DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/04/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 12/02/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 09/05/2025. Claims 1, 7 and 14 have been amended. Claims 2-4, 8-10, 12-13, and 15-18 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 5-7, 11, 14, and 19-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 11, 14, 19 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Argument: None of the references cited by the Examiner, or any combination thereof, teaches or suggests at least the above elements of amended claim 1.
Response: Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments/remarks and respectfully disagrees. Due to the nature of the amendments made to independent claims 1, 7 and 14, the Office no longer relies on Jalali, Fakoorian and Ai and instead introduces Qiao and Cai. Qiao’s invention “Wireless Communication Method and Apparatus” teaches a beam hopping satellite communication system (¶0004) where a system defines a beam hopping pattern, and delivers the beam hopping pattern to a terminal by using corresponding indication information (¶0098). The terminal can then determine the start and end time of beams, or a time period during which beams would be active or inactive from the beam hopping pattern. Cai’s invention “System and Method for Discontinuous Reception Control Start Time” discusses the network configuring the terminal with a start configuration that tells the terminal when a sleep/wake schedule begins (¶0063). Once configured, the terminal stores the information locally, starts a DRX cycle based on the configuration, can enter a sleep state for a specific duration and does not transmit/receive data during this duration. Qiao and Cai, where Qiao teaches beam-specific timing information derived from a network device sending beam configurations containing beam hopping patterns including start and end times of a serving beam, and Cai, which teaches sleep behavior using a stored duration that begins from a configured start event show how a POSITA could use Cai’s DRX power saving techniques in Qiao’s scheduling environment during specific periods since both inventions relate to reducing unnecessary power consumption.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 11, 14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao (US 2023/0156489), Qiao hereinafter, and further in view of Cai et al. (US 2015/0078238), Cai hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Qiao teaches a method for indicating a reception, performed by a base station, comprising: determining an area corresponding to beams that a network device located in the air will turn off, and time information for turning off the beams, (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0085 - As shown in FIG. 1, an access point covers a service area by using a plurality of beams, and different beams may perform communication through one or more of time division, frequency division, and space division … Alternatively, the satellite mentioned in this embodiment of this application may be a satellite base station or a network-side device mounted on a satellite. ¶0097 - In a beam hopping scenario, a terminal needs to obtain a beam distribution status, and perform communication based on a beam distribution. ¶0098 - A system defines a beam hopping pattern, and delivers the beam hopping pattern to a terminal by using corresponding indication information. Please also see ¶0034 and ¶0135);
and sending the time information to a terminal in the area, (¶0100 - In this embodiment, a terminal determines a beam hopping pattern based on beam configuration information received from a network device, and communicates with the network device based on the beam hopping pattern.¶0105 - The network device sends the first beam configuration information to the terminal, and correspondingly, the terminal receives the first beam configuration information sent by the network device. Please also see ¶0157);
Yet, Qiao does not explicitly teach wherein the time information comprises one of: only a start moment, or an offset duration relative to a start point of a preset periodic time window and a second duration; wherein the time information is configured for the terminal in the area to perform one of: determining a start point of a target duration based on the start moment and an end point of the target duration based on the start moment and a pre-stored duration, wherein the pre-stored duration is stored in the terminal in advance; or determining a start point of a target duration based on the start point of the preset periodic time window and the offset duration, and determining an end point of the target duration based on the start point of the target duration and the second duration; and wherein the terminal is configured to stop receiving a downlink beam signal, stop sending an uplink beam signal, and stop detecting the beam, during the target duration.
