DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant filed a response and amended claim 12 and 15 on 08/10/2026.
The 112(b) rejections previously presented are withdrawn in view of amendments.
Response to Arguments
Arguments are primarily drawn to claim 12 limitation “the mandrel is a group of at least two mandrel with smaller cross sections, either stacked, or laterally juxtaposed”.
Arguments were fully considered.
Applicant argues it would not be obvious to drape the composite material wrapping from Kendrick directly on the strips 14 in formation of the preform. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitation does not appear to require draping directly on the sub-mandrels, as it requires draping directly on the group of at least two sub-mandrels. In Kendrick in view of Engwall and Held, the group of at least two sub-mandrels includes the mandrel lined over the strips. The amendment does not preclude the group of at least two sub-mandrels from including the outer mandrel.
Regarding arguments directed to draping on the group, Kendrick as relied upon teaches draping directly on the mandrel assembly (Figure 6, 10-14, and 21). Accordingly, Kendrick in view of Engwall and Held as relied upon requires draping directly on the outer surface of the group of at least two-submandrels.
Regarding the Engwall’s teachings of removal of the strips, Engwall teaches the strips may be removed by hand or by an automated machine (Col 6, ln 18-39). Accordingly, the process is not limited to manual removal. Additionally, there is no evidence to support that manual removal of flexible mandrels would prevent elongation traction of solid elastic material of the sub-mandrels.
Applicant argues in Held, the alleged cross-sectional reduction mechanism is associated only with a single flexible mandrel combined with a separate rigid material, not instead associated with a plurality of sub-mandrels which support the draping support.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Held teaches the flexible mandrel is pulled to remove it from the cavity of the cured composite (Figure 4) and the mandrel may stretch to reduce its cross-sectional dimension or diameter to further simplify the removal of the mandrel from the opening of the composite [0047]. Held does not limit the removal technique to a single mandrel.
Based on the teachings of Held, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized when pulling flexible, stretchable sub-mandrels (e.g., rubber mandrels) packed inside a cavity and compacted together under heat and pressure, sufficient force is required. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to improve the process of Kendrick in view of Engwall and Held by applying the technique of Held to pull the compacted sub-mandrels with increased force to peel the sub-mandrels away and reduce the dimension of the sub-mandrels, thereby simplifying removal as taught by Held.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendrick (EP2,813,352) in view of Engwall (US 7,293,737) and Held (PG-PUB 2002/0136847).
Regarding claim 12, Kendrick teaches a method for manufacturing a stiffened part, the stiffened part being formed by at least two elements made from thermoset composite material (Figure 3-5 and [0011]), including at least a body of a first structure (Figure 3-5 and Col 3, Ln 61- Col 4, Ln 26), the first structure including at least one hollow longitudinal body having at least one open end (Figure 4 and Col 8, LN 9-38), the method comprising the following successive steps:
for each body of the first structure, either producing a fibrous preform of the body by draping a fabric around a mandrel and impregnating the fibrous preform with a thermosetting resin or producing a pre-impregnated fibrous preform by draping a fabric pre-impregnated with a thermosetting resin around a mandrel, by means of which a body made from non-polymerized thermosetting composite material supported by a mandrel is obtained (Figure 6, steps 603- 607; [0022]-[0023], [0030], [0031]),
supplying the second structure, the second structure being made of an uncured, partially cured, or fully cured thermosetting material (Figures 4-7 and [0009]-[0011]);
assembling elements forming the part, each element being juxtaposed with, or stacked on at least one other element (Figure 4-6, [0013], [0037]);
depositing a layer of non-polymerized thermosetting adhesive on a zone of contact between said first structure and said second structure [0059]-[0060];
completely polymerizing the assembly by heat treatment ([0011], [0037]);
cooling the mandrels and removing stopping active inflation [0013] and [0038]-[0042];
removal of the mandrel from said at least one hollow longitudinal completely polymerized body by an exposed end (Figure 6, step 611 and [0059]).
Kendrick teaches the mandrel applies pressure to the wrapped layers upon heating the mandrel due to thermal expansion [0016], [0039].
