Claims 1-18 are currently pending and examined below.
Response to amendment
This is a Final Office action in response to applicant's remarks/arguments filed on 06/29/2026.
Status of the claims:
Claims 1, 10, 15-16 have been amended.
Claims 17-18 have been added.
The 101 rejection of claims 15-16 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 8-9, filed on 06/29/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10-13, 15-16 under 102 and claims 3, 9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Alameh et al. (US 20160203709 A1) and Hiromi et al. (US 20150145764 A1) necessitated by the claim amendment and new claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10-13, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi-Yi Liao (US 20160259462 A1, “Liao”) in view of Alameh et al. (US 20160203709 A1, “Alameh”).
Regarding claim 1, Liao teaches a proximity detection system for a mobile device, comprising: an infrared emitter to emit infrared light (Fig. 1, para 16; infrared emitter 150);
an infrared detector to detect the infrared light after reflection from a target and to provide a detector signal (Fig. 1, para 17; proximity sensor 160); and
a signal processing subsystem (Fig. 1, processor 140) configured to control the proximity detection system into a first, detect mode for detecting proximity of the target as the target approaches the mobile device, and wherein the signal processing subsystem is configured to, after detection of the target (and based at least partially on detection of the target), control the proximity detection system into a second, release mode for detecting movement of the target out of proximity to the mobile device (Liao teaches that the processor 140 controls the proximity detection system to operate in different modes. In one operating sequence (Fig. 3, para 23-26), after determining a “dark environment” the device enables the proximity sensor 160 and enables the infrared emitter 150 “in the low-power mode” (step 320), and repeatedly determines whether an object is in close proximity to the mobile device (step 325). In another operating sequence (Fig. 4, para 27-29), during telephone communication the processor enables the proximity sensor and enables the infrared emitter “in the high-power mode” (step 420), then determines whether an object is in close proximity (step 430), and controls the touch panel (steps 440, 450) depending on whether proximity is detected. In both sequences, the processor continues to monitor the detector signal to determine when the object is no longer in close proximity, i.e., to detect movement of the target out of proximity. Accordingly, Liao teaches a signal-processing subsystem configured to control the proximity detection system in one mode to detect proximity of a target as it approaches (e.g., high-power mode when the user brings the phone to the head during a call) and, after detection, to operate in another mode to detect when the target moves away (monitoring for loss of proximity in the low-power mode).).
However, Liao does not explicitly teach that, after detection of the target and based at least partially on detection of the target, the signal processing subsystem is configured to control the proximity detection system into a second, release mode for detecting movement of the target out of proximity to the mobile device.
Alameh (Para 49) teaches operating the proximity sensor at a first sensitivity until the infrared signal receiver receives infrared emissions from an object and thereafter operating the proximity sensor at a second sensitivity after the infrared signal receiver receives the infrared emissions from the object. Alameh teaches that the second sensitivity is less than the first sensitivity. See claim 1. Alameh also teaches that the transition to the second sensitivity can occur in response to receiving the infrared emission from the object. See para 72, Fig. 10, steps 1001 and 1004.
Alameh further teaches that while operating in the second sensitivity, the system continues monitoring the infrared emissions and transitions from the second sensitivity when the infrared emissions are absent for a predetermined time. See Para 49 and 74.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the proximity detection system of Liao such that, after Liao detects an object in proximity using its higher power detection operation, processor 140 transitions the proximity detection system to a lower power operating mode based upon the detection of the object, as taught by Alameh, in order to conserve power after initial target detection while continuing to monitor the proximity state of the detected target.
