DETAILED ACTION
Claims 16-20, 23, and 27-30 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. Claims 1-15, 21-22, 24 -26 are Canceled.
This action is in response to the “amendment” and “remarks” filed 10/16/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) Claim(s) 16-20, 23, and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bal (US20200047343) in view of Kolling (US20200089255) further in view of Williams (US202000238520) further in view of Zhang (US20220079406).
Claim 16:
Bal explicitly teaches:
A method for controlling a cleaning robot configured to clean a predetermined floor area, the method comprising: determining a section of the floor area to be processed by the cleaning robot differently than a remaining floor area, the section being a carpet;
(Bal) – “These defined work areas are then attributed with various information such as height of fixed obstacles or surface types. Examples of surface types include, but are not limited to, marble, carpet, wood, grass, etc.” (Para 0089)
“In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“The robotic device may perform the service in the service area wherein the service area is identified in a digital map stored in the memory and recognizing the service area at the end of the path is performed utilizing the sensor.” (Para 0153)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path).” (Para 0158)
designating sections or regions not to be cleaned or not to be traveled as no- go regions, and [automatically merging a plurality of the no-go regions, when the plurality of the no-go regions overlap with one another or lie close enough to one another to cause the cleaning robot not to be able to pass between the plurality of the no-go regions];
(Bal) – “Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path). In embodiments, stay-out areas, obstacles to avoid, edges to stay clear of, and the like, may also be defined such that the robotic platform 100 cleans only the intended areas. This may be particularly useful when the layout of a room has been changed, where the user can use the teach-repeat mode to re-layout the room's mapping area for cleaning with respect to new furniture layouts, planter positions, new obstacles, new high-traffic areas, and the like, without the need to edit a previously stored task plan mapping. Through the teach-repeat mode, a user may be able to directly build (e.g., in real-time, into a database) a new map for a service area, where the robot then knows where to start, where-how to service, where not to service, what to avoid, and the like.” (Para 0158)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
deactivating a cleaner of the cleaning robot;
(Bal) – “In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path).” (Para 0158)
Examiner Note: Because cleaning happens in the repeat mode after the teach mode, the teach mode corresponds with deactivating a cleaning facility.
controlling the cleaning robot to travel along a boundary of the sectionwith the cleaner only touching the section, and using the cleaning robot to travel on the section of the floor area, as long as the cleaner does not intrude into the section];
(Bal) – “In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path). In embodiments, stay-out areas, obstacles to avoid, edges to stay clear of, and the like, may also be defined such that the robotic platform 100 cleans only the intended areas. This may be particularly useful when the layout of a room has been changed, where the user can use the teach-repeat mode to re-layout the room's mapping area for cleaning with respect to new furniture layouts, planter positions, new obstacles, new high-traffic areas, and the like, without the need to edit a previously stored task plan mapping. Through the teach-repeat mode, a user may be able to directly build (e.g., in real-time, into a database) a new map for a service area, where the robot then knows where to start, where-how to service, where not to service, what to avoid, and the like.” (Para 0158)
controlling the cleaning robot to travel along the boundary with reduced speed to give a user more time to control or to interrupt the travel;
(Bal) – “The robotic platform 100 may sense the special treatment area (e.g., through surface sensing, imaging) or a user may input the location of the special treatment area 144 for special attention. The robotic platform 100 may provide additional service to the special treatment area 144 (e.g., apply more pressure to the cleaner, slow down the speed of the robotic platform to increase the amount of cleaner provided, go over the area a second time, and the like) at the time the robotic platform 100 first encounters it or at a later time (e.g., scheduling a return to the area).” (Para 0065)
“In accordance with other exemplary embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may make use of external data to inform the mode of operation. For example, if the robotic platform 100 receives information that the weather prior to the performance of a nightly floor cleaning is stormy or rainy, the robotic platform 100 may adjust the speed at which it performs sweeping of a floor area to take into the account the likely increased presence of dried dirt and mud.” (Para 0095)
“In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path).” (Para 0158)
Examiner Note: This limitation includes a statement of intended use. Reducing speed for any reason would, by nature, have the effect of giving a user more time to control or to interrupt the travel.
minimizing a distance between the cleaning robot and the section as far as possible to ensure the section being in no way affected by the cleaning robot and to reduce an uncleaned floor area;
(Bal) – “In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path). In embodiments, stay-out areas, obstacles to avoid, edges to stay clear of, and the like, may also be defined such that the robotic platform 100 cleans only the intended areas. This may be particularly useful when the layout of a room has been changed, where the user can use the teach-repeat mode to re-layout the room's mapping area for cleaning with respect to new furniture layouts, planter positions, new obstacles, new high-traffic areas, and the like, without the need to edit a previously stored task plan mapping. Through the teach-repeat mode, a user may be able to directly build (e.g., in real-time, into a database) a new map for a service area, where the robot then knows where to start, where-how to service, where not to service, what to avoid, and the like.” (Para 0158)
Examiner Note: This limitation contains intended use language and is otherwise broadly claimed. Per BRI the robot following the specified path, cleaning within the path, and avoiding stay-out areas corresponds with the above limitations.