Kendrick does not teach:
(1) for at least one body, the mandrel comprises a group of at least two sub-mandrels with smaller cross sections, either stacked or laterally juxtaposed with one another, said fabric being draped directly on an outer surface of said group of at least two-sub-mandrels; and
(2) said at least two sub-mandrels are made from a solid elastic material, wherein said at least two sub-mandrels are removed from said at least one hollow longitudinal completely polymerized body by elongation traction of the solid elastic material of said at least two sub-mandrels causing a reduction in cross sections of said at least two sub-mandrels.
As to (1), Engwall teaches co-curing composite stringers using a mandrel comprising a plurality of strips (Figure 2). Engwall teaches each stringer is preformed and generally defines a channel or recess, and a mandrel is positioned in said channel or recess such that the mandrel may provide support to the stringer during subsequent layup (Col 4, ln 26-54). Engwall teaches a plurality of strips are inserted within the opening of the mandrel before inserting the mandrel into the channel (Col 5, ln 39-56). Engwall teaches because the strips 14 are pliable and individually capable of sliding axially within the mandrel 12, the strips can have a variety of cross-sectional shapes (Figure 2 and Col 4, ln 55-Col 5, ln 9). Engwall teaches the greater the number of strips 14, i.e., smaller cross-section, the more flexible the mandrel 12 is, such that more complex contours may be achieved with a greater number of strips (Figure 2 and Col 4, ln 55-Col 5, ln 9). Engwall teaches the strips are preferably made of a polymeric material (Col 5, ln 23-37), and the mandrel is formed of any elastomeric material, such as Teflon coated silicone or hard rubber (Col 4, ln 39-54). Engwall teaches removal of the strips by hand or machine(Figure 3 and Col 6, ln 18-36). Engwall teaches the strips 14 may have a coefficient of thermal expansion that is higher than the surrounding stringer 10 and aircraft skin 16 such that the strips expand when heated to apply additional pressure during curing, but also contract upon cooling to aid in removal of the strips from the mandrel 12 (Col 5, ln 23-38).
Both Kendrick and Engwall are drawn to the same field of endeavor pertaining to molding hollow composites. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Kendrick, in particular the mandrel of Kendrick, with a group of a plurality of sub-mandrels, a known suitable thermally-expansive mandrel assembly as taught by Engwall, to yield the predictable result of molding under heat and pressure using an expansible core.
Accordingly, Kendrick in view of Engwall teaches draping directly on the outer surface of the mandrel assembly (i.e., group of at least two sub-mandrels).
As to (2), Held teaches a method of manufacturing a hollow article using a flexible mandrel and rigid mandrel (Figures 2-4). Held teaches the flexible mandrel is formed of a flexible, stretchable material, such as silicone rubber, and has a high thermal coefficient of expansion so that when it is heated, it tends to expand to exert pressure in an inner surface of a preform [0035]-[0036], [0045]. Held teaches the flexible mandrel is pulled to remove it from the cavity of the cured composite (Figure 4). Held teaches the mandrel may stretch to reduce its cross-sectional dimension or diameter to further simplify the removal of the mandrel from the opening of the composite [0047].
Both Kendrick and Held are drawn to the same field of endeavor pertaining to molding hollow composites. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Kendrick in view of Engwall, in particular the sub-mandrels, with silicone rubber material, a known suitable material for a thermally-expansive mandrel as taught by Held, to yield the predictable result of molding under heat and pressure using an expansible core.
Both Kendrick in view of Engwall and Held teaches thermally-expansive sub-mandrels removed from the cavity of a mandrel by pulling. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to improve the process of Kendrick in view of Engwall with removing the sub-mandrels through elongation traction of said at least two sub-mandrels, thereby causing a reduction in a cross section of said at least two sub-mandrels, as taught by Held for the benefit of an easier and smoother removal of said mandrel.
Regarding claim 14, Kendrick in view of Engwall and Held teaches the process as applied to claim 12, wherein among the elements forming the part, there are furthermore at least one sheet or fabric pre-impregnated with thermosetting resin, this sheet or fabric being applied, during the assembly step, one at least one body by stacking one wrapped mandrel assembly on another (Kendrick, Figure 4, 5, and 7 and [0011], [0030]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 15, Kendrick in view of Engwall and Held teaches the process as applied to claim 12, wherein each mandrel is made from flexible elastomer (Held, [0035]).