Liao, in view of Alameh, teaches wherein the signal processing subsystem is configured to control the proximity detection system such that wherein for a given proximity of the target to the mobile the detector signal reduces when the mode switches from the detect mode to the release mode by reducing an optical energy output of the infrared emitter and/or by reducing a gain of analog or digital signal processing circuitry processing an output from the infrared detector (Liao teaches that infrared emitter 150 is operable at different power levels, including a lower-power mode and a higher-power mode (Para 16), and that proximity sensor 160 detects infrared light reflected from an object and converts the intensity of the reflected light into a sensor value (Para 17). Alameh teaches transitioning a proximity sensor from a first sensitivity to a second sensitivity after detection of the object and based upon that detection. Therefore, in Liao, in view of Alameh, system, when the proximity detection system transitions from the higher power detect mode to the lower power release mode after detection of the target, the optical power emitted toward the target is reduced. For a given proximity of the same target, the reduced emitted optical power results in reduced reflected infrared light intensity at proximity sensor 160 and, consequently, a reduced detector signal.),
wherein the optical energy refers to optical energy, or power, averaged over a period of time (Liao teaches operating infrared emitter 150 at different power levels during respective operating modes, including a lower power mode and a higher power mode (para 16). Accordingly, operation of infrared emitter 150 at the lower power during the release mode operating period provides a lower optical power averaged over that period than operation at the higher power during the detect mode operating period, thereby satisfying the recited optical energy or power averaged over a period of time.).
Regarding claim 2, Liao, in view of Alameh, teaches the system of claim 1 wherein the signal processing subsystem is configured to control the infrared emitter to emit a first level of optical energy in the detect mode and a second, lower level of optical energy in the release mode (Liao teaches a low-power mode and a high-power mode for the IR emitter 150 (Para 16, Fig. 3 step 320; Fig. 4 step 420). Because optical energy output is directly proportional to emitter drive level, one of ordinary skill in the art would inherently understand these modes to correspond to a first level of optical energy (detect mode; high power) and a second, lower level of optical energy (release mode; low power).).
Regarding claim 4, Liao, in view of Alameh, teaches the system of claim1 wherein the signal processing subsystem is configured to generate a proximity detect signal for the mobile device on detection of proximity of the target to enable the mobile device to perform a post-detect action, and to switch back to the detect mode in response to a detect enable signal from software running on the mobile device that indicates that a post-release action has been performed by the mobile device (Liao teaches generating an internal proximity detection result that triggers device actions, such as disabling the touch panel during close-proximity events and re-enabling it when proximity is lost (Liao, Fig. 4, steps 430–450; para 27-28). This corresponds to generating a proximity detect event enabling the mobile device to perform a post-detect action. Liao (para 28) also teaches returning to the initial operating mode after proximity-based functions have completed (e.g., re-enabling the panel and resuming normal operation), which corresponds to switching the system back into the detect mode after a software-controlled “post-release” action.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art would implement such detect and release signaling explicitly via a detect enable signal or software event, as device OSs routinely manage sensor states and transitions).
Regarding claim 5, Liao, in view of Alameh, teaches the system of claim 4 wherein the proximity detect signal is a detect interrupt signal generated by the signal processing system for the mobile device; and wherein the signal processing subsystem is configured to generate a release interrupt signal for the mobile device when the mode switches from the detect mode to the release mode (Liao teaches sensor interrupts for triggering UI operation (Liao teaches proximity-driven device actions triggered when proximity is detected (Fig. 4, steps 430–450), which are standard interrupt-driven or event-driven signals in mobile sensor architectures. It would have been obvious to explicitly implement these events using detect interrupt signals (proximity detected) and release interrupt signals (proximity lost or mode switched), as mobile proximity sensors universally use hardware/firmware interrupts to report state changes to the OS.).
Regarding claim 6, Liao, in view of Alameh, teaches the system of claim 1 further comprising a programmable detect threshold register and a programmable release threshold register, wherein in the detect mode the a proximity detect signal for the mobile device on detection of proximity of the target to enable the mobile device to perform a post-detect action, and to switch back to the detect mode in response to a detect enable signal from software signal processing subsystem is configured to compare a value derived from the detector signal with a value in the detect threshold register, and in the release mode the signal processing subsystem is configured to compare a value derived from the detector signal with a value in the release threshold register (Liao teaches comparing proximity sensor output against thresholds (determine “close proximity”; Figs. 3 and 4, para 17-18, 21-22). Using separate thresholds for detect and release is a standard hysteresis technique in IR proximity sensing to avoid oscillation and false triggers. Implementing two programmable registers one for detect, one for release would have been an obvious design improvement providing noise immunity.).