while traveling along the boundary, controlling the cleaning robot to give an indication of a side of the traveled boundary included in the section, to avoid an accidental inversion in which a section of the floor area to be cleaned and the sections or regions of the floor area not to be cleaned, are confused with one another;
(Bal) – (Bal) – “In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“The robotic device may distinguish the user from at least one other person in proximity to the robotic device and cause the propulsion mechanism to move the robotic device along the path of the user. The path may establish a perimeter where the robotic device designates an area within the perimeter as a service area to perform a service. The robotic device may perform a service task in the service area.” (Para 0153)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path) …In embodiments, stay-out areas, obstacles to avoid, edges to stay clear of, and the like, may also be defined such that the robotic platform 100 cleans only the intended areas. This may be particularly useful when the layout of a room has been changed, where the user can use the teach-repeat mode to re-layout the room's mapping area for cleaning with respect to new furniture layouts, planter positions, new obstacles, new high-traffic areas, and the like, without the need to edit a previously stored task plan mapping. Through the teach-repeat mode, a user may be able to directly build (e.g., in real-time, into a database) a new map for a service area, where the robot then knows where to start, where-how to service, where not to service, what to avoid, and the like.” (Para 0158)
Examiner Note: This limitation contains intended use language and is otherwise broadly claimed. Specifically, an indication may correspond with any action which identifies or favors a side of the traveled boundary included in the section. Per BRI the robotic device designating an area within the perimeter as a service area to perform a service corresponds with the above limitations.
the indication including one or more visual indicators in order to indicate [a right-hand or left-hand region of the floor area relative to a direction of travel of the cleaning robot];
(Bal) – “As illustrated, the main body 214 comprises user interface 402. The user interface 402 may include all elements for a user to conduct task planning and to operate the equipment including, for example, visual interface screen, element selection mechanism, on/off control, emergency stop and pause buttons, etc.” (Para 0079)
“Once a task has been initiated, a status-control screen 1700 may be provided, such as providing current status information (e.g., approximate time for task completion, location, tool, and the like). Function control buttons may be provided, such as to cancel or continue a current task. A time-down screen 1800 may be provided, such as for when a cleaning is set to begin, an approximate time for the task to be competed, and the like, and where a cancel function button may be available. A progress screen 1900 may be provided, such as with a visual or percentage indication as to how far along the task has progressed. A service plan progress screen 2000 may be provided, such as illustrating the progress complete in the current task, the progress complete for a plurality of tasks, and the like.” (Para 0107)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
detecting a user-controlled confirmation of the boundary traveled along; and
(Bal) – “In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path).” (Para 0158)
enabling the cleaner.
(Bal) – “In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path).” (Para 0158)
Bal does not explicitly teach:
automatically merging a plurality of the no-go regions, when the plurality of the no-go regions overlap with one another or lie close enough to one another to cause the cleaning robot not to be able to pass between the plurality of the no-go regions… with the cleaner only touching the section, and using the cleaning robot to travel on the section of the floor area, as long as the cleaner does not intrude into the section …a right-hand or left-hand region of the floor area relative to a direction of travel of the cleaning robot
Kolling, in the same field of endeavor of cleaning robots, teaches:
automatically merging a plurality of the no-go regions, when the plurality of the no-go regions overlap with one another or lie close enough to one another to cause the cleaning robot not to be able to pass between the plurality of the no-go regions
(Kolling) – “In FIG. 6C, the sub-regions 620A and 620B can each be merged with their respective neighboring rectangles, and so are the ranks within each of the regions being merged. For example, the sub-region 620A can be merged with rectangles 610 and 630, and the corresponding merged region 630A has only vertical ranks. The sub-region 620B can be merged with the rectangle 640, and the corresponding merged region 630B has only horizontal ranks. As a result, a total of seven ranks are needed to cover the entire rectilinear environment.” (Para 0107)
“At 1423, some neighboring rectangles, each having their own locally optimal orientations, can be merged into one rectangle based on the orientations of the neighboring rectangles. For example, consecutively horizontal neighbors that are horizontally oriented can be merged into one wide rectangle. Similarly, consecutively vertical neighbors that are vertically oriented can be merged into one tall rectangle. Examples of merging the rectangles are discussed with reference to FIGS. 4E and 4F.” (Para 0143)
“In some examples, the polygonal map 400A may include a negative area 430, such as within the interior region 410. Examples of the negative area 430 may include an obstacle, a keep-out zone, or a dangerous area as specified by a user. The coverage planner of the controller 109 performs interior region partition and path planning such that no partitioned region covers, and no path crosses through, the negative area 430 or a portion thereof.” (Para 0094)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the robotic device of Bal with the methods for operating a mobile robot of Kolling. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “minimizing or reducing the time needed to accomplish the coverage” (Kolling Para 0004)
Kolling does not explicitly teach:
