DETAILED ACTION
Note: The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
1. Claims 1-18 and 22-23 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability.
Claims 19-21 are canceled via January 12, 2023 preliminary amendment.
Priority
2. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on March 22, 2023, November 8, 2023 and February 25, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 5-9, 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
5. The term “about” in claims 5-9, 18 and 22 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Namely, the claimed wt% amount of sulfanilamide within the hydration medium (claims 5-8 and 18); and claimed wt% amount of glycerol within the hydration medium (claims 9 and 22) are rendered indefinite by the use of the relative term “about.”
For the purpose of examination, the relative term “about” will be treated as having a relative degree of error +/- 0.05 wt%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 10-14, 16-18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nielsen et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0065998).
7. With regard to claims 1 and 14, Nielsen discloses a medical product (abstract; [0003-0006]; Figs. 1a, 1b, 2a, 2b) comprising: a package (packing means, 3) containing a medical device (catheter elements, 1 and 2; [0031]); and a hydration medium (liquid wetting medium; within compartment, 5) comprising water ([0017]; [0048]) and a sulfanilamide (silver sulfadiazine; [0144]; Example 13; [0313-0318]).
8. With regard to claims 3-7 and 16-18, Nielsen discloses that the hydration medium (liquid wetting medium; within compartment, 5) comprises sulfadiazine (silver sulfadiazine; [0144]), a sulfanilamide compound, in an amount of 0.03 wt% (0.3 g/L; Example 13; [0313-0318]; [0053]).
9. With regard to claims 10-11, Nielsen discloses that the medical device (1, 2) is a catheter including a shaft (1; Figs. 1a, 1b, 2a, 2b; [0023]; [0031]); wherein the hydration medium contacts the shaft ([0066]; [0068]).
10. With regard to claims 12-13, Nielsen discloses that the medical device (1, 2) has a hydrophilic coating ([0034-0043]); wherein the hydration medium contacts the hydrophilic coating ([0023]; [0046]; abstract).
11. With regard to claim 23, Nielsen discloses a method of making a medical product (abstract; [0003-0006]; Figs. 1a, 1b, 2a, 2b), comprising: placing a medical device (1, 2) within a package (3; “arrangement of the catheter element(s) in the first compartment of the packing means”; [0149]); and placing a hydration medium (liquid wetting medium; within compartment, 5) into the package (“arrangement of the liquid swelling means in the second compartment of the packing means”; [0149]; [0151-0157]), wherein the hydration medium comprises water ([0017]; [0048]) and a sulfanilamide (silver sulfadiazine; [0144]; Example 13; [0313-0318]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim(s) 2, 8, 9, 15 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nielsen.
13. With regard to claims 2, 9, 15 and 22, while Nielsen fails to explicitly disclose, within the same embodiment (Example 13), that the hydration medium further comprises a glycerol in an amount between about 0.99 wt% to about 9.9 wt%, glycerol is a well-known component useful as a plasticizer and vehicle solvent for catheters, and Nielsen provides explicit suggestion for utilizing glycerol as a component within the hydration medium as an osmolality increasing agent ([0089]; [0162]); wherein the content of osmolality increasing agent within the hydration medium is typically in the range of 0-1000 mM ([0090]); and an embodiment is disclosed wherein the content of osmolality increasing agent within the hydration medium is 0.7 wt% ([0285]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hydration medium disclosed by Nielsen to further comprise a glycerol, similar to that suggested by Nielsen in alternate embodiments, in order to improve the comfort during use of the medical device, as suggested by Nielsen in paragraph [0089].
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the content of the glycerol within the hydration medium disclosed by Nielsen to be in an amount between about 0.99 wt% to about 9.9 wt%, since it has been held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inclusion of glycerol within the hydration medium will enhance comfort during use of the medical device (Nielsen [0089]) and through routine experimentation, a desired range of glycerol content can be readily determined with a reasonable expectation of success.
14. With regard to claim 8, while Nielsen discloses that the hydration medium (liquid wetting medium; within compartment, 5) comprises sulfadiazine (silver sulfadiazine; [0144]), a sulfanilamide compound, in an amount of 0.03 wt% (0.3 g/L; Example 13; [0313-0318]; [0053]), Nielsen fails to explicitly disclose that the hydration medium comprises sulfanilamide in an amount between about 0.05 wt% to about 0.1 wt%.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the content of the sulfanilamide within the hydration medium disclosed by Nielsen to be in an amount between about 0.05 wt% to about 0.1 wt%, since it has been held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inclusion of sulfanilamide within the hydration medium will enhance antibacterial effect during use of the medical device (Nielsen [0313]) and through routine experimentation, a desired range of sulfanilamide content can be readily determined with a reasonable expectation of success. Additionally, Nielsen’s disclosure of sulfanilamide compound, in an amount of 0.03 wt% (0.3 g/L; Example 13; [0313-0318]; [0053]) can be reasonably considered “about 0.05 wt%,” as presently claimed.
Conclusion
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Darouiche (US PGPUB 2007/0093894) discloses incorporations of antimicrobial combinations onto devices to reduce infection.
Rostami et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0258247) discloses self-lubricated catheters.
Utas et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0001098) discloses a steam sterilized catheter assembly.
Li (US PGPUB 2012/0290100) discloses medical apparatuses for delivery of beneficial agents.
/ANDREW J MENSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781