Regarding claim 7, Liao, in view of Alameh, teaches the system of claim1 further configured to store a crosstalk calibration value for each of the detect mode and the release mode, wherein an analogue front end of the system or the signal processing subsystem is configured to apply the respective crosstalk calibration value in each of the detect mode and the release mode (Liao teaches adjusting emitter power and detection behavior across different modes (para 16, 23, 27 and Figs. 3-4), which directly impacts optical crosstalk and background offset values in IR proximity systems. It is well known that IR proximity sensors store crosstalk calibration values to compensate for ambient IR leakage, display stack attenuation, and package reflections—especially in mobile devices with under-display sensing.).
Regarding claim 8, Liao teaches a mobile device (Para 6, 14) comprising the system of claim1 (See rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Liao teaches a method of detecting proximity of a target to a mobile device using a proximity detection system (Figs. 3-4), comprising:
illuminating the target with infrared light from an infrared emitter (Fig. 1, para 16; infrared emitter 150);
detecting reflected light from the target to provide a detector signal; detecting proximity of the target to the mobile device using the detector signal by an infrared detector (Fig. 1, para 17; proximity sensor 160);
controlling the proximity detection system to, (after detecting the proximity of the target and based at least partially on detection of the target,) reduce the detector signal (Figs.3-4, para 23-29, transition to low-power mode. See also, rejection of claim 1).
Liao fails to explicitly teach reducing the detector signal after and based upon detection of the target. However, Alameh (Para 49) teaches operating the proximity sensor at a first sensitivity until the infrared signal receiver receives infrared emissions from an object and thereafter operating the proximity sensor at a second sensitivity after the infrared signal receiver receives the infrared emissions from the object. Alameh teaches that the second sensitivity is less than the first sensitivity. See claim 1. Alameh also teaches that the transition to the second sensitivity can occur in response to receiving the infrared emission from the object. See para 72, Fig. 10, steps 1001 and 1004.
Alameh further teaches that while operating in the second sensitivity, the system continues monitoring the infrared emissions and transitions from the second sensitivity when the infrared emissions are absent for a predetermined time. See Para 49 and 74.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the proximity detection system of Liao such that, after Liao detects an object in proximity using its higher power detection operation, processor 140 transitions the proximity detection system to a lower power operating mode based upon the detection of the object, as taught by Alameh, in order to conserve power after initial target detection while continuing to monitor the proximity state of the detected target.
Liao, in view of Alameh, teaches reducing an optical energy output of the infrared emitter and/or by reducing a gain of an analog or digital processing circuitry processing an output from the infrared detector (Liao teaches that infrared emitter 150 is operable at different power levels, including a lower-power mode and a higher-power mode (Para 16), and that proximity sensor 160 detects infrared light reflected from an object and converts the intensity of the reflected light into a sensor value (Para 17). Alameh teaches transitioning a proximity sensor from a first sensitivity to a second sensitivity after detection of the object and based upon that detection. Therefore, in Liao, in view of Alameh, system, when the proximity detection system transitions from the higher power detect mode to the lower power release mode after detection of the target, the optical power emitted toward the target is reduced. For a given proximity of the same target, the reduced emitted optical power results in reduced reflected infrared light intensity at proximity sensor 160 and, consequently, a reduced detector signal.),
detecting movement of the target out of proximity to the mobile device (Liao, Figs.3-4, para 16, 26, loss of proximity. See also, rejection of claim 1),
wherein the optical energy refers to optical energy, or power, averaged over a period of time ((Liao teaches operating infrared emitter 150 at different power levels during respective operating modes, including a lower power mode and a higher power mode (para 16). Accordingly, operation of infrared emitter 150 at the lower power during the release mode operating period provides a lower optical power averaged over that period than operation at the higher power during the detect mode operating period, thereby satisfying the recited optical energy or power averaged over a period of time.).