with the cleaner only touching the section, and using the cleaning robot to travel on the section of the floor area, as long as the cleaner does not intrude into the section …a right-hand or left-hand region of the floor area relative to a direction of travel of the cleaning robot
Williams, in the same field of endeavor of cleaning robots, teaches:
a right-hand or left-hand region of the floor area relative to a direction of travel of the cleaning robot
(Williams) – “The barrier can extend through a doorway, and the initial position of the robot can be within the doorway. The body can include a front and a back. The barrier can extend along a line that is parallel to the back of the robot. The line can be tangential to the back of the robot. The line can intersect the body of the robot at a location indicated by a visual indicator on the robot. The barrier can include a first line that extends parallel to the back of the robot and a second line that extends perpendicular to the back of the robot. The initial location of the robot can place the back of the body adjacent to the first line and a side of the body adjacent to the second line.” (Para 0005)
“In some cases, the virtual barrier 516 passes through the back side 202A of the robot 200. In other cases, the virtual barrier 516 intersects the robot body, e.g., the virtual barrier passes through the lights 242a and 242b enabling the user to align the lights with the location of the virtual barrier. The lights 242a and 242b therefore may serve as visual indicators of the location of the virtual barrier 516. The virtual barrier 516 can prevent the robot 200 from passing from the first room 504 through a doorway 517 into the room 506 of the environment 502.” (Para 0074)
“In some cases, the second virtual barrier may coincide with the right side 202R or the left side 202L of the robot body 202.” (Para 0077)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the robotic device of Bal with the robot of Williams. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “Advantages of the foregoing may include, but are not limited to, the following. The user can control the robot and the areas through which the robot navigates. The robot can be restricted to areas where the robot can move freely while reducing the risk of damage to objects in the area. In some implementations, the robot functions autonomously and the user does not need to monitor the robot as it covers a room in order to keep the robot out of particular areas of the room.” (Williams Para 0015)
Williams does not explicitly teach:
with the cleaner only touching the section, and using the cleaning robot to travel on the section of the floor area, as long as the cleaner does not intrude into the section
Zhang, in the same field of endeavor of cleaning robots, teaches:
with the cleaner only touching the section, and using the cleaning robot to travel on the section of the floor area, as long as the cleaner does not intrude into the section
(Zhang) – “In an embodiment, when a carpet is detected, it is determined that the mopping module needs to be lifted, and the mopping module is controlled to be lifted to the second position; and when a floor is detected, the mopping module is controlled to return to the first position.” (Para 0087)
“In a working process of the cleaning robot, the control device can determine, according to a detection result of the detection device, whether the mopping module needs to be lifted, and control lifting and falling of the mopping module by using the lifting device. An advantage of this practice is that the cleaning robot still has better passability even when encountering a change in the ground state, for example, when encountering a carpet or an obstacle, and can avoid dirtying the carpet, the obstacle, or the like. In addition, when the cleaning robot returns to the base station or switches between working regions, the control device controls the lifting device to lift the mopping module in time, thereby effectively preventing secondary contamination or cross contamination and achieving a better cleaning effect.” (Para 0185)
“Specifically, when detecting that the working surface of the cleaning robot 1 changes from the floor state to the carpet state, the detection device 10 sends a signal to the control device 30, and the control device 30 controls the mopping module lifting mechanism to drive the mopping module 14 to be lifted from the first position 34 relative to the working surface to the second position 36. In this way, the obstruction caused by the carpet to the mopping module 14 is avoided, and stains on the mopping module 14 are prevented from dirtying the carpet.” (Para 0228)
“A current smart mopping machine or smart sweeping and mopping integrated machine is equipped with a mop to wipe a ground, thereby improving the degree of cleanliness of the ground. During work, the cleaning robot often encounters indoor obstacles such as a step and a threshold. When encountering these obstacles, the machine cannot cross the obstacles and chooses to avoid these obstacles in most cases. Moreover, a growing number of ornaments such as a carpet are used in the existing indoor environment. When the cleaning robot moves to the carpet, a case that a mop interferes with the carpet and the carpet is consequently dirtied by stains on the mop often occurs.” (Para 0004)
“To overcome defects of the prior art, the problem that the present invention needs to resolve is to provide a cleaning robot that can automatically lift and unload a cleaning device, a control method thereof, and a ground treatment system.” (Para 0005)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the robotic device of Bal with the cleaning robot of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “effectively preventing secondary contamination or cross contamination and achieving a better cleaning effect.” (Zhang Para 0185)
Claim 17:
Bal in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 16 teach those respective limitations. Bal further teaches:
which further comprises determining the section in relation to a map mapping the predetermined floor area.
(Bal) – “The robotic device may perform the service in the service area wherein the service area is identified in a digital map stored in the memory and recognizing the service area at the end of the path is performed utilizing the sensor.” (Para 0153)
Claim 18:
Bal in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 17 teach those respective limitations. Bal further teaches:
which further comprises determining the map based on scans of the floor area carried out by the cleaning robot.
