DETAILED ACTION
Final
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/26/2025 is entered and acknowledged by the Examiner. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1-14 are currently pending in the instant application.
The rejection of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2018/0261842 A1) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2018/0261842 A1) in view of US 2019/0123347 A1 (hereinafter Kim).
Park is relied upon as set forth in the previous Office action mailed on 08/27/2025.
Park discloses a method of preparing the positive electrode active material including a step of forming a sintered product (sintered cake) in the presence of a boron-based sintering additive including a lithium tetraborate (Li2B4O7) and follow by a step of washing the product (See [0014], [0055], and [0086]). It’s noted that the claimed lithium borate compound described by Applicant includes Li2B4O7 (lithium tetraborate) (See [0071] of the present specification). Therefore, the boron-based sintering additive of Park fulfills the claimed lithium borate compound. As such, the boron-based sintering additive of Park will be removed in the washing process as acknowledged by the Applicant(See [0071] of the present specification).
Park also recognizes a criticality of having a positive electrode active material within an average particle size D50 of 2-20 um and certain particle size distribution in order to improve high-temperature stability and capacity characteristic of a battery and exhibit a high rolling density of 3.0 g/cc or higher to improve a high-temperature storage characteristic (See [0002], [0047] to [0049], and [0051] to [0054]).
Park failed to disclose a method of preparing the positive electrode active material including a step of grinding a sintered cake (sintered positive electrode product) wherein the sintered cake has a cake strength of 600N or less as recited in amended claim 1.
However, Kim discloses a method of preparing the positive electrode active material including a step of forming a sintered product (sintered cake) and follow by crushing (grinding) the sintered cake in order to obtain a non-agglomerated (NMC) positive electrode active powder (See [0122], [0125], [0129] and [0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a skilled artisan at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Park by crushing (grinding) the sintered cake in order to obtain a non-agglomerated positive electrode active powder as suggested by Kim.
With regards to the sintered product (sintered cake) having a strength of 600N or less, the cake strength is a property that stem from the composition of the positive electrode active material. Since Park discloses a positive electrode active containing all the claimed components within the claimed proportions, the sintered cake (sintered product) of Park is expected to have the same or substantially same property as claimed, i.e., cake strength of 600N or less. It has been held that “[p]roducts of identical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01 II. "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established."
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection has addressed matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761