DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the amendments made to claims 1-8 and 10. Claim 11 has been cancelled. New claim 12 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
Examiner acknowledges the receipt of the specification filed 02/27/2026.
DrawingsThe drawings were received on 02/17/2026. These drawings are accepted.
The previous objection to the drawings has been withdrawn in light of the replacement drawing sheets filed 02/17/1016 and the cancellation of claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) has been withdrawn in light of the cancellation of claim 11.
The previous rejections of claims 2 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn in light of the amendments made to claims 2 and 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawashima (US 20140377459 A1) in view of Mitomo et al. (hereinafter Mitomo) (WO 2019017044 A1).
Examiner notes the US publication US 20200169061 A1 will be used for the claim mapping of Mitomo for the remainder of the instant Office Action. See PTO-892 form.
Regarding claim 1, Kawashima discloses in Fig. 9,
A semiconductor laser element [Fig. 9] (Para. 0116]) comprising:
a resonator structure [Fig. 9] (Para. [0116]) including a stacked structure, wherein the stacked structure includes:
a first compound semiconductor layer [606b] (Para. [0124]) having a first surface [bottom surface of 606b] and a second surface [top surface of 606b] opposed to the first surface,
an active layer [606a] (Para. [0124]) that faces the second surface of the first compound semiconductor layer [606a faces top surface of 606b], and
a second compound semiconductor layer [606c] (Para. [0124]) having:
a first surface [bottom of 606c] that faces the active layer [606a], and
a second surface [top surface of 606a] opposed to the first surface of the second compound semiconductor layer [opposed to bottom surface of 606b];
a base part surface [base part contact of 611 to 606b] on a side of the first surface of the first compound semiconductor layer [bottom surface of 606b] (Para. [0124]),
a first light reflective layer [611] (Para. [0116]) on the base part surface [base part contact of 611 to 606b];
a second light reflective layer [612] (Para. [0116]) on a side of the second surface of the second compound semiconductor layer, wherein
the first light reflective layer [611] (Para. [0116]) and the second light reflective layer [612] (Para. [0116]) are along a resonance direction of the resonator structure [vertically in Fig. 9]
the first light reflective layer [611] (Para. [0116]) includes a first refractive index periodic structure,
the first refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 611] (Para. [0118]) includes a plurality of first thin films [604] and a plurality of second thin films [603] (Para. [0118]),
the second light reflective layer [612] (Para. [0116]) includes a second refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 612] (Para. 0118])
the second refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 612] (Para. 0118])
includes a plurality of first thin films [604] and a plurality of second thin films [603] (Para. [0018]), and
in a case where an oscillation wavelength is set to λ0 (Para. [0116]) (See Table 4, Page 8 of Specification),
a period of the first refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 611] (Para. 0118]) has an optical film thickness of k 10 (λ 0/2) [where 0.9 <k10< 1.1] (604 and 603 correspond to λ/4, together total thickness of λ/2) (See Table 4, Page 8 of Specification)
each first thin film of the plurality of first thin films [604] (Para. [0118]) of the first refractive index periodic structure [604,603] (Para. [0118]) has an optical film thickness of k 11 (λ 0/4) [where 0.7 <k11< 1.3] (See Table 4, Page 8 of Specification) (multilayer thickness of λ/4),
each second thin film [603] of the plurality of second thin films [603] (Para. [0118]) of the first refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 611] has an optical film thickness of k12(λ 0/4) [where 0.7 < k12 < 1.3] (See Table 4, Page 8 of Specification) (multilayer thickness of λ/4),
a period of the second refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 612] (Para. [0118]) has an optical film thickness of k20 (λ 0/2) [where 0.9 < k20 < 1.1] (604 and 603 correspond to λ/4, together total thickness of λ/2) (See Table 4, Page 8 of Specification),
the second refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 612] (Para. [0118]) including, in a stacked manner, at least a plurality of first thin films [604] (Para. [0118]) each having an optical film thickness of k21 (λ 0/4) [where 0.7 < k21 < 1.3] and
each second thin film [603] of the plurality of second thin films [603] (Para. [0118]) of the second refractive index periodic structure has an optical film thickness of k22 (λ 0/4) [where 0.7 < k22 < 1.3] (See Table 4, Page 8 of Specification) (multilayer thickness of λ/4), and
a first phase shift layer [605] (Para. 0118]) inside at least one of the first light reflective layer [611] (Para. [0118]) or the second light reflective layer [612] (Para. [0118]).
Kawashima fails to disclose,
wherein the base part surface includes a convex part, with respect to the second surface of the first compound semiconductor layer, in a first portion of the base surface;
the first light reflective layer on the convex part of the base surface;
Mitomo discloses in Fig. 10,
a first compound semiconductor layer [21] (Para. [0192]) with a convex shaped base part surface [21c] (Para. [0192]) with a first light reflective layer [41] with a convex shape (Para. [0192]) disposed on the convex base part surface [21c] (Para. [0192])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the convex shape of the first compound semiconductor layer and the first light reflective layer as shown in Mitomo with the first compound semiconductor layer and light reflective layer of Kawashima for the purpose of reliable laser oscillation and reduction in diffraction loss. (Mitomo Para. [0186])
Regarding claim 2, Kawashima in view of Mitomo as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Fig. 9 of Kawashima,
further comprising a plurality of phase shift layers [605] that includes the first phase shift layer [605 in 612], wherein, in the semiconductor laser element [Fig. 9], a number of the plurality of phase shift layers [605] is less than 5 (See Table 4, Page 8 of Specification).