(Bal) – “The robotic platform 100 may provide a service planning facility 120, such as including the ability to generate and store service plans 128 for one or more task areas. A service plan 128 may utilize a mapping facility 122, such as with capabilities to generate and utilize digital 2D maps 124 and 3D maps 126 for navigating through and providing planning services for service areas 140A-B… a service area mapping 142 of a service area may be generated by the robotic platform 100, such as through exploring the service area as part of a service area plan setup” (Para 0053)
“the robotic platform 100 may scan a service area 140C with at least one sensor 104 to generate sensor data (e.g., raw sensor data or digital map data), such as for sensing physical features of the service area 140C (e.g., walls, ramps, obstructions, and the like). The sensed data may then be communicated to a remote service planning facility 120 for sensor data post-processing and generation of a service plan for the service area, such as processing the sensor data into work areas, service tasks, task areas, and path planning, to make the service plan more efficient for local processing on the robotic platform 100 (e.g., by subdividing and managing path planning of the service area). The remote service planning facility 120 may include a mapping application 5102 with a path planner 5104 for the generation of an optimized planned path for the robotic platform 100 to travel along within the service area 104C… In embodiments, the mapping application may provide for intelligent map generation and editing based on artificial intelligence functionality, such as neural network-based modeling for optimized path generation within identified areas, such as with consideration of the constraints of the robotic platform 100 and the service area 140C. Inputs to the path planner 5104 may include the scan data, identification of a work area 5106 (e.g., surface area to be serviced), identification of restricted areas 5108 (e.g., stay out zones where the robotic platform 100 is not to provide service), pre-existing obstacles 146A in the service area (e.g., architectural features or furniture), and the like.” (Para 0056)
Claim 19:
Bal in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 16 teach those respective limitations. Bal further teaches:
which further comprises reducing a speed at which the cleaning robot travels along the boundary.
(Bal) – “The robotic platform 100 may sense the special treatment area (e.g., through surface sensing, imaging) or a user may input the location of the special treatment area 144 for special attention. The robotic platform 100 may provide additional service to the special treatment area 144 (e.g., apply more pressure to the cleaner, slow down the speed of the robotic platform to increase the amount of cleaner provided, go over the area a second time, and the like) at the time the robotic platform 100 first encounters it or at a later time (e.g., scheduling a return to the area).” (Para 0065)
“In accordance with other exemplary embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may make use of external data to inform the mode of operation. For example, if the robotic platform 100 receives information that the weather prior to the performance of a nightly floor cleaning is stormy or rainy, the robotic platform 100 may adjust the speed at which it performs sweeping of a floor area to take into the account the likely increased presence of dried dirt and mud.” (Para 0095)
“In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path).” (Para 0158)
Claim 20:
Bal in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 16 teach those respective limitations. Bal further teaches:
which further comprises controlling a speed of the cleaning robot by a user while the cleaning robot is traveling along the boundary.
(Bal) – “The robotic platform 100 may sense the special treatment area (e.g., through surface sensing, imaging) or a user may input the location of the special treatment area 144 for special attention. The robotic platform 100 may provide additional service to the special treatment area 144 (e.g., apply more pressure to the cleaner, slow down the speed of the robotic platform to increase the amount of cleaner provided, go over the area a second time, and the like) at the time the robotic platform 100 first encounters it or at a later time (e.g., scheduling a return to the area).” (Para 0065)
“In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path).” (Para 0158)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, the user specifying a special treatment area where the robotic platform slows down corresponds with controlling a speed of the cleaning robot by a user.
Claim 21: Canceled
Claim 22: Canceled
Claim 23:
Bal in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 16 teach those respective limitations. Bal further teaches:
which further comprises determining the section by controlling the travel of the cleaning robot along the boundary of the section based on user-controlled inputs.
(Bal) – “In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path).” (Para 0158)
Claim 24: Canceled
Claim 25: Canceled
Claim 26: Canceled
Claim 27:
Bal explicitly teaches:
A control apparatus for a cleaning robot configured to process a predetermined floor area, the control apparatus comprising: a determiner for determining a section of the floor area to be processed by the cleaning robot differently than a remaining floor area, the section being a carpet;
(Bal) – “These defined work areas are then attributed with various information such as height of fixed obstacles or surface types. Examples of surface types include, but are not limited to, marble, carpet, wood, grass, etc.” (Para 0089)
“In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“The robotic device may perform the service in the service area wherein the service area is identified in a digital map stored in the memory and recognizing the service area at the end of the path is performed utilizing the sensor.” (Para 0153)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path).” (Para 0158)
“The methods and/or processes described above, and steps thereof, may be realized in hardware, software or any combination of hardware and software suitable for a particular application. The hardware may include a general-purpose computer and/or dedicated computing device or specific computing device or particular aspect or component of a specific computing device. The processes may be realized in one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, embedded microcontrollers, programmable digital signal processors or other programmable device, along with internal and/or external memory.” (Para 0209)
a processor configured to deactivate a cleaner of the cleaning robot and to control the cleaning robot to travel along a boundary of the section [with the cleaner only touching the section and the cleaning robot traveling on the section of the floor area, as long as the cleaner does not intrude into the section]; and
(Bal) – “In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path).” (Para 0158)
“The methods and/or processes described above, and steps thereof, may be realized in hardware, software or any combination of hardware and software suitable for a particular application. The hardware may include a general-purpose computer and/or dedicated computing device or specific computing device or particular aspect or component of a specific computing device. The processes may be realized in one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, embedded microcontrollers, programmable digital signal processors or other programmable device, along with internal and/or external memory.” (Para 0209)
Examiner Note: Because cleaning happens in the repeat mode after the teach mode, the teach mode corresponds with deactivating a cleaning facility.
