")
when the respective first, second, or third rechargeable battery voltage exceeds a predetermined minimum voltage, connecting the corresponding first, second, or third rechargeable battery into a series circuit with at least one other rechargeable battery (¶0054 "when battery cell 124 is producing a voltage output that is equal to or above the selected threshold, switch 140 may be in a first state. When switch 140 is in the first state, a previous battery cell, with respect to battery cell 124, and the path of current flow in series circuit 130 is connected to battery cell 124 such that current from the previous battery cell flows into battery cell 124")
and when the respective first, second, or third rechargeable battery voltage does not exceed the predetermined minimum voltage, removing the corresponding first, second, or third rechargeable battery from the series circuit by means of the corresponding first, second, or third short circuit switch of the discharge circuit (¶0055 "when the voltage output produced by battery cell 124 drops below the selected threshold, comparator 138 controls switch 140 such that switch 140 changes from the first state to the second state. When switch 140 is in the second state, the previous battery cell is connected to a next battery cell, with respect to battery cell 124, and the path of current flow in series circuit 130 such that battery cell 124 is bypassed")
wherein the predetermined minimum voltage is selected such that a runaway of one or more of the first, second, and third rechargeable batteries is avoided, (¶0057 “selected threshold for each of plurality of comparators 134 may be, for example, without limitation, about 2 volts or about 2.25 volts”, please see below for further detail)
wherein the discharge circuit is configured to remove the respective first, second, and/or third rechargeable battery from the series circuit using one or more of the first, second or third short circuit switches, (¶0050 “Bypass circuit 132 is configured to determine whether a voltage output from a battery cell in plurality of battery cells 105 has fallen below a selected threshold and to bypass the battery cell in the series circuit ”)
and wherein each of the first, second and third short circuit switches [comprises a first switch element which are connected] such that the series connection is only closed when all the first switch elements are closed, (¶0053 “Comparator 138 controls whether switch 140 is in a first state or a second state”, ¶0054 “When switch 140 is in the first state, a previous battery cell, with respect to battery cell 124, and the path of current flow in series circuit 130 is connected to battery cell 124”)
and at least one short circuit switch of the first, second and third short circuit switches has a second switch element which is connected such that for each second switch element it applies that, [irrespective of a switch state of the first switch element,] the accumulator connected to a corresponding accumulator connection can only be discharged when the second switch element is closed. (¶0053 “Comparator 138 controls whether switch 140 is in a first state or a second state”, ¶0055 “switch 140 is in the second state, the previous battery cell is connected to a next battery cell, with respect to battery cell 124, and the path of current flow in series circuit 130 such that battery cell 124 is bypassed”)
Maxwell selects a minimum threshold between 2V and 2.25V per cell, which corresponds to the battery entering a deep discharge. This is further supported in ENVO drive section How to Prevent Thermal Runaway subsection Environmental controls “lithium-ion cells are discharged below their safe voltage threshold (typically 2.5V per cell), it can cause structural damage inside the battery”. The structural damage inside the battery leads to an internal short, which in turn causes thermal runaway if the battery falls below the minimum threshold.
Maxwell does not teach [wherein each of the first, second and third short circuit switches] comprises a first switch element which are connected] such that the series connection is only closed when all the first switch elements are closed, at least one short circuit switch of the first, second and third short circuit switches has a second switch element which is connected such that for each second switch element it applies that,] irrespective of a switch state of the first switch element, [the accumulator connected to a corresponding accumulator connection can only be discharged when the second switch element is closed].
Muenzel teaches [wherein each of the first, second and third short circuit switches] comprises a first switch element which are connected] such that the series connection is only closed when all the first switch elements are closed, (¶0079 “Switching assembly 120a includes a first switch 122 for connecting battery cell unit 104a to the circuit module 102 when closed, and a second switch 124 for bypassing battery cell unit 104a when closed”)
at least one short circuit switch of the first, second and third short circuit switches has a second switch element which is connected such that for each second switch element it applies that,] irrespective of a switch state of the first switch element, [the accumulator connected to a corresponding accumulator connection can only be discharged when the second switch element is closed]. (¶0079 “Switching assembly 120a includes a first switch 122 for connecting battery cell unit 104a to the circuit module 102 when closed, and a second switch 124 for bypassing battery cell unit 104a when closed”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the rechargeable battery discharge device as taught by Maxwell wherein each of the first, second, and third short circuit switches comprises a first switch element and a second switch element as taught by Muenzel. Maxwell and Muenzel both disclose rechargeable battery discharge devices which are able to bypass individual battery cells connected in series. It would have been obvious to replace the switch mechanism in Maxwell with the first switch 122 and second switch 124 of Muenzel to bypass the battery cells. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to remove battery cells which fall below a threshold to prevent an internal short which could lead to thermal runaway thereby improving operational safety.
