DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 3/19/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application and no claims have been canceled. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome every claim objection 112 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 12/10/2025. This Office Action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits on page 9 of remarks that Chen does not disclose a control signal that includes enabling and disabling signal portions having a duty cycle that is based on a voltage at the output.
The Office Action relied on Chen to reject original claim 1. Office Action at p. 4. Chen at ¶[0002] discloses, "[A] substantially constant output DC voltage is maintained by a controller through pulse width modulation (PWM)." In contrast, claim 1 does not mention the constant output DC voltage as well as PWM. FIG. 7 of Published Application depicts that the output voltage (VOUT 203) is in fact not constant, hence not by PWM. Chen at ¶ [0026] discloses, "Signals drive power switches M1 and M2." In contrast, claim 1 does not mention signals drive power switches M₁ and M2. Nevertheless, FIG. 6 of Published Application does depict SW1 2111 and SW2 2112, that are equivalent to M1 and M₂. Chen at ¶ [0038] discloses, "Duty cycle is changed to achieve good output transient response based on the sensed output voltage." The duty cycle of Chen is referred to "the duty cycle of the power stage." See Chen at ¶ [0030]. Although not drawn in Chen, "the duty cycle of the power stage" is always interpreted as the on-time of M1 divided by the sum of on-time of M1 and M₂, which is also referred to as PWM, by anyone skilled in this art. In contrast, FIG. 7 of Published Application depicts that the control signal is EN212 that includes enabling and disabling signal portions having a duty cycle, that can be computed as (t1-t0 )/ (t₂-t₀) wherein t1-t0 is the time duration when SW1 and SW2 are switching, and t2-t1 is the time duration when SW1 and SW2 are not switching. Hence, the disclosed and claimed duty cycle is clearly different from the conventionally defined duty cycle in Chen.
Accordingly, Chen does not disclose a signal generator configured to generate a control signal that includes enabling and disabling signal portions having a duty cycle that is based on a voltage at the output, as claimed.
The examiner submits that Chen discloses a signal generator configured to generate a control signal that includes enabling and disabling signal portions having a duty cycle signal (Figs. 1B, 2A and ¶’s [26, 30-31, 33, 38]: when driving signals turn the power switches M1 and M2 on. Alternation occurs through PWM. When M1 and M2 is on VOUT is connected to VIN and digital ground) that is based on a voltage at the output (¶’s [2, 26, 38 ]: a substantially constant output DC voltage is maintained by a controller through pulse width modulation (PWM). Signals drive power switches M1 and M-2 . Duty cycle is changed to achieve good output transient response based on the sensed output voltage).
The applicant submits on page 10 that Chen does not disclose a switching circuit configured to isolate the output from the input and the ground during the disabling signal portions of the control signal, and does not disclose a switching circuit configured with the enabling and disabling operation.
The Office Action relied on Chen to reject original claim 1. Office Action at p. 4. Chen at ¶ [0026] discloses "Signals drive power switches M1 and M2," and the alternation occurs through PWM - this alternation is referred to connect VOUT to VIN and ground alternately. As mentioned in section I, this is the conventional way to define PWM and duty cycle, commonly known by anyone skilled in the art. In contrast, claim 1 recites that the switching circuit is configured to isolate the output from input and the ground - that is both SW1 2111 and SW2 2112 in FIG. 6 of Published Application are turned off; note that SW1 and SW2 in Published Application is akin to M1 and M₂ in Chen. Applicant respectfully notes that the pending disclosure and claims regarding the isolation operation is not anticipated by Chen.
Accordingly, Chen does not disclose a switching circuit configured to isolate the output from the input and the ground during the disabling signal portions of the control signal, as claimed.