said processor controlling the cleaning robot to travel along the boundary with reduced speed to give a user more time to control or to interrupt the travel; and
(Bal) – “The robotic platform 100 may sense the special treatment area (e.g., through surface sensing, imaging) or a user may input the location of the special treatment area 144 for special attention. The robotic platform 100 may provide additional service to the special treatment area 144 (e.g., apply more pressure to the cleaner, slow down the speed of the robotic platform to increase the amount of cleaner provided, go over the area a second time, and the like) at the time the robotic platform 100 first encounters it or at a later time (e.g., scheduling a return to the area).” (Para 0065)
“In accordance with other exemplary embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may make use of external data to inform the mode of operation. For example, if the robotic platform 100 receives information that the weather prior to the performance of a nightly floor cleaning is stormy or rainy, the robotic platform 100 may adjust the speed at which it performs sweeping of a floor area to take into the account the likely increased presence of dried dirt and mud.” (Para 0095)
“In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path).” (Para 0158)
Examiner Note: This limitation includes a statement of intended use. Reducing speed for any reason would, by nature, have the effect of giving a user more time to control or to interrupt the travel.
an input apparatus for inputting a user-controlled confirmation of the boundary being traveled along and
(Bal) – “In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path).” (Para 0158)
“Referring to FIG. 38, the “follow-me” mode may be initiated 3802 by a user, such as through a graphical user interface on the robotic platform 100, where the robotic platform then begins following 3804 the user (e.g., based on a following configuration with respect to user recognition parameters).” (Para 0147)
“In embodiments, the service planning facility 120 may be provided through a user interface of the robotic platform 100 or through an external computing facility (e.g., the user computing device 130, a remote server-based computing facility, cloud-based computing facility, and the like).” (Para 0053)
for designating sections or regions not to be cleaned or not to be traveled as no-go regions;
(Bal) – “Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path). In embodiments, stay-out areas, obstacles to avoid, edges to stay clear of, and the like, may also be defined such that the robotic platform 100 cleans only the intended areas. This may be particularly useful when the layout of a room has been changed, where the user can use the teach-repeat mode to re-layout the room's mapping area for cleaning with respect to new furniture layouts, planter positions, new obstacles, new high-traffic areas, and the like, without the need to edit a previously stored task plan mapping. Through the teach-repeat mode, a user may be able to directly build (e.g., in real-time, into a database) a new map for a service area, where the robot then knows where to start, where-how to service, where not to service, what to avoid, and the like.” (Para 0158)
said processor configured to enable said cleaner in response to a detected user-controlled confirmation that the boundary has been traveled along, and
(Bal) – “In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path).” (Para 0158)
saidprocessor configured to control the cleaning robot along the boundary without the cleaning robot or the cleaner touching the section
(Bal) – “In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path). In embodiments, stay-out areas, obstacles to avoid, edges to stay clear of, and the like, may also be defined such that the robotic platform 100 cleans only the intended areas. This may be particularly useful when the layout of a room has been changed, where the user can use the teach-repeat mode to re-layout the room's mapping area for cleaning with respect to new furniture layouts, planter positions, new obstacles, new high-traffic areas, and the like, without the need to edit a previously stored task plan mapping. Through the teach-repeat mode, a user may be able to directly build (e.g., in real-time, into a database) a new map for a service area, where the robot then knows where to start, where-how to service, where not to service, what to avoid, and the like.” (Para 0158)
to minimize a distance between the cleaning robot and the section as far as possible to ensure the section being in no way affected by the cleaning robot and to reduce an uncleaned floor area, and
(Bal) – “In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path). In embodiments, stay-out areas, obstacles to avoid, edges to stay clear of, and the like, may also be defined such that the robotic platform 100 cleans only the intended areas. This may be particularly useful when the layout of a room has been changed, where the user can use the teach-repeat mode to re-layout the room's mapping area for cleaning with respect to new furniture layouts, planter positions, new obstacles, new high-traffic areas, and the like, without the need to edit a previously stored task plan mapping. Through the teach-repeat mode, a user may be able to directly build (e.g., in real-time, into a database) a new map for a service area, where the robot then knows where to start, where-how to service, where not to service, what to avoid, and the like.” (Para 0158)
said processor configured to control the cleaning robot, while traveling along the boundary, to give an indication of a side of the traveled boundary included in the section, to avoid an accidental inversion in which a section of the floor area to be cleaned and the sections or regions of the floor area not to be cleaned, are confused with one another;
(Bal) – (Bal) – “In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“The robotic device may distinguish the user from at least one other person in proximity to the robotic device and cause the propulsion mechanism to move the robotic device along the path of the user. The path may establish a perimeter where the robotic device designates an area within the perimeter as a service area to perform a service. The robotic device may perform a service task in the service area.” (Para 0153)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path) …In embodiments, stay-out areas, obstacles to avoid, edges to stay clear of, and the like, may also be defined such that the robotic platform 100 cleans only the intended areas. This may be particularly useful when the layout of a room has been changed, where the user can use the teach-repeat mode to re-layout the room's mapping area for cleaning with respect to new furniture layouts, planter positions, new obstacles, new high-traffic areas, and the like, without the need to edit a previously stored task plan mapping. Through the teach-repeat mode, a user may be able to directly build (e.g., in real-time, into a database) a new map for a service area, where the robot then knows where to start, where-how to service, where not to service, what to avoid, and the like.” (Para 0158)
Examiner Note: This limitation contains intended use language and is otherwise broadly claimed. Specifically, an indication may correspond with any action which identifies or favors a side of the traveled boundary included in the section. Per BRI the robotic device designating an area within the perimeter as a service area to perform a service corresponds with the above limitations.