Regarding claim 2, Maxwell modified by Muenzel teaches the rechargeable battery discharge device according to claim 1. Maxwell modified by Muenzel further teaches further comprising a load connected to the load connection in the form of an inverter for generating an AC voltage of a predetermined frequency and voltage and/or a DC voltage converter for generating a DC voltage of a predetermined voltage, from a DC voltage acting on the load connection. (Maxwell ¶0058 "Control system 114 also includes current modulation system 142. Current modulation system 142 is configured to control the current flowing into plurality of battery cells 105 in a charging mode or the current flowing out of plurality of battery cells 105 to a load in a discharging mode")
Regarding claim 5, Maxwell modified by Muenzel teaches the rechargeable battery discharge device according to claim 1. Maxwell modified by Muenzel further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to automatically perform further steps of: (i) determining changes in the first, second, and third rechargeable battery voltages over time (Maxwell ¶0055 "when the voltage output produced by battery cell 124 drops below the selected threshold, comparator 138 controls switch 140 such that switch 140 changes from the first state to the second state. When switch 140 is in the second state, the previous battery cell is connected to a next battery cell, with respect to battery cell 124, and the path of current flow in series circuit 130 such that battery cell 124 is bypassed")
and (ii) bridging the corresponding first, second, or third rechargeable battery by means of the corresponding first, second, or third short circuit switch and/or emitting a voltage disconnection warning when a determined change in first, second, or third rechargeable battery voltage over time lies outside of a predetermined tolerance interval. (Maxwell ¶0054 "when battery cell 124 is producing a voltage output that is equal to or above the selected threshold, switch 140 may be in a first state. When switch 140 is in the first state, a previous battery cell, with respect to battery cell 124, and the path of current flow in series circuit 130 is connected to battery cell 124 such that current from the previous battery cell flows into battery cell 124")
Regarding claim 6, Maxwell modified by Muenzel teaches the rechargeable battery discharge device according to claim 1. Maxwell modified by Muenzel further teaches wherein-the control unit is configured to automatically perform a further step of: connecting some of the first, second, and third rechargeable batteries into the series circuit (Maxwell ¶0054 "when battery cell 124 is producing a voltage output that is equal to or above the selected threshold, switch 140 may be in a first state. When switch 140 is in the first state, a previous battery cell, with respect to battery cell 124, and the path of current flow in series circuit 130 is connected to battery cell 124 such that current from the previous battery cell flows into battery cell 124")
so that a sum of the corresponding first, second, or third rechargeable battery voltages lies within a predetermined target voltage interval, (Maxwell ¶0049 "Plurality of battery cells 105 in series circuit 130 is configured to supply total voltage output 131 to load 129.")
wherein a combination with a largest number of rechargeable battery voltages is selected when two or more combinations of rechargeable battery voltages lie within the target voltage interval. (Maxwell ¶0050 "Bypass circuit 132 may be implemented as part of series circuit 130 in this illustrative example. Bypass circuit 132 is configured to determine whether a voltage output from a battery cell in plurality of battery cells 105 has fallen below a selected threshold and to bypass the battery cell in the series circuit in response to a determination that the voltage output from the battery cell has fallen below the selected threshold")
Regarding claim 7, Maxwell modified by Muenzel teaches the rechargeable battery discharge device according to claim 1. Maxwell modified by Muenzel further teaches further comprising at least one heat sensor (Maxwell ¶0059 "current modulation system 142 includes a plurality of temperature sensors, a plurality of temperature comparators, and a plurality of modulators, which together form a plurality of current modulation devices. Each of the plurality of current modulation devices is used to regulate at least one of current flow into or current flow out of a corresponding battery cell in plurality of battery cells 105")
arranged to detect a temperature of at least one of the first, second, and third rechargeable batteries. (Maxwell ¶0061 "Temperature sensor 145 is used to measure the temperature of casing 125 of battery cell 124")
The temperature sensor 145, as taught by Maxwell, is a generic component for measuring temperature of each battery cell. The generic temperature sensor can be implemented as a thermal imaging camera in order to see how heat is distributed within the battery cell. Using a thermal imaging camera as the generic temperature sensor component would make it easier to identify cell failure during the discharge process prior to recycling.