Regarding claim 11, Liao, in view of Alameh, teaches the method of claim 10 wherein controlling the proximity detection system to reduce the detector signal comprises reducing an optical energy output from the infrared emitter (Liao teaches a low-power mode and a high-power mode for the IR emitter 150 (Para 16, Fig. 3 step 320; Fig. 4 step 420). Because optical energy output is directly proportional to emitter drive level, one of ordinary skill in the art would inherently understand these modes to correspond to a first level of optical energy (high power) and a second, lower level of optical energy (low power).).
Regarding claim 12, Liao, in view of Alameh, teaches the method of claim 10 wherein detecting proximity of the target to the mobile device using the detector signal comprises comparing a value derived from the detector signal with a detect threshold (Para 22, Liao explains that the proximity system “determines that an object is close when the return signal exceeds a detection threshold,” explicitly describing comparison of the detector-derived value to a detect threshold. ) and wherein detecting movement of the target out of proximity to the mobile device comparing a value derived from the detector signal with a release threshold different to the detect threshold (Para 21, Liao further teaches that the system monitors for the return signal to “fall below a lower threshold” indicating the object has moved away, which corresponds to the release threshold, different from the detect threshold.).
Regarding claim 13, Liao, in view of Alameh, teaches the method of claim 12 further comprising setting a difference between the detect threshold and the release threshold to define a false trigger rate of the proximity detection system (Para 17-18, 21-22, 28, Liao teaches selecting threshold spacing to avoid false triggers so the detect–release threshold spacing defines the false-trigger performance of the system.).
Regarding claim 15, Liao teaches a non-transitory computer-readable (Figs. 1, 2-4, processor 140) storage medium storing computer-readable instructions, that when executed by one or more computers cause the one or more computers to implement the signal processing subsystem of any of claim 1 (See the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 16, Liao teaches a non-transitory computer-readable (Figs. 1, 2-4, processor 140) storage medium storing computer-readable instructions, that when executed by one or more computers cause the one or more computers to implement the method of claim 10 (See the rejection of claim 1).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Alameh and Texas Instruments TIDA-010021 “Wide-Range Proximity Sensing Reference Design with OPT3101,” Dec. 2018, “TIDA-010021”.
Regarding claim 3, Liao, in view of Alameh, teaches the system of claim 2 wherein the signal processing subsystem is programmable to control the optical energy by controlling one or more of a drive level (Liao teaches a proximity detection system including an infrared emitter 150, an infrared detector 160, and a signal-processing subsystem (processor 140) configured to operate the IR emitter at different power levels and modulation conditions depending on operating mode (Liao, para 16, 23, 27, Figs. 3–4. See also, rejection of claim 2), a number of pulses of the infrared light, a pulse length of the infrared light.
Liao fails to explicitly teach where the system comprises a plurality of the infrared emitters, a number of the infrared emitters used to emit the infrared light. However, TIDA-010021 teaches a proximity sensing architecture employing a plurality of infrared emitters. Specifically, the OPT3101 analog front end (AFE) is shown connected to “three LEDs and one photodiode” on the proximity sensor board, and the design guide states that the OPT3101 supports “three separate illumination channels activated in turn, with independent programmable current control for each channel” (TIDA-010021, Sec. 2.1; system overview). The reference further teaches that the OPT3101’s timing sequencer is highly configurable, allowing adjustment of the number of subframes, illumination timing, per-channel activation, and measurement timing windows (TIDA-010021, Sec. 2.2–2.3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liao’s IR proximity system, to incorporate the known multi-illumination architecture of TIDA-010021 in order to improve field-of-view coverage, ambient light robustness, and power-performance tradeoffs. Liao already varies the optical energy output by controlling emitter drive level across operating modes, and TIDA-010021 teaches that IR proximity systems routinely include multiple IR LEDs and allow software to select which LEDs operate and with what timing and current. Combining these teachings yields a system in which the signal processing subsystem is programmable to control optical output by adjusting drive level, pulse count, pulse duration, and number of IR emitters used, as recited in Claim 3.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Alameh the ams TCS3701 Behind-OLED Proximity Sensor Announcement (Jan 2019), “ams TCS3701”.