said indication including one or more visual indicators in order to indicate [a right-hand or left-hand region of the floor area relative to a direction of travel of the cleaning robot];
(Bal) – “As illustrated, the main body 214 comprises user interface 402. The user interface 402 may include all elements for a user to conduct task planning and to operate the equipment including, for example, visual interface screen, element selection mechanism, on/off control, emergency stop and pause buttons, etc.” (Para 0079)
“Once a task has been initiated, a status-control screen 1700 may be provided, such as providing current status information (e.g., approximate time for task completion, location, tool, and the like). Function control buttons may be provided, such as to cancel or continue a current task. A time-down screen 1800 may be provided, such as for when a cleaning is set to begin, an approximate time for the task to be competed, and the like, and where a cancel function button may be available. A progress screen 1900 may be provided, such as with a visual or percentage indication as to how far along the task has progressed. A service plan progress screen 2000 may be provided, such as illustrating the progress complete in the current task, the progress complete for a plurality of tasks, and the like.” (Para 0107)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Bal does not explicitly teach:
said processor configured to automatically merge a plurality of the no-go regions, when the plurality of the no-go regions overlap with one another or lie close enough to one another to cause the cleaning robot not to be able to pass between the plurality of the no-go regions… a right-hand or left-hand region of the floor area relative to a direction of travel of the cleaning robot
Kolling, in the same field of endeavor of cleaning robots, teaches:
said processor configured to automatically merge a plurality of the no-go regions, when the plurality of the no-go regions overlap with one another or lie close enough to one another to cause the cleaning robot not to be able to pass between the plurality of the no-go regions.
(Kolling) – “In FIG. 6C, the sub-regions 620A and 620B can each be merged with their respective neighboring rectangles, and so are the ranks within each of the regions being merged. For example, the sub-region 620A can be merged with rectangles 610 and 630, and the corresponding merged region 630A has only vertical ranks. The sub-region 620B can be merged with the rectangle 640, and the corresponding merged region 630B has only horizontal ranks. As a result, a total of seven ranks are needed to cover the entire rectilinear environment.” (Para 0107)
“At 1423, some neighboring rectangles, each having their own locally optimal orientations, can be merged into one rectangle based on the orientations of the neighboring rectangles. For example, consecutively horizontal neighbors that are horizontally oriented can be merged into one wide rectangle. Similarly, consecutively vertical neighbors that are vertically oriented can be merged into one tall rectangle. Examples of merging the rectangles are discussed with reference to FIGS. 4E and 4F.” (Para 0143)
“In some examples, the polygonal map 400A may include a negative area 430, such as within the interior region 410. Examples of the negative area 430 may include an obstacle, a keep-out zone, or a dangerous area as specified by a user. The coverage planner of the controller 109 performs interior region partition and path planning such that no partitioned region covers, and no path crosses through, the negative area 430 or a portion thereof.” (Para 0094)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the robotic device of Bal with the methods for operating a mobile robot of Kolling. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “minimizing or reducing the time needed to accomplish the coverage” (Kolling Para 0004)
Kolling does not explicitly teach:
a right-hand or left-hand region of the floor area relative to a direction of travel of the cleaning robot
Williams, in the same field of endeavor of cleaning robots, teaches:
a right-hand or left-hand region of the floor area relative to a direction of travel of the cleaning robot
(Williams) – “The barrier can extend through a doorway, and the initial position of the robot can be within the doorway. The body can include a front and a back. The barrier can extend along a line that is parallel to the back of the robot. The line can be tangential to the back of the robot. The line can intersect the body of the robot at a location indicated by a visual indicator on the robot. The barrier can include a first line that extends parallel to the back of the robot and a second line that extends perpendicular to the back of the robot. The initial location of the robot can place the back of the body adjacent to the first line and a side of the body adjacent to the second line.” (Para 0005)
“In some cases, the virtual barrier 516 passes through the back side 202A of the robot 200. In other cases, the virtual barrier 516 intersects the robot body, e.g., the virtual barrier passes through the lights 242a and 242b enabling the user to align the lights with the location of the virtual barrier. The lights 242a and 242b therefore may serve as visual indicators of the location of the virtual barrier 516. The virtual barrier 516 can prevent the robot 200 from passing from the first room 504 through a doorway 517 into the room 506 of the environment 502.” (Para 0074)
