DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 02/18/2026 has been acknowledged.
Amendment Summary
Claims 1, 6, 8, 14 are amended.
Claims 2, 7, 12, 13, 15 and 17-36 are canceled herein
Response to Arguments/Amendment
A)
The amendment to claims 1, 8, 14 has overcome the 112(a) rejection, as applied to clams 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 11, 14, 16 and 37-42. Thus the 112(a) rejection has been withdrawn.
B)
The amendment to claims 1, 8, 14 has overcome the 112(b) rejection, as applied to clams 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 11, 14, 16 and 37-42. Thus the 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
C)
Applicant has amended the independent claims and multiple dependent claims. The corresponding OA examination reflect the new amended claims submitted herein. The arguments regarding previous claim submittal are moot since the amended claim has modified the scope of the previous claim. The amended claims are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, 13-16 and 37-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wong (US 11057865 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, 8, 14
Wong discloses a method for processing a paging message (See [Abstract]; Intelligent Paging of a user device),
performed by a base station (See p.6; lines (12-18); mobile network merely comprises a Base Station),
the method comprising:
sending a paging message carrying a paging cause (See p.6; lines (12-18); p.6; lines (55-61); mobile networks sending paging notifications with paging cause to UE),
wherein the paging cause (See p.6; lines (12-18); paging cause transmitted to UE) and a response criterion (See p.6; lines (55-61); depending on the paging cause, the response criterion may be to allow, or ignore response) corresponding to the paging cause (See p.6; lines (55-61); depending on the paging cause related to application or IP) are used for a user equipment (UE) to determine to respond to or ignore the paging message (See p.6; line 55 to p.7; line 5)); p.19; lines (24-31); based on UE application policy data selectively disposition each of the paging notifications, accept or ignore).
wherein the paging cause (See p.6; lines (12-18); mobile networks sending paging notifications with paging cause to UE) is a separate information element (IE) carried (See Column 7, lines (59-67); special IP associated with applicant having different priorities) in at least one of
a paging cause IE used to indicate the paging cause of the paging message (See Column 6, lines (55-61); Column 7, lines (59-67); column 19, lines (7-10); (See Column 20, lines (1-8); one of the IE of the paging cause is the user device IP address that is used to route the paging cause);
or
carried in a reserve bit (See Column 20, lines (1-8); paging cause expressed in bits) of an assistance data IE of the paging message (See Column 20, lines (1-8); paging causes associated with highest priority value to differentiate from plurality of paging cause; Other values can be IMS services as IE);
the paging message is a radio access network (RAN) paging message (See Column 19, lines (22-23);. Column 20, lines (31-40); paging message goes through the NG-RAN) transmitted between new generation-radio access network (NG-RAN) nodes (See Column 19, lines (22-23);. Column 20, lines (31-40); paging message goes through the NG-RAN);
the response criterion is responding to or ignoring the paging message based on a service type of data to be transmitted (See Column 6, line (44-61); Column 18, lines (11-19); response criterion, allow or ignore is based on the type of application paged received) and
the paging cause is determined by the base station (See Fig.6B(657-663); p.19; lines (24-31); BS received paging cause and transmitted to UE) based on the data to be transmitted sent by a user plane function (UPF) of a core network (See p.19; lines (3-18); UPF transmit data to base station NG-RAN) ,
the data to be transmitted is associated with indication information containing a QoS identifier (See Column 13, lines (31-62); QoS Flow Identifier), and
the indication information is used to indicate the paging cause for paging the UE (See Column 13, lines (31-62); The QoS can determine the type of traffic or the Type application related to paging cause used for paging response criterion)
Regarding Claim 3,
Wong teaches all the features with respect to Claim 1 and Wong further teaches
receiving the paging cause from a core network (See Fig.7; Column 20, lines (31-40); NG-RAN received paging through AMF or UPF).
Regarding Claim 4,
Wong teaches all the features with respect to Claim 3 and Wong further teaches
wherein the paging message is transmitted based on a paging signaling of the core network (See Column 20,lines (41-48); paging message is configured through the element of the core network node AMF); and
receiving the paging cause from the core network (See Fig.7; Column 20, lines (31-40); NG-RAN received paging through AMF or UPF) comprises:
receiving the paging signaling carrying the paging cause from the core network (See Fig.7; Column 19, lines (22-23); Column 20, lines (31-40); AMF and UPF transmit the paging signaling ).
-
Regarding Claim 6,
Wong teaches all the features with respect to Claim 1 and Wong further teaches
receiving data to be transmitted to the UE and the indication information associated with the data to be transmitted that are sent by the core network (See p0.13, lines (19-54); p.19, lines (24-31); RAN received IP packets and a paging cause indication associated with IP packets); and
determining the paging cause for paging the UE according to the indication
information (See p.19, lines (24-31); RAN determine paging cause associate with type of IP traffic)
wherein the indication information comprises a service identifier of the data to be transmitted (See column 18, lines (12-19); IP traffic can be defined as urgent, normal or “ignore for now”) .
7. (Canceled)
Regarding Claim 11,
Wong teaches all the features with respect to Claim 10 and Wong further teaches
wherein the preset priority is at least one of:
a priority configured based on user input (See Column 15, lines 12-25); priority generated by User); or
a priority configured by a network device (See Column 15, lines 12-25); priority generated by Network node AF);.
Regarding Claim 16,
Wong teaches all the features with respect to Claim 14 and Wong further teaches
wherein the predetermined information (See Column 17, lines (60-65); associating type of data or DNN traffic with IP address) comprises at least one of:
a paging signaling carrying the paging cause (See Column 18, lines (12-19); Column 20, lines (31-40); characterizing data as urgent, normal or ignore for now transmitted by AMF to RAN); or
indication information associated with data to be transmitted to the UE (See Column 18, lines (12-19); characterizing data as urgent, normal or ignore for now),
wherein the indication information is provided for an access network to confirm the paging cause for paging the UE (See Column 20, lines 31-40); characterizing data as urgent, normal or ignore for now transmitted by AMF to RAN)), and the indication information comprises a service identifier of the data to be transmitted (See Column 18, lines (12-19); paging cause can be identify as urgent, normal or “ignore for now”) .
17.-36. (Canceled)
-
Regarding Claim 37, 38
Wong teaches all the features with respect to Claim 1, 1 and Wong further teaches
about a communication device (Fig.12(gNB)),
at least base station (Fig.12(gNB)), comprising:
a processor (Fig.12(gNB); merely comprise a processor); and
a memory (Fig.12(gNB); merely comprise a memory); for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method (See Column 20, lines (31-40); comprise instruction to communicate with UE and Core network).
Regarding Claim 39, 41
Wong teaches all the features with respect to Claim 8, 8 and Wong further teaches
A user equipment (UE) (Fig.12(UEe)), comprising:
a processor (Fig.12(1209a)); and
a memory (Fig.12(1211)) for storing instructions executable by the processor Column 24,, lines (49-54));
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method (See [Abstract]).
Regarding Claim 40, 42
Wong teaches all the features with respect to Claim 14, 14 and Wong further teaches about a core network device (See Column 20, lines (31-40); AMF), comprising:
a processor (See Column 20, lines (31-40); AMF),; and
a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor (See Column 20, lines (31-40); AMF merely comprise memory);
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method (See Column 20, lines (31-40); AMF execute instruction)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY LAFONTANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2646