Regarding claim 9, Liao, in view of Alameh, fails to explicitly teach the mobile device of claim 8 wherein the mobile device has an OLED display, and wherein one or both of the infrared emitter and the infrared detector is located behind the OLED display.
However, the ams TCS3701 release teaches that proximity-sensing optical components, including infrared receivers and transmitters, may be placed behind an OLED display (See page 1). Specifically, ams states that the TCS3701 “can accurately measure the intensity of ambient light from behind an OLED screen” and further that the device “is small enough to be placed behind a smartphone’s OLED screen.” (See pages 1-2). These disclosures establish that a mobile device having an OLED display may include one or more infrared proximity-sensing components located behind the OLED display.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the proximity detection system of Liao to incorporate the behind-OLED placement taught by the ams TCS3701 to enable bezel reduction, allow hidden sensor placement, improve screen-to-body ratio, and follow industry trends favoring under-display optical components. Such a modification represents a predictable use of prior art elements to achieve an expected design improvement.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Alameh, ams TSL2772/TMD2772 EVM User Guide, June 2013 (“ams”) and MT-004, October 2008.
Regarding claim 14, Liao, in view of Alameh, fails to explicitly teach the method of claim 13 wherein the difference between the detect threshold and the release threshold defines a proximity ratio, Pr according to:
Pr = (detect threshold) -(release threshold)/ 6σ where. σ is an RMS noise level of the detector signal, and wherein setting the difference between the detect threshold and the release threshold to define the false trigger rate comprises selecting a value for Pr according to Pr = N / C
where N is a number of standard deviations of a distribution of the noise in the detector signal that defines a probability of false trigger corresponding to the false trigger rate, and C is a constant between 1 and 5.
Liao teaches the method of claim 13 as discussed above, including proximity detection using a proximity sensor that converts reflected light into a sensor value and compares the sensor value with a predetermined threshold to determine whether an object is in close proximity to the mobile device (Liao, para 17). Liao further teaches different operating modes and threshold-based proximity determinations, including using lower IR emitter power in a first mode and higher IR emitter power in a second mode, and determining whether an object is in close proximity based on a proximity sensor value compared with a predetermined threshold (Liao, para 21-22, 24-29).
Liao, in view of Alameh, fails to explicitly teach the specific mathematical/statistical limitation of claim 14, stating that the difference between the detect threshold and release threshold defines a probability of false trigger rate using σ, N, and C.
However, ams teaches separate proximity detect and release thresholds with hysteresis. Specifically, ams teaches “Prox Release Threshold” and “Prox Detect Threshold” sliders, and states that the sliders allow a threshold “with hysteresis” to determine when proximity detection occurs. ams further teaches that pressing “set stdev” calculates the standard deviation of recent proximity values and sets the release and detect thresholds to a range that is N standard deviations above and below the average value, where N is selectable from 1 through 6 (Page 7).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Liao’s proximity detection method, in view of ams, by setting the detect/release threshold spacing using a selected number of standard deviations from an average proximity value, because ams teaches this as a convenient way to set proximity thresholds with hysteresis, and such threshold spacing provides predictable control of proximity detection sensitivity and false-trigger robustness.
Therefore, Liao, as modified in view of ams, teaches setting the difference between the detect threshold and release threshold based on a selected number of standard deviations from an average proximity value.
Liao, in view of Alameh and ams, still fails to explicitly teach that σ is the RMS noise level of the detector signal.
However, MT-004 teaches that ADC internal circuits produce RMS noise and that input-referred noise is characterized by a histogram of output samples. MT-004 further teaches that “the standard deviation of the histogram, σ” corresponds to the effective input RMS noise (Page at least first paragraph), and Fig. 2 labels “STANDARD DEVIATION = RMS NOISE.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified Liao’s proximity detection method, in view of MT-004, by treating the standard deviation used in ams’s threshold setting as the RMS noise level of the detector/ADC signal, because MT-004 teaches that standard deviation σ corresponds to RMS noise, and using RMS noise to set thresholds is a predictable statistical technique for controlling noise-based false triggering.