“In some cases, the second virtual barrier may coincide with the right side 202R or the left side 202L of the robot body 202.” (Para 0077)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the robotic device of Bal with the robot of Williams. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “Advantages of the foregoing may include, but are not limited to, the following. The user can control the robot and the areas through which the robot navigates. The robot can be restricted to areas where the robot can move freely while reducing the risk of damage to objects in the area. In some implementations, the robot functions autonomously and the user does not need to monitor the robot as it covers a room in order to keep the robot out of particular areas of the room.” (Williams Para 0015)
Williams does not explicitly teach:
with the cleaner only touching the section and the cleaning robot traveling on the section of the floor area, as long as the cleaner does not intrude into the section
Zhang, in the same field of endeavor of cleaning robots, teaches:
with the cleaner only touching the section and the cleaning robot traveling on the section of the floor area, as long as the cleaner does not intrude into the section
(Zhang) – “In an embodiment, when a carpet is detected, it is determined that the mopping module needs to be lifted, and the mopping module is controlled to be lifted to the second position; and when a floor is detected, the mopping module is controlled to return to the first position.” (Para 0087)
“In a working process of the cleaning robot, the control device can determine, according to a detection result of the detection device, whether the mopping module needs to be lifted, and control lifting and falling of the mopping module by using the lifting device. An advantage of this practice is that the cleaning robot still has better passability even when encountering a change in the ground state, for example, when encountering a carpet or an obstacle, and can avoid dirtying the carpet, the obstacle, or the like. In addition, when the cleaning robot returns to the base station or switches between working regions, the control device controls the lifting device to lift the mopping module in time, thereby effectively preventing secondary contamination or cross contamination and achieving a better cleaning effect.” (Para 0185)
“Specifically, when detecting that the working surface of the cleaning robot 1 changes from the floor state to the carpet state, the detection device 10 sends a signal to the control device 30, and the control device 30 controls the mopping module lifting mechanism to drive the mopping module 14 to be lifted from the first position 34 relative to the working surface to the second position 36. In this way, the obstruction caused by the carpet to the mopping module 14 is avoided, and stains on the mopping module 14 are prevented from dirtying the carpet.” (Para 0228)
“A current smart mopping machine or smart sweeping and mopping integrated machine is equipped with a mop to wipe a ground, thereby improving the degree of cleanliness of the ground. During work, the cleaning robot often encounters indoor obstacles such as a step and a threshold. When encountering these obstacles, the machine cannot cross the obstacles and chooses to avoid these obstacles in most cases. Moreover, a growing number of ornaments such as a carpet are used in the existing indoor environment. When the cleaning robot moves to the carpet, a case that a mop interferes with the carpet and the carpet is consequently dirtied by stains on the mop often occurs.” (Para 0004)
“To overcome defects of the prior art, the problem that the present invention needs to resolve is to provide a cleaning robot that can automatically lift and unload a cleaning device, a control method thereof, and a ground treatment system.” (Para 0005)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the robotic device of Bal with the cleaning robot of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “effectively preventing secondary contamination or cross contamination and achieving a better cleaning effect.” (Zhang Para 0185)
Claim 28:
Bal explicitly teaches:
A cleaning robot, comprising a control apparatus
“Referring to FIG. 38, the “follow-me” mode may be initiated 3802 by a user, such as through a graphical user interface on the robotic platform 100, where the robotic platform then begins following 3804 the user (e.g., based on a following configuration with respect to user recognition parameters).” (Para 0147)
“In embodiments, the service planning facility 120 may be provided through a user interface of the robotic platform 100 or through an external computing facility (e.g., the user computing device 130, a remote server-based computing facility, cloud-based computing facility, and the like).” (Para 0053)
“The methods and/or processes described above, and steps thereof, may be realized in hardware, software or any combination of hardware and software suitable for a particular application. The hardware may include a general-purpose computer and/or dedicated computing device or specific computing device or particular aspect or component of a specific computing device. The processes may be realized in one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, embedded microcontrollers, programmable digital signal processors or other programmable device, along with internal and/or external memory.” (Para 0209)
Remainder of the Claim rejected for the same reasons as Claim 27
Claim 29:
Bal in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 28 teach those respective limitations.
which further comprises a cleaning facility including at least one of a suction facility, a mopping facility or a sweeping facility.