The examiner submits that Chen discloses a switching circuit configured to isolate the output from the input and the ground during the disabling signal portions of the control signal (Fig. 2A and ¶’s [26, 33]: when driving signals turn the power switches M1 and M2 off. Alternation occurs through PWM. When M1 and M2 is off VOUT is disconnected from VIN and digital ground).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 10-11, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 20100308654 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Chen teaches a device comprising at least one charging circuit (Fig. 2A and ¶0029: switching regulator 200A), wherein each of the at least one charging circuit comprises:
an input for connecting to an energy source (Fig. 2A and ¶0002: switching regulator has switch for alternately coupling an input DC voltage source to a load. Input VIN);
an output for connecting to an energy storage device (Fig. 2A and ¶0002: Output VOUT . Examiner interprets a load as including a battery to be charged);
a signal generator (Fig. 2A and ¶’s [26, 34, 39]: PWM control/drive block 150) configured to generate a control signal that includes enabling and disabling signal portions having a duty cycle that is based on a voltage at the output (¶’s [2, 26, 38 ]: a substantially constant output DC voltage is maintained by a controller through pulse width modulation (PWM). Signals drive power switches M1 and M-2 . Duty cycle is changed to achieve good output transient response based on the sensed output voltage); and
a switching circuit configured to:
alternately couple the output to the input and a ground during the enabling signal portions of the control signal (Fig. 2A and ¶’s [26, 33]: when driving signals turn the power switches M1 and M2 on. Alternation occurs through PWM. When M1 and M2 is on VOUT is connected to VIN and digital ground); and
isolate the output from the input and the ground during the disabling signal portions of the control signal (Fig. 2A and ¶’s [26, 33]: when driving signals turn the power switches M1 and M2 off. Alternation occurs through PWM. When M1 and M2 is off VOUT is disconnected from VIN and digital ground).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the device according to Claim 1, wherein the output has a low impedance during the enabling signal portions of the control signal and a high impedance during the disabling signal portions of the control signal (Fig. 2A and ¶’s [26, 33]: The examiner interprets low and high impedance as corresponding to the output current respectively controlled, by the PWM signals through power switches M1 and M2 , to be nonzero when power switches are on and zero when power switches are off).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the device according to Claim 1, wherein each enabling signal portion has a pulse width corresponding to at least one cycle of coupling the output to the input and then to the ground (Fig. 2A and ¶’s [26, 33]: PWM causes alternately turning power switches on and off and connecting and disconnected the input, output, and ground with each other).
Regarding independent claim 11, Chen teaches a method of charging an energy storage device (Fig. 2A and ¶’s [2, 29]: switching regulator 200A couples an input DC voltage source to a load, in which the load is interpreted by the examiner as including a battery to be charged), the method comprising:
generating a control signal that includes enabling and disabling signal portions having a duty cycle that is based on a voltage of the energy storage device (¶’s [2, 26, 38 ]: a substantially constant output DC voltage is maintained by a controller through pulse width modulation (PWM). Signals drive power switches M1 and M-2 . Duty cycle is changed to achieve good output transient response based on the sensed output voltage);
alternately coupling the energy storage device to an energy source and a ground during the enabling signal portions of the control signal (Fig. 2A and ¶’s [26, 33]: when driving signals turn the power switches M1 and M2 on. Alternation occurs through PWM. When M1 and M2 is on VOUT is connected to VIN and digital ground); and
isolating the energy storage device from the energy source and the ground during the disabling signal portions of the control signal (Fig. 2A and ¶’s [26, 33]: when driving signals turn the power switches M1 and M2 off. Alternation occurs through PWM. When M1 and M2 is off VOUT is disconnected from VIN and digital ground).
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches the method according to Claim 11, wherein each enabling signal portion has a pulse width corresponding to at least one cycle of coupling the energy storage device to the energy source and then to the ground (Fig. 2A and ¶’s [26, 33]: PWM causes alternately turning power switches on and off and connecting and disconnected the input, output, and ground with each other).
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches the method according to Claim 11, wherein the energy source outputs at least one of a voltage and a current, and the energy storage device receives at least one of a voltage and a current (Fig. 2A and ¶0002: DC voltage source is coupled to a load).
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches the method according to Claim 11, wherein alternately coupling the energy storage device to an energy source and a ground during the enabling signal portions of the control signal; and
isolating the energy storage device from the energy source and the ground during the disabling signal portions of the control signal are performed under a first operation mode (Fig. 2A and ¶’s [26, 33]: Alternation occurs through PWM. When driving signals turn the power switches M1 and M2 on and off, VOUT is respectively connected and disconnected from VIN and digital ground); and wherein the method, under a second operation mode, further comprises:
alternately coupling the energy source to the energy storage device and the ground during the enabling signal portions of the control signal; and
isolating the energy source from the energy storage device and the ground during the disabling signal portions of the control signal (Fig. 2A and ¶’s [26, 33]: Alternation occurs through PWM. When driving signals turn the power switches M1 and M2 on and off, VIN is respectively connected and disconnected from VOUT and digital ground).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches the device according to Claim 1.