Regarding claim 3, Kawashima in view of Mitomo as applied to claim 2 above further discloses in Fig. 9 of Kawashima,
the first phase shift layer [605 in 612] (Para. [0126]) is inside the second light reflective layer [612] (Para. [0126]),
The plurality of phase shift layers [605] (Para. [0126]) further includes a second phase shift layer inside the second light reflective layer [612] (Para. [0126]), and
at least one of a first thin film [604 in 612] (Para. [0126]) of the plurality of first thin films [604] (Para. [0126]) of the second refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 612] (Para. [0126]), a second thin film [603 in 612] (Para. [0126]) of the plurality of second thin films [603] of the second refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 612] (Para. [0126]), or the first thin film [604] (Para. [0126]) and the second thin film [603] (Para. [0126]) is disposed between the first phase shift layer and the second phase shift layer [603 and 604 disposed between phase shift layer 605 Fig. 9] (Para. [0126]).
Regarding claim 4, Kawashima in view of Mitomo as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Fig. 9 of Kawashima,
wherein the first phase shift layer [605 in 612] (Para. [0126]) is between at least one of:
a first thin film [604 in 611] of the plurality of first thin films [604 in 611] of the first refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 612] (Para. [0118]) and a second thin film [603 in 611] of the plurality of second thin films [603 in 611] of the first refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 612] (Paras. [0118,0123]), or
a first thin film [604 in 612] (Para. [0126]) of the plurality of first thin films [604] (Para. [0126]) of the second refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 612] (Para. [0126]) and a second thin film [603 in 612] of the plurality of second thin films [603 in 612] of the second refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 612] (Para. [0126]).
Regarding claim 5, Kawashima in view of Mitomo as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Fig. 9 of Kawashima,
wherein an optical film thickness of the first phase shift layer [605 in 612] (Para. [0119]) is 0.1 times or more and 50 times or less of λ0 (See Table 4, Page 8 of Specification).
Regarding claim 6, Kawashima in view of Mitomo as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Fig. 9 of Kawashima,
wherein a material of the first phase shift layer [605 in 612] (Para. [0119]) is same as one of:
one of a material of a first thin film [604 in 611 Fig. 9] (Para. [0123]) of the plurality of first thin films of the first refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 611] (Para. [0123]) or a material of a first thin films [604 in 612] (Para. [0126]) of the second refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 612] (Para. [0126]), or
one of a material of a second thin film [603] (Para. [0123]) of the plurality of second thin films [603] of the first refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 611] (Para. [0123]) or a material of a second thin film [603] (Para. [0126]) of the plurality of second thin films [603] of the second refractive index periodic structure [604,603 in 612] (Para. [0126]). (GaN used for 605 and in 604,603) (Para. [0123]).
Regarding claim 7, Kawashima in view of Mitomo as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Kawashima Fig. 9,
wherein an optical film thickness of the first phase shift layer [605] (Para. [0119]) satisfies k3(λ0/4) (2r + 1) [where r is an integer of 100 or less, and 0.9 < k3 < 1.1] (Para. [0119]).
When an integer value of 0 is used, the thickness satisfies (λ/4)*(0+1) i.e. λ/4.
Regarding claim 8, Kawashima in view of Mitomo as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Fig. 9 of Kawashima,
wherein
the semiconductor laser element [Fig. 9] includes a surface-emitting laser element (Para. [0116]).
Regarding claim 9, Kawashima in view of Mitomo as applied to claim 8 above further discloses,
wherein the first light reflective layer [Kawashima 611 Fig. 9] (Kawashima Para. [0116]) functions as a concave mirror (Mitomo Para. [0192]), and the second light reflective layer [Kawashima 612 Fig. 9] (Kawashima Para. [0016]) has a flat shape (see Kawashima Fig. 9)
Regarding claim 10, Kawashima in view of Mitomo discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 8 above but fails to disclose, wherein a resonator length of the semiconductor laser element is 1 x 10-5 m or more.
Mitomo discloses,
a resonator length of a light emitting element that is 1 x 10-5 m or more. (Para. [0186])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the increased resonator length of Mitomo in the modified device of Kawashima for the purpose of improved manufacturing yield. (Mitomo Para. [0186])
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawashima in view of Mitomo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (hereinafter Park) (US 20020105988 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kawashima in view of Mitomo discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
the base part surface further includes a concave part, with respect to the second surface of the first compound semiconductor layer, in a second portion of the base part surface, and
the concave part of the base part surface excludes the first light reflective layer
Park discloses in Fig. 23,
a base part surface [210b] (Para. [0064]) including a concave part [portions to left and right of 210a] (Para. [0060]), in a second portion of the base part surface [left and right of 210a] (Para. [0060]), and
the concave part of the base part surface excludes a convex light reflective layer [130] (Paras. [0060,0061])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the concave portions without the convex mirror as shown in Park with the convex portion of Kawashima in view of Mitomo for the purpose of surrounding the protrusion portion with the electrode. (Park Para. [0064])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner notes WO 2018116596 A1 which discloses the use of a convex lower mirror and a flat upper mirror. See PTO-892 form.
/H.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828