(Bal) – “As depicted in FIG. 1, the robotic platform 100 includes a main body 214 that provides a propulsion mechanism and accommodates one of a possible plurality of service modules (102A-D), along with processing 106 capability as informed through a variety of navigational and resource sensors 104. Further detail of the robotic platform 100 is provided herein, but a key feature of the robotic platform is its ability to accommodate different service modules 102A-D, each of which may provide a different functional capability, such as providing a service as the robotic platform 100 moves around a service area as driven by the propulsion mechanism. For example, in an indoor floor cleaning application one module may be for vacuuming, another for rug washing, and still another for floor waxing.” (Para 0050)
Claim 30:
Bal explicitly teaches:
A system, comprising: a cleaning robot
(Bal) – “The robotic platform 100 may provide a service planning facility 120, such as including the ability to generate and store service plans 128 for one or more task areas. A service plan 128 may utilize a mapping facility 122, such as with capabilities to generate and utilize digital 2D maps 124 and 3D maps 126 for navigating through and providing planning services for service areas 140A-B… a service area mapping 142 of a service area may be generated by the robotic platform 100, such as through exploring the service area as part of a service area plan setup” (Para 0053)
a mobile operating unit; said mobile operating unit including an output for outputting an environment map of the cleaning robot; and said mobile operating unit including said input for inputting a section of the floor area not to be cleaned, and for inputting a user-controlled confirmation.
(Bal) – “The robotic platform 100 may provide a service planning facility 120, such as including the ability to generate and store service plans 128 for one or more task areas. A service plan 128 may utilize a mapping facility 122, such as with capabilities to generate and utilize digital 2D maps 124 and 3D maps 126 for navigating through and providing planning services for service areas 140A-B… a service area mapping 142 of a service area may be generated by the robotic platform 100, such as through exploring the service area as part of a service area plan setup” (Para 0053)
“Referring to FIG. 38, the “follow-me” mode may be initiated 3802 by a user, such as through a graphical user interface on the robotic platform 100, where the robotic platform then begins following 3804 the user (e.g., based on a following configuration with respect to user recognition parameters).” (Para 0147)
“In embodiments, the service planning facility 120 may be provided through a user interface of the robotic platform 100 or through an external computing facility (e.g., the user computing device 130, a remote server-based computing facility, cloud-based computing facility, and the like).” (Para 0053)
“The methods and/or processes described above, and steps thereof, may be realized in hardware, software or any combination of hardware and software suitable for a particular application. The hardware may include a general-purpose computer and/or dedicated computing device or specific computing device or particular aspect or component of a specific computing device. The processes may be realized in one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, embedded microcontrollers, programmable digital signal processors or other programmable device, along with internal and/or external memory.” (Para 0209)
“In embodiments, the “follow-me” mode may be used for quick-clean applications 3720, such as where a user identifies an area that needs immediate cleaning. The user may then go to the robotic platform 100, turn it on and enable “follow-me” mode, and have the robotic platform 100 follow the user to the location that needs cleaning, and then, either through manual controls or through gesture or voice controls, command the robotic platform 100 to clean the area. Once the cleaning is complete, the robotic platform 100 may then follow the user back to where the unit is stored (e.g., at a docking station, charging station, and the like). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 39, the user may have the robotic platform 100 follow them along a path 3902 around the perimeter of the room (e.g., teaching the robotic platform 100 the wall boundaries by guiding it along the edge of the walls, or around any selected area), and then instruct the robotic platform 100 to clean the area within the defined area. In embodiments, the robotic platform 100 may record its position and orientation each time the robot is moved a small amount of distance, where the robotic platform 100 may use its normal localization sensing processes to determine these periodic locations. Once the perimeter has been traversed and placed in a ‘fill mode’ (e.g., cleaning within the established perimeter), the robotic platform 100 uses the list of previously recorded positions and orientations as way points for navigation functionality. In both the fill mode and teach-repeat mode (as described herein) the robotic platform 100 may use its sensors 104 to continuously determine and update its location and orientation.” (Para 0150)
“Once the teaching portion of the teach-repeat process is complete, having directed the robotic platform 100 around the service area to the extent the user requires, the user may stop the teach mode 4208 and enable a repeat portion 4210 of the teach-repeat mode, where the robotic platform 100 then automatically repeats the path 4212 that it was taught during the teach mode, such as repeating path 3602. The user may then disable the repeat mode 4214. Thus, the user is able to teach the robotic platform 100 to learn any path that that user desires. For example, the user may teach the robotic platform 100 the outer perimeter of a room by walking the robotic platform 100 along the outer wall, such as in path 3902, providing precise pose and positioning of the robotic platform 100, and then, in the repeat mode, specify that the robot clean the room as defined by the established path, where the robotic platform 100 cleans the outer defined path 3902 as well as all surfaces within the bounded space (e.g., the area bounded by the closed path).” (Para 0158)
Remainder of the Claim rejected for the same reasons as Claim 28
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection set forth in the Office Action mailed on 09/16/2025 have been considered but are not convincing. Rationale has been updated to reflect amendment.
Specifically, all claims are now rejected further in view of Zhang as necessitated by amendment. Examiner maintains that Zhang resolves any alleged deficiencies of the previously cited prior art as necessitated by amendment
Therefore, Claims 16-20, 23, and 27-30 remain rejected in view of the prior art.
Conclusion
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3658