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the device comprises at least two charging circuits having respective outputs which are coupled together.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to duplicate the circuit of Chen so it has more charging circuits with respective outputs to service more loads faster. It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Claims 3-5 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Lee et al. (US 20180278072 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lee.
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the device according to Claim 1, wherein the control signal has a duty cycle (¶’s [30-31, 33, 38]: use of duty cycle throughout the control of voltage output).
Chen does not teach wherein the control signal has a first duty cycle when the output voltage is lower than a first threshold, and a second duty cycle when the output voltage is higher than the first threshold.
Lee teaches a control signal when an output voltage is lower than a first threshold and when the output voltage is higher than the first threshold (Figs. 3 and 5 and ¶’s [47-48]: Steps S210, S220, S230. When VBAT is less than VREF_TRK , trickle charge mode is performed. When VBAT is greater than VREF_TRK , precharge mode is performed).
Chen and Lee teach systems for controlling output power. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the lower to higher output transition based on a threshold for charging a battery in the system of Lee into the system of Chen to make sure there is no short in a battery to be charged before fast charging is initiated, and for shortening charging time and increasing power conversion efficiency (¶0004).
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Lee teaches the device according to Claim 3, wherein the control signal has the second duty cycle when the output voltage is higher than the first threshold and lower than a second threshold, and a third duty cycle (Chen - (¶’s [30-31, 33, 38]: first, second, and third duty cycles indistinguishable in claim language) when the output voltage is higher than the second threshold and lower than a third threshold (Lee - Figs. 3 and 5 and ¶’s [49-52]: Steps S230, S240, S250, S260. When VBAT is greater than VREF_TRK but less than VREF_PRE , precharge mode is performed. When VBAT is greater than VREF_PRE but less than VREF_CC , constant current mode is performed).
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Lee teaches the device according to Claim 4, wherein the third threshold is at least substantially a maximum voltage of the energy storage device, and wherein the control signal has a duty cycle (Chen - (¶’s [30-31, 33, 38]) that is adaptively adjusted to maintain the output voltage at least substantially constant when the output voltage reaches the third threshold (Lee - Figs. 3 and 5 and ¶’s [52-53]: Steps S260, S270: When VBAT is greater than or equal to VREF_CC , constant voltage mode is performed and voltage is maintained for charging the battery).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches the method according to Claim 11, wherein the control signal has a duty cycle (¶’s [30-31, 33, 38]: use of duty cycle throughout the control of voltage output).
Chen does not teach wherein the control signal has a first duty cycle when the output voltage is lower than a first threshold, and a second duty cycle when the output voltage is higher than the first threshold.
Lee teaches a control signal when an output voltage is lower than a first threshold and when the output voltage is higher than the first threshold (Figs. 3 and 5 and ¶’s [47-48]: Steps S210, S220, S230. When VBAT is less than VREF_TRK , trickle charge mode is performed. When VBAT is greater than VREF_TRK , precharge mode is performed).
Chen and Lee teach systems for controlling output power. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the lower to higher output transition based on a threshold for charging a battery in the system of Lee into the system of Chen to make sure there is no short in a battery to be charged before fast charging is initiated, and for shortening charging time and increasing power conversion efficiency (¶0004).
Regarding claim 13, Chen in view of Lee teaches the method according to Claim 12, wherein the control signal has the second duty cycle when the voltage of the energy storage device is higher than the first threshold and lower than a second threshold, and a third duty cycle (Chen - (¶’s [30-31, 33, 38]: first, second, and third duty cycles indistinguishable in claim language) when the voltage of the energy storage device is higher than the second threshold and lower than a third threshold (Lee - Figs. 3 and 5 and ¶’s [49-52]: Steps S230, S240, S250, S260. When VBAT is greater than VREF_TRK but less than VREF_PRE , precharge mode is performed. When VBAT is greater than VREF_PRE but less than VREF_CC , constant current mode is performed).