Regarding claim 11, Maxwell teaches a method for discharging a plurality of rechargeable batteries for recycling, comprising the automatically performed steps: continuously measuring one rechargeable battery voltage of a plurality of rechargeable batteries, (¶0051 " Comparator 138 is configured to determine whether the voltage output from a corresponding battery cell in plurality of battery cells 105 has fallen below the selected threshold")
connecting the rechargeable batteries whose rechargeable battery voltages do not fall below a predetermined minimum voltage into a series circuit so that the rechargeable batteries are discharged, (¶0054 "when battery cell 124 is producing a voltage output that is equal to or above the selected threshold, switch 140 may be in a first state. When switch 140 is in the first state, a previous battery cell, with respect to battery cell 124, and the path of current flow in series circuit 130 is connected to battery cell 124 such that current from the previous battery cell flows into battery cell 124")
and decontacting a rechargeable battery whose rechargeable battery voltage falls below the predetermined minimum voltage so that it is no longer connected in series, (¶0055 "when the voltage output produced by battery cell 124 drops below the selected threshold, comparator 138 controls switch 140 such that switch 140 changes from the first state to the second state. When switch 140 is in the second state, the previous battery cell is connected to a next battery cell, with respect to battery cell 124, and the path of current flow in series circuit 130 such that battery cell 124 is bypassed")
short-circuiting of at least one rechargeable battery connection to which a battery is connected [and/or wherein the minimum voltage is 0 Volt,] wherein disconnection of a battery that has a battery voltage that falls below the predetermined minimum voltage so that it is no longer connected in series comprises closing a first switching element of a corresponding short-circuit switch, (¶0050 “Bypass circuit 132 is configured to determine whether a voltage output from a battery cell in plurality of battery cells 105 has fallen below a selected threshold and to bypass the battery cell in the series circuit”, ¶0057 “selected threshold for each of plurality of comparators 134 may be, for example, without limitation, about 2 volts or about 2.25 volts”, please see below for further detail)
and closing or keeping closed a second switch element of the corresponding short-circuit switch of the battery connection, wherein the second switch element is connected such that, [irrespective of a switching state of the first switching element,] the battery connected to the corresponding battery connection can only be discharged when the second switch element is closed. (¶0053 “Comparator 138 controls whether switch 140 is in a first state or a second state”, ¶0055 “switch 140 is in the second state, the previous battery cell is connected to a next battery cell, with respect to battery cell 124, and the path of current flow in series circuit 130 such that battery cell 124 is bypassed”)
Maxwell selects a minimum threshold between 2V and 2.25V per cell, which corresponds to the battery entering a deep discharge. This is further supported in ENVO drive section How to Prevent Thermal Runaway subsection Environmental controls “lithium-ion cells are discharged below their safe voltage threshold (typically 2.5V per cell), it can cause structural damage inside the battery”. The structural damage inside the battery leads to an internal short, which in turn causes thermal runaway if the battery falls below the minimum threshold.
Maxwell does not teach [and closing or keeping closed a second switch element of the corresponding short-circuit switch of the battery connection, wherein the second switch element is connected such that,] irrespective of a switching state of the first switching element, [the battery connected to the corresponding battery connection can only be discharged when the second switch element is closed.]
Muenzel teaches [and closing or keeping closed a second switch element of the corresponding short-circuit switch of the battery connection, wherein the second switch element is connected such that,] irrespective of a switching state of the first switching element, [the battery connected to the corresponding battery connection can only be discharged when the second switch element is closed.] (¶0079 “Switching assembly 120a includes a first switch 122 for connecting battery cell unit 104a to the circuit module 102 when closed, and a second switch 124 for bypassing battery cell unit 104a when closed”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Maxwell wherein each of the first, second, and third short circuit switches comprises a first switch element and a second switch element as taught by Muenzel. Maxwell and Muenzel both disclose rechargeable battery discharge devices which are able to bypass individual battery cells connected in series. It would have been obvious to replace the switch mechanism in Maxwell with the first switch 122 and second switch 124 of Muenzel to bypass the battery cells. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to remove battery cells which fall below a threshold to prevent an internal short which could lead to thermal runaway thereby improving operational safety.