However, in the analogous art, Cai explicitly teaches wherein the time information comprises one of: only a start moment, (Fig. 3-4, 13 & ¶0036 - In addition, the DRX controller 29 determines when DRX control is to start. ¶0069 - In a first example of the network sending signalling to indicate the first on period, the network sends a signaling message to the mobile device that indicates in absolute terms the start time of the DRX control); or an offset duration relative to a start point of a preset periodic time window and a second duration;
wherein the time information is configured for the terminal in the area to perform one of: determining a start point of a target duration based on the start moment and an end point of the target duration based on the start moment and a pre-stored duration, wherein the pre-stored duration is stored in the terminal in advance; (¶0035 - In some embodiments, the network 28 sends DRX control signalling to the mobile device 10 that sets a repeating pattern that has a DRX period having an awake period and a sleep period. An example could be: DRX period is 20 ms with sleep period equal to 15 ms and awake period equal to 5 ms. During the awake period, the mobile device turns its receiver on. During the sleep period, the mobile device turns its receiver off. ¶0037 - In addition, the radio manager further 14 is further configured to determine a first of the periods during which the mobile device will nominally have its receiver powered on and after which discontinuous reception control will be active such that the mobile device receives from the network in accordance with the discontinuous reception control parameters starting with the first of said periods. ¶0055 - The mobile device may receive signaling that defines the awake periods and the sleep periods of the mobile device… ¶0064 - These methods may for example be implemented by one or both of a DRX controller (such as DRX controller 29 forming part of a wireless network 28 of FIG. 2) or a radio manager (such as a radio manager 14 forming part of a mobile device 10 of FIG. 2). Please also see ¶0068); or determining a start point of a target duration based on the start point of the preset periodic time window and the offset duration, and determining an end point of the target duration based on the start point of the target duration and the second duration;
and wherein the terminal is configured to stop receiving a downlink beam signal, stop sending an uplink beam signal, and stop detecting the beam, during the target duration (¶0038 - While the mobile device is in the sleep state, it operates in a reduced power consumption mode, by turning off reception capability and/or by turning off its reception and transmission capabilities. ¶0046 - The mobile device monitors the Layer 1 CCEs on the downlink only during the awake period… ¶0066 - In some embodiments the parameters also indicate periods during which the mobile device will have its receiver powered off. Examiner interprets the mobile device does not receive, transmit or detect data when reception/transmission capabilities are turned off and in a reduced power consumption mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cai to the teaching of Qiao. The motivation would be because the invention relates to wireless communication, and more particularly to transmission scheduling for wireless communication (¶0002, Cai), and for each mobile device, awake periods and sleep periods are defined (Abstract, Cai).
Re. Claim 5, Qiao and Cai teach Claim 1.
Qiao further teaches the time information is carried in at least one of: an extended paging channel signaling, a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or physical layer downlink control information (DCI) (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0008 - The first communication apparatus receives a radio resource control RRC message sent by the second communication apparatus, where the RRC message includes the first beam configuration information. ¶0009 - The RRC message carrying the first beam configuration information may be a message broadcast by the second communication apparatus. The broadcast RRC message carries the first beam configuration information, so that a beam pattern change caused by satellite motion or beam splitting or combination can be flexibly addressed, and signaling overheads can be reduced. Please also see ¶0156).
Re. Claim 6, Qiao and Cai teach Claim 1.
Qiao further teaches wherein the base station comprises a base station located on the ground or the network device located in the air (Fig. 1 & ¶0085 - As shown in FIG. 1, an access point covers a service area by using a plurality of beams, and different beams may perform communication through one or more of time division, frequency division, and space division. The access point is not limited to a satellite base station or a terrestrial base station. The access point may be deployed on a high altitude platform station or a satellite. The satellite may be a non-geostationary earth orbit (NGEO) satellite or a geostationary earth orbit (GEO) satellite. Alternatively, the satellite mentioned in this embodiment of this application may be a satellite base station or a network-side device mounted on a satellite).
Re. Claim 7, Qiao teaches a method for controlling a reception, performed by a terminal, comprising: receiving time information from a base station; (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0097 - In a beam hopping scenario, a terminal needs to obtain a beam distribution status, and perform communication based on a beam distribution. ¶0098 - A system defines a beam hopping pattern, and delivers the beam hopping pattern to a terminal by using corresponding indication information. ¶0100 - In this embodiment, a terminal determines a beam hopping pattern based on beam configuration information received from a network device, and communicates with the network device based on the beam hopping pattern. ¶0105 - The network device sends the first beam configuration information to the terminal, and correspondingly, the terminal receives the first beam configuration information sent by the network device. Please also see ¶0157);
determining, based on the time information, a target duration during which a network device located in the air will turn off beams; (¶0122 - the terminal determines, based on the current location information and information, such as a location and a motion law of the satellite, that is included in an ephemeris of the satellite, a time period in which the satellite can provide coverage, and determines, based on the beam activation information indicated by the first beam hopping pattern, a beam distribution status when the satellite provides coverage, to obtain a time period in which one or more serving beams provide a service. Please also see ¶0123-¶0124);
and wherein determining, based on the time information, the target duration during which the network device located in the air will turn off the beams comprises one of: (¶0123 - For example, the start time and the end time of the serving beam may indicate a time period in which a current location is covered by the serving beam, that is, a service time period of the serving beam. The terminal may remain in the connected state in the service time period of the serving beam, and switch to the idle state or the inactive state in a time period without coverage by the serving beam, that is, a non-service time period. Please also see ¶0122, ¶0124);
Yet, Qiao does not explicitly teach and during the target duration, stopping receiving a downlink beam signal, stopping sending an uplink beam signal, and stopping detecting a beam signal; wherein the time information comprises one of: only a start moment, or an offset duration relative to a start point of a preset periodic time window and a second duration, determining a start point of the target duration based on the start moment, and determining an end point of the target duration based on the start moment and a pre-stored duration, wherein the pre-stored duration is stored in the terminal in advance; or determining a start point of the target duration based on the start point of the pre Set periodic time window and the offset duration, and determining an end point of the target duration based on the start point of the target duration and the second duration.