Regarding claim 14, Chen in view of Lee teaches the method according to Claim 13, wherein the third threshold is at least substantially a maximum voltage of the energy storage device, and wherein the control signal has a duty cycle (Chen - (¶’s [30-31, 33, 38]) that is adaptively adjusted to maintain the output voltage at least substantially constant when the voltage of the energy storage device reaches the third threshold (Lee - Figs. 3 and 5 and ¶’s [52-53]: Steps S260, S270: When VBAT is greater than or equal to VREF_CC , constant voltage mode is performed and voltage is maintained for charging the battery).
Claims 7-8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ballard et al. (US 20030231003 A1) and Schmid et al. (US 20110163695 A1), hereinafter respectively referred to as Ballard and Schmid.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Chen teaches the device according to Claim 1.
Chen does not explicitly teach the device further comprising:
a plurality of input switches;
wherein the plurality of input switches comprises:
a first input switch configured to couple the input to the energy source; and
at least one second input switch configured to couple the input to a respective at least one second energy source.
Ballard discloses a plurality of input switches (Fig. 1 and ¶0018: switches 20 connect batteries 18 to load 12); and
a plurality of output switches;
wherein the plurality of input switches comprises:
a first input switch (any one of switches 20) configured to couple the input to the energy source (any corresponding battery 18); and
at least one second input switch (any other one of switches 20) configured to couple the input to a respective at least one second energy source (any other corresponding battery 18).
Chen and Ballard teach circuits for managing output power. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate multiple sources with corresponding switches in the circuit of Ballard into the circuit of Chen to utilize multiple and diverse sources to meet the demand of a load.
Chen does not teach a plurality of output switches, wherein the plurality of output switches comprises:
a first output switch configured to couple the output to the energy storage device; and
at least one second output switch configured to couple the output to a respective at least one second energy storage device.
Schmid teaches a plurality of output switches (Fig. 6 and ¶0036: switches next to loads L1-L3), wherein the plurality of output switches comprises:
a first output switch (switch next to L1) configured to couple the output to the energy storage device (load L1); and
at least one second output switch (switches next to L2-L3) configured to couple the output to a respective at least one second energy storage device (loads L2-L3).
Chen and Schmid teach circuits for managing output power. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate multiple loads with corresponding switches in the circuit of Schmid into the circuit of Chen to service multiple loads at the same time or restrict power to specific loads in sequence if power supply becomes limited (abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches the method according to Claim 16.
Chen does not teach wherein the energy storage device is at least one energy storage device selectable from a plurality of energy storage devices.
Schmid teaches one energy storage device selectable from a plurality of energy storage devices (Fig. 6 and ¶0036: switches next to loads L1-L3).
Chen and Schmid teach circuits for managing output power. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate multiple loads with corresponding switches in the circuit of Schmid into the circuit of Chen to service multiple loads at the same time or restrict power to specific loads in sequence if power supply becomes limited (abstract).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ballard.
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches the method according to Claim 11.
Chen does not teach wherein the energy source is at least one energy source selectable from a plurality of energy sources.
Ballard teaches an energy source selectable from a plurality of energy sources (Fig. 1 and ¶0018: switches 20 connect batteries 18 to load 12).
Chen and Ballard teach circuits for managing output power. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate multiple sources with corresponding switches in the circuit of Ballard into the circuit of Chen to utilize multiple and diverse sources to meet the demand of a load.
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Schmid.
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches the method according to Claim 11.
Chen does not teach wherein the energy storage device is at least one energy storage device selectable from a plurality of energy storage devices.
Schmid teaches one energy storage device selectable from a plurality of energy storage devices (Fig. 6 and ¶0036: switches next to loads L1-L3).
Chen and Schmid teach circuits for managing output power. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate multiple loads with corresponding switches in the circuit of Schmid into the circuit of Chen to service multiple loads at the same time or restrict power to specific loads in sequence if power supply becomes limited (abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Alessandro et al. (US 20150380966 A1) teaches constant current and constant voltage charging and pulse width modulation.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ryu-Sung P. Weinmann/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 May 21, 2026
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859