Regarding claim 12, Maxwell modified by Muenzel teaches the method according to claim 11. Maxwell modified by Muenzel further teaches further comprising emitting a notification that encodes the rechargeable batteries whose respective rechargeable battery voltage falls below the minimum voltage and/or rechargeable battery connections whose connection contacts are short-circuited. (Maxwell ¶0055 "when the voltage output produced by battery cell 124 drops below the selected threshold, comparator 138 controls switch 140 such that switch 140 changes from the first state to the second state. When switch 140 is in the second state, the previous battery cell is connected to a next battery cell, with respect to battery cell 124, and the path of current flow in series circuit 130 such that battery cell 124 is bypassed")
Regarding claim 14, Maxwell modified by Muenzel teaches the rechargeable battery discharge device according to claim 7. Maxwell modified by Muenzel further teaches wherein the at least one heat sensor is a thermal imaging camera. (Maxwell ¶0061 "Temperature sensor 145 is used to measure the temperature of casing 125 of battery cell 124")
The temperature sensor 145, as taught by Maxwell, is a generic component for measuring temperature of each battery cell. The generic temperature sensor can be implemented as a thermal imaging camera in order to see how heat is distributed within the battery cell. Using a thermal imaging camera as the generic temperature sensor component would make it easier to identify cell failure during the discharge process prior to recycling.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maxwell modified by Muenzel and further in view of Han et al (US 20110311844 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Maxwell modified by Muenzel teaches the rechargeable battery discharge device according to claim 1. Maxwell modified by Muenzel further teaches [further comprising a display for displaying any of the first, second, and third rechargeable batteries whose respective] first, second, or third rechargeable battery voltage falls below the minimum voltage and/or any of the first, second, and third rechargeable battery connections whose connection contacts are short-circuited. (Maxwell ¶0055 "when the voltage output produced by battery cell 124 drops below the selected threshold, comparator 138 controls switch 140 such that switch 140 changes from the first state to the second state. When switch 140 is in the second state, the previous battery cell is connected to a next battery cell, with respect to battery cell 124, and the path of current flow in series circuit 130 such that battery cell 124 is bypassed")
Maxwell does not teach further comprising a display for displaying any of the first, second, and third rechargeable batteries.
Han teaches further comprising a display for displaying any of the first, second, and third rechargeable batteries. (¶0048 "central control unit 710 checks the voltage signal, the current signal and the temperature signal applied thereto from the detected voltage input unit 753, the detected current input unit 752 and the measured temperature input unit 751, and display the voltage, current and temperature signals on the display unit 650")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the rechargeable battery discharge device as taught by Maxwell modified by Muenzel to further comprise a display for displaying any of the first, second, and third rechargeable batteries as taught by Han. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve recycling efficiency by allowing the operator to monitor when cells have been discharged and are ready to be processed for recovery.
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maxwell modified by Muenzel and further in view of Jung et al (KR 1020110124038)
Regarding claim 4, Maxwell modified by Muenzel teaches the rechargeable battery discharge device according to claim 1. Maxwell modified by Muenzel does not teach further comprising a polarity reversal protection circuit for automatically detecting a rechargeable battery connected with an incorrect polarity and emitting a polarity reversal warning and/or connecting an incorrectly connected rechargeable battery with a correct polarity.
Jung teaches further comprising a polarity reversal protection circuit for automatically detecting a rechargeable battery connected with an incorrect polarity (pg. 3 "polarity test circuit 205 is electrically connected to the switching unit 204 and detects whether the polarity of the battery 210 connected to the device is forward or reverse.")
and emitting a polarity reversal warning and/or connecting an incorrectly connected rechargeable battery with a correct polarity. (pg. 3 "if the polarity is reverse, the bell rings several times (for example, five times), and the NG (No good) lamp 215 is turned on")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the rechargeable battery discharge device as taught by Maxwell modified by Muenzel to further comprise a polarity reversal protection circuit for automatically detecting a rechargeable battery connected with an incorrect polarity and emitting a polarity reversal warning and/or connecting an incorrectly connected rechargeable battery with a correct polarity as taught by Jung. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent a reverse polarity surge which limits sparking or arc flashes to minimize risk of thermal runaway and increase safety during the discharge process.
Regarding claim 13. Maxwell modified by Muenzel teaches the method according to claim 11. Maxwell modified by Muenzel does not teach further comprising detecting a rechargeable battery connected with an incorrect polarity and emitting a polarity reversal warning and/or connecting an incorrectly connected rechargeable battery with a correct polarity.
