DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The previous prior art rejection under Kobayashi et al (WO 2015041190) in view of Choi et al (Colorless and transparent polyimide nanocomposites: Comparison of the properties of homo- and co- polymers, Journal of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry 19 (2013) 1593-1599) as evidences by Huang et al (Advanced anticorrosive materials prepared from amine-capped aniline trimer-based electroactive polyimide-clay nanocomposite materials with synergistic effects of redox catalytic capability and gas barrier properties, / Polymer 52 (2011) 2391-2400) maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al
(WO 2015041190) in view of Choi et al (Colorless and transparent polyimide nanocomposites:
Comparison of the properties of homo- and co- polymers, Journal of Industrial and Engineering
Chemistry 19 (2013) 1593-1599) as evidences by Huang et al (Advanced anticorrosive materials
prepared from amine-capped aniline trimer-based electroactive polyimide-clay nanocomposite
materials with synergistic effects of redox catalytic capability and gas barrier properties, / Polymer 52
(2011) 2391-2400), all cited in the previous Office Action.
Amendments to claims 1, 10 and 11 are noted.
Kobayashi discloses the polyimide film have a glass transition temperature of 350 C. or higher, or no glass transition point in the region of 500° C or lower and CTE that is preferably -3 ppm to 10 ppm /°C..
In addition, modified Kobayashi composition comprises the same elements as the claimed one(i.e., claimed polyimide and a clay with organic cations).
The claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property, which is inherently present in the prior art, does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Mere recitation of a newly discovered function or property, inherently possessed by things in prior art, does not cause claim language drawn to those things to be distinguishable over prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to expect the same properties from modified Kobayshasi’s and Applicant’s composition, since they have identical structures.
The rejection can be found in the FINAL office action mailed 10/15/2025 and is herein incorporated by reference
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that there is no enough motivation for an artisan to use organoclay in Kobayashi’s composition. Specifically, while Kobayashi’s composition has excellent Tg and CTE values, Choi’s one fails to disclose low CTE values.
Examiner disagrees. As stated in Final Office Action, organoclay allows to improve thermal characteristics of the entire composition. For instance, Choi demonstrates that addition of organoclay significantly improve CTE values (see Table 1).
Regarding Kobayashi’s and Choi’s composition properties comparison (i.e., CTE), they depend on the structure of both components: polyimide and clay. Kobayashi uses extremely tough polyimide part, which contains 50% or more of pyromellitic acid and phenylenediamine residues. This combination provides highest possible Tg and lowest CTE values for polyimides. In a contrary, Choi discloses a composition based on 4,4′-(hexafluoroisopropylidene)diphthalic anhydride (6FDA) and 2,2′-bis(trifluoromethyl)benzidine (TFB) (see Abstract), which has much lower Tg and higher CTE values known for polyimides.
On the other hand, Kobayashi’s composition is very stiff, which may create problems in its processing. Since Choi’s clay significantly improve CTE values compare to homopolymer, Kobayashi may use less rigid composition, while keeping it excellent mechanical and thermal properties by it adding Choi’s organoclay. In other word, balance between processability and thermal and mechanical properties can be achieved by varying a rigidity of the polyimide and content of the clay.
Applicant argues that neither Kobayashi nor Choi teaches claimed glass transition values and coefficient of linear expansion values.
This is incorrect. Kobayashi discloses the polyimide film have a glass transition temperature of 350 C. or higher, or no glass transition point in the region of 500° C or lower and CTE that is preferably -3 ppm to 10 ppm /°C.
GL
/GREGORY LISTVOYB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765