However, in the analogous art, Cai explicitly teaches and during the target duration, stopping receiving a downlink beam signal, stopping sending an uplink beam signal, and stopping detecting a beam signal; (¶0038 - While the mobile device is in the sleep state, it operates in a reduced power consumption mode, by turning off reception capability and/or by turning off its reception and transmission capabilities. ¶0046 - The mobile device monitors the Layer 1 CCEs on the downlink only during the awake period… ¶0066 - In some embodiments the parameters also indicate periods during which the mobile device will have its receiver powered off. Examiner interprets the mobile device does not receive, transmit or detect data when reception/transmission capabilities are turned off and in a reduced power consumption mode);
wherein the time information comprises one of: only a start moment, (Fig. 3-4, 13 & ¶0036 - In addition, the DRX controller 29 determines when DRX control is to start. ¶0069 - In a first example of the network sending signalling to indicate the first on period, the network sends a signaling message to the mobile device that indicates in absolute terms the start time of the DRX control); or an offset duration relative to a start point of a preset periodic time window and a second duration,
determining a start point of the target duration based on the start moment, and determining an end point of the target duration based on the start moment and a pre- stored duration, wherein the pre-stored duration is stored in the terminal in advance; (¶0035 - In some embodiments, the network 28 sends DRX control signalling to the mobile device 10 that sets a repeating pattern that has a DRX period having an awake period and a sleep period. An example could be: DRX period is 20 ms with sleep period equal to 15 ms and awake period equal to 5 ms. During the awake period, the mobile device turns its receiver on. During the sleep period, the mobile device turns its receiver off. ¶0037 - In addition, the radio manager further 14 is further configured to determine a first of the periods during which the mobile device will nominally have its receiver powered on and after which discontinuous reception control will be active such that the mobile device receives from the network in accordance with the discontinuous reception control parameters starting with the first of said periods. ¶0055 - The mobile device may receive signaling that defines the awake periods and the sleep periods of the mobile device… ¶0064 - These methods may for example be implemented by one or both of a DRX controller (such as DRX controller 29 forming part of a wireless network 28 of FIG. 2) or a radio manager (such as a radio manager 14 forming part of a mobile device 10 of FIG. 2). Please also see ¶0068); or determining a start point of the target duration based on the start point of the preset periodic time window and the offset duration, and determining an end point of the target duration based on the start point of the target duration and the second duration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cai to the teaching of Qiao. The motivation would be because the invention relates to wireless communication, and more particularly to transmission scheduling for wireless communication (¶0002, Cai), and for each mobile device, awake periods and sleep periods are defined (Abstract, Cai).
Re. Claim 11, Qiao and Cai teach Claim 7.
Yet, Qiao does not explicitly teach out of the target duration, performing at least one of: receiving a downlink beam signal; sending an uplink beam signal; or detecting a beam signal.
However, in the analogous art, Cai explicitly teaches out of the target duration, performing at least one of: receiving a downlink beam signal (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0040 - For example, the mobile device may sleep every 15 ms, and then wake up for 5 ms to continuously receive data); sending an uplink beam signal; or detecting a beam signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cai to the teaching of Qiao. The motivation would be because the invention relates to wireless communication, and more particularly to transmission scheduling for wireless communication (¶0002, Cai), and for each mobile device, awake periods and sleep periods are defined (Abstract, Cai).
Re. Claim 14, Qiao teaches a terminal, comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to: (Fig. 1, 6-7); receive time information from a base station; (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0097 - In a beam hopping scenario, a terminal needs to obtain a beam distribution status, and perform communication based on a beam distribution. ¶0098 - A system defines a beam hopping pattern, and delivers the beam hopping pattern to a terminal by using corresponding indication information. ¶0100 - In this embodiment, a terminal determines a beam hopping pattern based on beam configuration information received from a network device, and communicates with the network device based on the beam hopping pattern. ¶0105 - The network device sends the first beam configuration information to the terminal, and correspondingly, the terminal receives the first beam configuration information sent by the network device. Please also see ¶0157);
determine, based on the time information, a target duration during which a network device located in the air will turn off beams; (¶0098 - A system defines a beam hopping pattern, and delivers the beam hopping pattern to a terminal by using corresponding indication information. ¶0122 - the terminal determines, based on the current location information and information, such as a location and a motion law of the satellite, that is included in an ephemeris of the satellite, a time period in which the satellite can provide coverage, and determines, based on the beam activation information indicated by the first beam hopping pattern, a beam distribution status when the satellite provides coverage, to obtain a time period in which one or more serving beams provide a service. Please also see ¶0034, ¶0123-¶0124, ¶0135);
Yet, Qiao does not explicitly teach and during the target duration, stop receiving a downlink beam signal, stop sending an uplink beam signal, and stop detecting a beam signal; wherein the time information comprises one of: only a start moment, or an offset duration relative to a start point of a preset periodic time window and a second duration, and the processor is further configured to perform one of: determining a start point of the target duration based on the start moment and determining an end point of the target duration based on the start moment and a pre-stored duration, wherein the pre-stored duration is stored in the terminal in advance; or determining a start point of the target duration based on the start point of the preset periodic time window and the offset duration, and determining an end point of the target duration based on the start point of the target duration and the second duration.