Therefore, Liao, as modified in view of ams and MT-004, teaches claim 14, including the detect/release threshold difference, N standard deviations, and σ as RMS noise. Claim 14 recites C as a constant between 1 and 5, selecting such a constant would have been an obvious design/scaling choice because ams teaches selectable standard-deviation multipliers from 1 through 6, which overlaps the claimed range, and the selected multiplier merely balances sensitivity against false-trigger robustness.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Alameh and Hiromi et al. (US 20150145764 A1, “Hiromi”).
Regarding claim 17, Liao, in view of Alameh, fails to explicitly teach the system of claim 1, wherein reducing the detector signal includes reducing the gain of the analog or digital signal processing circuitry processing the output from the infrared detector.
However, Hiromi teaches this additional limitation. Hiromi discloses an optical proximity detector 102 including infrared light source 104, light detector 106, analog front-end circuitry 108, and digital back-end circuitry 112. Hiromi expressly teaches that light detector 106 may be a photodiode that converts detected light into a current or voltage signal, and that analog front-end 108 receives the signal from light detector 106 and conditions that signal for digitizing, including by adjusting gain. See para 13-15.
Hiromi further teaches that analog front-end circuitry 108 includes amplifier 122 and gain adjustment circuit 130, while digital back-end 112 includes gain adjustment controller 150; the digital back-end blocks may be implemented using a DSP or digital circuitry. See para 16.
More specifically, Hiromi teaches that the light detection signal produced by detector 106 is provided to amplifier 122 and gain adjustment circuit 130, which are referred to as analog amplification circuitry 132. Gain adjustment circuit 130 includes one or more variable gain amplifiers whose gain controls the amplitude of the light-detection signal. See para 21-22.
Hiromi further teaches that when the detected IQ signal amplitude is above a target amplitude, the gain of the VGAs in gain adjustment circuit 130 is decreased. See para 29.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liao system using the variable gain analog front-end circuitry taught by Hiromi, because Hiromi teaches such circuitry as a known technique for controlling the amplitude and dynamic range of the detector signal produced by an infrared photodetector. Such a modification would have predictably provided controllable reduction of the detector signal by reducing the gain applied to the infrared-detector output.
Regarding claim 18, Liao, in view of Alameh, fails to explicitly teach the method of claim 10, wherein reducing the detector signal includes reducing the gain of the analog or digital signal processing circuitry processing the output from the infrared detector.
However, Hiromi teaches this additional limitation. Hiromi discloses an optical proximity detector 102 including infrared light source 104, light detector 106, analog front-end circuitry 108, and digital back-end circuitry 112. Hiromi expressly teaches that light detector 106 may be a photodiode that converts detected light into a current or voltage signal, and that analog front-end 108 receives the signal from light detector 106 and conditions that signal for digitizing, including by adjusting gain. See para 13-15.
Hiromi further teaches that analog front-end circuitry 108 includes amplifier 122 and gain adjustment circuit 130, while digital back-end 112 includes gain adjustment controller 150; the digital back-end blocks may be implemented using a DSP or digital circuitry. See para 16.
More specifically, Hiromi teaches that the light detection signal produced by detector 106 is provided to amplifier 122 and gain adjustment circuit 130, which are referred to as analog amplification circuitry 132. Gain adjustment circuit 130 includes one or more variable gain amplifiers whose gain controls the amplitude of the light-detection signal. See para 21-22.
Hiromi further teaches that when the detected IQ signal amplitude is above a target amplitude, the gain of the VGAs in gain adjustment circuit 130 is decreased. See para 29.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liao system using the variable gain analog front-end circuitry taught by Hiromi, because Hiromi teaches such circuitry as a known technique for controlling the amplitude and dynamic range of the detector signal produced by an infrared photodetector. Such a modification would have predictably provided controllable reduction of the detector signal by reducing the gain applied to the infrared-detector output.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEMPSON NOEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645