Regarding claim 16, Kendrick in view of Engwall and Held teaches the process as applied to claim 12, wherein the first structure comprises at least two bodies, said bodies being juxtaposed and/or stacked, such that two adjacent bodies contact by lateral wall (Kendrick, Figures 4, 5, and 7).
Regarding claim 17, Kendrick in view of Engwall and Held teaches the process as applied to claim 12, wherein the first structure includes a first row of juxtaposed bodies and a second row of juxtaposed bodies, the first and second rows being stacked with an offset between the bodies in the first row and the bodies in the second row (Kendrick, Figures 4, 5, and 7).
Regarding claim 18, Kendrick in view of Engwall and Held teaches the process as applied to claim 12, wherein the first structure by itself alone forms the stiffened part (Kendrick, Figures 3, 4, 5, and 7).
Regarding claim 19, Kendrick in view of Engwall and Held teaches the process as applied to claim 12, wherein the first structure is at least partially incorporated in the second structure and/or juxtaposed on a surface of the second structure (Kendrick, Figure 3-7).
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendrick (EP2,813,352) in view of Engwall (US 7,293,737) and Held (PG-PUB 2002/0136847), as applied to claim 12, in further view of Kunishima (PG-PUB 2015/0147504).
Regarding claim 13, Kendrick in view of Engwall and Held teaches the process as applied to claim 12, wherein a plurality of mandrels are wrapped with multiple layers of composite material layers (Kendrick, [0035]).
Kendrick in view of Engwall and Held does not teach before the assembly step, a deposition of an adhesive film between the first and second structures.
Kunishima teaches a process of bonding structures using a heat-adhesive film [0078], comprising a step of winding a prepreg sheet 26 around an outer peripheral surface 231A of a core 231, step of interposing the heat-adhesive film 30 between the prepreg sheet 26 and the outer peripheral surface 16A, wherein the heat-adhesive film 30 is sandwiched between the outer peripheral surface 16A and the prepreg sheet 26 in the radial direction of the core 231 and is bonded to the outer peripheral surface 16A and the prepreg sheet 26 [0077]-[0078]. Kunishima teaches by baking and curing the prepreg sheet 26, the heat-adhesive film 30 is bonded to the prepreg sheet 26 and
the outer peripheral surface 16A more firmly. Kunishima teaches when the heat-adhesive film 30 including the epoxy resin is used, the adhesion strength with the prepreg sheet 26 including the epoxy resin is further increased, and heat resistance is also improved [0077]-[0078].
Wrapping a prepreg structure with a heat-adhesive film is a known technique for improving bonding of the structure to other elements, as taught by Kunishima. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the suitable technique of Kunishima to improve the process of Kendrick in the same manner with the heat-adhesive film wrapped around the wrapped mandrels for the benefit of improving adhesion strength of the prepreg. Because each wrapped mandrel includes a layer of the heat-adhesive film when stacked as taught by Kendrick, the film of Kendrick in view of Kunishima would be disposed between two non-polymerized elements.
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kendrick (EP2,813,352) in view of Engwall (US 7,293,737) and Held (PG-PUB 2002/0136847), as applied to claim 12, in further view of Sadones (English Translation of FR2502852).
Regarding claim 20, Kendrick in view of Engwall and Held teaches the process as applied to claim 12, wherein the stiffened part is used in a sandwich panel for a variety of applications in aircrafts, randomes, enclosures, air vehicles, space vehicles, etc. (Kendrick, Figure 3 and [0008]-[0009]).
Kendrick in view of Engwall and Held does not teach the stiffened part is a satellite antenna reflector.
Sadones teaches a large antenna reflector for satellite communications comprising several panels of sandwich panels comprising a honeycomb core (Figure 1, item 1 and [0009]).
Both Kendrick and Sadones are drawn to the same field of endeavor pertaining to manufacturing sandwich panels comprising a honeycomb core. Kendrick suggests a variety of applications for the honeycomb core, including space applications. Sadones teaches a known suitable application for honeycomb core-based sandwich panels as an antenna reflector. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the core of Kendrick as a stiffened part for a satellite antenna reflector, a known suitable application as taught by Sadones and suggested by Kendrick.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HANA C PAGE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/MICHAEL A TOLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745