However, in the analogous art, Cai explicitly teaches and during the target duration, stop receiving a downlink beam signal, stop sending an uplink beam signal, and stop detecting a beam signal; (¶0038 - While the mobile device is in the sleep state, it operates in a reduced power consumption mode, by turning off reception capability and/or by turning off its reception and transmission capabilities. ¶0046 - The mobile device monitors the Layer 1 CCEs on the downlink only during the awake period… ¶0066 - In some embodiments the parameters also indicate periods during which the mobile device will have its receiver powered off. Examiner interprets the mobile device does not receive, transmit or detect data when reception/transmission capabilities are turned off and in a reduced power consumption mode);
wherein the time information comprises one of: only a start moment, (Fig. 3-4, 13 & ¶0036 - In addition, the DRX controller 29 determines when DRX control is to start. ¶0069 - In a first example of the network sending signalling to indicate the first on period, the network sends a signaling message to the mobile device that indicates in absolute terms the start time of the DRX control); or an offset duration relative to a start point of a preset periodic time window and a second duration,
and the processor is further configured to perform one of: determining a start point of the target duration based on the start moment and determining an end point of the target duration based on the start moment and a pre-stored duration, wherein the pre-stored duration is stored in the terminal in advance; (¶0035 - In some embodiments, the network 28 sends DRX control signalling to the mobile device 10 that sets a repeating pattern that has a DRX period having an awake period and a sleep period. An example could be: DRX period is 20 ms with sleep period equal to 15 ms and awake period equal to 5 ms. During the awake period, the mobile device turns its receiver on. During the sleep period, the mobile device turns its receiver off. ¶0037 - In addition, the radio manager further 14 is further configured to determine a first of the periods during which the mobile device will nominally have its receiver powered on and after which discontinuous reception control will be active such that the mobile device receives from the network in accordance with the discontinuous reception control parameters starting with the first of said periods. ¶0055 - The mobile device may receive signaling that defines the awake periods and the sleep periods of the mobile device… ¶0064 - These methods may for example be implemented by one or both of a DRX controller (such as DRX controller 29 forming part of a wireless network 28 of FIG. 2) or a radio manager (such as a radio manager 14 forming part of a mobile device 10 of FIG. 2). Please also see ¶0068); or determining a start point of the target duration based on the start point of the preset periodic time window and the offset duration, and determining an end point of the target duration based on the start point of the target duration and the second duration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cai to the teaching of Qiao. The motivation would be because the invention relates to wireless communication, and more particularly to transmission scheduling for wireless communication (¶0002, Cai), and for each mobile device, awake periods and sleep periods are defined (Abstract, Cai).
Re. Claim 19, Qiao and Cai teach Claim 14.
Yet, Qiao does not explicitly teach the processor is further configured to, out of the target duration, perform at least one of: receiving a downlink beam signal; sending an uplink beam signal; or detecting a beam signal.
However, in the analogous art, Cai explicitly teaches the processor is further configured to, out of the target duration, perform at least one of: receiving a downlink beam signal (Fig. 3-4 & ¶0040 - For example, the mobile device may sleep every 15 ms, and then wake up for 5 ms to continuously receive data); sending an uplink beam signal; or detecting a beam signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Cai to the teaching of Qiao. The motivation would be because the invention relates to wireless communication, and more particularly to transmission scheduling for wireless communication (¶0002, Cai), and for each mobile device, awake periods and sleep periods are defined (Abstract, Cai).
Re. Claim 20, Qiao and Cai teach Claim 1.
Qiao further teaches a base station, comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 1 (Fig. 6-7 & ¶0177 – Please see “memory 730”, “processor 710”. Please also see ¶0169, ¶0175, and Fig. 1 (“access point”) & ¶0085-¶0086).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Garcia et al. (US 2018/0269958) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-7.
Haley et al. (US 2019/0058522) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-5.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B /AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465