Jung teaches further comprising detecting a rechargeable battery connected with an incorrect polarity and emitting a polarity reversal warning (pg. 3 "polarity test circuit 205 is electrically connected to the switching unit 204 and detects whether the polarity of the battery 210 connected to the device is forward or reverse.")
and/or connecting an incorrectly connected rechargeable battery with a correct polarity. (pg. 3 "if the polarity is reverse, the bell rings several times (for example, five times), and the NG (No good) lamp 215 is turned on")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the method of controlling a rechargeable battery discharge device as taught by Maxwell modified by Muenzel to further comprise a polarity reversal protection circuit for automatically detecting a rechargeable battery connected with an incorrect polarity and emitting a polarity reversal warning and/or connecting an incorrectly connected rechargeable battery with a correct polarity as taught by Jung. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent a reverse polarity surge which limits sparking or arc flashes to minimize risk of thermal runaway and increase safety during the discharge process.
Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maxwell modified by Muenzel and further in view of Aradachi et al (US 20150311730 A1)
Regarding claim 8, Maxwell modified by Muenzel teaches the rechargeable battery discharge device according to claim 1. Maxwell modified by Muenzel further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to automatically perform further steps of: detecting a rechargeable battery among the first, second, and third rechargeable batteries that is connected to the respective first, second, or third rechargeable battery connection and does not exceed the minimum voltage, (Maxwell ¶0055 "when the voltage output produced by battery cell 124 drops below the selected threshold, comparator 138 controls switch 140 such that switch 140 changes from the first state to the second state. When switch 140 is in the second state, the previous battery cell is connected to a next battery cell, with respect to battery cell 124, and the path of current flow in series circuit 130 such that battery cell 124 is bypassed")
closing a first switch element of the short circuit switch of the respective first, second, or third rechargeable battery connection, or keeping said first switch element closed, (Maxwell ¶0050 "control system 114 includes bypass circuit 132 Bypass circuit 132 is configured to determine whether a voltage output from a battery cell in plurality of battery cells 105 has fallen below a selected threshold and to bypass the battery cell in the series circuit in response to a determination that the voltage output from the battery cell has fallen below the selected threshold", Muenzel ¶0079 “Switching assembly 120a includes a first switch 122 for connecting battery cell unit 104a to the circuit module 102 when closed, and a second switch 124 for bypassing battery cell unit 104a when closed”)
closing a second switch element of the short circuit switch of the respective first, second, or third rechargeable battery connection, or keeping said second switch element closed, (Maxwell ¶0050 "control system 114 includes bypass circuit 132. Bypass circuit 132 is configured to determine whether a voltage output from a battery cell in plurality of battery cells 105 has fallen below a selected threshold and to bypass the battery cell in the series circuit in response to a determination that the voltage output from the battery cell has fallen below the selected threshold", Muenzel ¶0079 “Switching assembly 120a includes a first switch 122 for connecting battery cell unit 104a to the circuit module 102 when closed, and a second switch 124 for bypassing battery cell unit 104a when closed”)
[emitting a signal that encodes that the detected rechargeable battery can be removed, detecting that no rechargeable battery is connected to any rechargeable battery connection,]
opening the second switch element or keeping the second switch element it open, then opening the first switch element or keeping the first switch element i open, and then closing the second switch element. (Maxwell ¶0050 “control system 114 includes bypass circuit 132. Bypass circuit 132 may be implemented as part of series circuit 130 in this illustrative example”, Maxwell ¶0055 “comparator 138 controls switch 140 such that switch 140 changes from the first state to the second state”, Muenzel second switch 124 and first switch 122)
Maxwell discloses a control system 114 which switches between a first state and a second state based on a measured voltage from comparator 138, Maxwell has been modified to use the second switch 124 and first switch 122 of Muenzel to connect or bypass individual cells. This would necessitate opening and closing the first switch element and the second switch element in this order to prevent power surges across the closed contact.
Maxwell modified by Muenzel does not teach emitting a signal that encodes that the detected rechargeable battery can be removed.
Aradachi teaches emitting a signal that encodes that the detected rechargeable battery can be removed, (¶0060 "Step 215, the microcomputer 50 determines whether the battery pack 2 is removed"),
detecting that no rechargeable battery is connected to any rechargeable battery connection, (¶0052 " In Step 203, the microcomputer 50 determines whether the battery pack 2 is mounted on the charging device 1. The determination is made by determining whether a signal is input from the battery temperature detection circuit 80, the battery type determination circuit 9, and the battery voltage detection circuit 90 to corresponding ports of the A/D input port 52a.")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the rechargeable battery discharge device as taught by Maxwell modified by Muenzel wherein the control unit is configured to emit a signal that encodes that the detected rechargeable battery can be removed as taught by Aradachi. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to conserve power and/or a safety feature so that power just isn't being applied to a connectionless contact.
