DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kono (WO 2018164124 A1, US 20190393552 A1 is used as an English equivalent).
Regarding claim 1, Kono discloses an additive for a nonaqueous electrolyte solution (title), comprising:
a first compound represented by formula (1) (claim 1 of Kono discloses a formula 1 identical to the claimed formula 1 except Q can represent an alkenylene group having 4 to 7 atoms instead of 4 to 8 carbon atoms, and the alkenyl, alkynyl or alkynyloxy group that R1 can optionally be comprises 2 to 4 instead of 2 to 6 carbon atoms. In all cases, where the two formulas differ, the formula (1) of Kono is more restrictive (less broad) that the formula (1) of the instant application, such that any compound represented by the formula (1) of Kono will also be represented by the claimed formula (1)); and
at least one second compound selected from the group consisting of a compound represented by formula (2-1) (claim 5 of Kona discloses an additional nonaqueous solvent, which claim 6 discloses may be a cyclic carbonate or a chained carbonate. [0038] discloses that for the cyclic carbonate, vinylene carbonate (VC), vinyl ethylene carbonate (VEC), or 4-fluoro-1,3-dioxolan-2-one (FEC), may be used, each of which meet the limitations of the claimed formula (2-1), and each of which are disclosed in [0034] of the instant application.
Regarding claim 2, Kona discloses the additive for a nonaqueous electrolyte solution according to claim 1, wherein the compound represented by formula (1) is a compound represented by formula (3) (claim 2 of Kona, see also claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 3, Kona discloses the additive for a nonaqueous electrolyte solution according to claim 1, wherein R1 is an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms (table 1 of Kona discloses example compounds for formula 1. Cpd. 1 and Cpd. 2 of table 1 have an R1- which is an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom, meeting the claimed formula. These compounds are used in the embodiments of example 1 and example 2 of Kona, respectively).
Regarding claim 4, Kona discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte solution (claim 5 of Kona) comprising:
the additive for a nonaqueous electrolyte solution according to claim 1;
a nonaqueous solvent (see claim 5); and
an electrolyte (claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, Kona discloses the nonaqueous electrolyte solution according to claim 4, wherein the electrolyte includes a lithium salt (claim 7).
Regarding claim 7, Kona discloses an electricity storage device (claim 8) comprising:
The nonaqueous electrolyte solution according to claim 4,
a positive electrode including a positive electrode active material; and
a negative electrode including a negative electrode active material (claim 8, [0069]).
Regarding claim 8, Kona discloses the electricity storage device according to claim 7,
wherein the positive electrode active material includes a lithium-containing composite oxide represented by LizNi(1-x-y)CoxMyO2 (x, y, and z are numerical values satisfying 0 ≤ x ≤ 0.40, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.40, and 0.90 ≤ z ≤ 1.2, respectively, and M represents at least one element selected from the group consisting of Mn, V, Mg, Mo, Nb, and Al. ([0071] discloses, several materials and/or formulas matching the claimed formula, including, for example, LiNi0.6Co0.2Mn0.2, LiNi0.5Co0.2Mn0.3, LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1, or LiNi1/3Co1-3Mn1/3, all of which would satisfy the claimed formula).
Regarding claim 9, Kona discloses the electricity storage device according to claim 7,
wherein the positive electrode active material includes a lithium-containing composite oxide represented by LizNi(1-x-y)CoxMyO2 (x, y, and z are numerical values satisfying 0 ≤ x ≤ 0.20, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.30, and 0.90 ≤ z ≤ 1.2, respectively, and M represents at least one element selected from the group consisting of Mn, V, Mg, Mo, Nb, and Al. ([0071] discloses, several materials and/or formulas matching the claimed formula, including, for example, LiNi0.6Co0.2Mn0.2, LiNi0.5Co0.2Mn0.3, or LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1, all of which would satisfy the claimed formula).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono (WO 2018164124 A1, US 20190393552 A1 is used as an English equivalent).
Regarding claim 5, Kona discloses the nonaqueous electrolyte solution according to claim 4,
wherein a content of the first compound is 0.05% by mass to 5% by mass with respect to a total amount of the nonaqueous electrolyte solution ([0048] discloses that the content of the compound represented by formula (1) (the first compound) may be 0.005% to 10% by mass in terms of a total amount based on the total mass of the nonaqueous electrolyte solution, overlapping the claimed range. As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to routinely select a mass % from amongst the overlapping portion of ranges because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05(1))),
a content of each of the compounds represented by formula (2-1), (2-2), or (2-3) in a case where any one of these compounds is included in the nonaqueous electrolyte solution is 0.05% by mass to 5% by mass ([0049] discloses that the cyclic carbonate compound may be 0.001% to 10% by mass with respect to the total mass of the nonaqueous electrolyte solution, overlapping the claimed range. As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to routinely select a mass % from amongst the overlapping portion of ranges because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05(1))), and
the nonaqueous solvent is a compound different from the first compound and the second compound (claim 5 discloses that the nonaqueous solvent may be the cyclic carbonate, however other nonaqueous solvents may be used as well, as disclosed by [0059]. One such nonaqueous solvent is a chained carbonate, including for example dimethyl carbonate [0059]-[0060], which does not meet the claimed formula (2-1), (2-2), or (2-3). [0062] and Claim 5 discloses that it is possible for both cyclic and chained carbonates to be included as nonaqueous solvents. When both compounds are included, the cyclic carbonate may be considered the at least one second compound represented by formula (2-1), and the chain carbonate may be considered the nonaqueous solvent which is different from the first compound and the second compound.
Conclusion
/ZACKARY RICHARD COCHENOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752