Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 7/6/2026 is acknowledged. Regarding applicant’s argument that claim 7, as now amended, properly belongs to group I, the examiner agrees and the restriction between Groups I and II are withdrawn. Applicant traverses the restriction between Groups (I, II) and (III) on the basis that the method of Group III uses the product of Group (I, II). This is not found persuasive as a method using a product is not in and of itself evidence that the method and product are patentably indistinct groups. The method of Groups (I, II) are patentably distinct from the product of Group III for the reasons set forth in the restriction requirement. Claims 1-11 and 14 are under examination.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: thereby producing a 225 Ac solution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2019183724 to Harvey in view of WO2020260210A1 to Malmbeck. Harvey teaches a method for producing 225Ac solution comprising the producing and sequential separation of actinium (Ac) and radium (Ra) isotopes (Abstract; paragraphs 91-92), a step of passing a Ra-Ac solution (1) containing ions and 225Ac ions through a solid-phase extraction agent (a) that contains a compound represented by formula (A) below so as to cause the solid-phase extraction agent (a) to retain the 225 Ac ions, teaches feeding a solution containing radium and actinium isotopes through a extraction chromatography column packed with a solid-phase extraction agent (paragraph 91). Harvey teaches that under these acidic feed conditions, radium will pass through the column while actinium remains selectively retained on the resin (abstract; summary, claims). The solid-phase extraction agent utilizes diglycolamide-branched (TEHDGA) or diglycolamide-normal (TODGA) resins (paragraph 91). These DGA core structures directly correspond to the specialized diglycolamide coordinating compounds represented by the applicant's Formula A (abstract; summary, claims). Harvey teaches a step of eluting the 225Ac ions retained on the solid-phase extraction agent (a) from the solid-phase extraction agent (a) by using an acid-containing eluent (a), and passing a liquid containing an obtained eluate (2) through a solid-phase extraction agent (b) that contains a compound represented by formula (B) below so as to cause the solid-phase extraction agent (b) to retain the225Acions, washing the loaded DGA extraction resin column using an acid-containing eluent (nitric acid) to selectively strip off and recover the trapped actinium isotopes (paragraph 91). Harvey teaches routing this stripped solution sequentially through multiple tandem chromatographic extraction columns to continuously capture, re-isolate, and isolate specific actinium isotope products over successive decay intervals (paragraphs 91-92), and further a step of eluting the 225AC ions retained on the solid-phase extraction agent (b) from the solid-phase extraction agent (b) by using an acid-containing eluent (b) so as to obtain a 225 Ac solution having a higher 225Ac purity than the Ra-Ac solution, the final elution phase using concentrated acid (>10 M nitric acid) to cleanly flush the bound actinium product out of the secondary column matrices (. The resulting process yields an isolated, pure target product fraction suitable for medical radiopharmaceutical labeling, providing a significantly higher radiochemical purity than the crude mixed starting parent solutions (abstract; summary, paragraphs 33-73, 70-80, 100-104, Examples; claims).
Harvey fails to teach use of the present diglycolamide (DGA) ligand in the method.
Malmbeck teaches that a chelator that has the same structure as the presently claimed chelator is efficacious for producing 225 (abstract; paragraph 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to look to Malmbeck as it has the same goal as Harvey for producing AC225, and to incorporate the chelator taught by Malmbeck into he method of Harvey. The motivation for this would be to produce Ac225 solution, as desired by Harvey.
Conclusion
/PAUL W DICKINSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618