Regarding claim 15, Maxwell modified by Muenzel and Aradachi teaches the rechargeable battery discharge device according to claim 8. Maxwell modified by Muenzel and Aradachi further teaches wherein the first switch element is a short circuit relay and the second switch element is a connecting relay. (Maxwell ¶0055 "when the voltage output produced by battery cell 124 drops below the selected threshold, comparator 138 controls switch 140 such that switch 140 changes from the first state to the second state. When switch 140 is in the second state, the previous battery cell is connected to a next battery cell, with respect to battery cell 124, and the path of current flow in series circuit 130 such that battery cell 124 is bypassed")
The rechargeable battery discharge device as taught by Maxwell modified by Maxwell has the ability to select which battery cells are connected and which are bypassed, allowing it to individually short or relay each switch. As disclosed in Maxwell ¶0055 as being dependent on the voltage of the battery.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maxwell modified by Muenzel and further in view of Jaramillo et al (US 20200136153 A1)
Regarding claim 9, Maxwell modified by Muenzel teaches the rechargeable battery discharge device according to claim 2. Maxwell modified by Muenzel further teaches [wherein the inverter is connected to a power grid to which electrical consumers are connected,] the control unit is configured to automatically perform further steps of: detecting a target power output of the rechargeable battery discharge device (Maxwell ¶0050 "control system 114 includes bypass circuit 132 Bypass circuit 132 is configured to determine whether a voltage output from a battery cell in plurality of battery cells 105 has fallen below a selected threshold and to bypass the battery cell in the series circuit in response to a determination that the voltage output from the battery cell has fallen below the selected threshold")
and reducing a discharge output of the first, second, and third rechargeable batteries when an actual power output exceeds the target power output. (Maxwell ¶0054 " when battery cell 124 is producing a voltage output that is equal to or above the selected threshold, switch 140 may be in a first state. When switch 140 is in the first state, a previous battery cell, with respect to battery cell 124, and the path of current flow in series circuit 130 is connected to battery cell 124 such that current from the previous battery cell flows into battery cell 124.")
Maxwell modified by Muenzel does not teach wherein the inverter is connected to a power grid to which electrical consumers are connected.
Jaramillo teaches wherein the inverter is connected to a power grid to which electrical consumers are connected. (¶0061 "step 502 of method 500 the battery unit 110 may be operated in a discharge mode to generate power output to the grid 102 or any other system or device receiving power")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the rechargeable battery discharge device as taught by Maxwell modified by Muenzel wherein the inverter is connected to a power grid to which electrical consumers are connected as taught by Jaramillo. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize battery recycling by repurposing the remaining charge to support grid power as a reduced carbon emission power source.
Regarding claim 10, Maxwell modified by Muenzel and Jaramillo teaches the rechargeable battery discharge device according to claim 9 Maxwell modified by Muenzel and Jaramillo does not teach further comprising an electrical buffer store, wherein the control unit is configured to perform further steps of: detecting the target power output of the rechargeable battery discharge device (10) and loading the buffer store so that the actual power output does not exceed the target power output.
Jaramillo teaches further comprising an electrical buffer store, wherein the control unit is configured to perform further steps of: detecting the target power output of the rechargeable battery discharge device (10) and loading the buffer store so that the actual power output does not exceed the target power output. (¶0022 " battery power plant 101 may connect to the grid 102 via a supplementary power connection 104 that connects to the grid 102 through the renewable energy source 103").
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, further to modify the rechargeable battery discharge device as taught by Maxwell modified by Muenzel and Jaramillo to further comprise an electrical buffer store, wherein the control unit is configured to perform further steps of: detecting the target power output of the rechargeable battery discharge device and loading the buffer store so that the actual power output does not exceed the target power output as taught by Jaramillo. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to maintain grid stability by making the battery discharge device into an uninterruptible power source.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Junger et al (US 20190207269 A1) discloses a method of discharging lithium batteries for recycling which disconnects batteries based on their output voltage.
Mergener et al (US 20170346334 A1) discloses a series connected battery pack system which is able to disconnect individual cells connected in series based on the individual cell voltage.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859